Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great oceanfront condo in downtown Isle of Palms with beach and pool access

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Rating: DELUXE.

Classy with rich woods throughout! Beautifully remodeled one bedroom oceanfront condo on the third floor. Sleeps 4 comfortably. Private balcony with ocean views. Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, granite slab counter-tops, and stainless steel appliances. Beautiful cheery hardwood floors! Wall mounted 40" Flatscreen HDTV with DVD player in the living room and a TV in the bedroom with new queen mattress (2014). New tall patio set installed on balcony to allow the perfect undisturbed ocean views that the 3rd floor condos offer! Access to beach/fishing pier/community pool/complex laundry facility. Sea Cabin Community Wireless Internet available at no charge. 490 square feet. Deluxe rating. No smoking. No pets. Linens included.

*This is a weekly only rental from 6/3/17 to 8/27/17 until 30 days prior to arrival; 3 night minimum in off season*

Vehicle Capacity: 1

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

Amenities

Isle of Palms Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen sized beds (1), Sleeper sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Notes:
Private fishing pier on site laundry facilities

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Great oceanfront condo in downtown Isle of Palms with beach and pool access
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 27 reviews
Canton, NC
4

Great location/Upgrades needed

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The condo view and location is great...unless you struggle with stairs. Being on 3rd floor can be trying with lots of luggage. Beautiful view from the balcony. The couch needs thrown in a dumpster (felt like we were sitting on floor) and the walls and trim had weird holes all over them. Disappointed that things weren't more upgraded because of the "rating" it has, which resulted in higher rates we paid. Maybe The upgraded appliances are The reason for The rating? We didnt use them much and wouldn't pay highest rates out of all the condos for those if we come back. The housekeeping service needs to do a better job...absolutely no detail cleaning done (baseboards and door trims are dirty). Only major issue was A/C unit went out (may have been due to filthy filter-very obvious it hasn't been changed in a long time) but was attended to within about 3 hours and fixed. These units are very small so more than 2 people staying together for a week would drive me crazy! Overall I loved the location of sea cabins but feel the "rating" system is maybe a little off on this one. The pictures make it look impeccable so that is what I expected.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Island Realty
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. The owners of this condo would like you to know that they are replacing the couch and scheduled a deep clean for this unit. Island Realty is so pleased that we were able to fix the AC issue for you in such a timely manner. We would like to invite you back again next year to see all the changes this unit is going to go through.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cleveland, GA
3

A305 - Not Up To Standards - Not deluxe.

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We've been staying at the Sea Cabins for over 12+ years and this unit was not up to par at all, even though the pictures showed different. Here were the issues: -Floor had not been vacuumed obviously. -Toilet leaking water on floor -Intake vent for A/C was so clogged with dust and hair it was disgusting. -Bad place on wood laminate floor looked burned. -The couch was so bad. The cushions were so worn out and flat, it was like sitting on a sofa bed couch with no seat cushions. We wanted to go buy a new couch and chunk this one. Found broom in closet and a pitiful vacuum and cleaned floor before we could settle in. Called maintenance and they fixed leak and cleaned vent. For our inconvenience we were offered an extra set of towels. Well, okay... I would not rent this unit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Island Realty
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. Island Realty would like to thank you for all of your suggestions. We also would like you to know that the owners are planning to make some updates with their unit. A new couch and new flooring will be going in soom. Thank you for letting us know about the toilet, we would like you to know that we have a full staff on hand that can assist you with issues like this during your stay. We hope that next time you will call us while you are here to let us know if you have issues. We would like to invite you back next year to see all the changes Sea CAbin 305 has made because of such valuable suggestions such as yours!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Sea Cabin 305

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location and the view from the Sea Cabins is wonderful. Sea Cabin 305 was the dirtiest Sea Cabin we have ever stayed in. Diapers were left behind the cushion of the couch. Old sheets were on the sleeper sofa. Used and dirty dishes were in the cupboards. The floor had not been swept. The vents were filthy. Dust and dirt on the walls. The air conditioning did not work properly. It was not cooling the unit, probably the result of the dirty vents. Very disappointed in the overall condition of 305. It clearly needs a good cleaning and a little TLC.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Island Realty
Owner's Response: Island Realty is regrets this was your experience. We would like you to know that we do have a full staff on hand that can help you rectify any issues you have during your stay. Island Realty would have liked to have had an oppurtunity to correct these issues. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, please call us anytime you have any issues during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Awesome location and view. Room needs some work.

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The couch bed in this unit really needs to be replaced!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Island Realty
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to send us a review! Island Realty appreciates you taking the time to let us know the sofa bed could be replaces. I do want to let you know that the owners of this unit are planning on replacing this sofa bed. We hope that you will come back next year to see all the updates the owners make in this condo! Thank you again for your feedback, we are always looking to improve!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great location. Average condo.

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

You'll never beat Sea Cabins for location. But 305A could use some work. From a couch that look and felt like garage sale goods to mold in the tub, the halfway air filter dripping with dirt and walls that need paint, and a sagging mattress, it isn't in the excellent condition it is advertised to be. However, Sea Cabins really are the best location in Isle of Palms, just don't over part for a condo rated as excellent when it really should be rated fair. For complete disclosure we did not report out findings to the property management. We cleaned what we could and covered the couch with sheets and put up with the bed because we were only there for three nights this trip. On a positive note, the kitchen area is nice and the view from the balcony is excellent. This is our 19th or 20th stay at Sea Cabins so we are very familiar with the location.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Island Realty
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Island Realty appreciates your feeback and we hope next time you do reach out to the property management. We would like to have had an oppurtunity to make this experience more emjoyable for you. Thank you for sending us these suggestions we will definately send this to the owners of the unit. Your feeback is very improtant to us. We hope the next time you visit us at the Sea Cabins you come back and see all the changes that we have made!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Island Realty/Sea Cabins Deceptive Parking Brochure

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Would not recommend it as is, but if they corrected the brochure promising TWO PARKING SPACES I would. This happened even after our phone call request to park our JUST DEPLOYED airman son's car for (1) night so we could drive it home the next day. Instead we had to park it at the CITY PARKING LOT THAT CLOSES AT 8PM -NOW WHERE DO WE LEGALLY PARK? When we entered the unit on day one it was 84degrees inside until the A/C was fixed @ 2 1/2 hours hours later. The view was good, the unit acceptable with the above exceptions.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Island Realty
Owner's Response: Island Realty would first like to thank your son for his service to our country. It is regrettable that the brochure does not specifically say Sea Cabins are only allotted one parking pass, we do advertise that on each Sea Cabins page specifically. Unfortunately there are 157 parking spaces and there are 135 units. As you can see there would not be enough parking to issue 2 parking passes for every unit. We are glad that we could fix the AC issue so quickly for you! Thank you for your feedback and your suggestion to change our brochure, we are always looking for ways to improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable