Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Perfect family vacation!!! just pack swimsuits!!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom, 5 bath, gorgeous house just a stone throw from the beach

Beautiful Second row ocean home, comfortably sleeps up to 16.

Private pool, hot tub, modern kitchen, washer & dryer, fireplace.

This is a perfect place for a family get together or a vacation with your friends. Location is superb with a short walk to resort amenities including tennis, basketball, three different golf courses, two hotels etc. Each bedroom has a private bath, large closet and tv. Home also has wireless internet. Downstairs are two master bedrooms, each with a king size bed, whirlpool soaking tub and walk in closet. There is another large bedroom with two queen beds. The kitchen features an eating area, and there is a mudroom leading to the outside. The large living dining room seats ten at the main table. The leather sofas are incredibly comfortable, and overlook the pool area. There is also a wet bar with a wine fridge. Upstairs are two large bedrooms each with two queen beds, a game loft and small study, perfect for the student who has to complete the school project while on vacation.

The large deck features a gas grill, and the private pool has loads of comfortable outdoor furniture, with a privately enclosed backyard that makes you feel like you're in your own private oasis.

There is a private path to the beach. You can walk for miles on the clean white sand and there is a keyless entry system, so you never have to worry about losing the key or locking yourself out!!

There are excellent local eateries within walking distance (Alexanders- voted best restaurant on HH is a 4 min walk), plenty of activities and local shows just down the road. So come by boat, train, car or plane and enjoy this beautiful home and all that Hilton Head has to offer!

More Details

Property Manager
Karen Hausler
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 15, 2017

About Karen Hausler

We bought our first place on the island in 1989. It has always been our family's favorite vacation place. Some of our best family memories are from here

Why Karen Hausler chose South Carolina

This house is truly comfortable. We enjoy the cozy feel, and have decorated so that it is homey rather than hotel like. We make sure that all the amenities are what we would want on vacation, and hope that you enjoy it as well.

Amenities

Hilton Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , double sinks
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , double sinks
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , spacious, with linen closet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , spacious, perfect for the kids!!
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , private bathroom, whirlpool tub, walk in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , private bath, first floor room, tv and reading chair
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen , upstairs, perfect for kids
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , upstairs, perfect for kids
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , with private bathroom, whirlpool tub, walk in closet
  • there is also a loft area, and a small study, perfect for taking that conference call
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Perfect family vacation!!! just pack swimsuits!!
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
4

Property appear to be clean and well-maintained. Size of the pool was a big plus.

  • 4 of 5

This house was good for a group of 15 people. The walk to the beach was able to be done in minutes. The rooms were spacious and there was enough table space for everyone. The two families that shared this house for both overall pleased and would consider renting it again in the future .

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Georgetown, ky
5

april on HHI

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful house for 5 couples, with 5 bedrooms, all with their own bath, and plenty of room for meals and gathering. Short walk to beach and a pool in the back with a nice deck.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad it worked for you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Really Great!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great house for our visit. Palmetto Dunes is absolutely gorgeous. The house is great and their was plenty of room. It sleeps 16 comfortably!! The short walk on the private path to the beach couldn't have been any better. Our only complaint would be that the house could have been cleaner.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a wonderful time- you were a pleasure to work with. We are switching cleaning services next month- they have unfortunately not been the most reliable. It is disappointing to me as an owner when all is great with that exception. and so we are definitely taking action
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Family Vacation is right!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our week at this beautiful home was wonderful! Thank you so much, Karen! We loved every minute. There were 4 adult couples in our group (us and our grown children and their spouses) along with their children - 13, 4, 3, 18 months and 16 months. This is a huge 5 bedroom and 5 bathroom home. Our 13 year old grandson was ecstatic to have his own room and private bathroom! There are two large master bedrooms on the first floor, each with sliding doors to their private deck portion, walk-in closet, shower, jetted tub and a door from the bathroom to the deck. The upstairs bedrooms each had their own bathroom. The bedrooms and bathrooms were roomy and comfortable! There is also a small office upstairs as well as a desk area on the catwalk above the living space. The kitchen was very large, and included a large table with seating for 8. We appreciated the high chair, and also the two coffee pots. A previous reviewer complained about the icemaker not working. During our visit, the refrigerator (which worked fine except for the icemaker) was switched out. We did not have to lift a finger as the owner managed this completely through her contacts. We felt the service for this concern was excellent. We have no complaints whatsoever and recognize this type of repair could happen to anyone at anytime. The light coming into this home from all of the windows is tremendous!

The pool area was fantastic. Our young grandchildren spent every day in and by the pool area. I had no worries with the hot tub. There were plenty of chairs and seating around the pool and on the deck. The owner did dispatch repairman to fix wood on the sliding doors to the pool from the living room to the deck, and also to replace a slat on the deck. There were no issues with this either and the work did not keep us from enjoying the home, or the pool.

The beach was a 1/2 block from the house! Easy walking, especially with young children, and once there, that section of the beach is pretty private! Down the beach a short walk is the Dunes restaurant. Our family enjoyed the beach, and the short walk from this beautiful home.

This home had everything to offer a family! It is a stunning home in a fantastic location. Thank you again, Karen, for your consideration!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is wonderful to have guests appreciate our efforts. So happy that you enjoyed your vacation!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner is selling home and has checked out

  • 1 of 5

We fell in love with this home online for our extended family vacation. It had exactly the right number of bedrooms and rooms to meet our family needs...however, upon arrival we noticed several issues:

1. The hot tub as listed in the description below is not actually a hot tub as all of the jets are blocked off. It's essentially a little mini pool.

2. The light in the "hot tub" does not work and 2 people fell in on our first night. This required us to barricade the area with lawn chairs so no one else would be injured. This is a HUGE LIABILITY

3. The back sliding doors: one was completely rotted and the other barely worked and required 2 adults to open and close

4. The gutters were clogged and when ever it rained we had massive waterfalls running down the windows (hence the rotting doors)

5. Many of the light bulbs around the home were burnt out

6. Carpet is filthy- looks like the carpet you would find in a frat house. There were pee stains on the floor in the master bedroom

7. No Access to the garage. Why was this not disclosed during the rental process. There was no place to park our bikes or put our towels when it rained daily

8. Much of the patio furniture was rusted out and could not be used for safety concerns

9. The pool needs lots TLC- the bottom is chipping and cuts the bottom of you feet

10. Deck boards are rotting - so bouncy that you feel like your falling thru

11. Fridge in kitchen does not produce ice. We had to go the general store daily to buy bags of ice for our drinks and our coolers

12. Many of the kitchen utensils are broken our outdated

Over all this rental could be PHENOMENAL but it needs some TLC! It was brought to our attention and confirmed from zillow.com that it's currently for sale. Initially, Karen (the owner), was responsive to our concerns but then she went MIA and we never heard back from her. She seems to have checked out and it's clear that she does not want to invest any more money in the property and it will sell "AS IS."

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Some guests test the limits of a property more than others. Despite keeping up with all maintenance, this time of year is always challenging, coming as it is with capacity on the Island, and a steady stream of guests. The ice maker did indeed malfunction, this was the first guest to note it, and because we could not repair it, although the machine was only four years old we replaced it as soon as we could find a new one to fit the space. Once the guest voiced concerns we sent a contractor to the house to review them. She called him several times during the week, and also indicated that the light bulbs were no problem once she located the spares. The problem with the hot tub light mystifies me- if I were staying in a new place I would have the outside flood lights on, and be careful after dark. The Island always has low light at night because of the sea turtle, and so extra caution is required. Each time the guest called I responded within ten minutes, beginning with a first request for an additional car pass. These complaints had not been voiced by the previous guests, and if they had we certainly would have addressed them
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Clean, lots of room

  • 4 of 5

The house had all of the space that was needed for 4 couples to enjoy the experience of Hilton Head and Palmetto Dunes.

Great location near the beach as well as tennis courts, golf courses, shopping, dining, and entertainment.

The house does need a little bit of TLC in the way of minor repairs to the BBQ and replacement of some kitchen items.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hilton Head Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
May 21 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$6,000
 
 
shoulder
Aug 12 2017 - Oct 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,200
 
 
Winter
Oct 22 2017 - Mar 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $350

There is a gate fee of $10 per car payable to the resort when picking up the pass

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties