Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Fall Dates open! Short walk to beach. Gated community,access to 2 pools,Private Beach Access.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths5
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Pictures don't do this home justice!! Very close to the beach and the pool, only about a block to each. Enjoy security in this gated community of Emerald Shores.

Sequoya Sun is a three bedroom two and a half bath home approximately 1,700 sq. ft with two stories. You will walk into a spacious living room with plenty of seating and a Flat Screen TV/DVD player.

The kitchen and dining area are also in this area and overlook the living room to make socializing simple!

The master bedroom with a private bathroom and access to the outside patio area is also located on the ground floor.

The laundry room and a half bath are also on the first floor.

Enjoy patio access from the hall and master bedroom.

Top floor features two bedrooms with balcony access as well as a large bathroom. In one bedroom there are two bunk beds featuring two twins and two full beds. The other bedroom features a queen bed. Both of these bedrooms have access to the second floor balcony.

There are two pools in this subdivision one is only a block away and the other is at the North end of the complex.

As if the home isn't good enough Emerald Shores also has its own PRIVATE beach access as well as beach restrooms and pavilion!!

Tram service runs during peak seasons in case the sun and sand have worn you down!

Capt Dave’s on the Gulf & Kenny D’s are restaurant/bars within walking distance to Sequoya Sun. Crab Trap is a little farther down, but would be a fairly easy walk for the family to make to enjoy some other dinner fare!

This home has internet and is conveniently located in the Miramar Beach area of Destin about 1.5 miles East of the Destin Commons and Bass Pro Shop.

Enjoy everything Destin has to offer from this easily accessible subdivision which has a Scenic and Hwy entrance!

Fun times are sure to be had shopping at the Destin Commons, Silver Sands Outlet Mall or one of the other dozens of other shopping centers, ride go carts and bumper boats at The Track, splash and slide at Big Kahunas water park, compete to see who gets the most tickets at Fat Daddy arcade, feed the crocodiles and enjoy lunch/dinner at Fudpuckers and water sports galore in Destin!!!!

Please note, due to the size of the driveway, there is only room for 2 vehicles. There is extra parking (first come, first serve) at both swimming pools and tennis courts.

More Details

Property Manager
Heather, Jennifer or Gena
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

About Heather, Jennifer or Gena

Destin Beach Realty has been in business since 2003 and have been fine tuning our business ever since! We are very knowledgeable of the vacation rental industry having over 20 years combined experience in the business. We are located here in Sunny Destin and are ready to make sure your Destin Vacation is a memorable one, sure to have you wanting to return year, after year!! Have no fear that your vacation rental will be dirty or riddled with maintenance issues. We have very high cleaning standards and a fast turn around on maintenance. We are here to be sure you have a memorable stay along the Emerald Coast!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We've stayed in this subdivision before and were thrilled to get to stay on the street closet to the gates towards the beach.



Kids also loved we were so close to the pool.



The home was clean and we enjoyed the open living room and kitchen area.
May 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Miramar Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 5 Half Baths
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fall Dates open! Short walk to beach. Gated community,access to 2 pools,Private Beach Access.
average rating of 3.8 based on 7 reviews
3

It was okay.

  • 3 of 5

The floors were dirty. We found this out 10 mins into our stay after my baby's legs and hands were black after crawling on the floor. The upstairs room with the bunkbeds is only suitable for children due to the poor quality of mattresses and not enough space. There is NO hot tub even though most sites say there is. Other than some issues our 10 person family had a nice time and enjoyed our stay. It was a short walk to the ocean and pool. There was also a trolley that goes back and forth from the beach throughout the day.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review! We are very disappointed you incurred anything but perfect accommodations! We hate to hear the floors weren't tidy. We take great pride in our properties and the cleanliness of them. Had you contacted us we would have sent someone over immediately to rectify the problem. I'll be sure to touch base with the inspector who took care of your arrival. We appreciate you letting us know about the bed situation upstairs. Without our guest informing us of things like this, we will not know. I'll be sure to email the owners and see about getting the mattresses updated! We are happy to know you enjoyed the proximity to the beach and also the trolley! Thank you again for your time!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Evansville, Indiana
5

Spring Break 2016

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Destin and we felt very lucky to have landed in Emerald Shores because it is a completely different vibe than a high-rise condo. It is a gated community and very quiet (no door slamming and hallway noise like in a condo/hotel). The home was fully equipped with everything we needed. There was a great propane BBQ on the patio which we used almost every night. Laundry facility in the unit and the 3 bathrooms was a definite plus. The walk to the beach took only a few minutes and the private beach was absolutely amazing. It seemed to me that Destin, in general, is extremely commercial and chaotic, so it was nice to come home every day to this peaceful, tucked-away subdivision.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
greenbrier, tn
3

Destin area is great, nice gated community

  • 3 of 5

We rented this for a week in June. It was for our family. It is spacious and can accommodate our family of 7. The neighborhood is very nice and family oriented. It is a short walk to the beach. I will say that almost every house in this neighborhood has some type of wagon included so that you can easily haul your stuff to the beach. This house does NOT have that. I did send the rental company and ask them about it, in hopes that we missed it somewhere, but was told, "that is not required and the owners do not provide it". We also heard that same response when I asked "why there was no pizza cutter". The house is only provided with the bare necessities. You will not even find a pen and piece of paper to write on at this house. However, the blender was broken and when I asked about that I was told I could come get a new one at the office.

The pavilion with the bathrooms and snack bar are a plus.

We did eat at the restaurant across the street from the Beach entrance. It is excellent! The staff at the pavilion are professional and nice. Loved the snack bar attendant.

The water at this beach was clear and beautiful. We did have red flags on the last 2 days. The last day on the beach the beach chair attendant cautioned everyone to stay out of the water after he had to go help 2 people out of the ocean. Also, we rented chairs from him everyday. He went over and beyond to make sure we had a great week with the best spot for our chairs, loved Graham!

The pools in this neighborhood were nice for when the beach was red flagged. There is a back entrance that makes for easy access to Destin.

This house could use more chairs to sit in on the front porch. The price is fair for what you get.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review! We actually contacted the owner after your request for the beach "buggy" & are awaiting a response back. Sorry you found there not to be enough utensils in the kitchen. It doesn't really have specialty items and a pizza cutter would fall under that category! We agree that the beach side pavilion and bathrooms are a huge plus for this community & we're happy to know you enjoyed the pool areas too. We hope to rectify the issue with the helpful beach buggy and hopefully if you stay again, you'll be able to utilize.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Michigan Spring Break 2015

  • 4 of 5

We rented this facility for a family Spring Break trip (2 adults plus 4 @ 18 year old High School Seniors).

The facility was spacious and provided plenty of privacy and was in good shape. Our main complaint with the house was the lack of insulation between the main floor and the upper floor which made it pretty loud in the downstairs bedroom -- we could hear every move made in the upper level.

We did have a toilet issue with the upper level, and I did see a cockroach in the cubbard (only once).

I had to buy a new corkscrew since the one there was broke, and the oven didn't seem to cook at the desired temperature -- what should have taken an hour and 45 minutes at 425 degrees, took 2 hours and 45 minutes.

The Destin area is nice, and is very tame -- which is what we were looking for over a High School Spring Break. We did not want the PCB madness, and we were not disappointed - Destin was the right choice.

However, the lack of any transit in the area made it hard on our larger crew to get around without me having to shuttle them or rent a scooter and I would strongly recommend familes bring bikes -- especially for the older teens.

For the area, we went parasailing, deep sea fishing, rented a pontoon boat, saw lots of Dolphins and went on a number of long relaxing walks on the beach.

It was a very enjoyable location and vacation.

Highly recommend any family visit the Common area by Bass Pro Shop, and also the main Marina/village area down by the harbor: must try the fish tacos from the Big Red one.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Michael! Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. This allows out so know what was great and what could use improvement. We'll be sure to have maintenance take a look at the stove issue and were sorry to hear you had noise issues between the two floors! We are thrilled you found Destin to have the atmosphere you were looking for. We pride ourselves in being a family friendly town and are nothing like PCB- glad you agreed! We hope to have you stay with us in the future, and again, thank you for your time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alabama, USA
4

Birthday Splash

  • 4 of 5

We rented this home for my birthday. It was our first time renting a property and was a great experience. The home is spacious and comfortable. It comes with everything you need. The rental staff is nice and accommodating. It really is an easy walk to the beach. The private pavilion is clean and close to one of the best sections of the beach. The only reason this is receiving 4 stars instead of 5 is the flooring on the lower level of the home. There are gaps in the wood laminate in several places. Most concerning of all, though, was the fact that although the floors appeared clean, one only had to be barefoot for a moment for their feet to be absolutely black with dirt. It was only a small problem to deal with in the overall experience of a fab weekend. We plan to come back again next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time out to post this positive review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your time in Destin while staying at Sequoya Sun. We have also noted that the flooring needs attention and will be having that looked at during our shoulder season. We had such a busy summer we did not have a moment to get it taken care of sooner. We are so sorry to hear the floors got your feet dirty!! We have very high cleaning standards and we hate to hear that you found this issue. In the future please feel free to call us and we'd happily have come over and re-mopped! The tile will have a thorough steam cleaning during the off season too! I really love that beach side pavilion you get access to- nice to step out of the sun for a moment or use the restroom without having to come back "home". We look forward to having you stay with us again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
VPS- Fort Walton Beach Regional
Nearest Barpub
150 Metres
Kenny D's or Capt Dave's on the Gulf
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Emerald Bay
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres
Kenny D's or Capt Dave's on the Gulf
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Private beach access, 75-100 yards away
Car: recommended

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable