Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Casa Perlita - Beautiful Oceanfront Home, Private Pools, in Centro.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Experience the real Isla.

Guests at Casa Perlita have an all access pass to Isla. This single family home offers 2 large bedrooms – both with a king bed and balcony - 2 bathrooms – one master and one on the main floor, a rooftop seating area and plunge pool, an infinity plunge pool out front, and a full kitchen with glassware/pots and pans/kitchen utensils (no dishwasher though). There are flat screen tvs in both bedrooms and the living room. The home has great space and it offers 2 couples the right amount of privacy, but enough space to sleep 6 with the two additional couches in the living area.

Don't want to stay in the mega resorts on Playa Norte? Want to experience a vibrant and authentic island neighborhood? Want the true island experience? Come to Casa Perlita. It's located in Centro. Stunning ocean front (not a swimming beach) with direct private access to the Malecon. Guillermo the barracuda fisherman lives next door. Loncheria La Lomita is just down the street and the food is amazing. The Super Express grocery store is a quick walk from the house, and you can walk to the North Beach in 10 minutes - ok more like 15 if you stop to buy a few cold Sol along the way! Grab a drink, watch the golf carts cruise past, or the waves crash, your choice.

Casa Perlita has a rooftop patio area and plunge pool, so kick back and enjoy 360 degree views of the island with a margarita or two. We'll provide a great space for you to relax. Casa Perlita is a lovely place to get back to the basics.

As owners, we'll interact as little or as much as you'd like. Thinking about booking but have a few questions? Send an email or give us a call! We'll send you a million pictures if you'd like and be 100% honest with you, so you can truly be confident in your booking. Need something or have a question during your stay? Send an email, we're happy to help. We absolutely try our best to anticipate our guest's needs, but there are 7 billion people in the world and we may miss some. Please contact us during your stay to make something right. Just ask, we'll be happy to do our best to accommodate.

Want a home in a great neighborhood on an island in the Caribbean? Got it. Walking distance to Playa Norte and Hidalgo/downtown? Check. If you're doing things right you will see the same people over and over again during your stay. Stop, say hi, chat with them. They don't mind your broken Spanish if you don't mind their broken English. We believe traveling is about new experiences and meeting new people and Isla Mujeres is a great place for both.

Transportation-wise: Walk, rent a golf cart, take a cab (usually ~40-70 pesos). The island is not that big and you'll be able to get around pretty easily whichever way you choose. We recommend using CARM for airport transfers. They have local connections and are very responsive.

Other details about the home: We provide filtered water and plenty of bathroom towels for our guests. We have a guest book that has just about everything you need to know about the property. We have a cell phone in the home so you can make local calls. We have collapsible chairs for you to take to the beach. The pool fountain is on from late morning and runs through early afternoon. The pool cleaner comes twice a week. The wifi at the house is generally up and working, but sometimes there is slow connection. In case the wifi is out, call Mundaca to let them know. Many restaurants on the island offer Wifi, so you're sure to find some place to connect. We have a mid-stay housekeeping visit to refresh the home during guests' stays of 8 nights or more.

The home is professionally managed by a great team at Mundaca to ensure our guests are taken care of and have a wealth of information. Booking a great vacation rental is such an important thing (I've done it on Isla so many times!) I truly want guests to have a wonderful vacation. I hope you'll choose Casa Perlita for your island getaway!

Follow us on Facebook 'Casa Perlita' On Twitter @CasaPerlita or use the Instagram #casaperlita for more pictures!

More Details

Property Manager
Katie Jarvi
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Katie Jarvi

We first stumbled upon Isla Mujeres on a daytrip from Cancun in 2008, and quickly realized how magical the island is. A few years later, Casa Perlita was purchased. I currently reside in St. Paul, Minnesota, and get down to the island multiple times per year.

Katie Jarvi purchased this house in 2014

What makes this house unique

This house embodies is what I like to call "unassuming luxury." We are feet away from the incredible Caribbean ocean, and nestled just a few steps from the vibrant community of Isla. One of the best beaches in the world, Playa Norte, is just a quick walk down the street. Enjoy some time in the main level infinity pool, then head up to the roof to watch the amazing sunsets over the town.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Casa Perlita is AWESOME! It's located on the North side of island where there is much to do such as restaurants (try Olivia's...went there twice!) and bars and the beach. I liked the food much better on North side than South side. South side has its perks with the quietness and vastness; although, Casa Perlita's view of the ocean gave us the same affect. Sun will not be exposed over pool area all day so it's nice to head to the beach if you want the sun or stay at home in the shade and listen to the waves. We had absolutely everything we needed at the home. Beds are also super comfortable and huge. Already planning a trip back! ”
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Centro - Supmza. 001 House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Master Ensuite Bathroom - toilet , shower , Por favor - please throw toilet paper in the wastebasket.
  • The master bathroom offers beautiful tile work in the shower area, large double sinks, a vanity, and plenty of storage. The second bathroom is a full bathroom on the main floor with a shower and sink area. PLEASE make sure you dispose of toilet paper in the receptacles, not the toilet! The sewer system on Isla is not the same as in the US and cannot handle toilet paper.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Both bedrooms have king beds with linens provided. The master bedroom has an en suite bathroom and balcony. The second bedroom has a balcony but does not have an en suite bathroom. The second bathroom is located on the main floor. There are two comfortable couches in the living room as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a comprehensive guestbook in the property with just about everything you need to know, including restaurant delivery and places of interest. Other services we can recommend include laundry (it's ~$100 pesos for a couple of loads), Concierge, Private Chef (we recommend using Dinnertainment with Marla and Javi), are available for an additional charge. We recommend using CARM (cancunandrivieramaya.com) to arrange for private transportation to and from the airport, and purchase ferry ticket vouchers prior to your arrival. Your trip to the island can be truly seamless. Please contact us for help in arranging any of these services.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
9% Complete
Casa Perlita - Beautiful Oceanfront Home, Private Pools, in Centro.
average rating of 4.428571 based on 45 reviews
Wakefield, Rhode Island
5

Beautiful Home - So Sad to Leave

  • 5 of 5

We rent condos and houses with family members at least once a year, maybe more. This was my favorite by far. Kate, from Mundaca Realty, was so great to deal with and made certain we were happy with the house. It was the best equipped kitchen I've seen in a rental.

I'm in a condo in Akumal right now wishing it had half the amenities Casa Perlita had. Plenty of towels. sheets & spare blankets, spices, oil & vinegar, decent sized fridge & full range. The previous tenants even left us 2 cold cervezas.

The view was amazing. From the top floor, you can easily see the beautiful water on both sides. The back view was gorgeous from the ground floor & 2nd floor also.

There was one tiny downside, and that was because I'm disabled. I wasn't able to easily walk to Playa Norte. Half the fun of Isla Mujeres is riding around in a golf cart so that problem was easily solved. There was parking right in front of the house so, no problem for the golf cart. I would absolutely rent this house again and hope to be back soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

Casa Perlita was everything we'd hoped for and more. Our stay exceeded all of our expectations without any question. We spent hours (both before and after beach and excursions) on all three levels of the decks. It was so nice to plunge in the small pools (both main level and rooftop) after the beach to relax with a cold beverage and watch/listen to the surf. We saw dolphins dancing in the distance and took great delight in watching boats pass. Morning coffee tasted even better as the sun rises to warm you wherever you choose to enjoy. And walking or running on the Malencon just outside the back gate was superb.

The pools were perfect for our boys (12, 8 & 8 - twins) as they could play with each other without worry of getting too carried away.

The staff at Casa Perlita were fantastic. Kate met us with open arms, Isaac answered any questions/calls we may have had. And he helped us coordinate one of the cleaning ladies to come sit with our three boys so my wife and I could enjoy a quiet dinner while there. Everyone was so incredibly helpful it helped our stay become worry free.

I think our only suggestions would be to bring cone shaped coffee filters for the coffee. We brought circular and there were other circular filters there; however, the coffee pot is made for the cones. And (granted, we didn't look too hard) we couldn't find cone shaped filters at markets or Chedraui (sp?). Also, be sure to bring a set of binoculars to view life in the sea. We forgot ours and, again, couldn't find any at Chedraui (sp?). We also used plastic plates and utensils because we simply didn't want to wash anything except our coffee cups without a dishwasher - it is a vacation after all.

All in all - the place was perfect for us. It was close enough to exquisite restaurants (you MUST try La Lomita just down the street) and the market; and it's close enough to walk to the beach. Sadly, we took our cart everyday due to presumed impatience of fatigued twin 8 year old boys. And outside of taking the cart to Chedraui (sp?), and the south part of the island for some outings, the cart stayed in front of Perlita. We walked to the market each evening for dinner and gifts for loved ones.

We loved our stay and can't wait to return. Such a magical place with stunning views of sun and moon rising each day. We'd recommend for our own return (boys are already asking), to friends and family and to you. Best bang for the buck by far.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charles - I am so happy that your family had such a great time! I appreciate your kind words about the Mundaca staff. They are so wonderful, and we feel so fortunate they are there to make our guest's vacations so memorable. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of all the Casa has to offer. Come back to paradise soon! - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Great House, Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a fantastic 10 day stay at Casa Perlita. I've been traveling to Isla 2-3 times per year since 2008 and have stayed at various hotels and vacation rental properties. Casa Perlita has quickly become a favorite. My wife and I have fallen in love with Isla and its wonderful people, and Casa Perlita makes a great and welcoming home base from which to explore and experience it. With that said, it *is* in the heart of a bustling, vibrant, *real* Mexican town so if you're expecting a secluded gated community, it's probably not for you. We happen to enjoy being a part of it all. Having a golf cart is useful for a day or two if you want to explore the southern end of the island, but the main sights on the northern end of the island are all within walking distance. The famous Playa Norte (North Beach) is a 10-15 minute walk straight down Juarez. The town square, where there are always cultural events being held, is even closer...as is the main shopping/dining street of Hidalgo. Being close enough to be able to walk to the heart of Centro and Playa Norte, but also having enough space for two(!) pools, a rooftop terrace, and balconies off each bedroom is pretty unique...and at a price that's pretty hard to beat. Waking up in the master bedroom to an unobstructed view of the sun rising over Caribbean is truly special, as is watching the sunset from the rooftop. Locking doors and making use of the two safes provided, as the previous reviewer suggests, is good advice. It's also common sense when traveling and we have never felt unsafe on Isla and certainly not while staying at Casa Perlita. This wasn't our first visit to Perlita and it certainly won't be our last.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Adam - thanks so much for your kind words! We love having you and your wife stay at Casa Perlita, and as you know, you're welcome back anytime! - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Double Oak (near Denton TX)
1

LOCK YOUR DOORS! Speak loud and carry a big stick.

  • 1 of 5

Our second night at casa perlita was perilous. While sleeping someone stole our belongings right from the room we slept in, including cash, ipads and iphone. The fear kept us wide awake the remainder of the trip. Isla was a nice little town, very friendly people and great food and the views are awesome. I can't say we'd stay again, there is very little an American on holiday can do in a third world country, just keep your guard up. As a VRBO/Homeaway owner myself, I felt we should have had better warning of potential threats. The loss of $1500+ is irritating enough, but the feeling of vulnerability was worse.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Russell, once again I am so very sorry to hear of this experience at Casa Perlita. Isla Mujeres is a welcoming and safe place, and attracts many visitors from all over the world. Casa Perlita has an alarm system, deadbolts on the doors, locks on all the sliding glass doors - accompanied by slider door stoppers, locks on each individual bedroom door, and 2 safes for guests to keep their valuables in. We stress to our guests to make sure all doors are locked when you leave or retire for the night, and to lock away your valuables in the safes. We are reiterating to all guests to make sure to lock the doors, and to store valuables in the safes provided, in order to avoid these types of situations in the future. Be well. - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
3 10
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Casa Perlita is perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Casa Perlita. From the beautifully appointed rooms to the multiple pools right out of the door, overlooking the ocean. The house was clean and well cared for in a safe neighborhood just 15 minutes to Playa Norte. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a proper meal with a nice supply of plastic glasses to enjoy drinks by the pool. When we return to Isla, we will plan to stay at Casa Perlita!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gracias Christy! So glad your family had a great time. You are always welcome back! -KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Minnesota, USA
4

Heavenly Ocean Breezes and Sunrises!

  • 4 of 5

Great house for just 2 couples! We had a 9 & 11 year old with us but didn't feel comfortable to allow them to sleep alone on the main floor. House had everything you would need minus a DVD player. Upper deck Door could use reinforcement/better locks. Security system was not working. All in all, great house and good people to work with!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Roni, I'm so glad you had a great time at Casa Perlita! We are exploring our options for the upstairs door, and we've got the alarm system sorted out. Thanks for letting us know! Hope you have you back soon! - KJ
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Cancun International Airport (CUN)
Nearest Ferry
0.3 Miles
UltraMar Ferry dock to Cancun
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Loncheria La Lomita
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Playa Norte
Car: not necessary

This home is in a great location on the public malecon walkway accessed from front pool area. You can have your morning walk along the seafront all the way into the center of town where you will find all the restaurants and bars, and of course Playa Norte is at your fingertips!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Centro - Supmza. 001 House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
High Season 2017
Nov 19 2017 - Dec 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 
 
Peak Season 2017/2018
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
High Season 2018
Jan 7 2018 - Apr 29 2018
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 
 
Low Season 2018
Apr 30 2018 - Dec 22 2018
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
Peak Season 2018/2019
Dec 23 2018 - Jan 6 2019
4 night minimum stay
$350
$2,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $300

Cancellation Policy. A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellations. Cancellations that are more than
sixty (60) days prior to arrival date will result in a refund of monies collected less 30% handling fee.
Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival
date, forfeit the advanced payment with no refunds of monies paid.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable