Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Casa Perlita - Beautiful Oceanfront Home, Private Pools, in Centro.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Experience the real Isla.

Guests at Casa Perlita have an all access pass to Isla. This single family home offers 2 large bedrooms – both with a king bed and balcony - 2 bathrooms – one master and one on the main floor, a rooftop seating area and plunge pool, an infinity plunge pool out front, and a full kitchen with glassware/pots and pans/kitchen utensils (no dishwasher though). There are flat screen tvs in both bedrooms and the living room. The home has great space and it offers 2 couples the right amount of privacy, but enough space to sleep 6 with the two additional couches in the living area.

Don't want to stay in the mega resorts on Playa Norte? Want to experience a vibrant and authentic island neighborhood? Want the true island experience? Come to Casa Perlita. It's located in Centro. Stunning ocean front (not a swimming beach) with direct private access to the Malecon. Guillermo the barracuda fisherman lives next door. Loncheria La Lomita is just down the street and the food is amazing. The Super Express grocery store is a quick walk from the house, and you can walk to the North Beach in 10 minutes - ok more like 15 if you stop to buy a few cold Sol along the way! Grab a drink, watch the golf carts cruise past, or the waves crash, your choice.

Casa Perlita has a rooftop patio area and plunge pool, so kick back and enjoy 360 degree views of the island with a margarita or two. We'll provide a great space for you to relax. Casa Perlita is a lovely place to get back to the basics.

As owners, we'll interact as little or as much as you'd like. Thinking about booking but have a few questions? Send an email or give us a call! We'll send you a million pictures if you'd like and be 100% honest with you, so you can truly be confident in your booking. Need something or have a question during your stay? Send an email, we're happy to help. We absolutely try our best to anticipate our guest's needs, but there are 7 billion people in the world and we may miss some. Please contact us during your stay to make something right. Just ask, we'll be happy to do our best to accommodate.

Want a home in a great neighborhood on an island in the Caribbean? Got it. Walking distance to Playa Norte and Hidalgo/downtown? Check. If you're doing things right you will see the same people over and over again during your stay. Stop, say hi, chat with them. They don't mind your broken Spanish if you don't mind their broken English. We believe traveling is about new experiences and meeting new people and Isla Mujeres is a great place for both.

Transportation-wise: Walk, rent a golf cart, take a cab (usually ~40-70 pesos). The island is not that big and you'll be able to get around pretty easily whichever way you choose. We recommend using CARM for airport transfers. They have local connections and are very responsive.

Other details about the home: We provide filtered water and plenty of bathroom towels for our guests. We have a guest book that has just about everything you need to know about the property. We have a cell phone in the home so you can make local calls. We have collapsible chairs for you to take to the beach. We also provide a portable Bluetooth speaker to use by the pool or bring up to the rooftop. The pool fountain is on from around 10:30am to 3pm and we have pool noodles for floating. The pool cleaner comes twice a week. The wifi at the house is generally up and working, but sometimes there is slow connection. In case the wifi is out, call Mundaca to let them know. Many restaurants on the island offer Wifi, so you're sure to find some place to connect. We have a mid-stay housekeeping visit to refresh the home during guests' stays of 8 nights or more.

The home is professionally managed by a great team at Mundaca to ensure our guests are taken care of and have a wealth of information. Booking a great vacation rental is such an important thing (I've done it on Isla so many times!) I truly want guests to have a wonderful vacation. I hope you'll choose Casa Perlita for your island getaway!

Follow us on Facebook 'Casa Perlita' On Twitter @CasaPerlita or use the Instagram #casaperlita for more pictures!

More Details

Property Manager
Katie Jarvi
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Casa Perlita is AWESOME! It's located on the North side of island where there is much to do such as restaurants (try Olivia's...went there twice!) and bars and the beach. I liked the food much better on North side than South side. South side has its perks with the quietness and vastness; although, Casa Perlita's view of the ocean gave us the same affect. Sun will not be exposed over pool area all day so it's nice to head to the beach if you want the sun or stay at home in the shade and listen to the waves. We had absolutely everything we needed at the home. Beds are also super comfortable and huge. Already planning a trip back! ”
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Centro - Supmza. 001 House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Master Ensuite Bathroom - toilet , shower , The toilet is a dual flush toilet
  • The master bathroom offers beautiful tile work in the shower area, large double sinks, a vanity, and plenty of storage. The second bathroom is a full bathroom on the main floor with a shower and sink area. PLEASE make sure you dispose of toilet paper in the receptacles, not the toilet! The sewer system on Isla is not the same as in the US and cannot handle toilet paper.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Both bedrooms have king beds with linens provided. The master bedroom has an en suite bathroom and balcony. The second bedroom has a balcony but does not have an en suite bathroom. The second bathroom is located on the main floor. There are two comfortable couches in the living room as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a comprehensive guestbook in the property with just about everything you need to know, including restaurant delivery and places of interest. Other services we can recommend include laundry (it's ~$72 pesos for a couple of loads), Concierge, Private Chef (we recommend using Dinnertainment with Marla and Javi), are available for an additional charge. We recommend using CARM (cancunandrivieramaya.com) to arrange for private transportation to and from the airport, and purchase ferry ticket vouchers prior to your arrival. Your trip to the island can be truly seamless. Please contact us for help in arranging any of these services.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Casa Perlita - Beautiful Oceanfront Home, Private Pools, in Centro.
average rating of 4.4 based on 43 reviews
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Great House, Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a fantastic 10 day stay at Casa Perlita. I've been traveling to Isla 2-3 times per year since 2008 and have stayed at various hotels and vacation rental properties. Casa Perlita has quickly become a favorite. My wife and I have fallen in love with Isla and its wonderful people, and Casa Perlita makes a great and welcoming home base from which to explore and experience it. With that said, it *is* in the heart of a bustling, vibrant, *real* Mexican town so if you're expecting a secluded gated community, it's probably not for you. We happen to enjoy being a part of it all. Having a golf cart is useful for a day or two if you want to explore the southern end of the island, but the main sights on the northern end of the island are all within walking distance. The famous Playa Norte (North Beach) is a 10-15 minute walk straight down Juarez. The town square, where there are always cultural events being held, is even closer...as is the main shopping/dining street of Hidalgo. Being close enough to be able to walk to the heart of Centro and Playa Norte, but also having enough space for two(!) pools, a rooftop terrace, and balconies off each bedroom is pretty unique...and at a price that's pretty hard to beat. Waking up in the master bedroom to an unobstructed view of the sun rising over Caribbean is truly special, as is watching the sunset from the rooftop. Locking doors and making use of the two safes provided, as the previous reviewer suggests, is good advice. It's also common sense when traveling and we have never felt unsafe on Isla and certainly not while staying at Casa Perlita. This wasn't our first visit to Perlita and it certainly won't be our last.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Adam - thanks so much for your kind words! We love having you and your wife stay at Casa Perlita, and as you know, you're welcome back anytime! - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Double Oak (near Denton TX)
1

LOCK YOUR DOORS! Speak loud and carry a big stick.

  • 1 of 5

Our second night at casa perlita was perilous. While sleeping someone stole our belongings right from the room we slept in, including cash, ipads and iphone. The fear kept us wide awake the remainder of the trip. Isla was a nice little town, very friendly people and great food and the views are awesome. I can't say we'd stay again, there is very little an American on holiday can do in a third world country, just keep your guard up. As a VRBO/Homeaway owner myself, I felt we should have had better warning of potential threats. The loss of $1500+ is irritating enough, but the feeling of vulnerability was worse.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Russell, once again I am so very sorry to hear of this experience at Casa Perlita. Isla Mujeres is a welcoming and safe place, and attracts many visitors from all over the world. Casa Perlita has an alarm system, deadbolts on the doors, locks on all the sliding glass doors - accompanied by slider door stoppers, locks on each individual bedroom door, and 2 safes for guests to keep their valuables in. We stress to our guests to make sure all doors are locked when you leave or retire for the night, and to lock away your valuables in the safes. We are reiterating to all guests to make sure to lock the doors, and to store valuables in the safes provided, in order to avoid these types of situations in the future. Be well. - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
0 6
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Casa Perlita is perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Casa Perlita. From the beautifully appointed rooms to the multiple pools right out of the door, overlooking the ocean. The house was clean and well cared for in a safe neighborhood just 15 minutes to Playa Norte. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a proper meal with a nice supply of plastic glasses to enjoy drinks by the pool. When we return to Isla, we will plan to stay at Casa Perlita!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gracias Christy! So glad your family had a great time. You are always welcome back! -KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Minnesota, USA
4

Heavenly Ocean Breezes and Sunrises!

  • 4 of 5

Great house for just 2 couples! We had a 9 & 11 year old with us but didn't feel comfortable to allow them to sleep alone on the main floor. House had everything you would need minus a DVD player. Upper deck Door could use reinforcement/better locks. Security system was not working. All in all, great house and good people to work with!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Roni, I'm so glad you had a great time at Casa Perlita! We are exploring our options for the upstairs door, and we've got the alarm system sorted out. Thanks for letting us know! Hope you have you back soon! - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Montezuma, IA
5

Casa Perlita, our adopted new family home!

  • 5 of 5

Our last big family vacation was with kids of 15-12-9-& 6. Isla Mujeres was big family vacation for adult children 28-25-22-19. We needed a home to offer us all the Island and Casa Perlita delivered. Casa Perlita is located close to everything, but away from the major noise and foot traffic with breathe taking views. Waking up to a Caribbean ocean sunrise I will never forget.

We loved the accommodations. We had all that you could ask for. Beautiful views, tasteful and comfortable decor, BIG king size beds. Oversized couches for two college boys to sleep on. Close to local food venues. We rented a golf cart for 6, little difficult and expensive. Went to Chedraui, kind of like a Mexican Wal-Mart, to get food and beverages for Casa Perlita during our stay. On our final evening, we had dinner prepared at Casa Perlita by Ziggy. Wonderful food and memories.

Katy, Not the one we booked with! Welcomed us upon our arrival. She was informative and gave us some ideas to improve our stay and contact information for local help if we needed it.

We loved our family vacation and will be back to Casa Perlita in the future. We feel like we have a new home.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words Cletus! We love the location of Casa Perlita and Mundaca is a wonderful property manager for us. Glad you could have a great time with your kids--many great memories. We hope to see you again! Regards, Marjorie
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

The Perfect Home for our Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had an incredible seven night stay at Casa Perlita. The home was everything we had hoped for and more.

In an absolutely perfect location, Casa Perlita is a short walk from downtown, the beaches, restaurants and shopping. We rented a golf cart to travel further to Garrafon Park, etc, which was fun and very easy.

The home itself is stunning. From the incredible view of the turquoise waters when you walk through the front door, to the gorgeous dipping pools, to the fully furnished kitchen, to the spacious and private bedrooms, Casa Perlita is a dream destination for family and/or friends.

We cannot wait to return to Casa Perlita and have already contacted the management about plans for our next trip!

Very highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jodi, thank you so much for your kind words about Casa Perlita. We strive to make it a warm and inviting place to stay for our guests. We think the location is great too--just off the beaten path of Centro but within walking distance of everything. There's never a dull day on Isla--except if you want it to be! We'd love to have you again some time! Regards, Marjorie
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Nearest Ferry
0.3 Miles
UltraMar Ferry dock to Cancun
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Loncheria La Lomita
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Playa Norte
Car: not necessary

This home is in a great location on the public malecon walkway accessed from front pool area. You can have your morning walk along the seafront all the way into the center of town where you will find all the restaurants and bars, and of course Playa Norte is at your fingertips!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Centro - Supmza. 001 House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
High Season 2017
Nov 19 2017 - Dec 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 
 
Peak Season 2017/2018
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
High Season 2018
Jan 7 2018 - Apr 29 2018
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 
 
Low Season 2018
Apr 30 2018 - Dec 22 2018
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 19.0%

Cancellation Policy. A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellations. Cancellations that are more than
sixty (60) days prior to arrival date will result in a refund of monies collected less 30% handling fee.
Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival
date, forfeit the advanced payment with no refunds of monies paid.

We require 50% of the rental rate/taxes to reserve your dates, and the other 50% plus a $300 refundable security deposit at least 30 days prior to your stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties