expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS HOUSE #1

Tamarindo, Costa Rica
  • House1610 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay1 - 3 nights

ALL OF OUR GUESTS CAN ENJOY ACCESS TO HACIENDA PINILLA BEACH CLUB, GOLF ETC

Our unique location makes for a great base to visit many well known beaches such as: Negra, Junquillal, Marbella, Grande and Brasilito to name a few. Each house sleeps 6 comfortably. Upstairs you have 2 bedrooms each with private bath. Both have queen size bed, cable tv and air conditioning. The rooms lead out onto a spacious balcony overlooking the tropical gardens and swimming pool area. Below you have a dining room, kitchen and bedroom with double bed, cable tv, air conditioning and full bath. The kitchen is totally equipped for all your cooking needs. Each house has own covered parking space. The houses were constructed with teak wood right here in Guanacaste which makes for a cooler, rustic living style. The property is totally enclosed and very secure. All guests have access to pool area and BBQ. There is WI-FI for everyone on property.

We are surrounded by wildlife and tranquility. All our guests will experience these and much more. There are beaches, places to eat, many activities, food and souvenir shopping not far away. Not to mention turtle nesting and beautiful sunsets.

We have on-site management to assist you with anything you need. We offer canopy, sunset sail, fishing, golf and many other activities.

There are covered parking spaces, an outdoor shower, and a large common garden area that is well maintained with lots of green foliage, where you can relax in the swimming pool and enjoy the BBQ pit.

Our wonderful property is located only 15 minutes away from Playa Tamarindo, a well developed beach town, where you can do your grocery shopping and enjoy many activities, such as sailing, fishing, dining, gift shopping, yoga, surfing (great spot for beginners) and a great night life.

We are also located right beside ( 1km ) Hacienda Pinilla Resort which has a world class 18 hole Golf Course designed by Mike Young, and an amazing 5 star Beach Club for your pleasure.

Kick back and relax or fill your days with endless activities. Begin your morning with the sound of the tropical birds. Later on the howler monkeys will light up your day with the sound of their voices. Read a book, take a swim, and let the mystical wildlife enchant you, while you enjoy a glass of wine during a magical sunset. Let us take you away from your home to our stunning slice of paradise.

Owner

Jeffrey McLaughlin

Member Since 2014
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english, spanish
Calendar last updated:
Mar 28, 2018
About Jeffrey McLaughlin

HAVE BEEN LIVING IN COSTA RICA FOR 30 YEARS. HOOKED UP WITH SOME GREAT PEOPLE AND HAVE BEEN ADMINISTRATOR OF EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS FOR LAST 3 YEARS WHEN WE STARTED OFFERING HOUSES FOR RENTAL. ORIGINALLY FROM SOUTHWEST MIAMI WITH COSTA RICAN MOTHER AND LOTS OF CR FAMILY. I AM RIGHT AT HOME DOIN WHAT WE LIKE TO DO.

Jeffrey McLaughlin purchased this House in 2008

Why Jeffrey McLaughlin chose Tamarindo

I HAD PURCHASED THIS PROPERTY ABOUT 15 YEARS AGO AND MET BEST BUDDY/OWNER WHO FUNDED THE CONSTRUCTION OF WHAT WE HAVE NOW. I HAVE BEEN ADMINISTRATOR SINCE THE GET GO. BEST DECISION I EVER MADE.

What makes this House unique

WE LIVE IN AN ABSOLUTELY POSITIVELY PARADISE HERE IN AVELLANAS. THERE IS NOTHING MORE ONE COULD ASK FOR. HEARING THE WAVES FROM MY BALCONY AND BEING SO CLOSE TO MANY BEAUTIFULL SPOTS MAKES ME A VERY HAPPY CAMPER.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Parking
    • TV

      Bedrooms

      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 3
        1 double
      • ALL BEDROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING, FLATSCREEN SATELLITE TV AND CEILING FAN.

      Bathrooms

      • 3 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, shower
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, shower
      • Bathroom 3
        toilet, shower
      • ALL SHOWERS COME WITH TEMPERED GLASS

      Location Type

        • Beachfront
        • Near The Ocean
          WE ARE ONLY 1.3KM FROM AVELLANAS BEACH.
        • Rural
          WE ARE LOCATED IN RURAL AREA FILLED WITH FLORA AND FAUNA.

          Theme

            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Budget
            • Family
            • Romantic
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions

              Meals

                • Catering available

                  General

                    • Air Conditioning
                      EACH BEDROOM COMES WITH MINI-SPLIT AIR CONDITIONING.THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING IN KITCHEN/DINING AREA. THERE ARE 2 CEILING FANS IN THIS AREA.
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Internet
                      THERE IS WI-FI FOR EVERYONE ON PROPERTY
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Linens Provided
                      ALL BEDS HAVE LINENS AND 2 PILLOWS
                    • Living Room
                    • Parking
                      EACH HOUSE HAS COVERED PARKING FOR 1 VEHICLE.
                    • Towels Provided
                      BATH TOWELS ARE PROVIDED. BEACH TOWELS ARE NOT PROVIDED.

                      Kitchen

                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                          SILVERWARE, GLASSES AND DISHES ARE PROVIDED
                        • Kitchen
                          ALL HOUSES HAVE FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 6 people

                              Entertainment

                                • Satellite / Cable
                                  EACH BEDROOM COMES WITH SATELLITE TV
                                • Television
                                  EACH BEDROOM COMES WITH FLATSCREEN SATELLITE TV.

                                  Outside

                                    • Balcony
                                      EACH HOUSE HAS BALCONY OVERLOOKING GARDEN OR SWIMMING POOL.
                                    • Bicycles
                                      WE OFFER 2 BICYCLES FOR RENT ON A DAILY BASIS
                                    • Boat
                                      WE CAN PROVIDE ANY TYPE OF BOAT TOUR THROUGH OUTSIDE SOURCES.
                                    • Deck / Patio
                                      THERE IS A NATURAL ROCK PATIO SURROUNDING SWIMMING POOL WITH SEATING AND LOUNGING FOR YOUR COMFORT.
                                    • Golf
                                      5 MINUTES AWAY AT HACIENDA PINILLA RESORT OFFERS A HIGHLY RECOMMENDED 18 HOLE PROFESSIONAL GOLF COURSE DESIGNED BY WELL KNOWN DESIGNER MIKE YOUNG.
                                    • Kayak / Canoe
                                      WE CAN ARRANGE KAYAK/CANOE TRIPS THROUGH OUTSIDE SOURCES.
                                    • Outdoor Grill
                                      WE HAVE A GAS BBQ IN RANCHITO NEXT TO SWIMMING POOL FOR EVERYONE TO USE. GAS IS PROVIDED.
                                    • Tennis
                                      5 MINUTES AWAY AT HACIENDA PINILLA RESORT OFFERS TENNIS AND EQUIPMENT FOR A SMALL FEE
                                    • Water Sports Gear
                                      WE CAN SET YOU UP WITH WATER SPORTS GEAR THROUGH OUTSIDE SOURCES.

                                      Suitability

                                        • smoking allowed
                                        • wheelchair inaccessible

                                          Pool / Spa

                                            • Communal Pool
                                              THE SWIMMING POOL IS FOR EVERYONE TO USE

                                              Onsite Services

                                                • Car Available
                                                • Concierge
                                                • Massage
                                                • Private Chef
                                                • Staff

                                                  Attractions

                                                    • churches
                                                    • health/beauty spa
                                                    • restaurants

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • paddle boating
                                                        • antiquing
                                                        • bird watching
                                                        • boating
                                                        • eco tourism
                                                        • gambling casinos
                                                        • horseback riding
                                                        • miniature golf
                                                        • outlet shopping
                                                        • beachcombing
                                                        • photography
                                                        • scenic drives
                                                        • shelling
                                                        • shopping
                                                        • sight seeing
                                                        • walking
                                                        • whale watching
                                                        • wildlife viewing

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • Babysitter
                                                            • fitness center
                                                            • groceries
                                                            • hospital
                                                            • laundromat
                                                            • massage therapist
                                                            • medical services

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • parasailing
                                                                • cycling
                                                                • equestrian events
                                                                • fishing
                                                                • fly fishing
                                                                • freshwater fishing
                                                                • golf
                                                                • golf privileges optional
                                                                • hiking
                                                                • hunting
                                                                • jet skiing
                                                                • kayaking
                                                                • mountain biking
                                                                • paragliding
                                                                • deepsea fishing
                                                                • rafting
                                                                • sailing
                                                                • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                                • ski privileges optional
                                                                • snorkeling
                                                                • snorkeling/diving
                                                                • surf fishing
                                                                • surfing
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • tennis
                                                                • water skiing
                                                                • water tubing
                                                                • whitewater rafting
                                                                • wind-surfing

                                                                  Notes

                                                                    • WE HAVE WI-FI SIGNAL FOR ALL OUR CLIENTS AND LIVE-IN GUARD/CARETAKER TO FULFILL ALL OUR CLIENTS NEEDS.

                                                                      House Rules

                                                                      Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                                      Check-out: Noon

                                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                                      100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                      49 Reviews

                                                                      Wonderful4.8/5

                                                                      Latest reviews

                                                                      Amazing place ! Great location

                                                                      Roberto G.Heredia, Costa Rica

                                                                      Experience Avellanas House has all the things you need to spent a wonderful time, a few minutes from Avellanas and Playa Negra and other beautiful pacific beaches. We were there in a short vacation with a family of six, but I’m sure we’ll come back. The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable and very spacious with a full kitchen. After the sunset at the beach, the swimming pool with the BBQ grill is the right place great to relax and finish the day. Benito was great , helping us out and providing guidance and recommendations during our stay. Awesome place, highly recommended !!

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Hi Roberto....I hope you do come back and enjoy another stay with us. Thanks for your comments and great to hear you had a good time....Jeffrey

                                                                      A peaceful paradise.

                                                                      Alexandra G.

                                                                      This is my second stay at this house and the experience was as wonderful as the first. The house and surrounding property was very clean. The kitchen has all the basic amenities to prepare meals. This is the perfect place to enjoy a sunny day by the pool or walk / drive a shirt distance to indulge in the Avellanas beach experience. The night sky is so clear. You sit by the pool and admire the beauty. Francisco was very friendly, helpful and always greeted us with a smile.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Hi Alexandra...we love having you visit us the last 2 years. I would be gratefull to have all clients like yourself. And I'm sure we will see you next year. Thank You for your true and kind comments...Jeffrey

                                                                      Great property, excellent attention!

                                                                      Anselma S.‎Salerno, Italy

                                                                      We stayed here for 4 days back in April, and the experience was great!

                                                                      The kids loved the pool, and the house itself was very modern and fully equipped.

                                                                      Francisco was very helpful and friendly, and even got us a great recipe to cook costa rican gallo pinto!

                                                                      The beach is not far, and there are great nearby options to eat out.

                                                                      In sum, great property, and the attention we received was excellent.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Thanks Anselma.....we do appreciate your comments as we work hard for our guests to enjoy their stay with us...see you next trip to Avellanas...Jeffrey

                                                                      Great week at this property!

                                                                      Jared M.New York, New York

                                                                      The house was everything we expected. We found this property online and booked it after comparing it to similar houses from the area.

                                                                      The property is close to many amazing local beaches, and there are some great eateries nearby (we loved Lola's)...

                                                                      Francisco was very helpful, through and through! He gave us a hand with the bbq and made sure everything was ok... We spoke to Jeffrey when we arrived, and he gave us some local tips about cool spots to visit...

                                                                      Definitely a really nice experience, great hosts, not expensive at all...

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Thanks Jared...we do appreciate your comments as we work very hard to make sure our guests have a nice stay...see you all soon... Jeffrey

                                                                      A really nice property!

                                                                      Jörg N.Bavaria, Germany

                                                                      The house was quite spacious, with lots of light, and very private.

                                                                      Very modern, with many details, yet, it features a "rustic cabin" style that fits great with the landscape.

                                                                      We visited lots of nearby beaches! All of them unique in their own way, and Jeff, our host, also booked a boat trip for the whole family.

                                                                      Everything was great, and everybody really enjoyed themselves, especially the kids at the pool!

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Thanks Jorg....and we enjoyed having you and your family stay with us....always welcome...the kids really seem to love that pool....see you all soon...Jeffrey

                                                                      Beware at all Cost "Complete Misrepresentation of Property description"

                                                                      Robert M.long beach, ny

                                                                      This was the worse experience of an attempt at a supposed 5 star luxury villa rental of any vacation rental in my entire 30 years of taking vacations. To start, the property is listed to sleep 6 people. The property only slept 3 people. On immediately arriving at property and discovering the problem. The caretaker contacted the property owner for our party of 5 and his resolution was for us to carry a pull out couch from another unit, two of us hurt our backs, we should of contacted the authorities immediately, but things don't happen like that in Costa Rica.Upon pulling the mattress out of the couch it was full of mice poop and the mattress was springs covered in a sheet, the owners next resolution was to carry another couch in, which resulted in the same situation but even more disgusting. After drawing straws, two of the party had to sleep on the floor with no AC. The other lucky three that got a bed were fortunate enough to receive bed bug bites every where, we wish homeaway had an option to upload disgusting pictures. Of course in Costa Rica, there is not a laundromat on every corner. We contacted the property owner back immediately the next day and informed him this was unacceptable and we were leaving to find another habitable accommodations and feel free to rent it to some other victims. His response was, "do what you have to do." Later we found out the owner did in fact rent the Villa we had paid for. Be careful leaving to find other accommodations as the care taker has sticky hands, we noticed numerous valuable items missing that we had to firmly confront him to give back to us, him saying no hablo english, lucky for us I spoke spanish and he did give us our items back. Also, don't be misled as a walk to the beach, unless you like taking a 45 minute long walk in the hot sun to arrive at the beach completely exhausted. Oh, by the way, don't think about taking a bike ride on the bikes listed in rental for use, as there were none. We filed a complaint with homeaway, they informed us this was unacceptable and to leave the premise immediately and that they would escalate this and we would receive a refund. Of course that has not happened as of yet. Homeaway is now working on trying to resolve the unacceptable misrepresentation and problems the homeowner has left. I would never recommend this property and encourage all renters to stay away from this property at all cost. It deserves no stars and a red flag.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      In response I will say, as you know HOMEAWAY has resolved your claims and there will be no refund... thus the review... HOMEAWAY and ourselves have moved on and I'm sure our present and future clients can decide for themselves...P.S. After reviewing cameras on the day you returned for your belongings we see no sign of any confrontation at all between Benito and your group...another false claim...

                                                                      Location

                                                                      Tamarindo, Costa Rica

                                                                      AVELLANAS AND NEGRA BEACH ARE A MUST FOR ANY SURFER.

                                                                      Rates & Availability

                                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                                      Cleaning Fee
                                                                      $40
                                                                      Damage Deposit
                                                                      $250

                                                                      RATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE AT ANY MOMENT....FAMILY ENVIRONMENT

                                                                      $157avg/night
                                                                      49 Reviews
                                                                      Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                                      Premier Partner
                                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                                      Property # 605134

                                                                      x