Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful & Convenient Kirkwood Chalet

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, with Beautiful Mountain Views

Great for skiing/snowboarding and great for summer. Only 0.6 miles to the ski lifts. Free door-to-door, on-demand, shuttle available to/from lifts. For cross-country skiing, you can walk across the street and go right to the groomed meadow trails (purchase pass at Kirkwood XC center). Beautiful mountain views. Designed by skiers for skiers/boarders. Open plan (kitchen, dining area, living room, loft) makes your whole visit seem like a party. High ceilings with exposed wood beams.

Master BR has queen-size bed. Another bedroom has a queen-size bed. Third bedroom has twin beds. Loft trundle bed pulls out for 2 more twin beds. Bedroom with twin beds includes a mini-loft where kids love to hang out and play, or it is an ideal spot for meditation.

The bathrooms are set up so that they seem like a lot more than 2, so that everyone can get ready at the same time for those incredible Kirkwood powder mornings. There is an extra sink in the master BR, and there are 2 large sinks outside of the shower/toilet upstairs.

Some Kirkwood homes require a drive up a steep road or driveway. Not our cabin. Our street is nearly level with Kirkwood Meadows Dr, with parking right in front. The chalet is half of a duplex, and we share a path with the next door unit which makes it easier to get in, except right after a big storm when you may have to carve some snow steps (snow shovel provided). You cannot see nor hear the next door unit from inside our cabin.

We hate having to bring paper goods to a rental, so we provide everything you need except your own food. All linens and towels are provided. Well equipped kitchen has been enjoyed even by professional chefs. Coffee-maker, coffee-grinder, toaster, small micro-wave oven.

Wood-burning stove, with glass door to watch the fire, really creates a cozy ambience. Super efficient, the wood stove will heat the entire cabin and requires much less wood than a fireplace. Plenty of logs, kindling and paper provided. Or use the furnace. Your choice. There are lots of wood pegs for hanging cold or wet jackets, gloves, etc by the wood-stove or in most other rooms of the cabin. We even have an electrical boot/glove warmer/dryer in case you left your boots in the car overnight. If you email or call in advance, we will turn on the furnace before you arrive so that the cabin is warm when you arrive.

Cabin has free high-speed wifi, a flat-screen TV with Blu-Ray/DVD player. No cable service, so bring some movies or watch one from our extensive library. We also have lots of books to read and several games. A stereo system connects to your iPhone, iPod or other music device. NEW: Electronic front door lock - no need to use a key.

More Details

Owner
Howard Hoffman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 11, 2017

About Howard Hoffman

Have been skiing at Kirkwood for many years. Active in Kirkwood community affairs, including improvements to utilities, former president of Kirkwood Meadows Association.

Howard Hoffman purchased this house in 1985

Why Howard Hoffman chose Kirkwood

Our whole family loves Kirkwood and in all seasons. The skiing/snowboarding/cross-country skiing is some of the best in the US. The powder is frequently truly awesome. Kirkwood, as a part of Vail Resorts, has some of the best ski run grooming anywhere. I can say that with some authority, as I have skied in 10 US states plus Canada and Switzerland, at dozens of ski resorts, including many of the most famous ones. Kirkwood is much less crowded and is more laid back than Lake Tahoe, and yet you can drive there in 40 minutes to get all of the recreation and entertainment available. We like being so close to the lifts and yet having the privacy of being in the homes just between the lifts and Highway 88. The summer hiking, fishing, horseback riding, boating, mountain biking and other activities are really great too. I had stayed at and visited many ski cabins/condos and worked with an architect in designing our cabin to be fun and easy for a ski vacation.

Amenities

West Meadows House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Extra sink in Master Bedroom. Separate room with 2 sinks outside of upstairs bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Loft - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful & Convenient Kirkwood Chalet
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
5

Excellent Choice

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable, spacious, and clean house with fantastic views and great proximity to the slopes at Kirkwood. We had a really fun spring break trip, and are looking forward to going back.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, Michael. You and your family are welcome to stay at our chalet any time we have availability.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a Sierras get-away

  • 5 of 5

The chalet provided comfortable, relaxing accommodations for my family while we skied and explored the Kirkwood area. The chalet gives both privacy and space to be together. Everything we needed to ski, eat and relax together was available: boot driers, nice hot showers, a wood stove, views, a kitchen island for preparing meals together, an ample table for eating together, and interesting documentaries to watch. Tastefully supplied and decorated for those who want to enjoy the outdoors.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Helen for being such a great guest. You and your family are welcome at our chalet any time. Glad that you had such a good time at Kirkwood.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cupertino
4

Good location and cozy home

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this rental home. Kids loved the little play area in the upstairs bedroom. The stove heater worked better than the air heater, and it's located in the middle of living room to dry up clothing after snow plays. We were provided with all we need for cleaning, cooking, and laundry etc. The only issue we encountered was parking. Due to snow, someone else's car parked in front of designated area, so our friend's car couldn't be parked next to the chalet. The car needs to be driven to other areas to allow snow to be cleared by city service, so be sure to drive a "snow-friendly" car when it snows.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Yes, especially during holiday periods and periods of heavy snowfall, parking can require some flexibility. In our information package, we state that you may have to park in the nearby overflow parking or on a nearby street. The parking directly in front of our chalet is not just for us and our guests. However, it is rare that one has to walk farther than a block. The snow at Kirkwood makes for great skiing, but it is a challenge for vehicles and parking.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a group of skiers or 2 families.

  • 5 of 5

This chalet was just what we were looking for. Our group of skiers was very comfortable. The wood stove works well and is generously stocked with hard wood. The kitchen leaves nothing to be desired, right down to a good selection of spices and condiments. The floor plan is open and utilizes the space well. It is clean and comfortable, but not fancy. Everything is well thought out and functional without being opulent. It is conveniently located for cross country skiing, and has ample parking in front. It offers exceptional value. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Urmas. We are glad you had such a good time. You are welcome to rent from us any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco
5

Family ski trip to Kirkwood

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 shared this house with another family of 4 and had a fabulous time. The house was very clean and well stocked. There was plenty of room for us to sleep and to spread out around the house. Travelling to the slopes (free shuttle, door-to-door) and cross-country meadow (just outside the door) was super easy, even with smaller children.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are happy that you and your family had such a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, practical ski house

  • 5 of 5

This condo was great - very comfortable, easy parking (no slope!), plenty of space for skis and people, well-equipped kitchen, perfectly clean and uncluttered. It's actually bigger than it looks in pictures! We were 2 families with kids and had plenty of space for everyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Marina. You would be welcome at our chalet any time. I am glad the chalet worked so well for both families.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
77 Miles
Reno
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Kirkwood Inn
Nearest Golf
26 Miles
Tahoe Paradise Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.4 Miles
CA 88
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Kirkwood Inn
Nearest Ski
0.6 Miles
Kirkwood Ski Area
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Caples Lake
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

West Meadows House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Apr 30 2017 - Nov 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$279
$1,599
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$399
 
 
Early Ski Season
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$299
From
$379
Fri,Sat
$1,899
 
 
Holiday
Dec 21 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$499
 
 
After New Year
Jan 1 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$299
From
$429
Fri,Sat
$1,999
 
 
MLK Holiday
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 15 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$299
From
$429
Fri,Sat
$1,999
 
 
Presidents Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$499
 
 
Presidents Week
Feb 19 2018 - Feb 24 2018
3 night minimum stay
$429
 
 
Ski Season
Feb 25 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$299
From
$429
Fri,Sat
$1,999
 
 
Spring Skiing
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
$279
From
$349
Fri,Sat
$1,699
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$299
From
$399
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Linens & Housecleaning $265
Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 10.0%

Normal checkout time is 11 am (to allow for house cleaning). For an additional $40, you can have checkout at 3 pm, or for $60 you can checkout at 5 pm. Late checkout must be arranged in advance of your stay, preferably at the time of your reservation. Late checkout is not available during the Dec 20 through Jan 1 holiday period.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties