expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

River Front Luxury Home Located Only 10 Minutes to Harrah's Casino!

Whittier, NC, USA
  • Cabin3800 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay0 - 7 nights

4 Bedroom, 3.5 Bath Luxury House Located on the Tuckasegee River

This 'rustic-elegance' home is nestled at the end of a country road and is surrounded by 15 acres of beautiful trees, rhododendrons, and the Tuckaseigee River. The main house is 4 bedrooms and 3.5 bathrooms. It offers tranquility and gorgeous river and/or mountain views from every room. Just steps from the house you can enjoy fishing, a leisurely hike, or roasting marshmallows by moonlight on this exquisite property.

Sit in the rocky chairs on the spacious covered porch while listening to the river and watching the Great Smokies Mountain Railroad Passenger Trains pass by. Relax on the screened porch which is just off the kitchen. Children will love to wander the property and pass time in the playhouse and playground. Or, you can picnic and sit by a nighttime fire down by the river. Families and friends are sure to be blessed here as they create and share memories that will last for a LIFETIME!

The tranquil setting follows you inside this beautiful home which has many areas for the entire family to relax. The living room has comfortable seating along with a fireplace, tv and views of the river and mountains. The kitchen and dining area will have everyone wanting to gather there and it overlooks the screened porch. There is a loft reading and play area for children. Downstairs is large den with tv and sectional sofa.

River of Dreams is located off Hwy 74 between Dillsboro and Cherokee. Just a short drive to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and many surrounding mountain towns.

This cabin is located within Hatchery Supported Trout Waters where fishing is typically closed during the month of March. Please contact the NC Wildlife Resources Commission for more information.

- June 16th, 2018 - August 17th, 2018 there is a 7 night minimum. Saturday - Saturday stays ONLY!

Thanksgiving and Christmas Have a 7 Night Minimum

Access: Last 1/2 mile is gravel drive with moderate incline to a paved parking area

Absolutely No Pets Allowed!

2 Car Carport

Central Heat & A/C

Wood burning Fireplace (firewood not provided)

Fully equipped kitchen


Propane Grill

Flatscreen TV with Satellite Programming and DVD in Living Room

Flatscreen TV with Satellite Programming and DVD in Den

Screened Porch

Wireless Internet

Paved Parking

High Chair

Maximum Parking Spaces: 4

Maximum Guests: 12

Master - King - main level - private bath

Bedroom 2 - King - upper level - shared hall bath - Satellite TV and DVD

Bedroom 3 - Queen and 2 Twins - upper level - shared hall bath

Bedroom 4 - Queen and Bunk beds - lower level - private bath

Property Manager

Laura Bowers

Member Since 2007
Response rate:
Response time:
within one day
Calendar last updated:
Apr 17, 2018


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Accessible
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king, Main Level
      • Bedroom 2
        2 king, Upper Level
      • Bedroom 3
        1 queen, 2 twin/ single, Upper Level
      • Bedroom 4
        1 queen, 1 bunk bed, Basement Level


        • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, tub, shower, bidet, Private Bath with Master Bedroom on Main Level
        • Bathroom 2
          toilet, combination tub/shower, Shared Hall Bath with Bedrooms on Upper Level
        • Bathroom 3
          toilet, combination tub/shower, Full Bathroom on Basement Level off of Bedroom
        • Bathroom 4
          toilet, Half Bath on Main Level

          Location Type

            • Waterfront
              Look out over the Tuckasegee River. Great for kids to play in the water or to fly fish.


                • Away From It All
                • Family
                • Romantic
                • Sports & Activities


                    • Guests provide their own meals


                        • Linens Provided
                        • Air Conditioning
                          Central Heat and Air in Both Cabins
                        • Fireplace
                          2 Wood Burning Fireplaces in Main House. 1 Wood Burning Fireplace in Guest Cottage
                        • Heating
                          Central Heat and Air in Both Cabins
                        • Internet
                          Wireless Internet
                        • Clothes Dryer
                        • Living Room
                        • Parking
                        • Telephone
                          Landline Phone for Local Calls Only
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine


                            • Coffee Maker
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                            • Dishwasher
                            • Kitchen
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                            • Refrigerator
                            • Stove
                            • Toaster


                                • Child's Highchair
                                • Dining
                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 8 people


                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                    • Television


                                        • Deck / Patio
                                        • Lawn / Garden
                                          15 Acres of Private Land to Enjoy
                                        • Outdoor Grill
                                          Propane Grill


                                            • wheelchair accessible
                                              Wheelchair can access main cabin through side door. Would be able to use Master Bedroom and Bathroom on Main Level. Standard door sizes.

                                              Onsite Services

                                                • Concierge


                                                    • live theater
                                                    • churches
                                                    • festivals
                                                    • health/beauty spa
                                                    • library
                                                    • cinemas
                                                    • museums
                                                    • playground
                                                    • recreation center
                                                    • restaurants
                                                    • winery tours

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • miniature golf
                                                        • antiquing
                                                        • boating
                                                        • gambling casinos
                                                        • horseback riding
                                                        • horseshoes
                                                        • bird watching
                                                        • photography
                                                        • scenic drives
                                                        • shopping
                                                        • sight seeing
                                                        • walking
                                                        • wildlife viewing

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • fitness center
                                                            • groceries
                                                            • hospital
                                                            • laundromat
                                                            • massage therapist
                                                            • medical services

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • mountain biking
                                                                • basketball court
                                                                • equestrian events
                                                                • fishing
                                                                • fly fishing
                                                                • freshwater fishing
                                                                • golf
                                                                • hiking
                                                                • hunting
                                                                • ice skating
                                                                • jet skiing
                                                                • kayaking
                                                                • cycling
                                                                • mountain climbing
                                                                • mountaineering
                                                                • racquetball
                                                                • rafting
                                                                • rock climbing
                                                                • skiing
                                                                • snowboarding
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • tennis
                                                                • water skiing
                                                                • water tubing
                                                                • whitewater rafting

                                                                  House Rules

                                                                  Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                                  Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                  11 Reviews


                                                                  Latest reviews

                                                                  Lasting Impression

                                                                  Our weekend getaway to the Smokey Mountains was nothing less than majestic. The cabin had all the comforts of home and the beautiful surroundings where peaceful and tranquil. It's been a couple of weeks since our vacation and the family is still talking about our time there. I know another trip to the Smokey Mountains is in our future. Laura took great care of us before, during, and after our visit. I highly recommend her/this cabin to any and everybody for an experience that will leave a lasting impression.

                                                                  Exactly what the doctor ordered

                                                                  Wake F.Greenville

                                                                  My family, my extended family, and several of our friends had such a great time. Everything was better than expected and we will rent this cabin again. The doorlocks were a pain in the ass but everything else was pain-free

                                                                  Needs to be cleaned up both inside and out.

                                                                  Tom G.

                                                                  Great property, great location beautiful home that needs a good cleaning. Also, AC issues upon arrival. Does anyone check this kind of issue. Still had a great family weekend.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  Hey Tom,

                                                                  I'm so sorry to hear that your stay was a 'one star' rating. We truly want every guest to have a wonderful time and we're just as disappointed as you are when that doesn't happen.

                                                                  The cabin had other occupants in it 4 days before you checked in and then the cleaning crew was there 3 days before your arrival. Neither the prior guests nor the cleaners reported an issue with the AC so we had no knowledge of an issue. Otherwise we would have had an AC company there to have it looked at before you arrived. There are many great advantages to small town living but finding an HVAC company willing to work on a weekend isn't one of them. Unfortunately we weren't able to solve the upstairs AC issue during your stay but hopefully the fans we provided gave some relief.

                                                                  I wish that you would have brought cleaning issues to our attention prior to writing a review. We would have been happy to address anything that was a detriment to your stay. The cabin underwent a thorough indoor spring cleaning in April so it's hard for me to believe that it's that dirty. Would you mind sending me a separate email with some specifics since you didn't list anything in the review?

                                                                  Wonderful accommodations! Wonderful people!

                                                                  James B.Hickory, NC

                                                                  Simply stated, our stay at River of Dreams was wonderful! My group was in the area for opening day of trout season and were extremely pleased with the house. Laura was very attentive and showed genuine concern that our stay was great. I look forward to staying here again with my kids and grandkids! Plenty of room for large families or groups. I definitely would not hesitate to book with Laura again! Thanks for a great trip!

                                                                  More Than Expected!

                                                                  David W.

                                                                  I was a little worried after reading the previous review but I quickly realized upon arrival that the worry was for nothing. This place is awesome! We had a group of 10 adults and all of us had a fantastic time. The cabin is incredibly well maintained and everything was in working order. We found the cabin to be centrally located to a lot of restaurants and activities in the area. It was a little cold to utilize the river but we're already planning a trip for warmer weather when we can bring our kayaks. We booked with the owner directly instead of VRBO and we saved some money! Thank you for the perfect trip.

                                                                  Needs attention. Not a true 4 bedroom

                                                                  Jeannette W.Emerson, Georgia

                                                                  The home is very pretty. The 4th bedroom downstairs in the basement is makeshift with no place to hang clothes and it is not heated. For us 4 couples it was a problem. Also the oven did not work and a smoke alarm chirped all weekend.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  Hey Jeannette, thank you for the review. I wish you would have contacted us during your stay!! We give you an after hours number to contact us if you have any problems. We could have remedied the smoke alarm and stove. It had been about a week since the last guests checked out and the cleaner was in the cabin. The smoke alarm must have started chirping during those few vacant days. Unfortunately we weren't aware that the stove isn't working properly - you're the first guest to report it. I'm so sorry that your trip didn't go exactly as planned.


                                                                  Whittier, NC, USA


                                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                                  Tax Rate

                                                                  Stay 6 Nights, Receive the 7th Night FREE! Contact us directly to take advantage of this special. If you book through VRBO it will not give you the 7th night free. Summer 2018 (June - August) Have a 7 Night Minimum. Saturday To Saturday Only Thanksgiving and Christmas 2017 Have a 7 Night Minimum

                                                                  11 Reviews
                                                                  Excellent 4.5/5
                                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                  Property # 620833