Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Country Ranch with spectacular views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath with gorgeous mountain views, 6 miles from Bennett Valley

Come vacation in Sonoma County and explore all that wine country has to offer. This rustic and comfortable 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath home on nine acres is nestled on a hilltop overlooking Bennett Valley and Matanzas Creek Winery. Our recently remodeled and heated by solar pool provides a perfect ending to a day of wine tasting or biking and is great for just relaxing and cooling down! Beach towels are provided.

The location provides incredible access to all the diverse attractions Sonoma as renowned for. From Bodega Bay to the West, Kenwood and Glen Ellen to the East and Healdsburg to North, this home puts you in the middle of it all.

Downstairs, the home's open floor plan is centered around the newly remodeled kitchen, with large center island, Wolf range and oven and breakfast nook. Large windows show off the gorgeous views of Mt. St. Helena, Annadel State Park, Sugarloaf Ridge and Sonoma Mountain. The large deck off the family room and above the pool, is the perfect spot for entertaining and spectacular sunsets, while the small deck off the living room is great for early morning sun with a cup of coffee. The dining room table can seat 12 or can be split into two 8 tops. On cooler evenings, enjoy the large stone fireplace or gather in the family room with a wood burning stove, and a cozy TV nook for movie viewing. There is a powder room for guests on the main floor.

Upstairs, the Master Bedroom with its own balcony overlooking the surrounding hilltops, has a king bed and en suite bath. The guest room also has a king bed. The third bedroom is perfect for kids, with a full bed, a twin sleeping nook and sleeping alcove. There is a full bathroom with shower over tub upstairs.

The home is only a short drive to the wineries of Kenwood, Glen Ellen, Russian River, Dry creek and Alexander Valley. Calistoga and St. Helena in Napa Valley are under an hour's drive. You can also enjoy hundreds of hiking, horseback riding and mountain biking trails that are easily accessible, as are the incredible roads of Western Sonoma County made famous in the Tour of California.

This home is convenient to commercial areas which include a Safeway and Whole Foods 6 miles away, and Trader Joe's and Costco 20 minutes away. Golden Gate Bridge is 52 miles south on highway 101. The distance from Oakland International Airport is 64 miles and San Francisco International Airport is 72 miles. Downtown Santa Rosa is a 16 minute drive and Jenner, at the mouth of the Russian River is 37 miles West.

This peaceful home and beautiful setting is perfect for families, wine lovers, or just a weekend getaway.

Please note that due to Sonoma County regulations governing vacation rentals, there are no event allowed at the property. Additionally, visiting guests must not exceed 6 people (including the renting party) at any time during your stay. We have a permit from the county and it is posted at the home. Should you have any questions regarding this policy, please let me know.

More Details

Property Manager
Karen Donnelly
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Karen Donnelly

Paul and Katherine Quinlan live part-time in Park City, Utah and part-time in Sonoma County, with their daughter Molly and two dogs, Millie and Boris. Paul is a public-defender for Summit County and Katherine owns Joli, a women's boutique in Park City, Utah. They purchased the house on Grange after years of visitingg friends and family in the area.

Karen Donnelly purchased this house in 2013

Why Karen Donnelly chose Sonoma County

This home and property is the perfect getaway, located in the middle of it all in beautiful Sonoma County.

What makes this house unique

A peaceful setting and comfortable home for all seasons with spectacular views from every room! Remodelled, heated pool can be enjoyed all summer long. Note: Pool not heated from November - May 31.

Amenities

Santa Rosa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , Powder room on main floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , En suite Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared hall bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Also has sleeping nook
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Country Ranch with spectacular views
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 36 reviews
Miami Florida
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Livermore, Ca
4

The home was very comfortable and relaxing.

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with the home and the secluded location. We enjoyed the pool and the views as well. The kitchen was fully functional with top of the line stove. We tried using the BBQ but it would not heat up. The overall stay was nice and we hope to visit again.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing home away from home!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at Karen's property! The setting is idyllic - on top of a ridge with a beautiful view, a kitchen appointed with just about everything you need, a pool that was heavenly, comfy beds, and plenty of space to enjoy inside and out! Karen checked in with us when we arrived to make sure everything was going ok, and was very accommodating when we had questions. We wished we could have stayed longer than just the weekend, and hopefully we'll have an opportunity to come back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rochester, NY
3

Nice House a Few Issues

  • 3 of 5

It is a nice house and was clean when we arrived. It is a little tricky to find the driveway but the privacy is worth it. An oddity is that there is no covering in the master bath shower window and a neighbor could potentially see inside if they are on their deck. We had an issue of running out of internet time which the owner promptly handled and purchased more internet for us, we were at the end of the month for internet service. A bigger problem was the heat wave in California at the time, the air conditioning was working fine and then as the heat wave went on it stopped. We turned it off and then back on and it seemed to work for a while but then stopped again. I know they tried to get someone out quickly but that did not happen until we left. We were told we would get a refund of $200 for the inconvenience which we agreed to but NEVER RECEIVED. They said we did not know how to use the thermostat but my Engineering husband can build a thermostat I believe he knows how to use one. We had eventually turned off the air-conditioning so when they had it looked at it was off and we were told we did not have it on so they wanted us to pay for the service visit. Then we were told it has some type of savings device to keep power usage down in the hottest part of the day, if this is the case people should be warned that the air-conditioning may not work in a heat wave. Still waiting on my refund.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Linda, We're sorry your stay was less than perfect for you. Once we discovered that the air conditioner was not in need of repair, the owners decided not to issue you a refund. The reason for this was that we paid for a service call. The technician found nothing wrong with the unit (which is new). There was a heat wave that week and the power company does power back between and 2:00 and 9:00 pm which was the reason the unit would not power below a certain temperature. The same happens in all residences here in order to avoid a brownout. Since it does cool down naturally and significantly at night and in the early morning, we hope you were you comfortable during those hours. Sincerely, Karen Property Manager Again, we apologize that you were not entirely happy with your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Stay in Wine Country

  • 5 of 5

My Husband and I just returned from our stay in The Grange House. We went with two other couples and a baby. Our stay was for 3 nights. It was perfect! The home's location was amazing. It felt very secluded but yet still close to everything we wanted to do (wine tasting/breweries). We actually spent most of our time at the house though. The views were unbelievable and better than we even expected. It was so fun walking around the property and watching the farm animals below. The house itself was amazing. The layout and decor are so on point! The open floor plan makes it easy to sit comfortably and interact with each other while cooking, playing pool, and relaxing. The home came equipped with everything we could have wanted. We cooked every meal here and never felt like we were missing anything. The kitchen is insane! A complete chef's kitchen. Bedrooms and bathroom were also great. The EO soaps were a very pleasant surprise. Lastly, the pool was pristine and the best location to spend most of the weekend. We all decided that we would definitely come back to this house again...and hopefully we will soon! Thank you, Karen for being a great host!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely amazing beautiful quiet and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

The house is stunning. Freshly remodeled beautiful inground heated pool absolute stunning views from every direction Karen the lady who owns the house absolutely wonderful to deal with great communication easy to get a hold of I highly recommend this place all of our guest were extremely comfortable and felt at home

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Annadel State Park
"Great hiking and biking trails, as well as horseback riding, this beautiful park has it all."
Matanzas Creek Winery
"Situated among and famous for their lavender fields and lavender festival, this highly rated..."
Bennett Valley Golf Course
"Great local public course just minutes from the house in beautiful Bennett Valley."
Spring Lake
"Something for everyone from kids to adults happens at Spring Spring Lake."
St. Francis Winery & Vineyards
"Voted best food and wine pairing and best wedding spot. A true treasure of Sonoma Wjne Coun..."
Healdsburg Plaza
"A thirty minute drive north on 101 is the quaint town of Healdsburg. The square offers many..."
Chateau St. Jean
Glen Ellen Star
"Great dining spot in the heart of a Glen Ellen."
Benziger Family Winery
"Local family owned winery adjacent to Jack London park. Don't miss the tractor tour of this..."
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Damage Deposit $350

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Major Holidays rates are slightly higher. For example, Thanksgiving and Christmas, the rate is $385.00 per night. Note: Rate is for 6 people, additional guests are $25.00 per person per night. Damage deposit will be refunded after an inspection to the property and within 30 days. Minimum charge for broken and/or missing items will be $50.00. If excessive cleaning is needed on the property, the amount may be deducted from your deposit. In addition, if excessive data usage is noted during your stay, there will be a $20.00 charge deducted from the damage deposit. We appreciate your understanding.

On monthly rental, housekeeper will clean one time during stay and change linens.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties