Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

One Bedroom Suite in Heritage Neighbourhood. Walk to beach, downtown and parks.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

One bedroom suite in a beautiful 1912 character home in the heart of Victoria

One bedroom suite in a beautiful 1912 character home in the heart of Victoria. Located one block from the ocean and a 15 minute walk to downtown. Conveniently located close to Cook St. Village (5 min walk) where you will find a variety of restaurants, shops and markets.

This bright and spacious lower level suite offers 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, dining area, living room, electric fireplace, two flat screen televisions (one with cable, one with Apple TV only), computer, high-speed wireless internet, in suite washer and dryer and more.

The master bedroom offers a double bed, 40' LCD wall mounted television (with Apple TV) and a good size closet. The living room is bright and cozy with views of the garden. There is an electric fireplace, 40' LCD television (cable) and sofa bed. The kitchen is an open concept layout and is fully equipped for all your cooking needs.

The house is located in a quiet Fairfield neighbourhood. It is within walking distance to grocery stores, a beer and wine store, pubs and restaurants, coffee shops and Victoria’s famous inner harbour. If you want to escape the city life, you can visit Beacon Hill Park (less than 5 minute walk), Craighdarroch Castle, Buchart Gardens, Sooke, world class golf courses and more. All are just a short walk, drive or bus ride away.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What is your Payment Policy?

We generally require an initial rental deposit payment of 50% of the rental fee at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due 30 days before the rental commences.

What is your Cancellation Policy?

We do include a cancellation policy in our rental agreements with our Guests. Once the reservation has been accepted and confirmed, a cancellation refund will be paid if the period of the rental can be rebooked (i.e., a refund for the period re-rented or the part thereof will be issued).

How big is the bed in the bedroom?

The bed in the bedroom is an Ikea Double (55' x 78') which is between a Standard Double (54' x 75') and a Standard Queen (60' x 80').

How far is the nearest grocery store?

There are three groceries nearby. Thrifty Foods ) is less than 1 km away and is the one use most often. There is also Oxford Foods and Mother Natures Market and Deli in Cook Street Village. Both are easy walking distance. There is also a farmers' market about 10 minutes walk from us on Saturdays mornings all summer and fall.

Do you have room to store our bikes?

We do have space to safely store 4 bicycles.

Is there cable TV service in the Suite?

Yes. There are two flat screen TVs. The TV in the living room has cable. The TV in the bedroom has only Apple TV/Netflix. There is also a computer available where Guests can access local news.

What's the trick to getting the Apple TV to work?

It can be a bit temperamental, but it's pretty easy once you do it once. Each TV has a main remote and an Apple TV remote. Here are the instructions:

For the main TV: 1. Turn on the TV using the main remote. 2. Make sure the Input is on 'Cable'. 3. Push the round centre button on the Apple TV remote. This turns the unit on. 4. Scroll on the Apple TV menu using the arrow buttons on the silver remote to search Netflix. 5. Push the round centre button the Apple TV remote to select and play the show you want to watch.

For the TV in the bedroom. Same as above except the Input is "No. 6" instead of 'Cable'.

As always, please contact the Homeowner if you have any difficulties.

More Details

Owner
Kursti Calder
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

Amenities

Fairfield Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • newly renovated bathroom with heated floors. Large shower with rain shower and traditional shower head.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

One Bedroom Suite in Heritage Neighbourhood. Walk to beach, downtown and parks.
average rating of 4.266667 based on 15 reviews
4

Spacious suite in a great location

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at this comfortable suite. The only challenging part was the bedroom with the double bed pressed against the wall. Not a problem if you're sleeping solo. The bathroom looked newly renovated with a great shower, and the kitchen was very large, although more basics might have been nice, like oil and vinegar and other condiments. Laundry facilities were fine, and we appreciated the drying rack that was included. I really liked the fine assortment of books and games. The suite was a five-minute walk from Cook St. Village, a great location. Although we had read that noise from upstairs could be a problem, we found it very quiet at night after about 9:00, and didn't notice it at all during the day. A gas fireplace kept the suite from getting too chilly, but you might need flannel PJs in the bedroom during the cold season. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton, Alberta
5

Great basement suite. Very comfortable :)

  • 5 of 5

Loved it. Secure backyard which was great for our little dogs to use to go to the bathroom. Very comfortable and quiet. Close to Jubilee Hospital (5 min drive)

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad it worked out for you. Please contact us if you ever plan to make it back to Victoria.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place! It was nice and clean and in the perfect location. Had all the amenities we needed, from beach towels to the in suite laundry. Beautiful neighborhood. The hosts were friendly when we interacted with them but they leave you alone and give you the privacy you need. We all felt comfortable here and enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely come back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeanie for the kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and are glad to hear you all enjoyed your visit to Victoria. Looking forward to seeing you again next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Heritage house in Victoria

  • 2 of 5

This suite is situated in a fantastic location only a block from Dallas Road beach, within the beautiful neighbourhood of Fairfield. It is within easy walking distance of Cook St village, Beacon Hill Park and downtown Victoria and is the perfect place from which to explore Victoria and its many attractions on foot.

We found Alan and Kursti friendly without being intrusive.

The suite was a reasonable size for a family of four, with one bedroom and a pull out sofa, however the décor was tired. The kitchen units look old and chipped, and the carpets were stained in places, my overall impression was that the suite could do with a freshen up and a bit of TLC. A mirror in the bedroom had a broken frame, the bedding looked as though it had been recycled from a teenager's room and there was what looked like an electrical wire protruding from a socket box in the bedroom. In the kitchen the knives were blunt and the crockery mismatching, which gave the impression that the suite had been furnished with cast offs from the main house, all small things and easily rectified, which made it disappointing that they hadn't been taken care of.

Of more concern was a broken plate glass window in a door in the hallway, which although covered with a wicker screen would be a hazard for any small child.

The bathroom had clearly been newly renovated and was a delight containing a lovely double sized shower and heated floor.

Being 6'5" tall the beam running the length of the suite which reduces head height to around 6' was an issue but one I got used to during the week.

The Apple TV was a nice touch as was the Apple computer which had been left for the use of guests. It was great to have both a washer and dryer although an indoor airer would be welcome as we were very short of hangers.

The issue mentioned by a previous guest of noise from above the suite is pertinent, it would seem there is little or no sound proofing in the ceiling to prevent noise transference of the owners walking around their kitchen which is directly above the bedroom. This was very noticeable from around 6.45am-7am.

As a base this was a great property, we were looking forward to staying in a heritage home, however, the impression of "tiredness" meant I would not recommend it as it currently is. I believe that some, mostly minor, cosmetic updates from the owners would really enhance this suite and would be a very welcome addition.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Alex. We enjoyed meeting you and your family during your visit to Victoria. Thanks for your review. Your comments provide some good reminders and will help us to improve the rental experiences of our future guests. A number of the items you have mentioned are cosmetic and have already been addressed (mirror frame, sharpened knives, clothes drying rack, more hangers). Most of the other items are on our list to address after the busy summer season is complete (steam clean carpets, repair glass door panel, touch up kitchen cupboards, etc.). As for the bedding, it was all purchased for the Suite, but it does get washed frequently and can look a little faded with time. With respect to noise, we do live above the Suite and we understand that individuals' sensitivities to noise vary. This is why we acknowledge in our rental agreement that, since ourselves and our Guests are effectively sharing a heritage building, we should both feel free and open to raise any concerns that may arise. I do apologize if our schedules conflicted. We are typically very responsive to any noise issues that come up. Thanks again for the feedback. Safe travels. Alan.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pender Island
4

Cozy, Quiet, Great Location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our 15th anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The suite was clean and comfortable, and surprisingly quiet considering it's a basement suite. Nice and close to the water where we enjoyed a scenic run together along the water and then up through Beacon Hill Park. Great little shops and restaurants on Cook street. Go and try Bigwheel Burger! Delicious. My only complaint was that the TV in the bedroom stopped working the first night but to be honest we didn't care. We're not big TV people anyways. Highly recommend this suite and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks so much Alan and Kursti.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to next time. We did get the TV in the bedroom working again. Sorry it was out of commission during your stay. Safe travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Sadly Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

We booked this one bedroom suite due to the previous positive reviews from other travellers. However, we had mixed feelings about our 5 night stay. The suite is located in the basement of a heritage home in the lovely Fairfield neighbourhood, near Beacon Hill Park, so we enjoyed walking to the waterfront and to the park.

Portions of the suite are nicely renovated such as the bathroom, dining area, and living room area. The kitchen and bedroom however did not have the same degree of renovation and so, were a little disappointing. Because it was a heritage home, the flooring above creaks whenever someone walks over the area. Noise from the main floor of the house was very bothersome for sleeping. From the bedroom, we could loudly hear the owners walking around above us in what seemed to be a high traffic area of the house (kitchen?), particularly in the early morning when we would have liked to sleep in past 7 or 8 AM. It was literally creaking and banging right above the bed. The owner's door is also located directly above and outside the bedroom, so we heard considerable stair noise as well. In the kitchen/dining area, there are several electrical/mechanical noises that occur at random, which didn't make for a comforting experience. The suite was also awkward because it has a short floor-to-ceiling distance. Several beams and light fixtures hang at ~5'10' high, which meant one of us hit their head several times just walking through the suite.

We were also surprised that the owners did not greet us upon arrival (even when they live above the suite), as all our previous VRBO stays have involved an owner or agent's greeting to the unit and an offer of advice on visiting the area. Instead we were greeted with a formal rental guidelines document on the coffee table, detailing instructions, visiting recommendations, and rules. This is also the first suite where guests were advised to take out the trash even though we had to pay a cleaning fee.

We won't consider staying here in the future because of the numerous noise issues, safety risks, and the lack of owner's effort to make for a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Pratima. Thanks for your review. Your feedback is helpful and provides us some good reminders. So sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and that we were not able to meet you while you were in Victoria. I did meet and speak with your husband a couple of times during your stay. In our experience, some of our Guests like more contact with us than others. I apologize if we read that wrong. With respect to noise, we do live above the Suite and we understand that individuals' sensitivities to noise vary. This is why we acknowledge in our rental agreement that, since ourselves and our Guests are effectively sharing a heritage building, we should both feel free and open to raise any concerns that may arise. I do apologize if our schedules conflicted. We are typically very responsive to any noise issues that come up. We have not heard the height of the Suite raised as a concern by any of our previous Guests. Most if the Suite is 6’10” or higher. It is true that there is a narrow decorative beam that is lower (6’1”-6’3”) in one part of the Suite. We did look into removing this at one time, but it covers some existing ductwork that is not practical to relocate. We will consider the rest of your feedback to help improve the rental experiences of our future Guests. Safe travels. Alan.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Map

Nearest Airport
27 Kilometres
Victoria International Airport
Nearest Barpub
450 Metres
Beagle Pub
Nearest Ferry
33 Kilometres
Swartz Bay
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Uplands Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Bubby Rose's
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Clover point/Dallas Road
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fairfield Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$84
From
$84
Fri,Sat,Sun
$589
$2,305
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $54.89

See Rental Agreement

Once a reservation has been accepted and confirmed, a cancellation can only be made in accordance with the terms below (unless otherwise mutually agreed):
- If the period of rental can be re-booked, a refund for the period re-rented.
- If any part of the rental period cannot be re-booked, the Guest will forfeit all monies paid for that period.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties