Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Auburn Game Day Rental in Charming Downtown Opelika - sleeps 9 in beds

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Elegant Home in Charming Downtown Opelika, 15 minutes from Auburn

REASONS TO BOOK THIS PROPERTY

1. Walk to one of a kind shops and restaurants in Downtown Opelika.

2. Elegant furnishings and plenty of space.

3. Location: 15 minutes from Downtown Auburn and 30 minutes to Columbus.

4. Front and back porch with porch swing and plenty of seating.

5. A true Southern experience in this 100+ year old home in the historic district.

6. Ask about our Special Rates for Local Families

You will love this charming home in downtown Opelika, just 15 minutes from Jordan Hare. Built in approximately 1915, this historic home captures the beauty of the old south with the convenience of restaurants and attractions in downtown Opelika.

Step out the front door for a short walk to the many wonderful restaurants in downtown Opelika. The home is walking distance to our personal favorite, MaFia's Italian, as well as Zazu's, Irish Bred Pub, Niffer's, and fine dining at Cafe 123. Stop by tastings at the area's newest attractions, John Emerald Distilling Company and Red Clay Brewery.

The home is furnished with large crowds in mind. With

2600 sq ft and three full bedrooms, the home is perfect for game day gatherings or families coming in town for weddings, graduation or other special occasions.

The home is also just 30 minutes to Columbus, GA.

The full description of each room is included below:

BEDROOM ONE:

Queen Bed, sitting area

BEDROOM TWO:

King bed, dresser, bathroom attached

BEDROOM THREE:

3 twin beds PLUS a double bed. Upstairs bathroom attached.

Includes large mirrors, so great area for bridesmaids getting ready for wedding; kids enjoy the upstairs area too.

Dining Room:

Gather in the formal dining room for meals or your next special occasion.

Kitchen:

The kitchen is fully furnished with pots, pans, dishes, etc. and offers bar space plus an additional table in breakfast room for guests to gather.

Living Room:

Living room offers comfortable seating and large flat screen TV with cable and wireless internet.

Back Deck/Yard:

Guests can also spread out in the back yard with tables and chairs on the deck and room for kids to play in the yard. The yard is also large enough for a tent or additional seating for special outdoor events.

Front Porch:

You'll love the front porch swing and additional seating on the porch surrounded by beautiful trees and landscaping.

More Details

Owner
Ginger Hallmark
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

About Ginger Hallmark

We own and manage properties in Auburn, Opelika and in the Destin, FL area.

Ginger Hallmark purchased this house in 2014

Why Ginger Hallmark chose Alabama

Location, elegance and historic character.

What makes this house unique

Walking distance to downtown Opelika shops, restaurants and fine dining.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved this charming old house! There was plenty of room for our large group. It was in walking distance to the downtown area with cute shops and restaurants. We loved walking over there. We would definitely stay again.
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 9

Map

Nearest Golf
10 Miles
3 Top Notch Courses including RTJ Grand National
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Several Downtown Restaurants
Car: not necessary

Walking distance to fine dining, several restaurants, one of a kind shoppes, a craft coffee shop and more. Fifteen minutes to downtown Auburn. Thirty minutes to Columbus.

Amenities

Opelika House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
Notes:
Close to Auburn University and Stadium. Convenient to I85. Walking distance to Downtown Opelika's shops and restaurants and fine dining.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
18% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Auburn Game Day Rental in Charming Downtown Opelika - sleeps 9 in beds
average rating of 4.3125 based on 25 reviews
5

Wonderful home for large gathering

  • 5 of 5

This was a late rental in order for the family to attend military ceremonies at Fort Benning GA in October 2016. The home was as described and perfect for our large family group. We were able to prepare all our meals with the well stocked kitchen. The town is also very nice with lots of local restaurants.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Old

  • 1 of 5

Towels needed to be re washed from mildew smell

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting me know. We would have been happy to bring fresh towels over, if we had known during your stay. Thanks for staying at the Historic Ave. C Guest house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay, love having enough room for moving around.

  • 4 of 5

There are some safety issues that need to be addressed, the railing on the left side of stairs is very loose, several chairs were so loose they couldn't be sat on. The sheets upstairs looked and felt as old as the house, one had a 4 inch hole. The towels

were wonderful the sheets need to look as fresh and cleaned. I question if the loft room had even had the sheets changed. The kitchen was spacious so we could be together, the dining room was terrific except the seat bottoms of the chairs should have been screwed on. I would hate to see a law suit over these issues when someone gets hurt.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carole, my husband secured the chairs and stairwell items that you mentioned. Thanks for your feedback. Maybe it's time to get new sheets :) They are fairly new, but may be showing some wear due to frequent washing in between guests. I'm so glad you enjoyed the house, and we appreciate you staying with us. Thanks again. Ginger
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Old Southern Charm Just Old

  • 3 of 5

Rented this for Easter Weekend for 10 people. Owner did not send code to get in until 2 1/2 hrs before check in time , leading to much anxiety & calls to customer service. While the size & location were nice, this place needs some upkeep. Kitchen needs more & better glasses, pans, etc. painting & other repairs need to be done on porch & at various places in house. Top of one toilet tank was broken & shower curtain downstairs was badly stained. Yard had not been mowed nor front porch even swept! Going barefoot indoors led to filthy feet. Positives are clean linens, comfy matresses plus size & location, close to downtown Opelika. Not sure I'd stay here again

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, we sent the code at 9:30 before your 4 pm checkin. So sorry if that was stressful for you and your wife. We did allow you to check in several hours early though. Hope that helped your family. I'm glad you enjoyed the Southern charm of this house in beautiful downtown Opelika. We love sitting on the front porch in the evening, so I'll make sure our lawn guy knows to have it ready for future guests. Thanks for renting!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful House!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family. My youngest son was graduating from Ft Benning boot camp and we chose to stay in Opelika. There was plenty of room for our family to visit and be together. Restaurants and shops were close. If ever in this town again I would rent this house again.

Side note here: I broke my ankle a couple of days before this trip and found myself using crutches and a wheel chair. We slept in the master bedroom and I had no problem getting around.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for renting! So glad you enjoyed the home. We love hosting guests with family stationed at Fort Benning.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Grand National Golf Trip

  • 4 of 5

Nice home, good value. Arrived and the home was very cold at 48 degrees. Owner resolved problem, but thermostat kept turning heat down to 60 at night. 2 block walk to nice restaurants. Short drive to golfing. Great place to stay for a small group golf outing.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.