The Inn is surrounded by Columbus City Park and is minutes away from both the Olentangy River Bike Path and a more secluded footpath that begins steps from the front door of the Inn. The Inn can accommodate up to 4 RVs or approx. 20 cars The Olentangy Inn opened in 2008 and has become a special retreat to those that have experienced the peaceful, secluded and beautiful Olentangy Inn and River. The Inn is conveniently located within the I-270 outerbelt in Clintonville and is approx. 15 miles from Downtown Columbus. The Olentangy bike path is right outside the front door and a Columbus park footpath, on the east side of the Olentangy River, provides beautiful vistas and encounters with the native eagles, blue herons, turtles, beavers and, of course, the plentiful deer that roam this area. The Inn has hosted OSU Out of Town Alumni Football Get-Togethers, Out of Town wedding party guests and Birthday Parties, just to name a few. The Inn sleeps 8-10 people (3200sf / 4 Bedrooms/2 King/2 Queen/1 Twin/2.5 Bathrooms ) comfortably, has a 2000 sf outdoor deck, a gourmet kitchen and if you need a little help getting your party together, we have catering and party planning services. There is room for up to 5 RVs or 50 cars. Graceland Shopping Center is approx. 1 mile away and is anchored by Target and Kroger Grocery stores. The Inn can be rented for up to 31 days with a two night minimum requirement. Check-in is 4pm and check-out 11am. The cost is $500 per day with a $200 one-time cleaning fee.
- Cabin3200 sq. ft.
- Half Baths1
- Min Stay2 nights
Secluded Cabin with scenic views of the Olentangy River
- Calendar last updated:
- Oct 18, 2018
About Janet Dinneen
I am a native Ohioan and am an OSU Alumni (BSEE 1993). I am a commercial realtor and this is one of my best commercial investments. The Olentangy Inn had been abandoned for several years and when I was able to purchase it in 2007, I felt like I had Won the Lottery! Each day when I walked my dog, Beku, along the footpath in front of the Inn, I would dream of some day fixing it up. Luckily, it went on the market in Nov. 2007 and as they say...The Rest is History! I live on the property in a mother-in-law suite with my own entrance/exit and private deck. I am available for any problems that may happen during your stay. So there won't be any operator you have to call or owner you have to track down. Most of the time we won't see each other your entire visit but I'm here if you need me.
Janet Dinneen purchased this Cabin in 2007
Why Janet Dinneen chose Clintonville
The Olentangy Inn is river front property and uniquely located in Clintonville and surrounded by city park. It is within the I-270 outer belt and within minutes of The Ohio State University, Riverside Hospital, Downtown Columbus, Graceland Shopping Center, SR-315, I-71/I-70. As a guest has commented in their review, "You feel like you're in the middle of Nowhere and you're minutes from Everything" It is uniquely located and very convenient for most events.
What makes this Cabin unique
The Olentangy Inn is a very peaceful and private place for family reunions, birthday celebrations, OSU football parties and a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It is uniquely located and very convenient for most events. The Olentangy Bike path is minutes from the Inn, there is a beautiful miles long footpath along the river, the 2000sf deck is the place to be morning noon or night and there really is something for everyone at The Olentangy Inn.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Great Hidden Gem
I loved my stay, we got married at this home with the permission and discussion plan with the owner and received so many compliments.
Great place for large group or family.
It is a lot of house for a reasonable charge. We had 8 guys on a road trip for an OSU football game. It is everything you could need and a marvelous owner. She even helped us when we needed to jumpstart our RV. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and the open design living room, kitchen, dining area and sitting area are exquisite. And while the weather kept us from using the deck, it is spectacular. Our only disappointment was the hot tub not working.
Nice size and layout for large party.
Great property, lacking maintenance and amenities
The title of the property lists the hot tub and fire pit, neither worked. I should have been advised that the hot tub and fire pit were not working. The fire pit was repaired on the 4th day of our stay. The hot tub has apparently been inoperable since winter. Also, there is no cable TV, but rather an Amazon Prime account. There is apparent deferred maintenance and jury rigged fixes, such as a hose clamp on the kitchen faucet.
Renters should be advised that the owner lives on site, in part of the cabin, although it is sealed off from the rented portion, you will see her outside on occasion. The owner does not provide any paper products, dishwasher or laundry soap, or extra garbage bags. Plan to provide your own toilet paper. There is only 1 propane tank, so you have to move it from the grill to the fire pit and vice versus. I was advised that if the propane tank is empty, take it to a gas station and get if filled.
On the positive side, the location is great and the deer appear every morning and evening. The property was clean. There is no river view, rather a path leading to the river.
The owner can be curt and unresponsive at times.
I plan to ask for a partial refund, because the hot tub was not in working order.
The title of the property lists the hot tub and fire pit, neither worked. I should have been advised that the hot tub and fire pit were not working (owner response: you were advised and it was suggested to you that you cancel your reservation and your insurance would cover your reservation at another location. You declined). The hot tub has apparently been inoperable since winter (owner response: spa just broke and waiting on part to delivered) Also, there is no cable TV (owner response: in rental agreement and it is Hulu Live TV package) Renters should be advised that the owner lives on site, in part of the cabin, although it is sealed off from the rented portion, you will see her outside on occasion (owner response: stated in the VRBO Owner Profile that I live on the property in a mother-in-law suite with my own deck that i sometimes sit on). The owner does not provide any paper products, dishwasher or laundry soap, or extra garbage bags. (owner response: stated in rental agreement) On the positive side, the location is great and the deer appear every morning and evening. The property was clean. There is no river view, rather a path leading to the river. The owner can be curt and unresponsive at time (owner response: this is the first time that i have responded to any review in the 11 years that I have been renting my property. You and your family are the most rude and offensive people I have ever met. I wish you would have cancelled the reservation so your visit to Columbus could have been more enjoyable at another location more suitable to your taste. All I have to say is good bye and good riddance.
Great Place for Family Visit, HUGE!
We had 7 staying in the house and two more who visited during the day, and had a ton of space. The location was great as it is right near shopping and only 15 minutes from OSU. The layout works very well for a large group, and there was a lot of space for our little dog to run around inside, and easy to take her out through the laundry room when she had to go out.
There's plenty of wildlife around (deer, especially), but we scared something back under the back porch when I took the dog out one night. Many of the Homeaway places almost feel like showplaces that you don't want to relax in, however, the Olentangy Inn felt like home, where you could kick back and relax.
Perfect for a Family Reunion!
The Olentangy Inn was a perfect place for nine of us to stay in for a recent family reunion. There was plenty of room when other family members joined us to just hang out. Lots of areas to sit and talk, a deck for the kids to play on, and the deer were great entertainment! It rained the whole weekend, so we couldn't get out and explore the area around the inn but it was a lovely setting and I would definitely recommend it for similar groups.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Guests can schedule additional hours from the standard 4pm-11am check-in/out time when available at $50/hr. Also, guests may use certified checks or Cash.com as payment. All payments are non-refundable and purchasing an insurance policy on your reservation is always encourage.