Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

Hawaii 5-0 recently filmed here (DEC 2010) Mountains, valley, and a ranch next door and the Pacific Ocean surfing beach just across the road!

Located on Oahu's east shores, next to Kualoa Ranch, Hale Kaaawa offers a views of the Pacific Ocean and spectacular views of Kaaawa Valley and mountains. During the early evening, you can view the pink clouds of the sunset over the mountains. The morning brings a vibrant sunrise you can view from your private deck.

This house is located in a secluded area that affords complete privacy. The property and surrounding area have the feel of Old Hawaii and appear to have stood still in time. Tall trees sway in the breeze, as you stroll the beach across the narrow country road. The main front deck allows you a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and the majestic mountains and valley as your backyard.

If you want a flavor of the real Hawaii, you have it here! You may even be lucky enough to see an occasional whale during whale season, Turtles also frequent the area and you may catch glimpses of them close to shore.

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2018


Kaaawa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Queen size Beds (2) 1 in master bedroom up stairs and 1 in master bedroom downstairs, Twin or Single Beds (6) 4 twins up stairs and 2 downstairs, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 2 sleeper futons in the loft upstairs
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
2500 square feet of Living Space, 600 square foot Private Deck, Master Bedroom with a queen bed with ocean and valley views and private bathroom, 2 Guest Bedrooms with 2 twin beds in each, Living room with TV, and DVD player, Loft with ocean views with 2 sleeper futons for additional sleeping accommodations, Separate Dining Area for 6 complete with dishes, Books and family games, Coffeemaker, Unobstructed Valley Views, Children friendly home, Downstairs part of the house is seperate and has an addtional 2 bedrooms (queen and 2 twins) and 2 baths with a full size kitchen.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
18% Complete
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews

Extremely disappointed with condition and maintenance

  • 1 of 5

I have never written an online review but felt compelled to following our family vacation. We were extremely disappointed in the condition of this house. This is not just an after the fact rant. I was forced to contact the landlord by email and phone multiple times throughout the week just to try to get problems addressed. A complete waste of our time on our family vacation. We had family fly in from multiple countries and this house was the worst part of the entire vacation. I felt that there has been zero maintenance done on this house over the last few years.

Open septic tank hole in the backyard which was completely unacceptable. We had multiple babies under 2 years old and this vacation home had a foul smelling tank hole in the back yard. We covered it with a large wood round. Spend the money for a proper concrete lid.

Ants and rats seen in the house. Ant killer was left for the guest to use but more pest maintenance by the landlord is needed.

Doors won't shut. Main bedroom door on main floor wont latch. Needed to put some books behind the door so it doesn't just swing open. Back door needs to be rehung so you don't need to lift the door up to close it.

Broken lightbulbs and burned out lights. Again, complete negligence on the landlord. Take a walk through of the property before renting it for a week at a high price. Burned out and broken CFL lights throughout. Broken cheap ceiling light in the upstairs.

Some outlets not working.

Propane tank for the downstairs kitchen stove was completely empty. Trying to make a holiday meal and use two stoves to find that one doesn't work due to no propane is extremely frustrating.

I can put my hand into the MAIN large wooden truss upstairs. (rot and ants) Again, it might take some money but fix the problems with the house.

There were other small issues throughout the house that you would not expect to find in a nice Hawaiian vacation rental. Some of the bedrooms had a bed only and no nightstand or any other furniture. Go to Costco and buy a few bedroom night stand clocks. Remove the chunk of metal (broken off door stop) in the bathroom wall before some kid stabs themselves etc etc. Overall I would not recommend this property to anyone. We would not have stayed at this house for any size of discount. I am unsure when these previous reviews were done but the house is not in any sort of nice condition and we were extremely disappointed in the landlord and VRBO.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to clear up some issues. The septic tank has always been covered. there is no foul smell coming from it. not sure what you were smelling (no other guests has talked about a smell) This property is on a biweekly pest control and has never had rat. Ants do show up due to guests leaving food on counters. Yes we are in the process of getting the back kitchen door rehung. lights:yes there were some lights out however the situation was addressed when told. (extra bulbs are kept at the property) outlets: yes there was an area in the living room that we covered the outlets with baby plugs so no one would use it. This problem has since been fixed. I was not aware that the tank was low downstairs ( there is no gauge on it) how ever was quickly replaced when told. We try our best to fix any problems that come up right away. I am sorry this guest did not have a good stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Seattle, WA

Worst part of our trip

  • 1 of 5

We were a family of 12 (8 adults + 4 kids) and needed a house large enough to accommodate everyone for 4 nights. Based on the photos, reviews, and amazingly cheap price, we thought that this place would be perfect.

The house was indeed spacious, and had a spectacular view of the mountain. The beach was right across the street and location of the home was very convenient for us. However, the house was nothing we expected and we were very disappointed in booking this place.

The photos must have been taken from years ago because the place was completely run down, filthy, infested with bugs, and does not seem like anyone has been maintaining it. A lot of things were broken (microwave, fans, electric plugs) living room lights weren't working. We knew the place had no AC, but there were only a few old fans that worked. The house has two stories but they are not connected so you'd have to go outside and loop around back in order to go downstairs.

One of the garage door was broken and it couldn't close all the way. Our first day there, the kitchen stove and counter was filled with ants crawling, all the sheets in the bedroom did not seem like they had been cleaned and there were bugs crawling everywhere. The downstairs was the worst as it did not seem like anyone has rented/stayed in awhile. The bathroom was filthy and one of the bathtub was filled with dead and live cockroaches! We ended up not using the downstairs so everyone crammed upstairs.

Overall, I was very disappointed in booking this place for my family. No one had a good night sleep, the kids including myself were freaked out with all the bugs crawling around. We all had countless mosquito bites, and we couldn't wait to leave the place. Even if you're traveling on a budget, I'd definitely would not consider this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As always I appreciate those that take the time to submit a review. However I was very surprised to receive a negative review ( our first) As you can see by the other reviews we do pride ourselves in a 5 star property. I am the property manager and live next door. I was in constant communication with this guest. None of these issues were brought to my attention other than the broken microwave. I did buy another one and offered to drop it off but they said they were fine with using the downstairs kitchen one. I got an email on check out day from the guest saying what a great time they had. Nothing negative about their stay at the property. In response to these issues, correct this property does not have AC and its stated in the website. Most homes in Hawaii near the beach do not have AC because the salt air will rust them quickly. Plus we do have trade winds that help keep things cool. This has been a crazy month with 3+ hurricane storms that brought heat, and rain. This property is on a pest control plan ( we do live in the tropics and some times we get unwelcome guests) bottom line I wish these concerns from the guest were brought to my attention so I could make their stay more enjoyable. It is sad that someone can say something nice to your face and yet write a negative review.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't ask for a better place on the island. A chance to experience the real Hawaiian culture. A perfect spot for our wedding!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

"Really nice house in a great location."

  • 5 of 5

The location was great . The house was roomy enough for 6 adults and 2 kids. The beach across the road was awesome! We enjoyed the rural area and the drive to the city was a nice and short. We enjoyed the nice quiet evenings on the deck away from the crowds! The mountain scenery was awesome.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Honolulu, Hi

My Son's Wedding...

  • 5 of 5

My son was married on Valentine's Day this year at Kualoa Ranch. Although we live in Oahu- we needed to house our family from off-island. Puhala house is exactly as the ad states- everything we needed for my son's friends;Groomsman;Best Man was available. The wedding was only a 5 minute drive but we were able to get ready quickly and enjoy this special day. And then relax the next day on the beach across the road. Thank you Arish for your hospitality- we will be back next year for a family reunion.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Alexandria VA

Puhala House

  • 5 of 5

My family was looking for a North Shore property that could fit 10 adults and 2 kids, and the Puhala House definitely was very spacious with lots of bathrooms, great loft area, huge yard for kids, and ample parking (2-car garage and concrete driveway). We never felt cramped even with so many folks. The views from the front and back decks were absolutely phenomena, and we spent tons of time on the huge back deck. It was a very peaceful and remote location with no real neighbors. However, it is on Kam Hwy so although there are trees/shrubs blocking the house from the main road, you can still see and hear cars. The traffic speeds along that straightaway so pulling out was really dicey and the driveway was difficult to find at night. Kitchens were well stocked, new W/D, new flat screen TVs, free wifi, BBQ on the patio, and plenty of beach towels were very helpful! It really did have a lot of amenities. The skinny stretch of beach across from the house is on the highway and is not a swimming beach, though nice for walks. The property manager lives nearby and was very helpful before, during and after the rental. The house has good bones but the interior could definitely benefit from cleaning/updating of the furnishings and a few repairs. We relayed those issues to the property manager. All in all, it was a good fit for our family and we had a wonderful Christmas holiday there.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanx for taking the time to write a review of this property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I as a property manager try my best to make sure our guests are happy and the house is in order. However I wanted to stress that the beach across the street is great for walks, swimming,surfing,boogie boarding and for snorkeling. Directly out front of the property is more for snorkeling. We hope to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


when booking this property you will receive a discount at the kualoa ranch where they filmed LOST, mighty joe young, Pearl Harbor and many more. there are great activites to do like atvs and horseback ridding. They now have a night show!




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 0.13%

rates are based on 10 guests. please add $25/per night plus taxes up to 14 guests
Please note if you wish to pay via Credit Card we do charge an additional 3% Processing Fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties