check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Chic 1930's Riverfront Farmhouse

Bedrooms 2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

A great place to enjoy nature in all its glory. Get lost on this 5 acre ranch with incredible mountain views and South Fork riverfront. We're located near the center of Three River, Kaweah Lake, and 5 miles from entrance of Sequoia National Park.

The two bedrooms comfortable fits four people. However, we allow five people if one should want to sleep on the couch.

The master bedroom is a queen size bed. The second bedroom is a full size bed with a trundel (a twin bed that pulls out from under the full size bed to the border the right side of the bed.) With the twin bed pulled out, the second room is very tight.

Guests have access to the entire property, except for the garage and back house.

Access the Main Fork River and convenient location to center of Three Rivers and close access to the Sequoia National Park entrance. Adjacent to the property is the South Fork River.

No public transport to rely upon. It is far better to come with transportation. However, the property has a small taste of a lot that Three Rivers has to offer so you may not want to leave ;-). You can also walk 1/2 mile to the Main Fork River and Grocery Market; a little farther to the Kaweah Lake.

The house is split like a duplex. I live in the back unit and guests have the front unit.

I like to engage with the guests as much as they would like. Some are interested in chatting about adventures in the park or asking about interesting trails or river adventures. Others are interested in having their own space without any interaction from the host. I'm very easy going and like to help in whichever way I can. So my level of interaction is really based on a case to case basis.

More Details

Owner/ Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2016

About Owner/ Property Manager

I love sailing, snorkeling, beach-going, food and adventures. I am a passionate traveler and love to try new things.

My partner and I travel between Europe and California throughout the year. When I'm in Los Angeles I enjoy Cross Fit, Beach, Hiking, Horseback riding, and Sailing to Catalina in the summer.

I am a serial entrepreneur and love new ideas.

Why Owner/ Property Manager chose Sequoia, Kings Canyon

Centrally located to Sequoia National Park and Kaweah Rivers & Lake, this is the perfect property to relax and enjoy all the wonders nature has to offer. The house has been newly renovated and furnished. The wildlife are numerous on the property and within view. Views from this property are astounding because we are located on top of a small hill surrounded by the Mountain Range, Rivers and Kaweah Lake.


3.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Chic 1930's Riverfront Farmhouse
average rating of 3.5 based on 8 reviews
Southern California

Beware of Cat

  • 1 of 5

I reluctantly write this review after having unsuccessfully contacted the owner about the issue. The house is generally fine - maintained and there was even a welcome basket from the owner, which was nice. However, what made the stay unbearable for me and my family was the fact that the house contains a cat, or at least is extremely frequented by a cat (bedding for the cat was in a closet), such that I was unable to stay there during my visit. I am allergic to cats and I obviously never would have voluntarily stayed in such a house, much less paid for one, if I had known a cat lived there. The fact that a cat was on the premises (including inside the house), was not disclosed prior to staying there. In fact, the cat somehow got in the house while I was there and then was extremely aggressive with me and my children when we tried to get it to leave. Once outside, it then proceeded to stalk my children, such that they had to stay inside. It even stayed by the door trying to get in. Thus, after only one difficult night, we were forced to leave for other accommodations. When I contacted the owner about this issue (admittedly post-stay due to lack of cell phone reception in the area) and requested a partial refund (we were only there one night out of three), he at first ignored the issue, and then claimed it was "extortion" to write a bad review, I guess whether it is true or not. In summary, if you are a cat lover and don't mind an aggressive cat, this isn't a bad place. If not, I would look at other options.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fred - I am sorry that your stay was not ideal. I wish you had informed me of your allergy to cats prior to booking. The title of our listing says “Farmhouse” as we have dogs, cats, horses, pigs, and other farm animals often on the property. All animals live and sleep outside in their own spaces. We do not have cats living inside the rental units. The bedding you saw in the closet was bedding for a children’s crib or baby carrier for the convenience of families that stay with us. I apologize if the cat found its way into the house during your stay. I understand your adversity to cats, but the outdoor cats are very friendly and gentle. Many people who stay with us love how friendly the cats are and we have never had any negative incident with them in two years, so I do not worry much about the cats roaming free outside. Nonetheless, I would have been happy to have addressed the cat issue as soon as it was apparent to you. I would have easily limited the cat’s access to you, your family, and your rental with very little effort. The problem is that I did not know you had an issue with the cat until three days after you departed. We provide excellent high speed Internet for all guests and phone network reception is perfect for ATT and Verizon, but limited for Sprint (albeit, a block west of us gets perfect Sprint reception). All guests have my phone and email address to bring up any issues or emergencies that might arise at any time. You would have easily been able to bring this issue to my attention and I could have dealt with it immediately. The demand letter you sent me, three days after the check-out date of your reservation and before ever mentioning to me there was ever a problem, specifically stated that if you did not receive a refund for two days of your three-day stay that you would write a terrible review. I told you that I would have happily refunded any days left in the booking after you brought an incurable issue to my attention, but having done so three days after your stay ended did not seem on the up-and-up to me. I hope that in the future you inform hosts of your allergy to cats prior to booking, especially the next time you stay at a farmhouse.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A lovely hideway near the Sequoia National Forest

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely little farm so close to the beautiful Sequoia's. It was an easy house to find and everything the ad says about the property is true. The house is tastefully decorated and looks even more lovely than the photos. It was the most perfect place to stay so we could eat all of our meals close to home and enjoy the park. It was very quiet and we had alot of privacy. It was very clean and we enjoyed saying hi to their kitty cat and pregnant piggy:)

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A beautiful, tranquil getaway with the nicest host

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful smallholding property in a lovely tranquil location close to Sequoia NP entrance. Superbly and tastefully decorated and just the most delightful place to be. Our family's favourite place by far of the seven places we stayed in California. Christian is just the nicest guy and nothing was too much trouble and even came out late at night when we needed to be be towed. The kids loved the dogs pigs and the horse. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home base for Sequoia National Park

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the farmhouse and animals (very friendly horse, two dogs and cat). Robert was there to greet us when we arrived and responded quickly to any questions via text. The house was clean and had a rustic chic decor that was modern and whimsical. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and equipment and even had a dishwasher that made clean up easy. We brought lots of food with us and made a simple breakfast and dinner both days. We enjoyed watching Netflix in the air conditioned living room, which had plenty of seating. The master bedroom had AC too, but the second bedroom only had a fan so it can get a little warm on hot days. The beds were nicely made up and comfortable. Be aware that although the water was treated, it still smelled like sulphur. This is common with farms but worth mentioning so you know what to expect. We would definitely come back if ever in the area and also recommend the farmhouse to friends and family. Enjoy your stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Deceitful Renters

  • 1 of 5

The place certainly isn't a dump, but no "Chic farmhouse as advertised". The house was unkept. The bbq ran out of propane. The boars reeked up the backyard and made grilling unbearable. The river is no river, its barely a stream, which you have to walk through snake infested brush to reach. The overall property is dusty and poorly maintained. Plus, the owners live in the same house and constantly snoop on you. If you want a getaway this is not it. The advertisement looks great, that's we booked it. In reality you will deal with two devious owners who are difficult to deal with, and will keep your deposit! Renter beware! Don't say we didnt warn you!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You have now attempted to write 3 negative and false reviews under different names, which VRBO already took one down. Guests that are interested in staying at our farmhouse are quite capable of sifting through all reviews written about us and make up their own mind. You need not keep writing negative reviews under different names to try to fool them. Alex - You know that your review is false. You wrote it because you and your family member - Nooria (who wrote the only other bad review) are upset that we had to use your security deposit to cover damages you and your party caused to the property. Not to mention, in the meantime, Nooria and your party did a charge back with your credit card company for the amount of your rent and security deposit threatening to continue to spread negative reviews until we acquiesced. This is extortion. Or, you might just be upset that we had to file a report with VRBO the morning your party arrived threatening the people on the property prior to your party even checking in. But I will address your review substantively as best I can. First, the BBQ propane tank was just filled before your party arrived. If it didn't work, it was because you didn't turn the tank on. I would have been happy to help you with it but you never asked. Second, again, the pen for the farm animals are kept clean and the smell is minimal to non-existent (see all other reviews). We do advertise that this is a farmhouse and a farm does have animals, but nothing (especially the smell) has ever been an issue with other guests. Third, the back pasture to the South Fork River is not snake infested. I never saw a snake in the pasture and I know too that you did not see a snake, let a lone an infestation of snakes. Be truthful with the others here on VRBO. Fourth, Nooria, you and your other family members were to only guests of over 80 guests we have had that we had to keep the security deposit for damages you caused. It appears that for Nooria and yourself, a farmhouse in California with farm animals surrounded by nature just was not what you were looking for. You do not need to launch personal, baseless attacks.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Monrovia, CA

Cute farmhouse close to Sequoia

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 4 days while enjoying Sequoia National Park.

Upon arrival we were met by the owner, Robert. He showed us around the house and surrounding property. He even walked us to the river( low due to draught, but still beautiful).

My daughter was so excited to meet the animals. The horse corral is in front of the house, so we could see him from the living room. Each day my daughter would run

out to greet the horse, pigs, cat and dogs.

The home is clean, well appointed,and close to the park entrance. If we had questions, Robert was quick to answer.

He gave us info on where to eat in town, and the best spot to play in the river (just down the road).

I would definitely stay here again and like to see it in the winter!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
68 Miles
Fresno International Airport

Minutes from Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park


Rates & Availability

Three Rivers Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Three Rivers Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Books
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties