Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Philadelphia Million Dollar Estate - Pinnacle Award Winning Home

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Space 7,500 sq. ft.
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, 2 Chefs Kitchens, Movie Theatre, Pool/Game Room, Gym

*Philadelphia Million Dollar Estate is perfect for large Family Vacations, Reunions, Weddings, Receptions, Private and Corporate Special Events!! Professionally designed and decorated this home will surely impress, while making you feel right at home at the same time. The oversized large main floor has gorgeous floor to ceiling windows and a spa like master retreat which includes a fireplace and jacuzzi tub/bathroom. The oversized living and family room overlook this amazing park-like setting which is perfect place to entertain in or simply relax at the end of a busy day of shopping & sight seeing in both comfort and luxury. There is an additional single bedroom on this floor as well. The downstairs level is completely finished with top of the line detail. There is a private Movie Theatre room which easily seats 12+ persons and includes a 60' TV screen. There is also a full, second Chefs Kitchen on this floor, as well a complete exercise/fitness center. There are two additional private Bedrooms, one with its own en-suite (handicapped accessible). And not to be forgotten is the Pool/game room that heats up not only with competition but also another cozy fireplace as well. The upper floor consists of three additional bedrooms, each with large queen beds, one includes a twin bunk bed, as well as an additional twin bed which is perfect to sleep all the kids! There is an additional full bath on this floor as well as a separate lounge area, perfect for kids and teens to hang out in their own space. Linens and towels are provided, but if needed there are two sets of washers and dryers for your use. This custom Estate home is truly a one of a kind gem. Reviews continually state "you won't believe it until you see it" and "the pictures don't do it justice". This property is private, yet in the perfect location for easy travel and leisure events. Come and be our guests for your next Family Vacation, Intimate Gathering, Business Function, Reunion, Birthday Bash, Girls or Guys Get-Away. Be our guest and Enjoy Vacationing and Entertaining in Philadelphia Luxury and Style!

*Additional Fees may apply for events & non-overnight guests.

More Details

Owner
Heather Dougherty-Harris
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Heather Dougherty-Harris

Our family has lived in this home for over 10 years. It is truly a family home. We love this home so much we have decided to keep it and share it with others as we spend most of the school year in Florida. My husband was born and raised in Pennsylvania and I was born and raised in Florida. It is such a blessing to be able to spend time with both families as we raise our four children. Our time in Philadelphia is so special, we look forward to living in Florida and visiting the northeast as often as we can. In the meantime we look forward to sharing this amazing one of a kind, family home with you and your guests in the Philadelphia area.

Heather Dougherty-Harris purchased this estate in 2004

Why Heather Dougherty-Harris chose Montgomery County

We purchased this property because of the unique beauty that it possessed. The location was a huge selling point for us. We are so close to Philadelphia, Washington D.C., New York City and Baltimore. The home is also one mile from a major road, so it makes it very easy to travel anywhere quickly. Philadelphia Premium outlets are a mile away as well as the nations largest mall is only 20 min away. Moving to Pennsylvania in 1999 after graduating from Chiropractic school, my husband and I both wanted to live in the community where our practice was located. This house was the perfect fit for our family and the extensive entertaining we do.

What makes this estate unique

We purchased this property because of the unique beauty that it possessed. The high end finish internally and the beauty of the outside. We are so close to Philadelphia but also loved being on a large private property, which gave us additional peace and serenity. The view from the living room is beautiful in any season: winter snow, fall foliage, spring blossoms and summer's green. Sitting in the main living area allowed us to enjoy the beauty of the northeast.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Heather



I wanted to let you know that we very much enjoyed staying in your house and enjoying Thanksgiving with our children, their spouses and grandchildren. It was absolutely great to have so much space as the two teenager boys and two college age boys took up the basement rooms and enjoyed the games, the movie theatre among other things while we, th grandparents, occupied the master bedroom and the two couples with their vey young ones were upstairs. It was also very much appreciated by all that there were so many toys and other things to occupy the little ones. We made good use of the kitchen to feed everyone – in short, the house was perfect for the large group that we were. And so, thank you for making it available to us and for allowing us (me and Richard to check in a little earlier and check out a little later. That was very, very helpful. We had to wait an additional two hours at the airport due to a flight delay and so we were there a total of almost 6 ours!. However, the important is that we returned home safely, be it very very late, midnight in California which would be 3 o’clock Pennsylvania time. Oh well..



Joe was absolutely wonderful. He was very prompt in picking us up both ways and enjoyable to talk to. He is an interesting person with interesting points of view. Thank you again for putting us in contact with him.



All in all, a very happy and enjoyable experience.



So with this, again many thanks for enabling us to have a very positive experience in your house. Who knows? We might do this again.
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Pottstown Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 7500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 25 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • 1) All cars must be parked on the driveway, at all times under all circumstances. 2)Quiet Hours start at 10pm. No outside music/gatherings after 11pm
  • 3) No fireworks allowed. Fires only allowed in fire pit or chiminea. extinguish fully when not in use. 4) Remove all garbage and dispose of properly.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
  • Three full bathrooms, one on each floor. Two half baths, one located on main floor and one located in downstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Main floor master with en suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk Bed is twin top/double bottom, upstairs
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , Downstairs
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , Second master with en suite, downstairs
    Bedroom 7 - 1 twin/ single , Mainfloor
  • 2 Master Suites each with king-size mattress and private en suites, plus five additional bedrooms in the house! Four queens, one full, one twin bunk bed, and 2 single beds located on three floors of living space. There are 17 comfortable sleeping spaces in beds. Extra guests are welcome to use couches or bring their own air mattresses. Linens and towels are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This home and property are the ideal setting for a Large or extended Family Vacation, Reunion, Corporate Event or other Intimate gathering. Additional fees may apply for additional guests or events. All events must be approved by the owner prior to booking.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Philadelphia Million Dollar Estate - Pinnacle Award Winning Home
average rating of 4.6 based on 34 reviews
Dublin, CA
5

Awesome !!

  • 5 of 5

We went for a weekend stay with family and friends. The house is beautiful, it was setup perfectly and clean. Much better than the pictures. We regret not booking it for a longer stay than just the weekend. The grown-ups as well as the adults completely enjoyed the stay. Would come back next time for a longer stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your stay. You and your guests were such a delight. You had such a long way to travel just to spend time some quality together, I am so happy that you were all comfortable and able to relax! Please come back again & stay a little longer! We look forward to hosting you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home, accessible and kind host - we had a great weekend! We would definitely stay here again! Perfect home for a family gathering.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Easy

  • 4 of 5

Heather was easy to communicate with. The property and the land is very spacious. Wish we had more time there to enjoy the outdoor on the property. The kitchen and dining space allowed my group to eat and hang out, while some people may decide to venture to the basement for pool games or watch movies. The cleaning staff arrived right when we were leaving, and they were friendly. The kitchen is well-equipped too but we didn't get to spend much time cooking. There are 2 grills outdoor. You will see kids-related toys and beds upstairs as this is a place that seems to be lived by a family. Also want to be mindful when deciding who will sleep in the basement where the 2 queen beds and 1 king bed are since they are right next to the pool table (for the noise). Consider calling Heather a little before arriving about setting the A/C temperature, since we realized the temp. was set to high until we call to confirm check in, then she could adjust remotely. The inside of the house was clean. The outdoor spaces can use a little tender and care in terms of landscaping or cleaning but nothing unusual for a space that's not constantly being used. Also note that since Heather may not be visiting the house immediately after the check out, you may not have the deposit back right away. It's been almost a week since my check out but she mentioned that I should get it next week.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Sewer back up & flooding: The owners did nothing to help

  • 1 of 5

Repairs and maintenance have been neglected.

Foremost was the flood of the downstairs bathroom and bedroom. There was an alarm at 4:30 PM. We emailed a picture of the panel to the owner but received no response from them. By 7:30 PM the shower began to back up. Phone calls/texts were sent to the owner but went unanswered. We called a plumber who was on site within 2 hours but could do nothing to help. We were told “not to shower and don’t flush the toilets unless absolutely necessary”. Finally spoke to owner at about 10 PM. They said that they would get someone out to help the next day yet no one came. (An individual representing the owner did stop by to turn off the sewer pump but nothing more.) We waited until 4 PM and called the owners since we had heard nothing about repairs or help. The owner said no one would be coming until after we left the next day and to not use any “unnecessary” water. There were 14 of us who hadn’t had a shower, were eating off paper plates and weren’t flushing much. The owners texted, “Keep your water usage to a minimum”.

We are not from the area but were able to get a plumber out on a Friday night in 2 hours. The owners had all day on Saturday to help us and they did nothing, not even an apology.

Other issues indicate general neglect. Grandparents tripped on unseated stepping stones that were 1-2” above the path level. The flapper in the upstairs toilet was broken. We had to turn off the water to the toilet after each flush until I could buy a new flapper. The sink in the master bath was half full of water when we arrived. Could not stop drip and the lever to open the drain was broken. Exhaust fan in that bathroom along with the stove surface vent were inoperable. The carpets in the great room are stained in many places. The chair seats around the kitchen table are very stained and unsightly. The dishwasher door is hyper-extended. If you pull a full bottom rack out all the way it will continue to roll off. The house is advertised to sleep 20 but there were only 10 forks and 12 spoons in the entire house. There is a pool table but only one usable cue. Water dispenser and ice maker in the frige did not work ( bag of ice was supplied). There was a bowl on the sideboard in the dining room to catch the water that had dripped through the ceiling from bathroom above. (More issues but space is limit.)

Previous reviews indicate a helpful property manager. The owners need to rehire one.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guest DAMAGE Property and refuses to take responsibility for their actions! REFUSE the Owner's the Right to Compensation!! Please note this is the only low rated review for this property. Both of the guests that stayed on the premises before and after this guest did not have any complaints, and have written positive reviews of the property. This property is also listed on other very popular, highly credible sites, without any note of a poor review. Upon check-in this guest had no complaints. Someone in their party put "baby wipes, sanitary napkins or the like" down the toilet and caused a clog to the grinder pump (per official Plumber's report). The issue was addressed within hours upon proper reporting to the owner. A full correction and repair of the issue was handled within 24-36 hours, by Emergency Plumbing Service. Maintenance was sent over immediately to make guests comfortable. Guests did not have to handle any type of cleanup or coordinate any type of maintenance or repair. Guests were able to go about their plans and chose to continue to stay on the premises, with no complaints. Guest checked out in good standing. Once the owner put in a report to the insurance company, in an effort utilize the guests insurance in lieu of keeping their refundable security deposit, the guests claimed they did not cause any property damage! This did not make sense as it would be in the best interest of the guest to allow the insurance to cover the cost of the damages, which was within the guidelines of both the claim and the coverage. The owner was happy to help guest during their stay, despite damage done to their property, and was also willing to refund security deposit once an insurance claim was approved. Guest has refused to take responsibility for the property damage caused during their stay. Owner stands by their track record of positive reviews which include both high quality service and top notch accommodations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

the palce is even better than the pictures!

  • 5 of 5

Heather the owner was really nice and helpful. The was more than we hoped for.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay Amir. You and your friends & family are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Couldn't of been better hosts.

  • 5 of 5

My now wife and I are on the way to the airport for our honeymoon leaving 4050 prospect hill lane. We had our wedding at Heather's house there. We had no idea what we were doing and getting into at all. Every single last minute issue was so easily handled and helped with. Her staff that tend to the home, Mark and Kelli, were so helpful. Not a single complaint or scuff once. We ran behind on everything. The wedding started 2 hours late and they stayed a additional 4 hours than expected for extremely reasonable costs. I can't express how great everyone was. All the way down to a "minor" noise incident ...or maybe 2, quite late in the evening that resulted in a few local officers stopping by. Mark handled everything and left me and my wife with nothing to concern ourselves with. I highly recommend this location for just about anything. From just needing a large home to rent or hosting a event. A+

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Philadelphia International
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Craft Ale House
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Turtle Creek, Bella Vista, Raven's Claw
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Paoli and 30th Street Station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 422
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Providence Town Center Restaurants & Shops
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Bear Creek, Spring Mountain, Blue Mount
Nearest Beach
90 Miles
Jersey Shore - Manasquan, Point Pleasant
Car: recommended

Easy access to Route 422. 1 mile from Philadelphia Premium Outlets, 20 Minutes from King of Prussia (country's second largest mall), 30 minutes from Lancaster, 40 minutes to downtown Philadelphia, 2 hours from New York City, Jersey Shore and Baltimore. Also, 15 minutes away from two great ski resorts for winter fun and 15 minutes from multiple lakes as well. Hershey Park(90 minutes) and Dorney Park (60 minutes) are in a close proximity. There are multiple casinos in the area, the closest being Valley Forge Casino which is 15 minutes away, where you can also enjoy Historic Valley Forge National Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning/Maintenance $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties