Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Soothing Superior Sunset Views

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 1,850 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom 2 bath cabin on Lake Superior with sauna.

Located 5 miles from the town of Calumet on the western shore of Lake Superior. Enjoy walking the beach, agate hunting, campfires, refreshing swims and rest in those wonderful soothing sunsets. This place is located 40 miles from Copper Harbor or 15 miles from the Michigan Tech and Finlandia College. Calumet is a part of the National Park that offers antique and gift shops, art galleries, coffee shops with Wifi, and great restaurants.

Lake Superior is the largest fresh water lake in the world. It is rivaled by one lake in Russia which is larger by volume because of the depth. However, the shore line of this Great Lake is the largest in the world. As a result it has tides a bit like the ocean. The winter storms in this area are nothing short of amazing and the waves can get to 10-12 feet high and on rare occasions up to 20 ft. Because of this water action the shore and lake bottom changes constantly and sometimes it is rocky and sometimes it is sandy .

Usually you will find a mixture of sand and rock on the beach. As you enter the water the first 10-20 feet is rocky and then you reach the sand about waist to breast high. Water shoes and water toys are available to make your swimming a bit more fun.

The cabin is 1850 sq ft on 2 floors with 5 bedrooms and 2 baths. The electric outdoor sauna has a window view of Lake Superior. Both shuffleboard and horse-shoe pits on the property. The cabin beds are: 2 queen beds, 2 double beds, 3 twins beds with room for airbeds if necessary. Fully equipped kitchen complete with basic cooking needs i.e. sugar, salt, flour; You just bring the food.

This is the famous area called the Copper Country which is rich in copper mining history. Visit the Quincy Mine, 13 mi, or the Delaware Mine, 29 mi, to get a better understanding of this history. Make sure to come to the historic Calumet Theater that offers performances throughout the year. Fishing is as easy as walking to one of the streams nearby to catch the brook trout. The inland lakes are rich with northern and walleye if you have a boat. Perhaps chartering a boat to get out on the Big Lake for the salmon and lake trout is what you are after. Perhaps you are interested in the Snowmobile trails that are a few short miles away as well as the cross country ski trails. Downhill skiing is as close as Mount Ripley,15 miles away; Mount Bohemia, 40 miles; or Powderhorn and Indianhead, 2+ hr drive.

If the colors of fall trees are your desire here in the Copper Country the brilliant reds, oranges and yellows are unsurpassed anywhere in the great United States. Come relax, be a tourist, enjoy what this area has to offer.

More Details

Property Manager
Leslie Hausman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german, spanish, finnish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

About Leslie Hausman

Brita grew up in Laurium and graduated from Calumet High School in 1969. She left the area to make her future and married Howard. After Howard retired they purchased this wonderful place on the Lake Superior which was a dream come true. Gathering their family at the 'camp' on Lake Superior is one of their favorite vacations on earth.

Leslie Hausman purchased this house in 2003

Why Leslie Hausman chose Upper Peninsula

This property is clean, well-maintained and very comfortable with many amenities including a sauna and hot tub (needs to be reserved and has an extra charge) overlooking the Lake.

There is a large flat lawn where it is fun to play yard games with the family or lay out the lawn chairs to rest in the sun.

Amenities

Calumet House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Master Bath - toilet , shower , Master
    2 Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Washer and dryer in this bathroom
  • One main upstairs with full tub. Washer and Dryer are in 2nd bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • 1 Master Bedroom Upstairs - 1 queen , Attached bathroom with shower, walk-in closet 165 sq ft.
    2 Upstairs bedroom - 1 queen , Large closet, 2nd bathroom down the hall, 128 sq ft.
    3 Downstairs Bedroom Double - 1 double , ~105 sq. ft.
    4 Downstairs Bedroom Double - 1 double , ~110 sq. ft.
    5 Downstairs Bedroom Singles - 3 twin/ single , 3 beds perfect for singles, kids love this room, ~126 sq. ft
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are many historical sites in the Keweenaw County. We have brochures in the cabin but we recommend you go to the Visitors Center in Calumet or the Tourist Information Center on the highway as you enter Calumet.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
35% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Soothing Superior Sunset Views
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
4

Nice camp on a beautiful stretch of Lake Superior

  • 4 of 5

We were a family group of nine (aunts/uncles/cousins) visiting the Houghton area. The camp was clean and tidy with plenty of towels and a well-equipped kitchen (no dishwasher). There is ample bed space for a big family. But be aware that two of the downstairs bedrooms have no windows, so those in them wake up in darkness. The sauna was nice, but small. Okay for 3 adults or 4-5 kids. The location right on the big lake is spectacular and watching the setting sun over the water is a real treat. Recommended!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ada, MI
1

Unfortunate experience

  • 1 of 5

We really had a terrible stay at this property, such that we didn't even end up staying. Initially we were unable to get into the property for nearly 2 hours after we were told we could arrive. The owners had been there doing some work in the basement & were not done when we were told by the property manager they would be. When we were finally able to get in & unpack, we thought we would make some dinner. We opened the microwave & there was exploded, dried, crusted food all over the microwave & it smelled terribly. Upon opening the oven we discovered the same thing, & there was also a dirty pan in there. I spent 10 minutes cleaning the microwave so we could use it, & emailed the property manager to let her know. After I emailed her, my husband & I both started noticing a really bad smell, I think coming from the basement. He started feeling very ill, & I became light headed & nauseous. We did have the windows open but it didn't seem to be helping. We decided at this point that this was not a place we were able to stay. As we were packing up to leave, I received a phone call from the property manager. I explained the situation to her, & told her we would be leaving. She apologized & assured me that we would receive a full refund, which was appreciated as we now had to pay for 2 more nights somewhere else. However a few days later she emailed me & said that because we did not follow the 'proper cancellation procedure' she would not refund one full night's stay. (we did get the rest of our money back minus the one night). I have tried to contact her to resolve this, considering I was told we would receive the full refund, & have contacted VRBO as well & filed a formal complaint but have not received any response whatsoever to try & resolve this situation. This has been a really sad, disappointing & frustrating experience, as we were so looking forward to staying on Lake Superior. We have never had any issues with any of our VRBO stays but this one was so terrible I'm not sure we would do it again. I would not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As always there are two sides to any story. There were many unfortunate things that lead up to this misunderstanding. It is always our desire to provide a comfortable and relaxing place for our guests. In the few instances that a refund is necessary it is always our desire to be as fair as possible in our decisions. While we greatly regret the difficulties experienced we have made every reasonable effort to resolve this situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 2
5

Enjoyable & relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was perfect for our family, really enjoyed the sauna, hot tub & jumping in the lake. Had a great time, & hope to come back sometime.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful house.. Clean and very well maintained.

  • 5 of 5

A great house to live in. Had a great time with my family.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Lil gem in the North

  • 4 of 5

Great property.

Meet all of our needs.

Close to town

Plenty of parking for big snowmobile rigs

Great views of Lake superior

The sunsets are superior.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Providence RI
5

Lovely vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

A lovely camp that exceeded our expectations on the lake. We especially loved the sauna for sauna and swims and the campfire pit.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11.7 Miles
Houghton County Memorial Aiport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Shutes Bar
Nearest Ferry
42 Miles
The Isle Royal Queen to Isle Royale
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Calumet Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US 41
Nearest Restaurant
5 Metres
Michigan House
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Ripley Ski hill
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Lake Superior shore

Photos

Rates & Availability

Calumet House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,850
$5,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,250
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Dec 1 2017 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,100
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $40
Cleaning fee $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Damage deposit is due on 1st night of stay and will be returned within 7 days of departure. If you order a movie and charge it to the property account we will debit your damage deposit $15.00.
Failure to report a Pet will result in a loss of deposit fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable