Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Family Mountain Townhome w/MTN Club Access **GREAT SKI VACATION**

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

3 Bedrooms 2.5 Bathrooms Sleeps 6 - Mountain and Ski Slope Views

SKI SEASON DATES JUST RELEASED - YOU WILL LOVE THIS LOCATION - BOOK TODAY!

LOOKING TO SAVE ON FEE'S? WE ARE OWNERS AND WE HAVE OPTIONS TO HELP YOU SAVE SOME MONEY ON YOUR STAY.

STAY WITH CONFIDENCE - Read our reviews. You will LUV IT too!

***Calendar is Up to Date and Current***

We welcome you to relax in our comfortable townhome featuring professionally decorated, high end, rustic mountain finishes and easy/convenient access to the San Juan Mountains, Silverton, Ouray and Durango. Located across from Purgatory/Durango Mountain Resort there is plenty to do right in your own backyard. Within the neighborhood is the newly completed park at Twilight Lake featuring, a wonderful adventure playground, walking trails, and fishing at the stocked lake.

This three bedroom townhome is thoughtfully appointed, with the goal of making your stay worry free. The use of stone and timber provides the rustic charm you seek in your mountain getaway. The luxury appointments such as the fireplace and a jetted tub at the master retreat, will assure you have a relaxing stay. Netflix is included at the family room and loft televisions giving you access to an endless supply of movies and television shows.

The chef of the family will appreciate the conveniences of the well-appointed kitchen, featuring stainless steel Kitchen Aid appliances. The dual fuel range, gas cooktop with an electric oven, makes preparing meals for your special occasion as easy as ever. The kitchen is well equipped to serve your family, of up to eight. The open kitchen features a breakfast bar where families often hangout and talk about their day. A gas grill is provided on the deck off the great room. If you prefer to dine out, across the road at DMR is Purgy’s and the renowned Sows Ear is just a mile down the road.

Grab a book and curl up on the couch and enjoy the warmth of the fireplace in the great room. If you choose to remain connected with the real world, WIFI and cable television are provided. The great room features a 42” flat screen television with Netflix and DVD player. The kids will love the second level retreat. With a trundle bed, flat screen television, DVD player and desk. The kids will enjoy having a place of their own, almost as much as the parents.

With the goal of a comfortable and restful stay, high end furnishings, linens and towels have been chosen. The master bedroom features a king sized bed made exclusively for Four Seasons Hotels, a sitting area with a fireplace, a flat screen television and a private deck. The second bedroom includes two twin beds while the third bedroom features the twin trundle beds. Enjoy the conveniences of home with a washer and dryer. The one car garage makes the storage of your gear and keeping your vehicle out of the elements easy.

The two decks provide enjoyable outdoor living. The teak patio set at the main deck seats six. There are amazing views of Engineer Mountain, the Hermosa Cliffs and the slopes at DMR. You are surrounded by nature and many have caught a glimpse of a bear, deer and elk. Take a short walk to the community gazebo where there is space for outdoor dining, complete with a gas barbeque grill and a fire pit to share your stories under the star filled skies.

Whatever your mountain adventure, this townhome provides the perfect luxury base camp, for all seasons. Positioned directly across the road from DMR endless fun awaits. HIT THE SLOPES – Accessing the resort is quick and easy. During the ski season, the resort provides a shuttle from our front door to the slopes. CAST A LINE - In the summer, breathe in the fresh mountain air and take in the scenic surroundings while fishing at Twilight Lake, the stocked lake is just a short walk down the street. GO FOR A HIKE - Within the neighborhood is the trail head to Purgatory Flats. The Purgatory Flats trail is one of the area’s most scenic hikes. Looking to leave the neighborhood… the townhome is positioned midway between downtown Durango and Silverton, each within about 30 minutes. You can catch the Durango Silverton Railroad at the Rockwood Station, about 10-15 minutes away. Your stay in BlackBear includes access to the Durango Mountain Club. The amenities included in the Durango Mountain Club include a pool with slide, hot tub, and workout facility with lockers. During summer months take a ride down the Alpine Slide, challenge the family at the rock climbing wall among other fun activities offered at the resort.

STATE OF COLORADO SALES TAX # 27809330-0000

More Details

Property Manager
Sean Preston
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

About Sean Preston

Originally from Chicago, IL we moved to Phoenix AZ about 15 years ago. Needing a change of seasons we began searching the west for a small town that provides outdoor activities, scenic beauty and character. Durango, Colorado proved to be the perfect location. We enjoy escaping to Durango, from the real world. No matter the season, there is plenty to do in Durango and sometimes, not doing anything but sitting beside the fire is all the therapy needed.

Sean Preston purchased this townhome in 2014

Why Sean Preston chose Durango

We chose our property at BlackBear because it is perfect for the family. The home's size and layout provides something for everyone. A great room for sharing time with the whole family. A master suite with private balcony and fireplace, provides a private retreat. A loft with television, dvd player and numerous games is a kid's dream. All of this is positioned in a great neighborhood with fishing lake and hiking trails. The neighborhood is located just across from the Family Focused ski resort of Durango Mountain Resort.

What makes this townhome unique

The town home is well appointed with luxurious finishes, high quality linens and the comforts you come to expect in five star accommodations. The modern conveniences will make your stay comfortable and the use of stone and timber displays the rustic charm you expect in a mountain retreat.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Good Morning,

I'm very late in writing this but I do want to tell you that my family had such a wonderful time at your condo in Durango over Christmas. It is a lovely place and we felt so at home over that special holiday. We felt very lucky to have been able to rent such a perfect place to spend Christmas.



Many thanks,

Joan V.
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
41 Miles
Durango - La Plata County Airport
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Glacier Club
Nearest Train
11 Miles
Durango Silverton Railroad - Rockwood Depot
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Purgy's and Sow's Ear
Nearest Ski
Purgatory at Durango Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

This location is a great base camp for activities in the San Juan Mountains, any time of the year. We are located within Tacoma Village at the base of Purgatory at Durango Mountain Resort. We are approximately 30 minutes from Downtown Durango and Silverton. At the resort, there are restaurants and activities. Access to the Members Only club which includes pool, hot tub and fitness facility is available.

Within the Tacoma Village community is a small lake stocked with trout, hiking trails to one one of the areas most scenic hikes Purgatory Flats, Nordic Center for cross country skiing and an outdoor skating rink (conditions permitting).

Within 10 minutes you will find fine dining, horseback riding, mountain biking trails, snowmobiling, sleigh rides and numerous hiking and fishing locations.

Explore the San Juan Mountains. Take a scenic drive on the 'Million Dollar Highway' one of America's most scenic drives. The Million Dollar Highway takes you to the towns of Silverton, Ouray and you can make your way to Telluride.

Amenities

Durango Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Hallway Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    First Floor Powder Room - toilet
  • The bathrooms include high end finishes including Kohler fixures, slate flooring and slate mosaic accents. The master bathroom includes a raised double vanity. The hallway bathroom and first floor powder room are single vanities. Hair dryers as well as shampoo and body wash are provided. Quality cotton towels, hand towels, etc are provided for use. The master bathroom includes a stall shower with frameless glass enclosure and mosaic slate tile floor. There is a separate jetted tub at the master bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , The second bedroom feaures two twin beds.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , The third bedroom has two twin beds in a day bed/trundle.
  • Master Bedroom includes a high quality king sized mattress. The mattress and down pillows were made especially for Four Seasons Hotels. The master bedroom features a sitting area with fireplace and flat screen television. There is a private deck off the master bedroom with fabulous views of the mountains and ski slopes.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Beautifully decorated interior - cozy and comfortable!

VRBO Bear stayed here

Aug 25, 2017

I was fortunate to spend a week of vacation in this wonderful mountain townhome in the San Juan Forest conveniently located between Durango and Silverton in Colorado. I was surrounded by the best possible mountain views and small lakes – it was amazing! The patio off the master bedroom had a great view of the mountains, and it was so relaxing to just sit and gaze. The location was ideal, being less than an hour to local attractions, including Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, Mesa Verde National Park and Four Corners. Every morning we walked on the scenic trails and paved roads nearby and my son enjoyed the pool and water slides at the Mountain Club. City Market was close by for groceries and we were able to cook fabulous meals in the fully stocked kitchen. Overall, we had a great relaxing stay in this lovely home.

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Family Mountain Townhome w/MTN Club Access **GREAT SKI VACATION**
average rating of 4.787879 based on 34 reviews
5

Great townhome & location!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great townhome with plenty of space & amenities. We enjoyed the location, views and decor. The owners and manager were great to work with. We have stayed at over 15 condos on Durango Mountain and this one is the best value so far! Can't wait to stay again;)

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jena. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back! Please come see us again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pleasant Stay

  • 5 of 5

Had a Nice family time in the middle of San Juan Forest. This property is in the middle of the hills between Durango and Silverton towns.

This house is spacious for 6 people, and has a spacious living room.

Has a small park near by, where my kid played well, and had nice time.

The cool part is - this house comes with a pass for the near by Mountain club in the purgatory resort, where you have a nice pool and hot tub. The kids loved the pool.

The property manager is always reachable by phone, and was helpful all along the trip

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice townhome, super clean, beautifully decorated, well planned layout with every amenity you could want. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

summer vacation in Purgatory/Durango

  • 5 of 5

We loved the condo. The location was convenient. We took advantage of the club access at the resort with workouts and hot tubs. The condo was well equipped and very comfortable. having a garage was a plus. The only minus would be daytime traffic noise from the road when the patio doors are open.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful area! Nice home with a few drawbacks.

  • 3 of 5

Staying in the townhome was very nice for our family of five. We had plenty of space and the home was decorated nicely and built with quality products. The shampoo and conditioner being provided was nice and there were many DVDs and games available. The area is absolutely beautiful. The townhome is about 30 minute drive outside of the city of Durango. There were a few things that I didn't like and I feel should be mentioned for others considering the property. The townhone is directly off of the highway. I'm sure in the winter it is nice to watch the ski resort but not so much in the summer. There was a heat wave during our stay so we slept with the windows open and could hear the traffic. Also, the pool and hot tub were closed during our stay. This was frustrating since it was advertised as having pool and hot tub access. Lastly, the washer and dryer do not work very well (even with very small loads) and I didn't feel that our clothes were clean after washing which is a benefit to staying in a home rather than hotel. In all fairness, I did not complain to the owner about the pool being closed so it is possible they may have agreed to some type of compensation had I pressed the issue. It was nice but I wonder if we could have found a better location for about the same cost.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review. Your feedback is important to us. Our goal is to provide the best value for our guests. We had a replacement washer and dryer on order and it was delivered just after your stay. I am sorry that we didn’t have it earlier. It is a full size front loader, which is much better than the stackable it replaced. I understand your disappointment with the pool being closed. The hot tub renovations had been delayed and I was unaware of the pool closure. I have refunded the portion of your fees that covered the Mountain Club access. Like many million dollar homes in the area, we are just off the highway. Our home is well built and on most days, the highway is out of earshot. When we have our heatwaves and it is necessary to open up the windows, the highway can be heard. We have equipped the home with fans and a white noise sound machine, to enhance comfort. Your feedback is appreciated. We are continually striving to improve. We hope you come see us again. Come enjoy some great family friendly skiing this winter! Sean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very happy with our stay at Tacoma Village!

  • 4 of 5

Owners are extremely nice and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay! The house is beautiful and had everything we needed to enjoy our week!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Kimberly, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again! Sean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $155
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 14.8%

NO HIDDEN FEES! We do not charge extra for credit card transactions. All of our rates and fees are as displayed. Access to the Durango Mountain Club is included. If you would like we can remove access to the amenities, just let us know this will save you 4% of your rental fee.

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY AND SPRING BREAK STAYS ARE SUBJECT TO MINIMUM STAYS AND CHECK IN/OUT DAYS, please inquire for details

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Tax rates include Durango Mountain Club use fee and quoted cleaning fee includes the required 8% DMMA use fee.

FREE OFFER WILL BE HONORED - ADJUSTMENT TO RATE WILL BE MADE WHEN RESERVATION/INQUIRY IS PLACED

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.