Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Blue Bell Cottage, Historic St. Augustine, 2 Bedroom, Pet Friendly, Sleeps 4

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 4

Experience downtown St. Augustine like a native in our charmingly updated Blue Bell Cottage, just 2 blocks from the Matanzas River in a quiet neighborhood. Completely updated inside, it's the perfect getaway with vintage appeal and modern convenience! Please Note: 1-week minimum stay, Saturday arrival and Saturday departure in season.

Blue Bell Cottage looks quite small from the front but is surprisingly roomy within. A back porch with a jaunty rope railing extends the space into the fenced backyard, which boasts outdoor seating for a courtyard effect. After a busy day sightseeing in the city, you will love coming home to this intimate, delightful place!

Step into the living room and you are greeted by high ceilings, beautiful décor, and ultra-comfortable furniture that seems to invite long conversations. The old fireplace runs up the center of the house, simply decorative now but still boasting its ancient bricks. Long windows, from the days before air conditioning (don't worry; Blue Bell Cottage has central air!), ensure panoramic views from all directions. The interior of this splendid old cottage remains as lovely as ever, while a TV with VCR and DVD player are on hand to offer modern entertainment.

On the far side of the fireplace is a lovely dining room with a small round table set for 4. You will never feel cramped at Blue Bell Cottage because the furnishings are in proportion to the size of the rooms. Here you have a spacious area, light and open, with a modern chandelier and the perfect table for games as well as meals. You have free wireless Internet at Blue Bell Cottage too, so this may be the place you set up the laptop to check opening times of the attractions you want to visit and to update your Facebook status.

The kitchen is nothing short of enchanting, with all new appliances that manage to look vintage, a cheery checkerboard floor, bistro table, old-fashioned-looking worktable with an inset double sink, and a chalkboard for leaving messages. Everything you need to cook and serve meals can be found in these cupboards and drawers, so if you like, stock up at the nearby grocery and do some home cooking. If not, the microwave is great for heating up the takeout, there's ice in the freezer for frosty beverages, and the coffeemaker will get you going in the morning!

Both bedrooms at Blue Bell Cottage are so comfortable and attractive that you'll have trouble choosing between them! The master bedroom has a queen-size bed, piled high like beds of old for maximum comfort, with a reading chair, his-and-her lamps, cheery rag rugs on the hardwood floor, and big windows on two walls.

The second bedroom has a double bed in an even larger room, with a double door leading out to the courtyard and an en suite full bathroom. This room can be drenched in sunlight or shaded tight, depending on your desire, and offers plenty of storage and sitting space. Such a homey room, certain to induce sweet dreams!

A half-bathroom, a lovely little foyer, and a utility area with washer and dryer plus a second sink (handy for wet swimsuits!) complete Blue Bell Cottage. It's the perfect nest for a family, two couples, or group of friends visiting the city. We've provided all the linens, towels, blankets, and pillows you'll need, so you can pack light. And at Blue Bell, you're just 2 blocks from the trolley stop -- right in the heart of the action without the tourists, crowds, or traffic!

Blue Bell Cottage is just a stroll away from the Castillo de San Marcos Fort, Ripley's Believe it or Not, and other attractions in historic downtown St. Augustine. It is a home maintained with love and delightful attention to detail, such as the pretty stained glass window overlooking the back porch and the colorful quilts on the beds. Come stay here on your next visit to St. Augustine, and see the city from one of its most charming neighborhoods. We predict you'll soon be recommending Blue Bell Cottage to all your friends!

More Details

Property Manager
Vacation Rental Pros
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Vacation Rental Pros

Hi! My name is Steve Milo and I started Vacation Rental Pros in 2006. Our family stays in vacation rental homes whenever we travel, both domestically and abroad! I own several vacation homes and listen carefully to all our guests' feedback. Our greatest compliment is when folks refer Vacation Rental Pros to their friends and relatives. We now manage over 1,800 properties in Florida, Tennessee and South Carolina. We have homes in Ft. Myers Beach, Orlando, St. Augustine Beach, Daytona Beach, Palm Coast, Ponte Vedra Beach, Hilton Head and Gatlinburg. We booked over 15,000 rentals and received over 5,000 guest reviews in 2016. Please call if you need help booking your dream vacation!

Amenities

Saint Augustine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom # 1 (1 Queen), Bedroom # 2 (1 Double)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Blue Bell Cottage, Historic St. Augustine, 2 Bedroom, Pet Friendly, Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.660714 based on 56 reviews
5

Perfect House, Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

For a couple or small family, the Blue Bell Cottage is perfect. Located in a quiet neighborhood, nicely decorated, with a rear fenced patio, it has all one needs to kick back between visits to nearby attractions.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Rodent infested, poor customer service

  • 1 of 5

Location was good and that was all. After just a few days we realized we had rodents in the home with us. We notified management multiple times with no response, we finally left earlier than we were supposed to as the rats had chewed into the bread in the cupboard and also the bags of pasta and rice. Poop was now being found on the kitchen counters, laundry room sink and bedroom window sills. It had now become a serious health issue. Pics were taken and sent to management. Not as bad as rodents but the bikes were not there as stated to us by customer service. We purposely left our bikes at home as the representative said they were being provided with the amenities charge for the rental. It took us over 4 months to get a partial refund. Management agreed on a set price and then only delivered half of the amount. Stated they are not responsible for "insect problems". When questioning this we received a letter from their lawyer stating it would be best we not pursue the issue. If this happens to you, dispute with your credit card company & don't bother with management. Overall - Do NOT Trust the home's personal management company & Do NOT rent this home.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna and Jose, I am sorry that you did not have a satisfactory stay at Blue Bell Cottage as this is one of our favorite and most popular units. In regards to your claims, VRP immediately sent out a Pest Control company once the complaint was made- and they did not find any evidence of pest infestation. VRP did then anyway refund the agreed upon amount (between guest and company) for the mouse claim although no evidence of them was found. Additionally, VRP refunded a second amount to cover the cost of the bike rentals. All agreed amounts of refund have been sent and any pest issues were addressed at the time of the complaint. If you have any further questions about your refund, please don't hesitate to contact our customer service team. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

Quaint

  • 5 of 5

"Oh, how cute." Loved the cottage. Location was perfect. Furnishings were top notch. Will definitely come back and I have recommended it to my family. There is room for two couples, a small family or just friends "getting away."

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable

  • 5 of 5

First time St Augustine and this cottage was at the perfect spot for two couples that wanted to sight see and explore. The kitchen is so cute too! Everything was as pictured on website and we loved walking all around the neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxford, Michigan
4

Was a wonderful time!

  • 4 of 5

Location was perfect! Neighborhood was nice. Very safe to walk run or bike for miles.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very cute, comfortable and great location

  • 4 of 5

This place is adorable. Just a short jump to historic downtown st Augustine shops and restaurants Don't expect to ride the bikes mentioned because they are not there. 😒򔠮 Pet friendly must only mean are allowed. Advertising fenced yard came with the surprise of no green space. It did worked out because the neighborhood was nice and quite for dog walks but don't expect convenient potty relief for your fur babies.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

    Booking Fee: 8%
    Charge basis: AD
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Cleaning Fee: $195
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Damage Protection: $79.5
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Pet Fee: $100
    Charge basis: PQ
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights