Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront 4 Bdrm, Gallop Canal/Thousand Islands; kayaking; FANTASTIC cottage

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Fantastic Getaway, 4 Bedrooms (King/Queens/double/single, 2 Baths) sleeps 10

Get away and enjoy the peaceful countryside. Located on a historic route, 15 minutes to Brockville along the St. Lawrence River. Built in 1999 this house provides modern conveniences with old-time charm. Waterfront property with beautiful scenery and wildlife. Fully furnished with hardwood floors and a dock for swimming and canoeing.

The area offers a variety of activities for all ages: historic sites, museums, antique shopping, local summer and winter festivals, water sports (renowned fresh water scuba driving both for shore diving and river dives), and golf. We have Kayaks, canoes and volleyball onsite.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Christine Joli-Coeur
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Christine Joli-Coeur

Randy and I have lived in the area for almost 20 years, both natives of Quebec so we do speak French. We ended up in this area when I moved for work and Randy followed. Randy currently works as a realtor in the area and I work full time as a consultant.

Why Christine Joli-Coeur chose Thousand Islands

Having grown up in Quebec city and travelled along the Eastern Seaboard of Canada and the US this area offer the beauty of comfort and things to do. Comfort of the home to enjoy meals together with family or friends, a quiet coffee looking out on the river, space for a soccer or volleyball challenge or a peaceful paddle in the kayak. Activities are numerous particularly in the summer just drive North, South, East or West and you will find fun for the family or friends. We border on the US so if heading South to explore Ogdensburg, Canton, Alexandria Bay NY bring your passport.

What makes this cottage unique

Having been renters of other cottages we work hard to make sure that the cottages are well kept and not to dissapoint and that the price is affordable. This cottage has a double level deck that overlooks the water with breathtaking views of the St. Lawrence at any time of year.

Amenities

Prescott Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , also with laundry
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 murphy bed , also has a queen size murphy bed in this room
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Murphy Beds (1) Queen size
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
This home lends well to the guys getting together or a ladies weekend. Just ask if you are looking something specific and we will be glad to let you know.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
30% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront 4 Bdrm, Gallop Canal/Thousand Islands; kayaking; FANTASTIC cottage
average rating of 4.3 based on 20 reviews
4

Great location for a family retreat.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The property was perfect for a family stay. There were a total of seven of us for the majority of the stay and then a cousin stayed with us on one night. We even had a open house on Sunday for friends and family which worked out well with beautiful sunny weather. Everything was how we expected it. Only one opportunity is that the cottage could use a good overall spring cleaning. We spent a couple of hours on Sunday morning before our open house cleaning off cobwebs and general cleaning to prepare for our guests.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for selecting our home for your family event. I am so glad that it met your needs and I will definitely share your comments with our cleaner and get it attended to. The transition from Winter to Spring does come with its challenges to get some of the cobwebs from the outdoor decks. We do have an application of a ecofriendly treatment to discourage our web friends from being near or even in the house. The treatment is applied in the late spring but with the wet warm weather they are already starting. My apologies and I am so glad that it meet all of your other needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Really nice stay with young kids

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful view, close to Brockville for 1000 island cruise.

Nice spot for campfires.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Yes lots of room for the kids to run around outside. Beautiful spot along the river. The home is close to both Brockville for the 1000 Island cruise or to Morrisburg for the Upper Canada Village. My kids also really liked Fort Wellington in Prescott as they could dress up in the old clothes from 1812 and run around the grounds inside the fort pretending to be back in olden time. It is also by far the most reasonably price activity for a family:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good stay, would recommend.

  • 4 of 5

I've stayed here previously, so I knew what to expect. Friendly owners, neighbors. Beautiful surroundings, and good location. My only complaint is that the BBQ wasn't working very well. Other than that, I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are thankful that you are returning to our beautiful home along the St. Lawrence. I thank you for your feedback as it helps us to make sure we continue to meet your needs. Like everything things need to be replaced from time to time. BBQ are so tricky as it really depends how well our renters treat them after their use. I will definitely look into and if need be it might be time to replace it. We look forward to hosting your get together again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Has everything we needed for our extended winter stay. Beautiful spot.

  • 5 of 5

This home is like being at home having all the modern conveniences (fridge, stove, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, large tv, satellite and wireless satellite internet. We were super comfy for our 4 months stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate you taking the time to complete this review and are glad that the home meet your rental needs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good potential - needs upgrading!

  • 3 of 5

First off I want to say we had a great time and fabulous weather! This could be a cottage that you return to every year, but only with significant changes. The cottage itself has a good layout and the most fabulous views! It has a nice little beach and the water is shallow a long way out. It comes with a pedalo and some canoes and kayaks (in various states of repair). It is close to Prescott and Cardinal for last minute purchases. Christine was very good about getting back to us and when we shared our concerns and observations she seemed receptive. On the down side the dryer door did not lock and dishwasher did not work. The barbecue lighter was broken, it was difficult to light and the burners didn't distribute heat evenly. The outside furniture was old, rusty and the plastic cushions were falling apart. There was not sufficient outside furniture for our group so we didn't spend much time on the deck. Overall the beds were not very comfortable and mattresses need upgrading. Christine did contact us after our stay to say that they had replaced the dishwasher and living room couch and chair (they were very uncomfortable and only seating for 4 people) with a new couch and loveseat. If they did the same with the mattresses and the outside furniture it would be a huge improvement and worth renting again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really do appreciate your input and yes there is a time for everything. We take pride in the home and attend to details. Since we really want to ensure the cottage stays affordable we invest in things on an ongoing basis. It is often hard to do furniture changes during our peak back to back rentals as it is really inconvenient for our guests to be disturbed unless it is broken (yes the dishwasher was done this summer second one since we started renting). You will be happy to know that this October we have new beautiful couches in the livingroom and will be replacing the several of the beds very soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montreal and Toronto area
2

Beautiful location , but not impressed with the cottage itself.

  • 2 of 5

Arrived Friday afternoon, and everything was good, till we ran into certain details, that should not be an issue when you are paying so much for 3 nights. Dishwasher was broken , had to do the dishes by hand for 10 people, bathroom door and windows were not working. Dirty linens were left in one of the beds, dishes were actually put away dirty in the cupboard. Furniture was very uncomfortable, and the actual cleaning was not great (dead bugs on walls, spider webs on lamps and hanging on the ceiling....) Even the BBQ was not working good and was very dirty. And all the batteries in the remotes were dead and melted..... basic things that need to be taken care of.....

Enjoyed the outside and the view very much, the boats were awesome and so was the swimming, but forget fishing because you aren't going to get much.

In general i enjoyed myself but will not be returning or promoting this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As with everything we do our very best to make your vacation a good one but things will come up. It is unfortunate that you did not bring up these issues during your stay so something could have been done about them. I am happy that you enjoyed the waterfront and we do appreciate your comments however would have even appreciated more to allow us to do something about them in a more timely manner. Have a great rest of summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Ottawa International Airport
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Prescott golf club
Nearest Train
25 Kilometres
Brockville VIA rail
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
401/ 416
Nearest Restaurant
4 Kilometres
Bridgeview Marina Restaurant
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Prescott Ontario
Car: necessary

Lots of local activities in the summer months; Upper Canada Village, Fort Wellingston, Live theatre St. Lawrence Shakespear festival, Upper Canada playhouse.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $11.88 per person per night
Pet Fee $79.2
Damage Deposit $79.2

When having additional guests over 8, there is an additional cost which can be negotiated depending on the size of the group.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.