Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Legoe Bay Beach House on the Water

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bd/3 Bath Waterfront Perched On The Waters Edge With Private Beach

This is one of Lummi Island's finest vacation rental homes. 2500 sq ft home built on the waters edge with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Bedrooms have decks directly over the water. 250' of private pebble beach perfect for finding agates and other colorful stones. Beautiful Rosario Strait views from every window in the house.

Walk through 3D Tour of Marina House - link posted below - "Take a tour!"

Marina House includes a gazebo leading to your boat dock and a separate boat launch. Regulation bocce court, fire pit, and extensive decks on property.

Marina House is the on the shoreside of Village Point Marina, which also includes award winning Legoe Bay Winery, The Silly Goose, Heartwood Joinery, and Grace Cottage. Village Point Marina also hosts various events and festivals throughout the year.

More Details

Owner
Amy Shintaffer
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About Amy Shintaffer

House is owned by a local family.

Amy Shintaffer purchased this house in 2014

Why Amy Shintaffer chose Lummi Island

Steeped in history. This property was once a bustling Marina used by fishermen throughout the area. The home was a restaurant supporting the Marina for many years. Since being renovated into a home, it has retained the waterfront charm of its history adding the amenities necessary to pamper its guests.

You will find local historical photos throughout the home. The original marina warehouse is owned along with the Marina House and other rental cottages.

There is also an award winning Legoe Bay Winery an internationally acclaimed Heartwood Joinery on the property.

What makes this house unique

The ability to arrive on Lummi Island via a 10 minute ferry ride from the mainland allows easy access but still the tranquil feeling of being far away from anything stressful. The speed limit on the Island is 25, most drive slower, or more often bike ride or walk. Everyone waves and is always friendly. The Island population is around 800 residents. Come here to unwind and relax. If you want to venture out for a bite there are a few places to pick up some great food including The Beach Store Cafe, a boutique grocery store, a small coffee shop and sandwich shop, and the Sauseburger Stand.

Amenities

Lummi Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Trundle bed can be made into a full or two twins
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Optional in living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Legoe Bay Beach House on the Water
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
2

Friends Fall Getaway

  • 2 of 5

We took a group of friends on a fall getaway and thought this would be the ideal place - it was! Location was awesome and the ferry was easy to navigate. Local hiking and overall exploring of the island was easy too. Despite a REALLY leaky dining room and less than complete cleaning job prior to our arrival, the house was gorgeous. The views were amazing! Unfortunately the owners weren't very pleasant and despite the property being left in perfect condition, accused us of damage. We're a group of 30-something professionals and have rented numerous properties together without any troubles. The owners' upfront warning of "don't ruin this vacation house" for future guest was really unnecessary and insulting. Lummi Island offers lots of rental properties, we'll spend our vacation funds elsewhere next time.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is our personal home and we utilize VRBO guests to defer some of the costs of ownership. For this reason, care of the home comes before desire to earn income, thus the small guest limit for a large property. This reservation started with an inaccurate headcount, over our maximum guests allowed. Once the reservation was made we were notified (not asked) that more guests would be staying. We adjusted the headcount and rate accordingly. We were then informed, again, that an additional guest would be staying. We communicated we would allow the additional, over-the-limit guest, but "Please ensure the home is left in good order and don't give us cause to regret our exception as we make the 6 person capacity for the enjoyment of the guests and ability of the home to support 6 guests" The constantly changing reservation was now at 9. We felt we were being very accommodating. We should have stuck to the head count limit. We will stick to our guest limit in the future as our decision to push the limit was a poor choice. After check-out we found multiple issues: Damaged sheets, pillowcases, bed cover and a new stain on the couch. We deducted $100 from the damage deposit thinking this was only a small factor of the actual damage but should withhold something. The dining room water intrusion occurred because of a high wind/rain storm and a natural byproduct, unfortunately, of living on the water's edge. To this end a contractor is onsite resealing the windows and doors in that area and the problem has been resolved. We're sorry, but weather happens and repairs are occasionally necessary. The PNW is a wonderful place to live, but living on the water's edge requires work at times. Fix accomplished.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely loved your gorgeous home, the layout was perfect for our family, the view, the amenities!

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous time with family creating many memories at your lovely home! Perfect location and the layout is great for family meals together, playing games and spending many hours outdoors on the beach! Thank you for sharing your amazing vacation home!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lummi Island Gem

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful vacation home. The setting was spectacular, lending itself to a peaceful and relaxing vacation. We were very happy with the large kitchen (we did a lot of cooking as there's limited dining options on the island) and cozy common area. The beds were very comfortable. The only drawback to the house was a lack of washer and dryer (would have been nice to dry wet towels from the hot tub), Lummi Island is a perfect place for a quiet get-away.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, California
5

The house is beautiful and well appointed and the location is incredible.

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this property. It was extremely comfortable for 6 people. The beds and linens were comfortable. But the best thing is the views from all over the house and the outside areas where you can take in the peace and tranquility. The jacuzzi was a super treat as you can gaze at the water while in the tub. The ferry ride is short and the house is close to the ferry. There is very little dining (open Friday to Sunday) and only a small market on the island, so be sure to bring groceries from the mainland. The kitchen is well equipped so you will have no problem cooking in the beautiful and modern kitchen. I recommend this property highly.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family gathering on Lummi Is

  • 4 of 5

Absolutely beautiful, we had a great time, had family members from all over the USA, they got to see the PNW at its best. The kitchen is very well appointed and was great for family meals. I love Lummi because the ferry is so convenient for traveling back and forth.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Inspired Vacation Location -- All We Could Have Dreamed Of!!!

  • 5 of 5

From the glistening waters of the Puget Sound, to the driftwood laden shores of the beaches, to the morning fog hanging in picturesque frames over pure tranquility, to the windswept waves buoying curious seals... this was pure heaven! The house itself is immaculate and amazing. A fully decked out home, that also happens to have an array of lounging decks (one with a hot tub) in a part of the world that feels otherworldly. Quiet and serene, right on the water, every comfort imaginable, dreaming whilst awake. We will be back!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
14.2 Miles
Bellingham International Airport
Nearest Ferry
1.8 Miles
Lummi Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
18.4 Miles
North Bellingham Golf Course
Nearest Train
24.1 Miles
Bellingham Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
13.1 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
1.8 Miles
The Willows Inn, Beach Store Cafe, Taproot Cafe
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Mount Baker Ski Area
Nearest Beach
Right here!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $550
House Keeping $150
Tax Rate 10.5%

50% due at time of booking. Full payment due 14 days prior to stay. Any cancellation after 14 days prior to booking is non-refundable, unless the property can be re-rented.

Check-out time 11:00AM. Check-in time 4:00PM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties