Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charming Hubbard Lake Cabin

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Three bedroom rustic cabin steps from Hubbard Lake and public boat access. Cabin has three bedrooms, wood stove, newly remodeled bathroom, and tons of charm. The cabin has everything you would need for summer fun or a weekend hunting trip. Kids and adults can walk to access across the street and swim in beautiful Hubbard Lake or watch the amazing sunsets. When you finish watching the sunset you can sit around the bonfire and toast marshmallows.

Cheryl Pine
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018


Hubbard Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Newly tiled bathroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Double on double log bunk bed set. Also have two couches!
  • Please note, maximum is four adults and four kids; or two adults and six kids; or six adults; or one adult and six kids.
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • churches
  • museums
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Please note this is a quite community of many full time residence. If you are looking for a place to party till the cows come home, this is not the place for you. :) If you are looking for a family friendly place to have a nice relaxing vacation please feel free to contact me to secure your reservation. We ask that renters honor a quiet time, 10pm to 8am.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Charming Hubbard Lake Cabin
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
We live in Chelsea, Michigan

We were very very disappointed in the accommodations!

  • 1 of 5

Looking forward to this get-a-away based on the picture and description of the cabin we were deeply disappointed. The Hubbard Lake area is beautiful and our disappointment was with the cabin alone. We booked the cabin for 7 nights and only stayed one, so you can tell we were very unhappy. We could not get the wood burning stove, (the only source of heat for the cabin), to stay lit even though we followed the directions exactly as written and tried to do this on three different occasions. The blower for distribution of heat from the wood burner, even if we could have gotten the stove to stay lit, did not work at all. It was unplugged when we arrived, so we plugged it in only to find it didn't work or would even turn on. So our one and only night was pretty cold, but fortunately there were plenty of blankets. No carbon monoxide detector, certainly a concern with a wood burning stove, was in place that we saw and the smoke detector which was apparently wired into the electricity was hanging from a wire and not even connected to its base. Don't know if it worked or not. Some of the doors would not close properly and therefore there was really no way to secure the cabinet night except by a padlock on the outside which you couldn't really use when the cabin was occupied. While described as rustic, and we have stayed in rustic cabins plenty of times, we feel that the owner had a very different idea of rustic than we have. The refrigerator shelves had residue on them and we needed to clean them before our one night of use. Other than the refrigerator the cabin appeared to be fairly clean & we didn't have any complaints about that-this is why we gave one star instead of no stars as a rating indicator. The cabin was located on what seemed like a busy corner lot with traffic passing by fairly close to the cabin. All in all we were not happy at all and while we gave the owner an opportunity to reimburse us some of our week's rental back, that was not something she was willing to do and in our opinion was not very accommodating to our concerns when contacted after our arrival. We don't like writing a review like this and in fact don't usually write reviews period, but this was such a disappointment and a costly one at that, we felt obligated to do so.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that your stay was not up to your standards. Our cabin has been a rental for several years and we ourselves stay there in the off seasons because we love it so very much. We have never had a renter that was so dissatisfied as yourselves. You clearly took the time to read the description of the cabin as posted and you entered into an agreement for a weeks rental over a holiday weekend in the summer. We cannot control the amount of people who come to the area on a holiday weekend. Nor can we be faulted because of the weather or your inability to make a fire. I am sorry you were so very disappointed. Every time you reached out to us during your stay we responded as promptly as possible to address your concerns. I can assure future guests that our cabin is CLEAN and SAFE. We have a cleaning service where there has never been any reported issues, and our electrical was completely updated and inspected in 2016. It is true the blower on the wood stove does not work, but it is not necessary to start and keep a fire going. There is a working smoke alarm hard wired into the electrical as well as battery back up in case of power outage. Hubbard Lake is one of the safest places to live and vacation. Our neighbors are wonderful and the lake is stunning. Our rustic cabin is just that, rustic, but with many modern conveniences. The back door has a lock on the screen and there is also a bolt on the front porch door. We have always felt safe in our cabin as have our many guests. I encourage future guests to read past comments about our rental for a true picture of what others have experienced during their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean kept up to date great location

  • 5 of 5

Trip was amazing as it us every year. I go up North twice a year now for 10 years by far I have been renting this cabin for 3 years and it's amazing I won't be staying anywhere else

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Slow dog cabin

  • 4 of 5

Nice place neighbor hood was very nice people were very friendly.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

One of a kind!

  • 5 of 5

Can't wait to go back! Had everything we needed and more!! So unique!!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved the cabin!!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved loved loved our stay....are you still renting for 2017??

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying this year. We stayed five nights this time and enjoyed it so much that already we plan to next year every month starting in June. Thank you. This is definitely the place to get away from it all.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $40
Damage Deposit $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties