Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Creek Frontage w/ Hot Tub

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom/ Sleeps 8

What could be better than a day on the water? At Penns Creek Cottage you will discover the joys of fishing, kayaking or just relaxing by the creek. A beautiful location year round, Penns Creek offers the serenity of the outdoors with the hometown hospitality of the surrounding communities. The cottage is perfectly located for a variety of one-day outings to appeal to everyone in your group from wildlife and amusement parks to wineries and historical landmarks. Whatever you choose, you will know that a relaxing home awaits you in Penns Creek. Your stay includes a complimentary bottle of wine from our local winery, Keurig hot drinks, charcoal for grilling, and firewood. Kitchen is fully supplied with dishes, cookware, and utensils. Not only will our staff clean the entire cottage before your arrival, they will lay out fresh towels, linens, and spa robes for your stay, and will be there to greet you for check-in.

More Details

Owner
Garry Dreese
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Garry Dreese

I'm a local Real Estate Manager and GM of Front Street Motors Of Sunbury.

Garry Dreese purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Garry Dreese chose Pennsylvania

I just bought this property and remodeled it. I wanted to be close to the creek.

What makes this cottage unique

Managing 2 companies is demanding and takes a lot of time away from my family. That's why we love staying at this cottage. Its great place to gather my thoughts, fish with the kids, or just chatting with my wife around the fire pit.

Amenities

Mifflinburg Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Private bedroom w/ Cable and AC
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Country Tavern, Shade Mountain Winery, Clyde Peelings Reptiland, T&D's Cats of the World, Selinsgrove Speedway, Knoebels Amusement Resort, Little League World Series, Downtown shops in Mifflinburg, Susquehanna Valley Mall, Susquehanna University, Shade Mt Golf Course, RB Winter State Park, Mifflinburg Buggy Museum, Penns Cave

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(74 traveler reviews)

Private Creek Frontage w/ Hot Tub
average rating of 4.743243 based on 74 reviews
5

Looking forward to returning!

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a weekend 5-person family retreat. We truly had a fantastic time and would definitely return for another visit. The combination of amenities was simply outstanding:

- Relaxing in the hot tub on the large screened in porch whenever we felt like it

- Taking three of the four kayaks they provide (plus our own two-person inflatable kayak) five miles up Penns Creek for a thrilling and relaxing 2-hour kayak trip right to our own backyard (we barely managed to cram the three kayaks into our prius with the back open but tied down; very lucky!)

- Cooking food on the grill or just chilling by the fire ring

This rental seemed like an excellent value to us all and our intuition was clearly confirmed by the weekend's end. We just couldn't get over how nice it was to have a large creek right behind the house both for recreation and ambiance. Two nights was not enough time.

It is true that cell service is limited (and IIRC there is no WiFi provided) but one of our group had some signal all the time and the rest of us managed to walk around the property until we got some service, so not a big deal.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awesome! glad you enjoyed your stay, and your invited back whenever you can make it.....Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing time

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely and well maintained and very comfortable. We had a really nice time enjoyed being that close to the water and the amenities close by were a lot of fun. The hot tub is wonderful especially after being on the water . We plan on definitely going back there and staying again in near future.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a getaway to relax and unwind

  • 5 of 5

Mother Nature was delivering lots of water down Penns Creek from rain in the mountains…which had the ground saturated, the walk underwater, and the current stronger than normal… but perhaps this also brought with it increased rest and relaxation… ;-) The cottage is delightful, but for me the strong pull was the huge screened porch, comfortable chairs, great view, and awesome sounds. So my thoughts are that outside of possible fishing/kayaking/hot tubing…this is the outstanding feature of this particular rental. Unlike some rentals…here you will need to bring all food items and condiments--except S&P. The bottle of Jack’s Mountain Red wine was delightful and a very nice touch, as were the spa robes. On the creek side of the porch you are in near complete seclusion, outside of anyone going down the creek that is ;-). There is a public (?launch) area to one side of the cottage and a home two lots in the opposite direction, but at least when trees are in leaf…any strong direct view is angled or obscured. During our stay cell phone connectivity was basically non-existent and uncertain if this might have been due to weather or a non-understanding of the satellite…so if a necessary for you, suggest you make inquiry with the owners. Also of note is the DVD player is located in the porch bedroom, not in the living room. Uncertain because of their altitude but may have seen two eagles one morning, but every day birds pecked amongst the rocks and a variety of ducks and geese swam, floated by or flew over the water. One evening a trio of Canadian geese stopped on the opposite bank for a while and provided a honking serenade before taking flight up stream. Time at this Penns Creek Cottage was truly wonderful and something I hated to leave and I hope to repeat the experience very soon. Thank you for sharing this little slice of heaven.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for being great guests, there is a dvd built in player on back side of TV in the living room. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia Beach, VA
5

Nice clean cabin on a beautiful creek with friendly owners.

  • 5 of 5

Family stayed here over a long weekend for our daughters graduation at PSU. Nice getaway in a beautiful part of the state. Mike was very friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall it was a great getaway and a time to just relax and spend time with family.

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. Being outdoors on the creek with the fire pit and grill going was a great experience. Also, we enjoyed the Kayak's and fishing poles that were included in the rental. The accommodations were very comfortable. The cottage is advertised as having 4 bedrooms but there are actually only 3 unless you count the pull out couch in the living room as a bedroom. One of the bedrooms is separate from the main house which was nice as it was quiet and provided extra privacy. We did have a few issues while we were there. One of the reasons we booked the cottage was because of the hot tub. When we arrived we were told it was not working and they would have someone come out right away to fix it. We had to make calls to both the owner and caretaker as we were not kept informed about the needed repairs. Our impression was that it was not a priority on their part to get it fixed in a timely manner. Finally, on our last day someone did show up to get it up and running but we missed out on using it for the majority of our stay. We never received any apology or compensation for the time it was not working. Also, we fought a big ant problem in the kitchen. They got into a lot of our food which had to be wasted. Despite the problems, we made due with what we had and again did enjoy our stay at Penn's Creek Cottage.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The hot tub is only a few years old, when you contacted us we call the local hot tub company that sold it to us with-in minutes. But unfortunately we had to wait for their service department to get to us, we did inform them it was a vacation home! We never had a complaint about ants, but will have the cabin sprayed. In the VRBO listing we inform guests that the 4th bedroom is the living room. Glad you enjoyed the cabin and apologize for the issues. If you decide to book again we will give you a discount on your next visit....thanks for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Memorable, scenic vacation with a few hiccups

  • 4 of 5

This was our first trip to Mifflinburg. It was an easy drive and we enjoyed visiting Ard's Farm Market (15 min), Shade Mountain Winery (5 min), and the beautiful RB Winters State Park (20-25 min). We didn't have reception in all areas so be aware that you may not be able to rely on internet/GPS everywhere you go. We also got baked goods at Green Ridge Country Market and spotted Mater and Lightning McQueen at CPR Auto.

The cabin and property were smaller than we expected from the pictures but did not disappoint! While a lot of the houses along the creek were right up against each other, this cabin was situated on a very private lot. The cabin was very clean and offered everything we needed for our stay, which was greatly appreciated. (A few extra towels for both bath and kitchen would be nice though.) The bottle of wine and spa robes were a nice touch. We also liked the sidewalk along the creek, the screened-in porch, and the easy keyless entry. The kayaks were a highlight of our stay, and we loved that our dog could join us for the weekend! I can't say enough about how wonderful the trickling water of the creek sounded all weekend.

A few notes for future renters... The living room furniture is different than shown. It now includes a really nice leather sleeper sofa, loveseat, and chair set. The third bedroom is attached to the house but can only be accessed from the screened-in porch. It has it's own keyless entry and a 1/2 bath. We could not locate a DVD player, which is included in the VRBO listing.

Unfortunately, the two main things that attracted us to the cabin (fishing and hot tub) proved disappointing. We didn't catch any fish or have any bites. The hot tub was at 95 degrees when we arrived but dropped before we even got to use it for the first time. For the remainder of the weekend, it would not heat above 88 and sometimes went as low as 82. It was not serviced during our stay, so hopefully the issue has been resolved.

We look forward to staying again but hope for a functioning hot tub and better luck fishing!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your visit, its greatly appreciated! The DVD is built in the TV and is located behind the unit. Finally the service people came from the hot tub company and fixed the heating element on the tub, we were at mercy to their schedule. The Penns Creek is known nationally for its fishing, but if water conditions are not right or you don't use bait native to the fish you won't catch fish. As you can see the pictures on the listing of my daughter's small mouth bass. Spinners or Helkermites seem to work best. Hope to see you again! Thanks Garry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Harrisburg International
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Country Tavern
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Shade Mt. Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
State Rt 104
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Scarlet D Hotel
Car: necessary

Country Tavern, Shade Mountain Winery, Clyde Peelings Reptiland, T&D's Cats of the World, Selinsgrove Speedway, Knoebels Amusement Resort, Little League World Series, Penns Cave, Downtown shops in Mifflinburg, Shade Mt. Golf Course, Scarlet D Hotel, Lake Augusta and Shikellamy State Park, Mifflinburg Buggy Museum

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mifflinburg Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 15 2017 - Aug 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$159
From
$159
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$159
From
$189
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Janitorial $49
Refundable damage deposit $150
Pet Fee $39

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable