Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Madelyn's on the Marsh! Pet-Friendly! Polka Dots & Marsh Sunrises! WiFI!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

124 Lewis Ave., Tybee Island, GA,31328

What a charming beach cottage! From the polka dotted shutters to the back porch to the comfy and cozy feeling everywhere in the cottage, you'll just want to snuggle in and relax! Pets of all sizes are welcome; the backyard is fully fenced and has lots of running and playing space!

The back yard has a picnic table and swing so you can enjoy the morning sunrise over the marsh. The marsh also has plenty of birds to watch for those of you who love birding! The home is located on Lewis Avenue which is a family friendly street. The beach is a 15 minute walk - either walking down Lewis to 6th Street or walking down Butler Avenue. Don't forget to look for the beach sayings that Leonard the Sandman has painted on the walls in the cottage.

Complimentary off-street parking for 2 cars.

Complimentary WiFi

Minimum Age Requirement: Must be 25 years of age to rent this property.

PLEASE NOTE: Longer minimum stay requirements of up to 7 nights will apply during certain times of the year including holidays and our summer season.

More Details

Property Manager
Mermaid Cottages, Tybee Island, GA
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

Amenities

Tybee Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 1 King bed, 2 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
Notes:
Outdoor shower with hot and cold water! Shower off the beach sand and saltwater before heading indoors! Kids love showering outdoors! Fun for adults too; enjoy a evening shower under the stars!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(135 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Madelyn's on the Marsh! Pet-Friendly! Polka Dots & Marsh Sunrises! WiFI!
average rating of 4.8296294 based on 135 reviews
Silver spring, Maryland
5

Madelyn's on the Marshvacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a wonderful time at Tybee island and the cottage was great .The location was perfect .Close to the beach, shops and places to go eat. It was very peaceful, clean and comfortable. It is a charming place to stay and we would definitely return to Madelyn's by the Marsh.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy you're making sweet little Madelyn's *your* vacation home! Come any time! ~ Jennifer & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Holbrook, MA
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We really enjoyed our stay at Madelyn's on the Marsh. My 6 year old was very sad the day we had to leave. I especially loved beginning and ending each day reading in the screened-in back porch. The views were beautiful and it was very private. The location was very convenient to our favorite restaurants. We loved being just short drive to North Beach and there was plenty of parking available there. Thanks again for a perfect family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tell your 6 year old this is their personal vacation home! Come anytime you want! :) ~ Jennifer & the Mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stayed 5 nights ending July 6, 2017

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

My family and I rented this cottage in anticipation of a vacation with a pet almost 6 months in advance. We looked forward to enjoying all the greatness described in all the positive reviews posted everywhere. Our time in Tybee and Savannah was wonderful and we made memories we will never forget. That being said we loathed the moment we knew we had to return to the cottage. The evening we arrived we got hit with the aroma of mold and mildew heavy in the air; but we were so happy to be on vacation we brushed it off our shoulders. This feeling was short lived because then when the lights were turned on there was animal hair everywhere; all over the floors, on the counters, on the sofas, in the refrigerator and even in the bed sheets. In fact my wife and I are pretty sure the bed was made with used sheets. We went as far as buying sheets at the local Walmart to cover the sofa and chair to sit on. I even bought a lint roller to run over the bed sheets and sofas to remove the pet hair. Now if this weren’t enough the first one of us to use the bathroom facilities quickly realized that the toilet was not bolted to the floor and almost tipped over. The most wonderful part and only good part of the cottage for us was the outdoor shower. This was the most joyous part of the cottage especially because we didn’t have to bath in the tub which back washed onto our feet due to the semi-clogged drain that I could not clear after numerous attempts. I am sure this cottage has had its’ better days but those days have passed. My wife and I read every review in the cottage guest books and were shocked that they were all positive, happy and it even sounded like there were services provided that are no longer offered. Now I must be honest I never called management or verbalized my displeasure but once we did our excursions, tours and experienced the particular restaurants we decided to leave as fast as possible back to our home in Florida.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Senoia, GA
3

Madelyn's on the Marsh

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We enjoyed our stay overall, we stayed here last year, clean and close to the beach, nice fenced backyard for our dogs. Only complaint is the master king bed needs to be replaced, sags and is way too soft, had backache from it in the mornings, we switched to twin beds, which were fine and backache went away. For people with so-so backs, like mine, this was important, will likely stay here again, especially if king bed is replaced. Also good service from Mermaid Cottage's people!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for letting us know about the challenges with the bed! We always try our best to make our homes as perfect as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back! Diane and the mermaids
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nashville, TN
5

Amazing cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This cottage was perfect for us and is also pet-friendly! It's in a great location and there are beautiful marsh views from the backyard and screened-in porch! We can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy you enjoyed our sweet Madelyn's!! It is one of my favorites too. I know you had to enjoy seeing the awesome wildlife on the marsh. Come see us again soon, your Mermaid family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Christianburg, VA
5

House Review - Mermaid Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Excellent! Absolutely no complaints. Very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
  • $125/night - $875/week
  • US Dollars
  • 13% Lodging Tax
  • $89 Guest Services Fee
  • $100 Housekeeping Fee
  • $130 Pet Fee for 1 - 2 pets
  • 5% Discount for AAA, AARP, Military and Educators
  • Ask about our special off-season rates!
  • Minimum stay requirements apply during certain times of the year