Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Adirondack Summer and Outdoors Getaway near Schroon lake & High Peaks

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

A beautiful gem in the heart of the Adirondack High Peak region

Welcome to Camp-Home!

That's the name our Little-One gave to our beautiful Adirondack Camp. It stuck - and now all our friends and family refer to it as Camp-Home.

Whether you and yours stay for a weekend or a month, you'll know why.

The entire interior is finished with warm knotty-pine wood. Either of the wood-stoves will keep the whole place more than cozy on the coldest winter mountain nights and even take the nip out of the cooler summer and autumn evenings. For the times when we simply MUST enjoy a roaring fire out of doors there is a large river-stone lined fire-pit in the open yard behind the cabin.

In the swimming months, the Branch River, which empties Elk Lake from the North, runs right by the cabin and is a short jaunt through the woods ~50 yards. The Branch is also full of various trout and land-locked salmon.

For hikers, the Hoffman Notch Wilderness trail's Northern terminus is directly across the street from the cabin and a delight in all seasons whether hiking, snowshoeing (snowshoes at the cabin), or skiing! Elk Lake is one of the Southern termini for Adirondack High Peak hiking and is only minutes from Camp-Home - as is the ADK Buffalo Farm! The other Southern entrances to the High Peaks are close to Newcomb, NY at the Tahawus trail-heads roughly 20-25 min away. If you are looking to become an Adirondack 46er you couldn't pick a better spot to base-camp from. Of course, there are plenty of gentler hikes around as well. In fact, you don't have to drive OR cross the street. Ragged Mtn is behind the cabin and further on are the Boreas Mtns and wilderness area. Literally tens of thousands, if not hundreds of thousands of wilderness acres surround our property for outdoor enjoyment of every kind.

Camp-Home, despite being surrounded by wilderness, is convenient to get to (off a plowed highway) and well appointed. In addition to the woodstoves for heat in cold weather, there is a boiler for hydronic heat throughout the main cabin. This also makes hot water for bathing in the luxurious six foot soaking tub and for the dual-shower-heads at opposite ends of the tub - none of that, 'can I get in the water now?' business here! There is also a back-up generator in the case of power-outages.

The Kitchen has a large side-by-side fridge with water and ice. There is a gas oven and range for cooking and even a microwave if you insist. Perhaps best of all is the dishwasher that takes about fifteen minutes to wash dishes on the short cycle (the secret is the incredibly clean and delicious Adirondack spring water combined with the boiler). There are also laundry facilities in the bunk room. If it's nice out, why not skip the dryer and hang the clothes out on the line from the large sitting deck. While you're out there, grill up something delicious on the banquet-sized grill. Come in off the deck to the Adirondack Great room and you will find toaster(s) and coffee makers in the kitchenette as well as various cooking hardware and many, many mugs hanging overhead.

Don't feel like cooking? Schroon Lake with all it has to offer is only 15 min away. Home to several restaurants, Shops, Beaches, boat launch, parks, and the Seagle Music Colony - Schroon Lake is Hometown, America. The Fourth of July week is especially wonderful! Ticonderoga (yes, those famous pencils ARE from there) is another 20 minutes past Schroon Lake and full of history. There is a Revolutionary War Fort still in operation as a living historic site and was recently used as the backdrop on the Klingon Home world for you Star Trek fans.

Newcomb, Long Lake, and Tupper Lake with the W!ld Center are roughly 30, 45, and 60 minutes away. Blue Mountain Lake and North Creek - home to Gore Mount skiiing - are 30 to 40 minutes away. Keene Valley, the Northern entrance to the High Peaks, is 25 min away and Lake Placid with the Olympic Village and Whiteface Ski Mtn are a 30 to 40 min drive. And everywhere you turn there are places to swim or paddle, hike or bike or snowmobile, and places to simply sit and take in the views.

Views are what inspired our Great Room. The photos only tell a part of the story. All the walls are half window and the enormous East gable-end is all window. Here resides the Woodstock soapstone fireplace as well as a sleeping loft in the West Gable.

The master bed is home to the other fireplace and a queen bed. The bunkroom has another queen and a full over full bunk bed. Additionally, one of the couches is a futon bed as well. We also have a Pack-n-Play and toys and books (for all ages) abound.

We have annually hosted large family camp-out reunions here with nearly 100 persons. This Wonderful place is full of Love and we Know you'll feel it when you come to visit Camp-Home.

The Morris Family

Additional Notes: For holidays and holiday weekends, there is a THREE night minimum. In the case of the week of Thanksgiving and the weeks around Christmas Camp-Home will made available for a premium. Please contact us for details and pricing.

More Details

Owner
Wallace Morris
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 9, 2017

About Wallace Morris

That's us on top of Severance Mountain with Schroon lake in the background. Both kids climbed it (7 and not quite 3). It's an 800' ascent over a mile of trail about 10-12 minutes from Camp-Home. We Purchased Camp-Home when our first was turning 1. We love to hike and play in the Adirondacks, but it wasn't fair for the little-one being in a car-seat for an hour or two and then a backpack for several hours only to end up back in the car seat for the ride home. So we started looking and found this great little cabin, which we slowly started to improve (even though it was awesome to begin with) with the help of our amazing friends and family. Now it's in shape to share with folks who like to enjoy the outside, the mountains, the streams and rivers, and little towns that the Adirondacks has to offer as much as we do!

Wallace Morris purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Wallace Morris chose North Hudson

We fell in love with it the moment we came up the drive and saw the field stone chimney and then walked into the bedroom with the fireplace - right next to a river, in the Adirondack High Peaks...It was perfect!

What makes this cabin unique

Out of cell range, but close to town for conveniences like the supermarket and restaurants. Cell signal picks up about a mile down the road, or a few spots just uphill of the driveway, if you REALLY need it - otherwise there is a landline.

Amenities

North Hudson Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 - Huge Soaker Tub and Twin Shower Heads
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Fireplace
    Bedroom 2 - Bunkroom - 1 queen , 2 double , 1 baby crib , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - Loft - 1 queen , There is also a futon below in the great room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Additional services may contracted including professional chef, babysitting, massage therapy, and guide services

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Adirondack Summer and Outdoors Getaway near Schroon lake & High Peaks
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
5

Perfect adirondack getaway

  • 5 of 5

Loved our time at camp home. The property is situated close enough to all major travel routes in the park but gives the feel of deep wilderness isolation. Best of both worlds for a weekend trip. Property well kept and clean. Would love to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a great time! You are always welcome to visit Camp-Home. The Morris Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything was perfect we really enjoyed staying there

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect everything was neat and clean, Hot water all the time , perfect location , We felt like we were home ,This is a beautiful house for family vacation 😍?

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely Outdoorsey Home away from Home

  • 4 of 5

4.5 Stars - Really loved our stay and would have loved to stay longer. The house was perfect for our group - there to escape city life and cheer on friends competing in the Lake Placid Ironman for a long weekend. The house has a lived in vibe but was very clean and offered lots of small touches that really made it feel like a friend's home - ex. linens, toilet paper, spices for cooking, coffee/tea, firewood all provided, etc. The firepit situation was AMAZING and we loved the multiple gathering spots in the house - open living room/dining rm with kitchenette area and the den off the kitchen - very conducive to hanging out with big groups. Only down side we could see was the lack of wifi/phone service that would have been helpful for trip planning/touching base with people in our group but despite that we all loved the outdoor/off the grid feel that proved to also be very relaxing. We also loved the the Bison Farm Store just down the street - a great spot to get local meat and veggies!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed Unhappy with the premises

  • 1 of 5

We expected a casual family place. We were very upset to witness dirty carpeting and furniture. The towels swere old and very worn. There was. No heat turned on upon our arrival. It took over an hour to get the heat working. There were too many personal items throughout the place. Very little room for our family's belongings. The kitchen area including the stove was also filthy. Many safety issues that concerned us as well. Fireplace doors weren't secure Cardboard over light fixtures etc. In general it was uncomfortable stay due the lack of cleanliness and safety issues. When we alerted the owner regarding complaints he told us he could not compensate us and that we were trying to exploit him.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I've never had to write one of these before, but here goes: The day before the O's arrival, due to the freezing rain forecast, we asked our plow person to make sure the driveway was well salted for their arrival - unsure if the O's would even make it. In fact, the plow person spent the night due to road conditions. The next day we got a call from the O's asking how to turn up the heat. I was surprised as I had already preheated the cabin , but we quickly determined that, out of habit, our plow person set the heat to away-mode upon leaving. With a single button push the boiler began to make heat. The O's kept me on the phone for another 30 plus minutes, asking about various items, spending time to make sure the heat was working and frankly stated as much. This was fine as we want our guests to feel comfortable and know all is well. After I called back in roughly 45 minutes, the O's reported that heat was in fact coming up and thanked me for my time. This first two hours was the last time we heard from them during their 3 night/4 day stay. Following our standard, "How was your stay?" email, we got a call stating essentially what is written in their review. I was shocked, apologized nonetheless, and said I would look into it and get back to them. Upon speaking with our plow person, he stated that our new cleaning person was amazing and he had never seen the place so clean. The previous guests (12/16-18) had this to say, "Heat was on, and the Great Room door was unlocked when we arrived. Easy to get everything unloaded and in the house! It's a really cozy space, with enough room for the 8 of us. It felt like staying at a friend's house, and was very welcoming. The snowshoe trail right across the street was great!" And one can read the equally complimentary 5-star review from the guests who came in the day the O's left and stayed for as long. Yes, the carpeting is worn. And yes, the furniture is old. As advertised, Camp-Home is a rustic mountain cabin. But as to safety and cleanliness - categorically NO. After a number of conversations where I explained the above AND offered to compensate them for the inconvenience of the heat being lowered, they asked for fully HALF back - even though they had stayed the rest of their time without contacting us again - it became apparent they were just attempting to "get a better deal". Sadly, I would not welcome the O's again and I would warn others from hosting them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Trip

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Camp-Home. Everything in the cabin worked as advertised, and the cozy setting was perfect for a winter get away. Great trails just outside the front door and spectacular views all around. A great property and home!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Felt like home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Camp Home for a short family getaway. Thank you, Morris family, for sharing your home and for such warm hospitality. We really felt your sense of home and family memories there, and -accordingly- it felt like a home away from home for us. The house was very clean and generously stocked with games, kids' toys, linens, towels, as well as cooking and pantry items. Booking was quick and easy. Also, there were very detailed (and very helpful!) instructions about how everything in the house works. The house is conveniently located for day drives into Lake Placid or Saranac Lake, or great on its own for local hiking and relaxing. We didn't have cell service at all while in the house (and immediate surrounding area), which was fine by us, but good to know in advance! Overall, a lovely home made even better by wonderful hosts! Thank you so much for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Outside of the outdoors stuff (hiking, climbing, paddling, fishing, etc), these attractions are to be found in the village of Schroon Lake (sailing, jet-skiiing, SCUBA/snorkeling - brrr, but we've done it!, etc) along with some great stuff like weekly concerts, the annual Adirondack Folk Music Festival in August (a MUST), the 4th of July in town, the Seagle Music Colony (Musical Theatre as well as Opera), and so much more. Near the end of September is the Adirondack Hot-Air Balloon festival. It is a fair drive from Camp-Home in Queensbury, NY, but worth while if you already staying for the Leaf-peeping season!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 3.0%

Any Cleaning/repairs beyond normal and reasonable usage will be charged to the credit card number given during booking process.

Any questions, please feel free to ask.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties