Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront, Top Floor, Kahana's Best Reno, Whales & Amazing Sunsets. Sleeps 2

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 711 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Fully Upgraded, 4th Floor, 1 King Bed, 1 Bath, Amazing Views, Sleeps 2-3

Aloha and welcome to our vacation home on Maui. Maui is one of the most beautiful places on earth and paradise for vacationers. Our fully renovated vacation home which as of April 2017 features a brand new 14" California King firm memory foam mattress, new Roku TV (cable plus NetFlix and other streaming), all new linens, new towels and a fully outfitted kitchen. Ideally located on the west coast of Maui the condo is the perfect retreat for your Hawaiian vacation. The condominium has been meticulously renovated with luxury finishes and is owned and cared for with pride. The condominium is beautifully appointed, however the oceanfront views are the show stopper. From the 4th floor lanai the unobstructed views of the Pacific ocean are nothing short of spectacular, even more so in whale watching season from December through early April.

Our fourth floor direct ocean front condo features porcelain and travertine floors, granite counter tops, wine fridge, flat top stove, new fridge and fully equipped kitchen. All the kitchen ware and accessories you will need are supplied including plastic beverage ware for the pool and lanai. A full size blender for iced happy hour drinks, a single serve smoothie maker, a drip coffee machine and a French press for delicious Kona coffee. Refresh after a day in the sun in the oversized shower, a California king bed, two flat screen tv's, WIFI access and free local and long distance calling to the US and Canada make your stay on Maui perfect in every way.

We offer the free services of Maui's best vacation services company, which offers concierge services to plan any activities for you on Maui for free. One phone number connects you to a family owned business that can assist you with planning and enjoying your vacation. Ala carte items can be arranged for a small price including meet and greet at the airport, ground transportation, supply and stocking of fridge supplies, gift basket for you and your family, maid service along with a variety of other services. If there's ever a problem they will be there to make things right, so you can just focus on enjoying your vacation. Maui Vacation Services (808)-280-6453; Please note the condo complex is doing a plumbing renovation May - June 2016 and while our unit is not affected there will be daytime noise.

408 @ Kahana Reef enjoys the best views in Kahana Reef and benefits from a wonderful cross breeze from the afternoon tradewinds - just open the screened windows in the master bedroom and the lanai patio door and the condo gets a nice cross breeze from the nearly ever-present trade winds. Please note that no units at Kahana Reef have air conditioners and while the breeze is ideal almost everyday in all seasons of the year, for some desiring an air conditioner the tradewind breeze is not the same. Access is by elevator or stairs up four floors if you choose.

Kahana Reef, is an 88 unit oceanfront condominium complex; concrete walls keep things cool and quiet (we also do not have a neighboring unit to the north so our unit is very private). The oversized lanai (patio balcony) is the perfect place to enjoy morning Kona coffee and evening cocktails watching perfect sunsets with endless views to the islands of Molokai and Lanai in the distance. Kahana Reef has beautifully manicured grounds and tropical gardens. The clear, warm waters of the Pacific ocean are fifteen steps away. Located on Lower Honoapiilani Road between Ka'anapali (location of Whaler's Village which offers an array of shopping and restaurants) and the world famous Kapalua resort, Kahana Reef is ideally situated. The complex offers BBQ grills for owners and guests to enjoy, a pool heated by rooftop solar panels, kayak and surfboard storage, onsite parking, an extensive lawn to work on your tan while reading your favorite book, a perfect beach right next door to play in the ocean.

Restaurant choices are numerous from casual: Maui Brew Pub (have the BBQ Chicken thin crust pizza, or the Ahi Tuna Club sandwich), Maui Taco's (Zagat rated; have the Baha Fish Tacos, or the Ho'okipa Burrito if you are really hungry), Lelani's or Duke's on the beach a short drive to Ka'anaplai (amazing location, great casual food, live music, happy hour specials). Fine dining options nearby are abundant as well: Roy's (our favorite for a great meal, amazing food, outstanding service), Pineapple Grill at The Bay Course, or Merriman's (for a very upscale, special occasion fine dining experience, reservations a must), Kimo's in Lahaina, mid-price, great atmosphere, right on the ocean. These are but a few of the options for foodies on Maui.

You won't find a condominium unit improved to a higher standard than 408@Kahana Reef or better value. We look forward to welcoming you to our vacation paradise.

State of Hawaii GET and TAT#: W91361836-01

More Details

Owner
Patrick Artus
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 9, 2017

About Patrick Artus

After over a dozen trips to Maui enjoying the sun, sand, surf, the Hawaiian culture and the warmth of the people, we decided to become a part of Maui by putting down our stake in the sand. Maui holds a special place in our hearts, the natural beauty of Maui is inescapable. The island offers incredible diversity from lush rainforest to endless sandy beaches to a 10,000 foot dormant volcano. The energy of Maui is also equally diverse, you can come to Maui and totally relax or if you seek an active vacation the options are limitless. We can help you whether you seek the former or the latter.

Why Patrick Artus chose West Maui

One stop at Kahana Reef was all it took to realize that Kahana Reef was something special. You can't be closer to the ocean on Maui and you simply won't find a better managed complex. These factors combined with an ideal location made choosing this property a great decision.

What makes this condo unique

The lanai for the views, the lush green lawn for idly passing the day and watching the ocean, the beach right next door, walking 2 blocks to Kahana Gateway mall for coffee or for dinner at Maui Brew Pub and all that west Maui has to offer make this a very special place. Add the care and assistance of our Maui vacation support partner offering concierge services, vacation planning, and a host of personal options, you can focus on enjoying your vacation on Maui.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for making our honeymoon so perfect. Your condo is lovely and a beautiful setting. Our favorite place by far was the lanai, I think we fell asleep watching the sunset there every day. Thanks for taking our last minute booking we loved our stay at your condo.
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Kahului International (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Maui Brew Pub
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Lahaina
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Kapalua Bay Course
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Highway 30
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
China Boat
Nearest Beach
Onsite
Car: recommended

Kahana reef is ideally located on the west side of Maui, just a few miles north of Lahaina and Ka'anapali and south of Kapalua. Our Kahana condo has you minutes away from all that Maui has to offer. A nice sandy beach right next door, and a beautiful lawn and lawn chairs for suntanning or reading a book. Numerous restaurants and convenience shops within walking distance. Minutes away are some of Maui's best beaches: Napili Bay, Kapalua DT Fleming, Blackrock and Ka'anapali Beach (Old Airport Beach). Surfers also have numerous options only minutes away (S-turns, DT Fleming and Honolua Bay).

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 711 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Beautfully appointed bathroom with new granite countertop, new fixtures, new gorgeous oversized shower and solid wood custom cabinetry.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • 1 bedroom with california king, lots of closets and chest of drawers, new pvc slider windows open to bring in the cool breeze from the west maui mountains. Flat screen tv and ceiling fan make for a great retreat.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront, Top Floor, Kahana's Best Reno, Whales & Amazing Sunsets. Sleeps 2
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 13 reviews
2

Good location

  • 2 of 5

The host was very nice and location was excellent. When we arrived the door code didn't work and contacted Patrick to obtain access. After we got settled a plumber showed up to fix the shower and stayed in the unit because he was there. Disappointed we had to deal with that. While unpacking the closet was filled with boxes, beach toys, and used as storage. Unfortunately, my longer cloths couldn't hang all the way down. It felt like I was staying at someone's 2nd bedroom. The first night while getting ready for bed the corner of the fitted sheets wouldn't stay on the mattress. Looked in the linen closet and found another fitted sheet, but had a blood stain on it so we left the dysfunctional fitted sheet on. We called the local condo contact requesting sheets and that afternoon delivered wrong size sheets. Had to put the disfunctional sheets back on. Day 3 Called again requesting sheets for the third time, and also towels because we didn't have 2 full sets of towels. Note: we would have used the towels in The linen closet, but had stains all over them as though they were used to wash a car. Day 3 after making and unmaking the bed 3 times we finally got the correct sheets. I really dislike giving this kind of review, but this stay was work for us and we should not have been exposed to any of this. We were also charged for 7 days because the calendar showed available, but after we paid we were told the first night wasn't available because of late check out. My husband was furious because we couldn't get a response regarding our credit. We finally got credit for the first day. Sadly we were disappointed.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have never had a guest incurr the difficulties you communicated. The condo door is a coded lock and the instructions are simple and effective, you had simply failed to enter the # at the end of the code as instructed however within minutes of you calling me I provided you with a new code. We have successfully accommodated dozens of guests without incident. We look to deliver an exceptional value experience in a premier finished condominium and enjoy hosting people that will treat our home like they would their own. The closet in the master bedroom actually has three panels the first panel has a large floor safe and beach accessories and plenty of hanger space for shirts, the second panel has hangers and accommodates a dozen or more long dresses. There is always two sets of king size sheets in the linen closet there is also over a dozen bath towels in the closet and six hand towels and they are like new. I wish you would have enjoyed your experience. The one day credit was dealt with in one day but VRBO takes several business days to process, you can check this for yourself. Interestingly other than your first few minutes of your arrival I never heard from you regarding any of this as I would happily have assisted in any way possible as this is a pledge I make to all guests. Mahalo,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairfield, CT
5

Great Location, Great Condo, Great Views!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I found this condo perfect for our 10 day stay in Maui. We loved staying in Kahana, located just a few miles from the heart of Lahaina but less busy. As others have noted, the lanai provided spectacular views of the water where it became a favorite pastime to spot whales while enjoying morning coffee or an evening drink. The condo is very well equipped and nicely maintained with all the necessary kitchen supplies, lovely furniture, really comfortable king bed and plenty of linens along with things for the beach; chairs, beach towels, boogie board and noodle. We liked that the condo complex, although older, was quiet, well maintained with a pool, lawn area, grill, laundry room and an elevator. We would highly recommend this condo!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boise, ID
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for 2 people. Newly remodeled, beautiful 1 bedroom condo with a great view. Owner is a pleasure to work with. Restaurants, shopping within walking distance, small beach adjacent to the property. Saw turtles every day along the sea wall. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay watching sunrises, sunsets, & whales from the lanai.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place low cost

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time, great view and Patrick was always available for any questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Stockton, CA
5

Exactly as described but better

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this unit at the Kahana Reef. The unit was exactly as described but better. The unit is completely furnished with amenities in the kitchen. The condo is comfortable and has a great view. We are glad we brought our binoculars as Patrick suggested as the whales were extremely active during our February stay. We took a shuttle from the airport and used the public bus system the rest of the time to visit Whaler's Village and Lahaina. We can recommend the unit to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arnold, Ca
4

Beautiful Ocean View

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kahana Reef. The views were spectacular and the condo was upgraded and clean. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night. Some of the nights were a little warm, but the fans helped. I would recommend this rental to a friend.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

100% refundable if cancelled within 60 days. Standard rate $199 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties