Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Location for the beach lover!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

(STR16-058)

This lovely 1st floor 2 bedroom 2 bath beach condo calls you to enjoy the best that Southern California has to offer. Located in a quiet gated community along with the Ritz Carlton, St Regis Hotel, and Monarch Beach Golf Links, the walk through the lovely gated neighborhood and down through Monarch Golf course to reach Salt Beach is scenic and delightful. For the golfer, Monarch Links features natural beauty along the bluffs, designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr. - an intriguing layout in the Scottish links tradition, it is one of California’s rare oceanfront golf courses.

Day trips to Disneyland, San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Dana Point Ocean Institute with its Tall Ships, Whale watching (Dave’s is stellar and does rescue work), Huntington Library and Gardens, Laguna Art District, the Getty Museum, Mission at San Juan Capistrano are all within reach of your comfortable home base. There are hiking and beach options to plan galore and we have books to help guide you.

Well-mannered pets are welcomed and our family friendly 1st floor condo affords you the comforts and schedule to fit your family and there are local options for pet daycare. You will find unlimited dining choices close at hand, including at the neighboring hotels. A well equipped kitchen allows you to dine in comfortably and convenient food sources such as the San Clemente farmers market or nearby grocers, including Trader Joe’s, make shopping a snap. Cookware, dinnerware, cutlery and conveniences that we use at home outfit this kitchen (you won’t face second hand hodge podge here). Note: please let us know if we miss anything so we can continuously improve.

Your condo is outfitted with high speed wireless and an internet capable high definition flat screen TV and Roku where you can stream your NetFlix or Amazon Instant Video. Cool nights? Enjoy the warmth and ambiance of our gas fireplace. Each bedroom has a queen bed with plenty of pillows. Larger groups may use the pull out queen sofa and additional sleep options include 2 blow up twins (with electric pump). Hotel quality linens and towels. Beach gear includes: two 7-speed beach cruisers with a cable lock, rolling cooler, 4 portable beach chairs, beach mats, assorted beach towels, beach Frisbee game and unbreakable glasses. We have dog bowls, pet mat and bed (small) and Doggy Daycare options such as Camp BowWow (recommended by neighbors here) about 10 miles away. We stock a few games for relaxing at home base. A grill and outdoor dining set as well as a bistro outside the master bedroom help take advantage of the fresh air. Sliders in the living room, kitchen, and master give easy access to the patio.

Relax by the pool or enjoy the ocean overlook hot tub that is a stroll away or take advantage of the exercise facility. Your private laundry is conveniently located outside the Master Suite. Why limit yourself to a single room when you could come home to Sol Awakenings and enjoy the best balance between a resort and the conveniences of home.

https://www.facebook.com/SolAwakenings"

More Details

Owner
Mike
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful stay here at this condo. Beautifully furnished and stocked with everything plus it was so clean! Short distance to Aliso beach. Which we went to everyday. We recommend the Peking Dragon in town - delicious!

So many great places to see & explore.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Monarch Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
9% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Great Location for the beach lover!
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 24 reviews
5

Great property & location with so many amenities!

  • 5 of 5

Mike was a great host & quick to respond. The condo was clean & well stocked with anything that could be needed. The kitchen especially. We loved the location, as it was a 10 minute walk to the Monarch Beach Resort. We enjoyed the sunset walks in that immediate area & morning walks to the beach. The beach gear & towels came in handy! Overall, we definitely recommend this beach close property for so many reasons. Thanks Mike, for making this stay so memorable for our family.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Stay

  • 4 of 5

I had a wonderful time. The condo is very well appointed and convenient to the Monarch Beach Golf Course. Although not on the beach, the condo was close enough that I had a nice daily walk on the beach. I rented a different condo on each of 3 weekly stays in Dana Point this Summer and I must say this condo was the nicest and best priced of the 3. I had two sets of golfing guests, each spending the night, and they too were impressed with the quality of the condo's amenities. I am considering staying longer next year and this place will certainly be on the top of my list.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyable Condo, Great Family Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

Overall, I was left with a very good impression of this condo. The directions were easy to follow and locate. Dana Point is convenient to all the locations that we traveled including Laguna Beach, Universal Studios, Disney, Santa Monica, and of course their own beach in Dana Point. The people in the complex are very nice and it is quiet. This unit is downstairs which made unloading and loading easy. Covered parking is plus. The unit is tasteful and was plenty of room for my family of 4. We had everything we needed. The contact person Mike is very responsive and offers advice/solutions if you need anything very fast. I would recommend this condo to anyone.

Lacey

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us Lacey! So glad you enjoyed your stay. You and your family are always welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The place needed cleaning both inside and out on the patio.

  • 3 of 5

The location was great. Beaches were easy to get to.

The owner was available and helped right away when we were checking in and also when we couldn't find the pool key.

It really needed a good scrubbing top to bottom, inside and out.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Virgina, Thank you for staying with us and for letting me know about our cleaners! Since your stay, we have hired new cleaners and they are great. We would love to have you come back in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Many previous complaints still not addressed

  • 3 of 5

It all started with me, both daughters and my one year old granddaughter being locked out of the condo in the early evening after a long travel day. The code I was given was not correct so after many tries we had to call and get another code for a different lock that had a key to the condo in it. The key thankfully worked. There was not enough paper towels, toilet paper, or any dish soap in this condo, so off we went to shop. The condo had large sliding doors that were impossible to open or lock as were the screens. There were broom handles in all the doors and windows, along with long drool lines running down the glass doors that were obviously from dogs staying there. Of course my granddaughter was fascinated by this. Lots of balls of fur floating around the floor that could easily have been swept up. Big throw rugs under living room tables and dining table look like they had been in a frat house for a year...gross ! We just put the same onesie on the baby every time she needed to crawl around. Threw it away after our visit. There was a port-a-crib and highchair as promised but both had major stuff from previous babies stuck all over it. We scrubbed them down and spayed with a light coat of Lysol. Laundry left in the dryer from cleaning crew? Extra sheets and pillowcases were still damp which was a pain. I laid them out on inside chairs as I needed to use them for the pull out. I had to get my old self up on chairs to adjust the ceiling fans and lights as the pull chains fell off in my hand when I tried to use them, as did various parts of the vertical blinds. All this being said. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with everything you'd need to make meals. Beautiful dishes and silverware. The pull out was also pretty comfortable. Lots of towels and even a plastic type mat for the beach. We walked the mile and a half to the beach every day through a lovely neighborhood and golf course. They were many places to see and lots of delicious places to eat. We love being around each other so we had a nice time and I was thrilled to get to see my grandbaby. I'm now just waiting for my rather large damage deposit to be refunded to me as there was a misunderstanding about who and what I paid. I will not book through HomeAway anymore ! Just to stressful.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Debroah, I am sorry to hear about ALLthese items you mentioned in your review. You were given the correct code to enter the condo but for some reason you were not able to access the door right away? You called us at 11:00 pm and we did help you figure out the combo lock. Which again, you were given the correct code prior to arrival. The rugs you are referring to are brand new rugs so I am not sure what you were looking at. We do put rods in the sliders for protection. But they are very easy to remove by lifting them out! We hope you will come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great condo

  • 5 of 5

Nice and up to date property. Great location and enjoyed community amenities. Kitchen, bath items and laundry well equipped. Cleaning crew needs to be more detailed to cleaning, especially dust bunnies, drying and putting away previous guests laundry as well as restocking paper towels and bathroom toilet paper.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $79

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.