Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

WALK TO PLAZA, CASITA de GUADALUPE OVERLOOKS SANTA FE RIVER

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

950 SQ FT ONE BEDROOM - Walk to Downtown - "Walk Score" 92

Enter a secure gate into a private courtyard and feel right at home in this impeccably furnished casita with beautiful pine floors and custom tiled kitchen and bath.

This fully equipped vacation rental features a full kitchen with refrigerator, gas stove/oven, dishwasher, garbage disposal and all utensils.

Start your day with a cup of coffee at a table in the shaded courtyard while planning your day in Santa Fe.

From the bright and airy living room, walk through French Doors onto a large deck. View the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and great sunsets while overlooking the Santa Fe River. Enjoy a relaxing evening at home watching TV or reading a book with a fire in the Kiva fireplace while lounging in the comfort of a large sofa.

Casita de Guadalupe is a stroll to just about everything Santa Fe has to offer, restaurants/bars, theater, galleries, shops, Railyard District, the Farmers Market, the main Plaza, Georgia O’Keefe museum and the Railrunner Train to Albuquerque. Meanwhile the casita is located in a quiet historical neighborhood and overlooks the Santa Fe River.

Off street parking in a gated area is availalbe. Bicycles with helmets and locks can be provided upon request. Casita de Guadalupe has been thoughtfully furnished with all of the basic amenities to insure you have a most pleasant holiday in your home away from home.

Permit #16-00138803

FYI: Two other free standing Casitas with private garden courtyards are also available on the same large location.

They are:

Casita Gallina Permit #: 16-00138805

Casita de las Palomas Permit #: 16-00138804

More Details

Owner
Carol Thomas
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Carol Thomas

A former reporter and news anchor, Carol Thomas moved to Santa Fe in 1991 where she has been renovating and developing historical properties since. As an international traveler who prefers vacation rentals, she wants her guests to have the best experience possible.

Carol Thomas purchased this house in 2000

Why Carol Thomas chose Santa Fe

As a developer, Ms. Thomas has resurrected numerous historical properties in the Guadalupe District and has an affinity for the neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

Casita de Guadalupe is not only charming but the centralized location and proximity to the pulse of the city make it unique. Yet in just a few steps you are transported to the tranquility of one of the oldest neighborhoods in Santa Fe. This location can't be beat. The walking score is 92.

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Santa Fe
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cowgirl Raucous Western Themed Bar & Eatery
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Las Campanas
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Railrunner
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
St. Francis Hwy 285
Nearest Restaurant
Joseph's of Santa Fe
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Santa Fe Ski Basin
Car: recommended

Located in the epicenter of Santa Fe, Casita de Guadalupe overlooks the Santa Fe River and is a block west of the historic Guadalupe Church. Within minutes you can walk to the Plaza, home of ongoing Folk Art Markets, Spanish Market, Indian Market, Indian Market, fiesta and nightly music and dancing. This trendy neighborhood is full of restaurants , bars, entertainment and shops in Sanbusco Center and Guadalupe St. as well a the Farmers Market, the Railyard and the Railrunner Train for a quick scenic trip to Albuquerque. All within walking distance of this tranquil casita.

Amenities

Downtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • If we are unaware that a dog will be accompanying your visit prior to your arrival, the pet fee will be deducted from the Security/Damage Deposit.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • Tub/Shower Towels Robes Soap Hairdryer Washer/Dryer Iron Broom Dust Pan Mop Good Storage space for personal toiletries
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size Sleep Sofa
  • Queen Bed Additional Queen Sleep Sofa Linens Pillows Quilt Dresser Luggage stand Chair Bedside table and Lamp Closet Robes Books
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
In house massage referral, ask owner

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
WALK TO PLAZA, CASITA de GUADALUPE OVERLOOKS SANTA FE RIVER
average rating of 4.725 based on 40 reviews
Portland, OR
5

Perfect base to explore Santa Fe

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent five nights at this lovely adobe apartment near downtown Santa Fe. We spent several days without a car and easily walked to all the sights we wanted to see as well as great nearby restaurants. On our last day we rented a car and drove the Turquoise Trail, enjoying hikes and scenery along the way.

What did we love? Sipping coffee and eating breakfast while sitting in rocking chairs on the deck. Having easy access to downtown, the railyard and farmers market, and the path along the river. Biking (two bikes provided) around the neighborhood and along the river path.

The apartment itself is beautifully decorated, which made it a pleasure to return to after our outings every day. The kitchen is small but efficient, and we commented how everything was easy to access and work with for preparing meals. The bed is comfortable and there was plenty of storage to unpack our suitcases. We appreciated having robes and an umbrella in the closet to use if needed as well as laundry soap for the washer. Carol left helpful recommendations for grocery stores and other instructions in a binder and tourist info on a table near the door.

We would happily stay here again on another trip to Santa Fe and will recommend it to our friends as well.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. We always want our guests to have the best experience in Santa Fe. Thank you for choosing my property and I sincerely do hope you return. Would love to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great week in Santa Fe

  • 5 of 5

This little casita was perfect for our week in Santa Fe! Everything was clean and welcoming, including arrival information, which can sometimes be dicey! The owner and I texted as we got close to arrival and all went smoothly. She left us a nice bottle of wine, and starter eggs, butter, coffee and milk! Couldn't have been better! The kitchen was fine, shelf-space in the bathroom, the outdoor spaces delightful. The location was about a 15-minute walk from the Plaza. What made it easy for someone unfamiliar to Santa Fe was that it's right on the Alameda walkway--an easy landmark for someone who tends to get lost! We enjoyed open windows at night with a nice fan. We would definitely choose this place again! And Santa Fe as well-- what a great spot!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Peggy. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient, comfortable and charming place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a week in this comfortable, charming and convenient home. With plenty of light and ventilation, a patio and deck and the adjoining casita where our friend stayed along with a well appointed kitchen it fit all our needs. We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to in Santa Fe.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Robert. I am so happy you and your friends enjoyed both Casita de Guadaqlupe and Casita Galina. It was a pleasure meeting you all and I hope you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not Exactly As Advertised

  • 1 of 5

The casita is cute - Owner did a nice renovation, but the kitchen is ant infested. No matter how many times we washed the sink and counter, and sprayed bug spray, we'd wake to a counter and sink blanketed with ants. Food has to be in sealed containers or kept in the fridge at all times and dishes could not be left on the counter during dinner or they would be covered with ants. Though the ad says AC, what she provides, IF you ask in advance is a humidifier. As half the house has no screens and you are feet from the river, this means you choose between flies and wasps in the house, or no cross breeze. Several of the houses in the area are empty, and the spot below the bedroom window attracts vagrants at night. One night we had to threaten to call the police to get rid of a particularly noisy drunk. The house is tiny and there is a step between the bedroom and the living room. Be sure you find this step and light the area before dusk, as if you fall, as I did, you could easily hit the concrete ridge of the fireplace. The owner is a fighter, who rather than believe there is a problem: ants, a house w/ no lightbulbs, not even in the lamps, bug infested trash bins outside the door to the yard, no dishes that are microwave safe, she will fight you. It took her three days to come check the problems we found, and then it was at a time convenient for her. She came looking for a fight, and it took something to get her to leave. We arrived on Saturday, and she did manage to have all the issues addressed by Wednesday. She refunded one night's rent, we received the credit two weeks after we left. Should VRBO want to contact us about this, we have saved the emails and photos documenting what we found when we arrived and documenting our interactions with the owner.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: From the moment this party arrived, we received full page single spaced complaints daily. Such as, a request for an extension cord for the gentleman’s toothbrush, (a first) which was provided but never returned. Complaints about the trash cans which are placed completely outside of the living area. We were “ordered” to wash and remove them which we did. There are screens on all the windows. All dishes are glass or porcelain and are microwavable. The entire property is secured with a fence and gated. In spite of, vitriolic emails, we did everything we could to appease these folks including a visit to see if there was anything more we could do to accommodate their wishes and needs. As travelers ourselves, we honor our guests and always endeavor to provide them with a wonderful experience. So sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We truly did our best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
family from Santa Cruz CA to Wallingford CT - Seattle WA to Naples Florida
4

charming and cozy with nice outdoor spaces

  • 4 of 5

Cute place with charming landscaped court yard and welcome shade trees. We let the breeze flow through from the large view deck on the other side of the living space - apparently the weather was unusually warm during our late June visit - no air conditioning but it cools off nicely in the evening at 7000' elevation. Comfortable bed - though a little tight with access from only one side. Sky lights throughout keep it bright inside. (My wife kept thinking I was leaving lights on) Functional kitchen - we used it for many simple meals "at home"

Very walkable - only used the car for out of town excursions. Everything from St Francis to the Rail Yard (farmers market), the capitol grounds to the

post office are within walking distance.

Being right in town near a pedestrian bridge that crosses a stream to a main road there is a fair amount of foot traffic. And being on a corner of a 4 way stop - more car traffic than one might expect.

For us, all the positives out weighed the negatives - if you are a walker and want to experience Santa Fe you should stay here.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! I sounds like you had a good experience in Santa Fe dispite the warm weather we sometimes experience before the monsoons. We hope to see you again when you come back to Santa Fe.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chandler, AZ
5

great location for get-away for 2 in Santa Fe

  • 5 of 5

Very clean. Carol met us and was cheerful and helpful. Left a bottle of wine and some cheese/apples for evening snack and eggs for morning. Recommended places to eat and left brochures for other activity ideas. We were allowed to park in gated-off back yard and could climb stairs to unit. So easy to walk to plaza and to Sprouts so didn't use car much. Kitchen is not FULLY stocked so be prepared to inventory it when you get there for things you might need. There was coffee, sugar, salt/pepper, oil. Washer and dryer were right off the bathroom so had nice warm towels after showering! No table inside but we ate on the patio, which was very nice. Don't miss the framer's market. Lots of things to see and fresh produce. I would stay here again on my next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Casita de Guadalupe for your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and I hope you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Damage Deposit $150

NM State Tax rate 8.0%
Lodgers Tax rate 7%

Cancellation Policy:
High Season (June - October 31 and holiday periods) Minus 15% charge, deposit refunded if cancellation is made 60 days prior to arrival. 60 days or less deposit is refunded only if Casita can be re-rented.
Minus 15%, deposit refunded if cancellation is made more than 45 days before arrival. 45 days or less, deposit refunded only if casita is rented

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.