Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Watering Hole Is Less Than 20 Minutes To Yellowstone National Park.

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1 loft area, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 11

Need that roomy mountain cabin for your family gathering? This is the one! Newly decorated 3 bedrooms, 1 3/4 bathrooms, wood and propane fireplace. New Washer / Dryer, Satellite TV, DVD, VCR, propane BBQ grill, and outside fire pit. Maximum of 11 people.

This cabin is just minutes away from Henry's Lake for that monster fish catch. Enjoy the aspen trees and the pines that surround this cabin. Plenty of parking and outside space to enjoy the family cook out.

The main floor has a kitchen, dining room with wood fireplace, living room with propane fireplace, 2 bedrooms, 1 3/4 bathrooms, and laundry room. The first bedroom has a queen bed and the master bedroom has a king bed and private 3/4 bathroom. The living room has a queen sofa bed.

The second floor has a loft area and bedroom. The loft area has a bunk bed (twin and full), along with a futon (full). The bedroom has a full bed.

The Watering Hole is about 17 minutes to the western entrance of Yellowstone National Park. It is south of Henry's Lake about 7 miles, north of the Henry's Fork River in Macks Inn about 5 miles, and about 15 miles from the Island Park Reservoir. Restaurants, gas stations, Island Park golf course, fishing, hunting, ATV and snowmobile trails, river rafting, horseback riding, and water sports are all just minutes away from the cabin.

Come enjoy what Island Park, Idaho has to offer and stay at the Watering Hole.

Half of the rent is due and payable at the time of the reservation. The remaining amount is due 60 days prior to the check in date. We accept Visa, Master Card and Discover and e checks. CSA property damage protection is required for rental of this property.

More Details

Property Manager
Gary and ChaRee Preston - Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 11, 2017

About Gary and ChaRee Preston - Property Manager

We bought this cabin in 2005, did some remodeling and have enjoyed it every year since. We can never get enough of this beautiful country. We currently live in Redding California, where we have lived for 35 years and raised our family who lives near us. Our oldest grandson attends trade school in Boise. We are so proud of him! We have decorated our cabin with tender love and care and hope you enjoy it as we do!

Gary and ChaRee Preston - Property Manager purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Gary and ChaRee Preston - Property Manager chose Idaho

We always wanted to have a place close to Yellowstone. We traveled to this area every year. This came available to us at the time we were looking to buy. The Aspen trees, Moose, Yellowstone Park and especially friendly people in the area confirmed our decision. The most wonderful way to wake up in the morning is hearing the Aspen trees rustling and seeing a Moose or Fox out your window. It is Heaven on Earth!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Our first time in Yellowstone! We saw lots of Buffalo and Elk. Our last morning we saw a Moose and her calf just down the road!!
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 19

Amenities

Island Park Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master Bathroom
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Guest Bathroom
  • Bathrooms are Newly remodeled and decorated
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Upstairs bedroom
    Loft - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Loft area
    Sofa Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed in living room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • 3 bedrooms, 1 king, 1 Queen, 1 full, loft area with 1 full and twin bed. Queen sofa bed living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Newly added: Convenient combination box… Key will be available at cabin upon check in and left at cabin upon check out. No more traveling to and from a rental office.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Watering Hole Is Less Than 20 Minutes To Yellowstone National Park.
average rating of 4.6969695 based on 52 reviews
4

Perfect location for West Yellowstone entrance

  • 4 of 5

This charming home was perfect for our needs. The location made access to West Yellowstone very easy. The home itself was able to accommodate 9 guests comfortably minus the limited counter space but we did t spend much time inside so it wouldn't prevent me from booking here again in the future. Overall, I'd say go for it!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Glad to know that it was comfy for a group of 9. It is super convenient for close access to Yellowstone! ( I love that) Thank you and hope to have you stay again! ChaRee~Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a marvelous stay. The caretaker w as very helpful.

  • 5 of 5

We traveled to Yellowstone park and Jackson hole. We were centrally located to be any to do everything we wanted

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house for a big family! Very nice and clean on the inside.

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for us! A family of 8 visiting from NC for the first time! We loved West Yellowstone, lots to do and places to eat. Yellowstone was amazing and only about 20 minutes away......we didn't stay at the house much but it was very comfortable at night! A plus would have been drawers to store clothing in. We didn't find any in any of the rooms. Also providing bear spray would have been awesome! It's about $50 and most likely you will not need it but you need to be prepared! We bought a can and left it for the next guest....trying to save them some money! Overall I was very impressed and my family had a wonderful time! I would definitely recommend Watering Hole to my friends and family if they ever come out to Idaho!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lots of room just needed more chairs when eating

  • 4 of 5

I liked the 3 queens and beds for the kids. We did have a full house and nice room for the adults to talk. However, as from previous review, there are only 6 kitchen chairs and would be nice to have some folding chairs so all can eat in kitchen at the same time. Hot inside when we first came so opened all the windows. This probably only applies to end of July-August times, but the second floor windows could open but didn't have screens and living room windows didn't open. Got a great breeze when opened the back door but no screen door. The second night was much cooler since we left the windows open all day. Dump is actually closed Wed. & Thurs. in summer with hrs. from 7 am to 4:40. We did call for hrs.. We didn't bring large garbage bags so had to run and get some of those. Everything else was great. We loved the 2 showers, tub, and the washer/dryer. Fire pit is really just off the driveway and it was suggested we didn't use it due to possible fire dangers with number to call to get updated info. Didn't find the grill but probably in the shed. I know owners are trying to sell the unit but would have been nice to have a picnic table off of the back patio for more eating space. There is iron in the water so some liked drinking their own water.

We did have a good time and the cabin was great with all the roomy space. Cabin was very clean. My husband and I were in the fabulous master bedroom and before nodding off, we could see the moon outside our window. Very peaceful neighborhood. Everything worked great and even a marker in a drawer to write names on plastic cups. I would rent here again.

5 - roomy, clean, beautiful main floor bedrooms, very comfy

4 - more chairs when eating, dump not a problem for us since going that direction anyway.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. And we greatly appreciate your suggestions! Picnic table is a wonderful idea!! The screen for the window upstairs was damaged and is in need of being replaced. Screen door on the living room door would be awesome! The big garbage bags, folding chairs and grill were in the garage. The key to the garage was located in the kitchen above the garbage can. That info should have been included in your welcome letter and in the welcome binder on the desk. Sorry, if you had given me a call I wold have let you know. We are glad you enjoyed your stay , and hope that you will be back to visit again. Thank you, ChaRee~Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Watering Hole. This spacious house served as a nice place to use for a home base on our travels through Yellowstone and the surrounding area. Would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the GREAT reiew! So glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you stay again next time you are back this way! ChaRee~Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice family cabin, great for a family get away.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Watering hole very much. My family needed a place that we could all stay together and make some great memories and this was the place. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. We had 9 people in the space and we fit very comfortably. This was a great location for visiting Yellowstone Park. The kids had fun "running" the lazy river that ends at Mack's Inn in Island Park. The property manager ChaRee was very nice to work with and was quick to answer all of my questions before the trip.

The only thing I wish we had known about was the iron content in the water. This was one thing we could have prepared for by bringing our own drinking water for making bottles. We ended up having to run into the town and buying bottled water to drink.

I would definitely recommend the Watering Hole for my friends and family looking for a place to stay to visit the park and fishing. Maybe they will have better luck catching the fish that we left behind.

Thank you for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for the high Iron content in the water! I will try to inform future guests of the water issues. Thank you so much for your input, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you liked the cabin and its location! The Macks Inn river float is one of my most favorite things to do in Island Park its awesome that you all got to enjoy that! Thank you, ChaRee~Propertyn Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
West Yellowstone, Montana
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Island Park Village Golf
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Big Sky Montana
Car: necessary

Close to groomed Snowmobile and ATV trails, Henry's Lake, Henry's Fork Snake River, Island Park Reservoir, West Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, Tetons, Yellowstone National Park. Great Fly Fishing and Wildlife viewing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Damage Insurance $59

Rates shown do not include taxes and fees. Payment is usually accepted in quoted currency ($) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner/manager. Non refundable cleaning fee $90.00
Nightly rent $185; Holiday nightly rent $235; Weekly non-holiday rent $1110; 8% sales/resort tax; Non-refundable clean fee $90; Damage insurance fee $59.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.