Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Anchorage's Most Central Location in an Established Residential Neighborhood

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

The Absolute Center Of Anchorage!

This is the upper floor of a duplex home in the established, professional Geneva Woods neighborhood of Anchorage. The unit has 3 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, South-facing deck with grill. Attached heated garage space for one car plus additional driveway space. All three bedrooms have queen beds. The 3rd bedroom also has a desk and leather office chair. Solid oak hardwood flooring and leather furniture. Large grassy yard with trees and small garden, as well as raspberries when the season is right.


Owner
Kate
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Kate

We bought this duplex when we first moved to Anchorage in 2010, and loved the neighborhood so much that we bought a single family house around the corner a few years later. We have since been renting this lovely unit to Anchorage visitors and locals needing short-term housing!

Kate purchased this house in 2010

Why Kate chose Tudor Area

The Geneva Woods neighborhood is simply the most central location in Anchorage, period. And being a neighborhood of mostly single-family homes with a few duplexes, it is the perfect mix of close-to-everything yet still with a residential flavor.

What makes this house unique

Location Location Location! The most central part of Anchorage.

A secret bonus that even most locals don't know about: just a short two block stroll through the neighborhood and you'll find the Helen Louise McDowell Nature Sanctuary, a 14-acre spot of trees and wetlands with a boardwalk. You'll find birds, mountain views, moose if you're lucky, and plentiful raspberries (in season) all right in the neighborhood.

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Anchorage International
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Seward Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Moose's Tooth - walk to best pizza in Anchorage!
Car: recommended

Amenities

Tudor Area House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • We ask guests to respect the downstairs neighbors by removing shoes indoors and maintaining reasonable quiet hours at night.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Second bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom, with attached full bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This bedroom has a desk.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
23% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Anchorage's Most Central Location in an Established Residential Neighborhood
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
Apopka, FL
5

Convenient location with plenty of room for families

  • 5 of 5

As mentioned in other reviews, this duplex is located near a busy road, but that made it convenient to most everything and we spent so much time sightseeing and enjoying the area, when our heads hit the pillow, a little road noise didn't matter a bit, even with the windows open. As far as the rental, it was nice to have a place big enough for four adults, comfortable beds and a washer/dryer to use. Everything seemed to be clean, but if I had any suggestions it would be to mow the grass and trim the bush leading to the front door since it blocked the sidewalk so much we had to walk in the (mostly wet) grass just to get by it. Also, to provide more bath towels since there were only 5 for a rental that sleeps 6 people. All and all we were very pleased with our stay though and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this rental to anyone staying in Anchorage.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review Diane! And thank you for the helpful comments. I didn't have lawn/shrub maintenance regularly in 2017 but I will have it in 2018, and will order some more towels. :-) So glad you enjoyed your stay. -Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall very nice place to stay

  • 4 of 5

It was a nice property. Needs a little TLC and was a little noisy with the main street close but loved that no pets are allowed and the 3 queen beds is a huge plus.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for choosing my place and for your kind words! -Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Space, perfect for our group

  • 5 of 5

I booked this Apt space for out of town actors who were working on a show for our theatre company in Anchorage. It was perfect. It's close to down town and very accessible to the bus routes. It also came stocked with everything our employee's could need for the month they were in town. Kate was great to work with and very flexible with some of our needs. I'll certainly be looking at her properties again in the future for our out of town guest artist housing needs.

Kathleen Harper

Perseverance Theatre

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Much belated thanks for taking the time to write a review Kathleen! I would love to work with your group again sometime. Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice

  • 3 of 5

This VRBO is in a good location, but is one block off of New Seward Highway. There is a fair amount of road noise. We loved the three queens, that was hard to find in Anchorage. It is a duplex and not a single family home. There kitchen was stocked with the tools necessary to prepare meals. Overall good experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location, location location!

  • 4 of 5

Clean, comfortable rental in upper half of duplex.Three bedrooms and two baths provided plenty of room for the six people in our party. Plenty of parking and on-site laundry (machines were newer and nicer than my own by far!). Fully equipped kitchen, plus ample towels and linens. Best part was the LOCATION! Situated conveniently in north central Anchorage right off New Seward Highway; nearby to downtown, shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. and easy access to/from airport. Bad points: plumbing is a bit noisy, so midnight flushings wake up light sleepers; some of the windows don't have screens; fair amount of highway noise (but worth it for location/accessibility). Good points: everything else! Would wholeheartedly recommend this rental, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Kansas City
4

Great location and responsive property owner

  • 4 of 5

This property is the upper level of a duplex. We slept six comfortably on good beds. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, utensils, and cooking items. A washer and dryer are available for use in the garage, as well as a parking space in the garage. We ran out of toilet paper and paper towels after the first day, but the owner brought plenty over that night after I contacted her. We had enough bath towels for everyone, but not enough wash cloths. Also, plan to bring your own bathroom amenities, although 1 hairdryer is supplied. I would also suggest downloading a white noise app to block out the street noise of the highway and major street nearby at night. Overall, a very comfortable stay in a nicely updated home.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with me and for your thoughtful review. I'll check the linens and restock with plenty of towels and washcloths for summer 2018. :-) Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120
Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties