check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Buena Vista Lagoon By The Beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
5 nights

About the property

Beautiful property on a natural preserve lagoon 7 minutes walk to the beach

A beautiful duplex on a natural preserve lagoon 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive to the beach. A serene experience only a short drive from famous San Diego and Orange County attractions: Legoland, Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Old Town, Gas-lamp an La Jolla, and Mission Bay.

Located just off I-5 & CA-78 junction this condo provides the perfect location for a southern California year-round stay. Driving south is about 5 minutes to Legoland, 20 minutes to La Jolla and Sea World, and 30 minutes to Old Town, Balboa Park, the Zoo, and the historic Gas-lamp district.

The condo is on the full separate lower floor of a single family home and has a separate gated stairway. The home has a long driveway which also provides on premises free parking as well as street parking if needed. The upper floor serves as the owner's residence. It is gated separately for full privacy for both levels.

South Oceanside (old Oceanside) is the perfect southern California Beach community. You can walk everywhere among beautifully maintained pastoral homes. make time for a bike ride or a walk to the Oceanside pier or the Oceanside harbor. It is recommended to have an auto when you travel in southern California. However, you can also use the train that stops at the downtown oceanside train station. The train travels on the coast with a notable display of the beautiful californian coastline. It can take you all the way from downtown San Diego to Downtown San Francisco with countless amazing stops at the most beautiful coastal towns in California.

More Details

Owner
Tibi Zohar
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Romanian, Hebrew.
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Tibi Zohar

'You've never lived until you've done something for someone who can never repay you'. That is my purpose statement. Everything else will just fall into place.

Tibi Zohar purchased this house in 2012

Why Tibi Zohar chose Oceanside

The combination of freeway accessibility, beach proximity, and lagoon view are unbeatable.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Buena Vista Lagoon By The Beach
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
Brooklyn
5

Awesome Place! Ten Stars...

  • 5 of 5

Question of the day...Would we stay here again? YES!

Tibi's place was perfect for our annual California semi-family vacation (mother, 3 year old son, and grandparents). The "apartment" was exactly as described and the photos accurately depicted the entire place. The apartment was CLEAN, well equipped, and perfectly laid out for our family. The two bathrooms were VERY large, as was the master bedroom (large closets too). The bedrooms are on "separate ends" of the apartment, which provides some privacy. The kitchen was quite spacious and completely updated. There is a ton of natural light and windows in all of the rooms. And, there are televisions in both bedrooms in addition to the living room, which was wonderful. WiFi was great as well.

The house is located in an ideal location (at least for us), as it is immediately off of the 5, with easy access to everywhere. Carlsbad Village was literally a three minute drive and Oceanside Pier about a ten minute drive. There is a ton of shopping within a ten minute drive - Walmart, Target, Frazier Farms, Stater Bros, Cream of the Crop natural food store, etc.

So, as with some of the other reviews, yes, there is highway noise (we cannot omit this from our review), BUT it did NOT bother us one bit (we are from NYC and used to noise). After a while, one probably becomes immune to it, but again, it did not bother us at all (nor would it have prevented us from renting the unit). There is no air conditioning in the apartment; however, none was needed (we literally just checked out today - mid August), as there was always a nice breeze, and the bedrooms had ceiling fans (at night it obviously cooled down).

The deck/porch was one of the highlights of the unit. Beautiful view of the lagoon and the wildlife - a fox, skunks, bats, ducks! There is also a barbecue, so we grilled quite often.

Overall, we LOVED staying here. We were sad to leave! It is quite difficult to find something in such good, modern condition within this price point.

Tibi and his wife reside upstairs in the "main house", and respected our privacy, yet were available via text/email for anything we may have needed.

Highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, thank you Alexis. I'm honored and humbled to deserve such a review. Let me tell you that I don't remember anyone leaving the place so clean with linens and towels gathered and ready to wash. It was equally great to host you and your lovely family. Hope to see you guys back again. Tibi & Tami Zohar
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oceanside vacation

  • 5 of 5

This property is very comfortable, modern and has everything you need to feel like home. The rooms are first class and the bathrooms are beautifully done. The patio is large and there is a barbeque for cooking. The kitchen is well stocked and has full oven, microwave, dishwasher and all the utensils for cooking. It is private and safe. It is close to the freeway so it is convenient to get around. The owner was very nice and attentive to our needs. He even left us a box of chocolate covered pretzels for a welcome gift. You won't be sorry if you stay here! Thanks Tibi!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Diane. It was a great pleasure to host you and your beautiful friends. Look forward to your next visit. Tibi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One Week in Paradise - Oceanside - San Diego

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I stayed at Tibi's, our hosts, property for one week in May. The Oceanside area is a beautiful part of North San Diego County and Tibi's place made the trip all the more special. During arrival, Tibi also happened to arrive at the same time and was able to welcome us into his home. The entrance to the guest house is on the edge of one of the area's rolling hills which continues down to a lagoon. The patio opens to stunning views of the area and offers space for both grilling and eating (breakfasts on the patio was a great way to kick off a fresh start in the California sunshine).

The property has hardwood floors throughout and the bedrooms are well appointed. Windows abound the property and offer a great fresh air breeze. Due to San Diego's 70 degree temperature, AC/heater units are not needed here (there are plenty of fans and warmers in case). There are 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a jacuzzi tub, washer/dryer and an iron/ironing board.

The kitchen was immaculate with almost every amenity a person could need. There was no shortage of anything and when we ran out of toilet paper, the host, Tibi, had come with toilet paper and paper towel within a matter of minutes from text message (immediate response). Mail can also be retrieved at the entrance of the drive.

There are some complaints regarding the highway noise as this property is mere seconds from the Interstate 5 interchange with Highway 78. This was great for my group as we generally left throughout the day & for the whole day. The close proximity to the interstate made it very easy to travel to our next destination quickly & easily. The noise did not bother any one (there were 5 of us in total - all adults) & in fact a comment was made that the traffic was as compared to the sound of the ocean. That may be a stretch but lending some credit to the rolling hillside the house sits on, the sounds of the highway just did not bother us at all. The house also has plenty of fans which can provide white noise, in the case someone is very sensitive.

I would definitely recommend staying here again. We fell in love with oceanside. Leaving Stewart street, make a left and there is a small local market and coffee shop just minutes up on the right. Make a right from Stewart and you're minutes away from I-5 & Walmart. The home is less than a ten minute drive to Oceanside Pier or walk to the beach. This price, location and experience can not be beat! Enjoy Paradise!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charles, I'm at a loss for words. I'm blushing with joy and can't stop smiling while reading your review. I feel like moving downstairs myself :) Thank you for your pictorial review. It was a real pleasure to host you and your guests. I hope to see you again here soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Northern California
3

Bryan & Cheryl

  • 3 of 5

This rental has a nice view of the Buena Vista, but I would not recommend staying longer than a week. The small washer goes off balance easily, and it takes twice as long to do laundry as in a normal-sized washer and dryer. The shower door off the master bedroom was unusable for the first week. On arrival, blood and vomitus was found on the bed linens. Much better cleaning was needed for a new arrival. We left it cleaner than we found it. There was no garage or carport for our car, guests had to park on the street. There was no locked mailbox, but the owner had one. The noise from the nearby freeway and the owners' footsteps overhead was very loud. We had to ask for a vacuum cleaner from the owner. The one provided by them spit out dirt instead of sucking it. Only one cheap telephone was provided, and it did not work properly. Filthy windows on the outside in the two rooms that cannot be reached from the deck should be cleaned by the owner. Window coverings in the the master bedroom should be replaced by solid curtains as the present bamboo curtains let in too much light. There were 12 steps down to the rental, and when it rained, they became cascades due to water coming out of the rainspout from the roof. We will not rent this property again.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry to find out that you were not happy. I don’t understand why you stayed the whole 6 months under such circumstances? You physically inspected the unit multiple times before your checkin and saw the washer and drier, parking spot, mail box, telephone, and window blinds. Why would you sign and stay 6 months through a month-to-month short term vacation rental agreement and complain about it afterwards? The only surprise you mention was the issue with the master shower sliding door. It happened right before your checkin. It didn’t effect the usability but I recommended to be careful closing and opening it, so not to break the tempered glass. Since there is another main bathroom with another shower in the the unit I recommended using that one until we got the door fixed within a week.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Depoe Bay, Or.
5

Girls Only

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here while attending a daughters baby shower. Had 3 daughters with me and we enjoyed the condo and the surrounding area. Love the Tucson feel decor. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks ladies. It was a pleasure to host you. Hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, Comfortable and Convenient

  • 5 of 5

My brother's family and I absolutely enjoyed our stay here. We love the simple, clean yet functional décor, comprehensive amenities, convenient location and the lovely sunset view of the lagoon from the patio. We also had the opportunity to meet the friendly property owner's family (husband, wife, older daughter). Not to mention the Ferrero Rocher chocolate was a very nice personal touch. Everything went smoothly with this rental from the late check-in (thank you Kevin) to questions on TV, door lock, minor issue resolution and check-out (thank you Tibi). We were pleasantly surprised with the convenient location of Oceanside where we can get to the beach, Post Office, Shopping, Dinning, Costco(s), DMV and freeway all within minutes of driving. Some previous guests have mentioned freeway noise as this unit is only about a block away from the freeway. Since we are from big cities, we did not notice much noise other than the occasional motor cycle speeding down the freeway noise. My family will be visiting San Diego again for Thanksgiving, if not because of "5 nights minimum stay required", we will definitely be staying there again. In summary, if you're looking for some place that is away from the hustle and bustle of big city but is still within minutes of everything, you owe yourself to try this unit out. We loved it and probably you will too.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your warm review. It was a pleasure to host you and your lovely family. Hope to see you again soon. Tibi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Oceanside House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

NOTE: California transient occupancy tax of 12.994% is added to the quoted rate for stays of up to 30 days (exemption on stays over 30 days). If your desired rental period is just under the 31 day exemption, your cost may be lower if you extended your stay to 31 days or more (whether you stay the full term or not).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Oceanside House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Main Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 queen , Sleeper sectional
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers