Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS HOUSE #1 The Only Place To Stay In Avellanas

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

House 3/3... fully equipped with swimming pool a short walk to Avellanas Beach.

Our unique location makes for a great base to visit many well known beaches such as: Negra, Junquillal, Marbella, Grande and Brasilito to name a few. Each house sleeps 6 comfortably. Upstairs you have 2 bedrooms each with private bath. Both have queen size bed, cable tv and air conditioning. The rooms lead out onto a spacious balcony overlooking the tropical gardens and swimming pool area. Below you have a dining room, kitchen and bedroom with double bed, cable tv, air conditioning and full bath. The kitchen is totally equipped for all your cooking needs. Each house has own covered parking space. The homes were constructed with teak wood right here in Guanacaste which makes for a cooler, rustic living style. The property is totally enclosed and very secure. All guests have access to pool area and BBQ. There is WI-FI for everyone on property.

We are surrounded by wildlife and tranquility. All our guests will experience these and much more. There are beaches, places to eat, many activities, food and souvenir shopping not far away. Not to mention turtle nesting and beautiful sunsets.

We have on-site management to assist you with anything you need. We offer canopy, sunset sail, fishing, golf and many other activities.

There are covered parking spaces, an outdoor shower, and a large common garden area that is well maintained with lots of green foliage, where you can relax in the swimming pool and enjoy the BBQ pit.

Our wonderful property is located only 15 minutes away from Playa Tamarindo, a well developed beach town, where you can do your grocery shopping and enjoy many activities, such as sailing, fishing, dining, gift shopping, yoga, surfing (great spot for beginners) and a great night life.

We are also located right beside ( 1km ) Hacienda Pinilla Resort which has a world class 18 hole Golf Course designed by Mike Young, and an amazing 5 star Beach Club for your pleasure.

Kick back and relax or fill your days with endless activities. Begin your morning with the sound of the tropical birds. Later on the howler monkeys will light up your day with the sound of their voices. Read a book, take a swim, and let the mystical wildlife enchant you, while you enjoy a glass of wine during a magical sunset. Let us take you away from your home to our stunning slice of paradise.

More Details

Jeffrey McLaughlin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017


Tamarindo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • All bathrooms furnished with sink, toilet and shower.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • All bedrooms come with cable flatscreen tv, air conditioning and full bath. Bed linens and bath towels are provided. Please bring your own beach towels.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 2 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

EXPERIENCE AVELLANAS HOUSE #1 The Only Place To Stay In Avellanas
average rating of 4.8297873 based on 47 reviews
‎Salerno, Italy

Great property, excellent attention!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 4 days back in April, and the experience was great!

The kids loved the pool, and the house itself was very modern and fully equipped.

Francisco was very helpful and friendly, and even got us a great recipe to cook costa rican gallo pinto!

The beach is not far, and there are great nearby options to eat out.

In sum, great property, and the attention we received was excellent.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anselma.....we do appreciate your comments as we work hard for our guests to enjoy their stay with us...see you next trip to Avellanas...Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, New York

Great week at this property!

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we expected. We found this property online and booked it after comparing it to similar houses from the area.

The property is close to many amazing local beaches, and there are some great eateries nearby (we loved Lola's)...

Francisco was very helpful, through and through! He gave us a hand with the bbq and made sure everything was ok... We spoke to Jeffrey when we arrived, and he gave us some local tips about cool spots to visit...

Definitely a really nice experience, great hosts, not expensive at all...

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jared...we do appreciate your comments as we work very hard to make sure our guests have a nice stay...see you all soon... Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
long beach, ny

Beware at all Cost "Complete Misrepresentation of Property description"

  • 1 of 5

This was the worse experience of an attempt at a supposed 5 star luxury villa rental of any vacation rental in my entire 30 years of taking vacations. To start, the property is listed to sleep 6 people. The property only slept 3 people. On immediately arriving at property and discovering the problem. The caretaker contacted the property owner for our party of 5 and his resolution was for us to carry a pull out couch from another unit, two of us hurt our backs, we should of contacted the authorities immediately, but things don't happen like that in Costa Rica.Upon pulling the mattress out of the couch it was full of mice poop and the mattress was springs covered in a sheet, the owners next resolution was to carry another couch in, which resulted in the same situation but even more disgusting. After drawing straws, two of the party had to sleep on the floor with no AC. The other lucky three that got a bed were fortunate enough to receive bed bug bites every where, we wish homeaway had an option to upload disgusting pictures. Of course in Costa Rica, there is not a laundromat on every corner. We contacted the property owner back immediately the next day and informed him this was unacceptable and we were leaving to find another habitable accommodations and feel free to rent it to some other victims. His response was, "do what you have to do." Later we found out the owner did in fact rent the Villa we had paid for. Be careful leaving to find other accommodations as the care taker has sticky hands, we noticed numerous valuable items missing that we had to firmly confront him to give back to us, him saying no hablo english, lucky for us I spoke spanish and he did give us our items back. Also, don't be misled as a walk to the beach, unless you like taking a 45 minute long walk in the hot sun to arrive at the beach completely exhausted. Oh, by the way, don't think about taking a bike ride on the bikes listed in rental for use, as there were none. We filed a complaint with homeaway, they informed us this was unacceptable and to leave the premise immediately and that they would escalate this and we would receive a refund. Of course that has not happened as of yet. Homeaway is now working on trying to resolve the unacceptable misrepresentation and problems the homeowner has left. I would never recommend this property and encourage all renters to stay away from this property at all cost. It deserves no stars and a red flag.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response I will say, as you know HOMEAWAY has resolved your claims and there will be no refund... thus the review... HOMEAWAY and ourselves have moved on and I'm sure our present and future clients can decide for themselves...P.S. After reviewing cameras on the day you returned for your belongings we see no sign of any confrontation at all between Benito and your group...another false claim...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bavaria, Germany

A really nice property!

  • 5 of 5

The house was quite spacious, with lots of light, and very private.

Very modern, with many details, yet, it features a "rustic cabin" style that fits great with the landscape.

We visited lots of nearby beaches! All of them unique in their own way, and Jeff, our host, also booked a boat trip for the whole family.

Everything was great, and everybody really enjoyed themselves, especially the kids at the pool!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jorg....and we enjoyed having you and your family stay with us....always welcome...the kids really seem to love that pool....see you all soon...Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dublin, Ireland

A memorable vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We rented a 4wd vehicle at the Liberia airport, and made the trip to Avellanas, where the house is located.

There, we were met by one of the on-site managers Esteban. He showed us around, and even took us for a drive to Tamarindo! Really nice guy!

Jeff, the other host, came by the next day. He was also very nice and helpful, and booked some golf lessons for us at a nearby resort.

The house is very open, and the bedrooms all had air conditioning. We didn't do much cooking, but the kitchen is packed with everything you need to prepare your meals.

There's also a great pool, which we used only once as we spent a lot of our time outside the property, vising the amazing local beaches.

Thanks for a very memorable vacation!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dan...and next time we will play golf together...glad you had a nice time and look forward to seeing you soon. Jeffrey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Very nice beach and lot of monkeys, the sun set is beautiful every day.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Liberia (LIR)
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Lola's Beachfront
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Naranjo Ferry
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Hacienda Pinilla
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Lola's Beachfront
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Avellanas Beach
Car: recommended

Our beautiful property is located only 15 minutes away from Playa Tamarindo, a well developed beach town, where you can enjoy many activities, such as shopping, sailing, fishing, dining, yoga, surfing ( great spot for beginners) a great night life, and many tours that Costa Rica has to offer.

Also located near by many other surf spots, like Playa Marbella (only 45 minutes away), Playa Negra (10 minutes away), and beautiful Playa Grande, home of the nesting grounds of the largest marine reptile, the leatherback turtle (known as Baula Turtle)


Rates & Availability

Tamarindo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Aug 1 2017 - Oct 12 2017
1 night minimum stay
Oct 13 2017 - Oct 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 16 2017 - Nov 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
Nov 16 2017 - Dec 21 2017
1 night minimum stay
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 24 2018
1 night minimum stay
Mar 25 2018 - Mar 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties