Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

'Tip Top' Retreat Log Cabin, Stunning Views, Peaceful, Secluded Mtn Top 3/2

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This Beautiful Rustic hand stacked Log Cabin is located at the “Tip Top” of privately owned and gated Big Buck Mountain with unbelievable views all the way to the Tennessee Valley divide. At night the stars look so close and bright you think you can reach up and touch them. This is our family's second home and not just rental property.

This 3 bedroom 2 bath beautifully decorated cabin sleeps 6. The king sized master bedroom with ensuite is located in the loft with a spectacular view, has its own sitting area.

The second is a queen size bedroom, the third “bunk room” has a full size on bottom & twin on top with plenty of room for the twin size blow up bed if needed. The second full bath is located on the main floor.

A fully equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare a picnic or a gourmet meal.

The living room has a sofa, fireplace and a 42” flat screen TV and DVD player. NO Cable or internet. Local channels only.

A stacked washer/dryer is available in the hallway closet.

Big Buck Mountain is just a short drive to Carter lake for you Fishermen and for Hunters you are only 20 ft from the Cherokee National Forest in the back yard.

Wildlife is abundant and if you’re lucky you may glimpse a pair of nesting owl’s as they swoop over the valley while sitting in your rocking chair on the covered porch.

Outside is a 8 seat round picnic table on the wraparound porch, a charcoal grill is near the fire pit , all with great views of the beautiful seasonal color and mountains.

Convenient access to many activities including Zip line, Hiking, Fishing at beautiful Carter Lake, Amicalola Falls, Horseback riding, Tubing, Antique shopping, Fine restaurants and trails in the National forest for your 4 wheelers are all close by. A book of brochures is provided for you to pick your activities or just relax the day away and enjoy the fresh air, peace, tranquility and the awesome view. You can view the ride up the Mtn, starting at the turn off onto Big Buck from our 4 wheeler to the cabin. Check out the links (2 parts) below on Youtube.

Our Insurance has minimum age of 25 yrs old to rent the cabin.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2018


Ellijay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Trash must be removed when you checkout.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Loft ensuite - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Yellow Queen - 1 queen , Beautifully Decorated
    Bunk room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk w/ full on bottom, twin on top w/ room for twin blow up
    Master loft - 1 king , Master Bedroom loft w/ ensuite and sitting room
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

38% Complete
30% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
'Tip Top' Retreat Log Cabin, Stunning Views, Peaceful, Secluded Mtn Top 3/2
average rating of 3.8461537 based on 13 reviews
Columbus, GA

Relaxing Cabin with Stunning Views

  • 4 of 5

We planned our Thanksgiving around renting a relaxing cabin in North Georgia. This cabin was as advertised. Our stay was restful and the weather was beautiful!

Distance-wise, the cabin is not far from Ellijay, about 30 minutes to Blue Ridge. However, you do need to take into consideration the last 3 miles or so are up and down the mountain which takes a good bit at 10 MPH or so. I recommend a 4X4 even though you may not need it during dry conditions. There is a convenience store a couple of miles from the entrance as well.

The rooms were comfortable and the kitchen amenities allowed us to prepare a great Thanksgiving meal. Signal for both AT&T and Verizon was good considering the remote location. There was a fire pit outside that was perfect for the cool weather. Overall, nice stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Tip Top Cabin

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our trip to the North Ga mountains and our stay in the Tip Top cabin. The cabin was a steep climb through some narrow pig trails to get to but the view and the lot were nice. We really enjoyed the town of Ellijay and Blue Ridge. Both very quaint and relaxing places to visit. The cabin had some lighting issues but other then that it was exactly as described. One night we grilled and made a fire with the view of the mountains in our front yard.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome View

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay at TIP TOP cabin. The view is so beautiful and peaceful. You feel like you can reach out and touch heaven! Will definitely return for another visit.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

4 out of 10. No more|

  • 1 of 5

Cabin was not clean. Under chairs, behind sofa, fans. Screen off of door. Deadbolt lock on first door would not lock. One of the upstairs windows would not lock. Water filter was broke shooting water everywhere. Refrigerator had a scour smell.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm not sure who Bruce D. is I had no dealings with him. Below pls see the response I received from the guest that booked our cabin: Hello, Thank you so much for letting us rent your cabin. We had a wonderful time and the view is spectacular. We really appreciate all the information you sent us. Going up that mountain is an adventure! It's a wonderful place to relax and get away from the pressures of reality. Thank you again! Sincerely, Kamila
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pensacola, FL

Needing Repairs

  • 2 of 5

We met family from all different directions at the cabin to spend the Christmas holiday together. It did rain for most of our stay.

Upon arrival we noticed the cabin did not seem clean and really needs an update. I would call it more of a hunting cabin and not a family vacation cabin. The floors needed to be swept and the rugs were full of sand. We found a half full bottle of Vodka beside the couch so we had to clean a bit before everyone else arrived.

After our second full day of rain, the walls started to leak. The water ran down all the walls in the living room, the upstairs bedroom and bathroom, and one of the down stairs bedrooms. Then by the third night the lights in the upstairs bathroom no longer worked (I'm guessing because the rain was running down through the walls) so we had to use flash lights and candles to shower. The outside lights also stopped working due to water running down the walls.

Since we checked in the Dec 24th we knew it was too late to find another place to stay and did not want to ruin Christmas......... so we decided to stay and do what we came to do which was enjoy spending time with the family. We visited the Blue Ridge Railway and rode the train over to Copper City and we visited the Amicalola falls. Both the train ride and Falls made for an awesome day out and I highly recommend. We plan to visit the area again soon so we can hopefully enjoy everything with a lot less rain.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Overall we had a good stay

  • 3 of 5

Overall we had a good stay, but if we were to go back, I'd book something closer to downtown Blue Ridge. Upon booking from the VRBO site, I was under the impression that this cabin was in Blue Ridge. It is in fact in Ellijay, which was okay, but there was a fairly long drive to do most everything we wanted to do. The cabin had a nice view and was very secluded. It is about a 15-20 minute drive up the mountain on windy dirt roads. The cabin was clean for the most part, but could definitely use some updating with the furniture and the TV.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield Intl Airport
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Hwy 515
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Many choices in and around Ellijay & Blueridge


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135
Property Damage Insurance $59
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

Approved dog fees are $75.00 and dog must be kenneled if left alone in cabin and kept off of the furniture and beds. Renter is responsible for any damage caused by dog including pet hair on furniture/bedding and soiled carpets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.