Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront home on Oseetah Lake, Saranac Lake

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom, 2 bath, screened porch, dock

Camp Birch Bear is a gorgeous waterfront home, directly on Oseetah Lake, with mountain views & wooded privacy. The open floor plan and large windows bring in natural light and commanding views of the lake and mountains. This year round property with private dock & newly built screened porch is part of the 24 mile chain of lakes that includes Lower and Middle Saranac Lake, Kiwassa Lake and Lake Flower. There is an abundance of wildlife including eagles nesting nearby, the fishing is excellent. A summer paddlers paradise and wintertime cross country skiing & snowmobiling! Many updates and renovations recently completed.


Property Manager
Shannon Bombard
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 6, 2017

What makes this house unique

Private with waterfront access right outside your door. Only one of eleven homes with commanding views of the lake and mountains

Amenities

Saranac Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Lower level bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master suite - 1 king , King can be used as two twins if needed
    Main level bedroom - 1 double
    Lower level bedroom - 1 queen
    Lower level twin room - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon and two twins
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront home on Oseetah Lake, Saranac Lake
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
Pennsylvania
5

View from the livingroom was amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Fishing was good and the house was near a number of hiking trails. A very nice week with family!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Vacation to Remember

  • 5 of 5

I'm not usually one to write reviews, and I'll keep it short and sweet, but this property was way to wonderful to not leave a wonderful review. To sum it all up, it's perfect. And I do not say that lightly. The view is FANTASTIC, both inside and outside. When you think of a house in the woods, on a lake, this is exactly the kind of house you would envision. The rooms are spacious, the dining and living area are wonderful with big picture windows. The kitchen has everything you need so you won't have to worry about packing extra things. The beds were comfortable. Everything was CLEAN. All in all I just can't say enough great things about this place. Before we left we were already looking to see when we could come back.( Planning for the Fall!!) It was by far one of the best family vacations I have ever had and I'm so thankful for the owners whom opened their home up to us. So look no further. This is as good as it gets folks!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful setting!! Great views of the lake. Wonderful deck overlooking the water.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house with great views. Great Lake to fish on.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
montgomery,ny
5

A beautiful location while being isolated but yet accessible

  • 5 of 5

Everything at this cabin was to our liking. The accommodations were perfect for a 4 day fishing trip with the "boys". The owner was very accessible and quickly responded to any inquiries. I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Perfect Adirondack location! Needs work done

  • 3 of 5

We loved the central location to Saranac Lake and Lake Placid yet felt like we were far removed from civilization. There can't be any better view than from the dock of this house. High Peaks, sunsets, etc. We liked the layout of the house and the fact it is pet friendly. Here is a list of things we feel need to be worked on if we are to consider returning next year:

1. The dock needs considerable work and might be deemed unsafe in its current state. It appears to be coming apart in places with nailheads sticking out. It would also be helpful to have an area next to the dock cleared so we can get canoe, kayaks and paddle board into the water more easily.

2. There are a few windows whose open/close arm have come off the rail and I couldn't fix them. One in the living room and another in the lower level bedroom.

3. The queen bed frame in the lower level bedroom needs to be replaced. It looks like it is pieces of different frames thrown together and did collapse on us once and I had to fix it best I could.

4. The overall humidity in the lower level was too high, even though I kept emptying the dehumidifier to keep it running. Maybe a larger capacity unit?

5. The humidity in the lower level caused condensation in the lower level bathroom which resulted in a constant puddle under the toilet tank. I don't think it was a leak.

6. The garbage can in the kitchen did not function with its auto opener so we had to physically open it which is never good to have to touch it. Should be fixed or replaced.

7. The sliding door in the master bedroom did not lock, so we felt this was a security issue that should be urgently addressed.

8. Minor issue, the light in the master bedroom walk in closet did not work.

9. Master bath did not drain properly, had to stand in water while showering.

10. Other places we have stayed had an explicit set of instructions on how to deal with garbage and recycling. Did not appear to be any recycling container in garage.

Overall we loved the place despite its imperfections and had a wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation despite the issues. Many could have been repaired easily while you were there, however I was not notified of any issues during your stay. The dock has been repaired (item 1), the queen bed frame is fixed (item 3), master bedroom sliding door, closet light and bathtub drain all repaired (item 7, 8 & 9). I am working on a house manual that will be left at Camp Birch Bear to answer additional questions (ie. recycling, cable, wifi, heat, etc). Again, please do not hesitate to contact me during future rentals so issues can be addressed immediately. Perhaps this review could have been better and you would not have been plagued by these annoyances during your vacation. Thanks, Shannon
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2

Map

Blue Line Brewery Pizza & Pub
"Great brews and pizza!"
Nonna Fina
St. Regis Canoe Outfitters
Little Italy Pizzeria Incorporated
"Fabulous pasta and italian...cash only, no credit cards. Big portions."
Salon Mirage Day Spa & Fitness
Adirondack Lakes & Trails Outfitters
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Lake Clear
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nona Fina's
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Cumberland Head
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Saranac Inn
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Westport
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Downhill Grill
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Whiteface Mountain
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Lake Colby
Car: necessary

10 minutes from Lake Placid, where Olympic attractions can be visited. Site of the 1932 & 1980 Olympic Winter Games. 20 miles to Whiteface Mountain, greatest vertical drop in the Northeast...skiers paradise.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59

7 night minimum stay during summer months. Shorter stays possible during the off season.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties