Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Black Walnut Lodge- Lakefront! Big private dock, 2 kayaks, pool table, fun!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 4 baths

Come and enjoy the peace and quiet of pristine Lake Nantahala in this beautiful lake front home. 3 bedrooms with king beds and one bedroom with 2 full-sized bunks supply the accommodations for a terrific family vacation. There are also 2 kayaks, a pool table and many water toys.

You can go to the Lake's End Grill (seasonal) which serves 3 meals a day and has a fire pit in the back overlooking the water.

On the days you may prefer to be indoors, there is a theater room and a game room with a pool table and separate kitchen. 2 large covered porches and rocking chairs give you the peace and serenity that you are looking for in a lake vacation. There is also a large picnic table with an umbrella and a deck just steps from the water and the private dock.

This is our family lake home, not a sterile rental unit. We want you to feel as comfortable in it as we do, so it is furnished and appointed like you would expect a home to be. The beds all have pillow top mattresses with 400 thread count sheets, and the kitchen is fully stocked.

Most homes on Lake Nantahala have 75 to over 100 steps down a steep bank to the lake. Our home has a very gradual path from the dock to the house. We have guests who have stayed elsewhere with many steps to the lake and we always get comments as to what a relief this house is. Be sure to ask how many steps there are to the lake before you rent.

Our lakeside deck is the perfect place to relax, eat dinner,watch the children swim, and roast marshmallows at night in the fire pit area. Our home has central heat and air, but because it is located at over 3000 feet of elevation you rarely need the air conditioning. Once you experience Lake Nantahala, vacationing on any other lake becomes out of the question.

Bring your fishing gear and fish the lake or fly fish on the Nantahala River. The river hosted the 2011 USA National Fly Fishing Championships. The river is located less than 15 minutes from our lake home. A North Carolina fishing license and trout stamp is required, which you can get online or nearby at Bryant’s Bait & Tackle Shop.

Excellent class II-III whitewater rafting is located about twenty-five minutes from our lake home at the Nantahala Outdoor Center - voted by Good Morning America and National Geographic Adventure Magazine as the #1 family vacation spot in America.

The Nantahala River hosted the 2013 World Freestyle Kayaking Championships with athletes from over 50 Countries participating. The Rivers End Café is located there, where you can sit on the river’s edge and watch the kayakers and rafters and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. (seasonal)

There are many treasures to find on the lake, including the rope swing and a short hike to a hidden waterfall. You will love this beautiful, clean lake!

More Details

Owner
Curt and Suzanne Smith
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Curt and Suzanne Smith

We have loved Lake Nantahala for many years and own another vacation retreat close to this property. We hope to share our beautiful lake and surrounding mountains with you and your family for a vacation you will always remember.

Curt and Suzanne Smith purchased this house in 2014

Why Curt and Suzanne Smith chose Smoky Mountains

Lake Nantahala is a beautiful, clean, clear mountain lake, located at a high elevation to alleviate the summer heat and bugs. This house is not a sterile rental, it is our home, and we want you to feel as comfortable in it as we do.

What makes this house unique

The fact that there are only a few steps down to the dock is a huge advantage to this house. Many houses on the lake have over 100 steps down (and back up!) to the dock.

Amenities

Topton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • 4 Full Baths
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , Each bed on each bunk is FULL sized - bunks can sleep 6 max
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Black Walnut Lodge- Lakefront! Big private dock, 2 kayaks, pool table, fun!
average rating of 4.75 based on 20 reviews
4

Lovely lakefront property

  • 4 of 5

It would have been nice to have had the outside furniture clean and ready for use. This would be true of the kayaks as well and the boat cover already removed.

The kitchen was adequate.

Standing lamps by the chairs to provide sufficient lighting to enjoy a good read would have been nice. We found the interior of the cabin to be dark.

We were fortunate with lots of sunshine and enjoyed the covered porch very much .

We would recommend this home to others.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that your stay wasn't 5 star. The outside cushions were all brand new, so I'm not sure which furniture wasn't clean. Perhaps you meant the rocking chairs that are clean, but do need a paint job, which is scheduled but wasn't able to be completed before your arrival. The blue and green kayaks were new last year and were completely cleaned in April. The boat cover was still on because it hadn't been used in a month since the previous renter left- we wouldn't have left it uncovered for that long. Thanks for making me aware of these issues. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spring Break Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We met our son and two grandchildren at Black Walnut Lodge for a few days of fun during the kids Spring Break. Lodge is very clean and cozy. Kids loved the bunk beds, movie room, and all enjoyed playing pool. Lake Nantahala is beautiful and very peaceful. We had great weather, although it cooled quickly in the evenings. We enjoyed the pontoon boat and fishing. The marina was not yet open for the season, but we had all the provisions we needed with us for great meals and everything. Larry & Char from Ohio.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AWESOME!!!

  • 5 of 5

We spent Christmas week at Black Walnut Lodge and it was WONDERFUL!!! It was Clean, Spacious and very Relaxing. We really hated to leave...Suzanne and Curt were GREAT! They were prompt to answer any questions and very helpful too :) We hope to come back and stay for another week! Thank you both for Everything!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Vaction with Family

  • 5 of 5

We met family to celebrate Christmas and stayed in Black Walnut Lodge. It was great. There was plenty of room. Everything was comfortable, clean and woked great.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice cabin, nice area but need deep cleaning.

  • 3 of 5

Very nice place and beautiful area, but the owner need to pay more attention of how the cleaning crew clean the house. We had to clean the bathroom tubs with bleach again. The floor had a lot of hear from previous guess pets. Internet is very slow and Can even open Pandora. The grill was very durty and have all burners broken.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow - I am so shocked to read this. I have never had any complaints about the cleanliness of the house before so I don't know why you felt the bathtubs were dirty. Also, we have never allowed pets in that house so I can't imagine what the hair would be. We are always very upfront about the internet as we were with you in our welcome letter. You are in the mountains so it is slow - suitable for emails and websites, but no streaming, etc. I do apologize for the grill - it is on it's last legs (although it did work at last check) and we are replacing it in the spring. It didn't occur to me that you would be using it in the winter - I should have asked you. I'm sorry that your stay wasn't a 5 star one and I wish you had contacted us about the problems while you were there.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

An Enjoyable Experience

  • 5 of 5

We had four guys and their wives who had a mini high school reunion, class of 1967. The house has four bedrooms, three of which have king beds and a basement bedroom which has double bed and single bed bunks. The bedrooms are a nice size however two bedrooms on the upper floor share a small full bathroom which is a little cramped and awkward for two couples. There is an additional full bath on the second floor but requires an upper floor couple to walk down stairs to use. The master BR is on the middle floor and is large with a full private bathroom. The basement BR with bunks has a full private BR. The kitchen was well equipped, frig w/ ice maker, etc. The dinning room table seats eight. The living room could use a little larger TV for room size. A large TV is located in a small media room in the basement but has limited seating, 3 to 4 people. A billiard room in the basement is a nice added attraction. The propane grill worked well. Another nice feature is the available pontoon boat which came with the rental allowing for on the lake entertainment. The walk from the house to the dock is a little steep and may be a chore for those with physical challenges but is otherwise quite doable. The house was quite clean! It is not far from the restaurant and marina. If returning to Lake Nantahala, we would definitely consider renting it again.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Topton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer 2017 WITH boat
May 20 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 
 
2017 JULY 4 holiday WITH boat
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,600
 
 
2017 Late Summer WITH boat
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,900
 
 
2017 Early Fall WITH boat
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
$2,600
 
 
2017 Fall/Winter NO boat
Sep 16 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable