Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful huge townhouse in Westmount, walking distance from downtown Montreal

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3100 sq ft, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 2 storeys, massive rooftop terrace w BBQ!

Located directly behind the Westmount City Hall, welcome to a huge (3,100 square feet), renovated upper townhouse that features a rooftop terrace that spans the entire size of the roof, with a BBQ, dining area and sitting area.

The location is simply unbeatable: a mere 5 minute walk to the bus and metro (and Bixi bike stand) which will take you anywhere you wish to go on the island of Montreal and beyond, a 10 minute walk to the shops & restos of Westmount on Greene or Sherbrooke, and a 20 minute walk to downtown Montreal.

If doing some light mountain climbing is your thing, it's a 20 minute walk up the slopes of Westmount to Summit Circle and its fantastic views of Montreal.

Or, if chilling in comfort at home is more your speed, make yourself comfortable in the family room, the upstairs TV room, or on the rooftop terrace where in the evening the only sound you will pretty much hear is the birds serenading you. The master bedroom features an en suite bathroom and walk-in closet.

Guests have access to all the amenities within the house: unlimited Wi-Fi, landline telephone if needed, fully equipped kitchen, 55" television with a vast library of films and television shows to select from. There is washer and dryer access in the basement, and free parking in the alley beside the house.

About the neighbourhood: Westmount is a quiet, safe, tree-lined, fresh-air neighbourhood within easy access via the means of your choice - foot, bike, bus, metro - to the downtown core and beyond.

Generally speaking, I require at least a 4 week heads up in order to accommodate a rental request. Please keep this in mind if writing me on short notice - even if the dates are not blocked on my calendar, the odds are slim that I will be able to accommodate you.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING REQUIREMENTS OF PROSPECTIVE RENTERS:

The following is repeated within the "Terms" section, but I feel it is important enough to bring upfront and centre so that there are no surprises to anyone considering making a rental request.

1) The renter must be at least 35 years of age. Children and teens are fine, as long as they are accompanied by a renter aged 35+.

2) I require a $2,000 damage deposit, an amount that may be higher than most. The reason is straightforward: I live in a neighbourhood where damage repair tends to be pricey, and many of the items in my home are higher end in quality. In the unlikely event that something gets damaged or broken during your stay, it can end up costing me a lot to repair or replace it. After verifying that no damage has occurred during a stay, I return the deposit immediately. Positive reviews from guests that have stayed with me hopefully attest that I do not cause my guests any headaches or delay in this regard.

3) I require a scan or photocopy of government-issued photo ID, such as a drivers' licence, health insurance card, or passport, along with a proof of home insurance liability coverage on the part of the responsible renter (ie. the one paying for the rental). This is because VRBO's insurance only covers hosts in the USA, and my personal insurance company does not cover losses or damages incurred by short-term renters at my principal residence.

More Details

Owner
Mark Wilkins
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Mark Wilkins

Hi,

My name is Mark. I am a market research professional. I live with my girlfriend, who is a marketing professional, and her son, a 12 year old Minecraft professional.

Some things about me/us.....we live in Westmount, Quebec, Canada. I am passionate about skiing, and live for the winter, which leads many people, including the aforementioned long-suffering romantic partner, to question my sanity at times (when it is -30 Celsius and I am happy, for example).

Love to travel, never get a chance to do enough of it. Our style of travel: walk walk walk everywhere, meet locals, eat in local places. We hate organized touring, prefer to discover what secrets a place has to hold for myself.

Whether as a guest or as your host, we are quiet, clean, and entirely respectful of others' property.

We are pleased to rent our home out on an occasional, short-term basis to families or groups that are like-minded.

Mark Wilkins purchased this townhome in 2013

Amenities

Westmount Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful huge townhouse in Westmount, walking distance from downtown Montreal
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
5

Beautiful spacious clean modern great location gorgeous neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

House is absolutely gorgeous. Modern beautifully updated but with lots of character. The gourmet kitchen was a dream. We loved to cook and it was always a battle to decide whether to stay home and enjoy the enormous stunning rooftop terrrace with BBQ and seating areas or walk to another fabulous Montreal restaurant. House is light and bright and contained everything you need in a home. The owner was always available very helpful suggestions and oh.. that professional espresso machine. We really had nothing to complain about. Neighborhood is prime super safe with gorgeous parks churches and synagogues within a very short walk. Historic area with majestic homes all around. Walk to downtown or Westmount Village.Bus to everything is less than 5 minute walk and Metro ( subway) station another 5 minute walk. Perfection ... will stay there again !

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the feedback and recommendation Rosalie! We were delighted to host your family and you are welcome back anytime. Hope to see you all again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, well-appointed home

  • 5 of 5

Great home with all the amenities. Nice quiet neighborhood. Fabulous rooftop patio with grill and dining table. Hosts were very welcoming and informative. Security deposit was returned promptly. Perfect for a couple with kids or two couples. We were three couples and the third bedroom was a bit cramped, but doable. Plan on getting transportation to groceries, restaurants, and the sights since you cannot walk from here.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback Laura. It was a pleasure hosting you all and we're delighted that you enjoyed your time here. For anyone wondering, the nearest grocery is about 10 minutes on foot. Driveable but also walkable if you're up for it - and they do offer home delivery as well for $5 if you would like to walk but aren't up for carrying a ton of stuff on the way back. There are a number of restaurants within that same walking distance from our place (10-15 minutes) but Montreal is ridiculously well-served with great restaurants that are outside that radius that you would indeed need to either drive, take public transit, grab a taxi, or plan for a longer (albeit pleasant and safe) walk to get to. Ditto the sights.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eugene, Oregon
5

Immaculate, tasteful spaciousness!

  • 5 of 5

The house is just as lovely as pictured -- immaculate and tasteful. The rooftop terrace and media room are wonderful "bonus" areas to spread out in. Our group of 3 couples were very comfortable for our 9-day stay. In town for the Formula One race, we appreciated the peaceful quiet neighborhood, easy walk to the Metro, and dining/shopping options in Westmount. Mark was a helpful, gracious host. You will understand the need for the sizable deposit when you see the place yourself!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cincinnati, OH
5

SPECTACULAR

  • 5 of 5

You are in for a wonderful surprise when you stay here. The condo is spacious and beautifully appointed. Mark was most accommodating and we emailed each other several times before our arrival to get my questions answered. He provided me with tons of information regarding the area. He continued to message me while we were there to make sure all was well and that we had everything that we needed. The weather was very nice during our stay, so we really appreciated the enormous terrace area upstairs. If I should ever return to Montreal, I would definitely rent this condo again.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind / positive review Dorothy. It was a sincere pleasure to host you and your family. Hopefully we'll have the chance to do so again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful townhouse in great location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a fantastic week in this gorgeous, impeccable townhouse. It's in a quiet neighborhood but walking distance from good restaurants and coffee shops, as well as beautiful parks. The home itself is spacious and very comfortable. Our group of 4 had plenty of room to spread out, and 6 people could be very comfortable here as well. There is a huge rooftop deck which we weren't able to use much because we were there in winter time; I'd like to come back in the summer just for that alone! The kitchen has everything you need and top-quality appliances. A great place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the city but still have space to spread out.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kinds words Dave! We were delighted to host you, you are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house in great neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5

Six women friends stayed here for 3 days in nov 2016 and had a great time. It's fully equipped and very large living space. Nicely decorated and clean. Mark was very responsive. Great time had by all.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Barbara! Glad that you had a good get together with your friends and that our place helped make it happen. It was a pleasure hosting you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $94.38
Refundable damage deposit $1,572.95

The renter must be at least 35 years of age. Children and teens are fine, as long as they are accompanied by a renter aged 35+.

At $2,000, the damage deposit to rent my place is probably higher than most. The reason is straightforward: I live in a neighbourhood where damage repair tends to be pricey, and many of the items in my home are higher end in quality. If something gets damaged or broken during your stay, it can end up costing me a lot to repair or replace it. After verifying that no damage has occurred during a stay, I return the deposit immediately. Positive reviews from guests that have stayed with me hopefully attest that I do not cause my guests any headaches or delay in this regard.

In addition to the damage deposit, I need a scan or photocopy of government-issued photo ID, such as a drivers' licence, health insurance card, or passport, along with a proof of home insurance liability coverage on the part of the renter. This is because VRBO's insurance only covers hosts in the USA, and my personal insurance company does not cover losses or damages incurred by short-term renters at my principal residence. I therefore need to rely upon the renter's insurance coverage.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties