Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Steps to the beach. private pier, paddleboard included

Bedrooms 1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Walk to the beach, private pier, one King Bed, one futon, new AC, new bathroom, ceiling fans, kitchen cabinets, domino table, two heating element glass cooktop, big balcony to play domino and relax, quiet and peaceful area.

One bathroom with a shower and kitchen with a two element glass top.

There’s a shower to rinse in the back yard to take off the extra sand. (you don't want to clog shower)

We have pots, pans and dishes. We have silver ware.(knives, forks, spoons)

We have a Futon on the living room for the kids or we can provide an air mattress.

We have two sets of snorkel masks, two beach chairs and a beach cooler.

We have one hammock.

Please advise if you are out of town and need linens and towels. (How Many


Please no jumping head first into the water from the pier.

Do not step, touch or take the coral.

Rinse with clean water snorkeling gear and the paddle after every use in the backyard shower or sink.

We also have a boogie board and a paddleboard available. The paddleboard is an 11'3. Its big and heavy for tall and heavy people. But if you have kids they can ride in the front of the paddle board while you paddle.

Apt is very Near Playa Santa (5-10min walk) and manglillo beach (5 minutes away walking) and 20 minutes (by car)from Cayo aurora or Gilligan's island.

Playa Santa has banana boat trips and jet ski/kayak rentals.

Playa Santa Guanica is near (20 min away) La Parguera to enjoy the bio-bay, diving, boat trips, Standup paddle and kayak tours of the mangroves.

Also best seafood around the area in in la Parguera. Try Puerto Parguera and Club Nautico fresh sea food.

Also recommend the winery in Guanica.

If this property is booked please look into

located in the same area.

More Details

Edgardo Milan
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2018

About Edgardo Milan

Left PR for 14 years to Texas to comeback to my dads apt not being used in 14 years. Basically got everything that was inside and out with the trash. Now we are renting it to keep it in shape and keep investing in it.

Edgardo Milan purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Edgardo Milan chose Montalva

Since a kid my dad brought me to this apartment to enjoy weekends with him. I would snorkel and jump from the pier (feet first of course). Very quiet and peaceful, clear water.

What makes this apartment unique

Next to the water. private area, few neighbors, Close to Playa Santa and Manglillo Beach. Catch some sun on the pier, hear the waves. quiet


Montalva Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: 2:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • one bathroom with a shower with brand new tile and Shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • one King Size Bed with AC.
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
video of property below copy and paste on your browser. No diving from the pier. (headfirst specially) NO loud music after 11:00pm. one parking per apt. Air mattress upon request. no more than 5 guest per-night. One parking spot. Owner is fully bilingual. English and Se habla español also for questions o preguntas text or call (956) 206 6540. Use shower outside first to take excess sand off. Protect the coral! don't touch or step on it. Have fun!


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
33% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Steps to the beach. private pier, paddleboard included
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 24 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Es la segunda vez que nos quedamos en el lugar y nos encanta. El apartamento tiene de todo, como si fuera tu propia casa. Queda super cerca de todo: Guilligan's, Playa Santa, La Parguera, etc. Lo mas que nos gusto es el palo de tamarindo y el 'private pier' con una vista hermosa y agua cristalina. We'll be back! Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

good for the soul and good for the wallet

  • 5 of 5

Great place when on a budget, literally 1 minute from the Caribbean ocean. The apartment was clean, cozy, and everything a family needed. My 2 teenagers slept on futon, and my husband and I in the bedroom. Most nights we ate dinner outside on the patio when we stayed in-will be coming back.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place to be on a weekend in South of Puerto Rico near Playa Santa

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

our stay in Guanica, PR

  • 4 of 5

The host did a rush clean up after the previous guest because we did a last minute reservation which we really appreciate, the location is great with the ocean in your back yard. Playa Santa is down the road and plenty of places to eat and enjoy. The home is great and she has a lot of beach items to use which I wish I had more time to enjoy the paddle board they have, and the use of all kitchen items are a plus. thanks again Mrs Delgado and we look forward to the near future staying with you again, JR and Tammy

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sir for your honest review. Normally we prefer to have two days in advance to prepare the apartment. But of course we like to be in our guests shoes. we made an effort with the cleaning lady and handy man to prepare as best as we could. Come back any time with more time to enjoy our paddleboard and use our snorkeling gear.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great place!

  • 4 of 5

Great place to get away! Walking distance from the beach, but away from the big crowds. Private dock is perfect to watch a beautiful sunset everyday. Place is fully equipped and very private. Owner will respond to any requests immediately. Definitely recommend this place for the perfect getaway.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response and leaving our place spotless. come back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed in this rental, so much so that we only stayed one night out of the four that we booked. Also when we reached out to the owners about a possible partial refund, we were not contacted back. The overall appearance of the building was depressed. The 'balcony' is not a balcony but a concrete slab with a view of the parking area. There are rusty bars on the windows and doors. The apartment had a very strong odor that was overpowering. The couch was as such that I was afraid to sit on it. The fan in the bathroom was extremely loud. The title of this rental says 'steps to the beach' which is false. You walk down some metal steps to a dock which is in fair to poor condition. There is no beach and I'm not sure how you would even enter the water. We have stayed in quite a few rentals in Puerto Rico and I do not quite believe the reviews left for this apartment. We are still seeking a partial refund. We were very stressed by this situation during our vacation and had to spend a good portion of time locating a better rental.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1st of all this is very unfortunate that you feel stressed. We are surprised with this review after a good review from the prior guest just before your stay. With that being said With proper communications this would have been resolved. If you would have contacted us on the first day you arrived, something might have been worked out. VRBO has refund or money back options. But you did not contacted us only after you stayed in the apt. Also when I personally clean the place and as you can see in all the reviews there have been no complaints of odors and I did not perceive any odors at that time it’s hard for us to pinpoint those odors that you are referring to. But once again we went back to clean the apt, after your stay and the apt had sand inside and out in the back. All the towels were used. Giving the impression that you had stayed more than one night! unless you use 8 towels in a single day! Somebody used those towels. pots pans and plates were also used.You mention a fan in the bathroom. We have no fan inside the bathroom. We have ceiling fans in the bedroom and kitchen/living room area. Also We have no metal steps to the dock/pier. They are made of cement and the rails are metal. You can see that in the pictures. The walk to the beach/pier water is maybe 40 seconds. In our VRBO page, you have pictures that portray the apt as such it is and the location. You can see pictures of the pier and the adjacent beach. we have even a you tube video were you can see exactly the apt and the walk to the water. Video is located on the beach view –beachfront area of the VRBO page. Once again with proper communication, we could have sent the handyman to fix, clean, organize etc! At the end of the day this is a simple and cheap apartment with beach toys that’s near the water.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Ponce Mercedita Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
local Small bar and restaurant
Nearest Golf
34 Miles
Ponce Hilton Golf
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Rd 116 and Rd #2
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
very small and casual food stand
Car: necessary

Things to do: copy and paste to your browser.

video of property below copy and paste on your browser.


we have this vineyard they produce the only pr wine. hike the dry forest.

get a night boat ride to the bio bay


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $20
Damage Deposit $65

No diving from the pier. (headfirst specially) NO loud music after 11:00pm. Air mattress upon request. no more than 6 guest per-night. One parking spot. Owner is fully bilingual. English and Se habla español also for questions o preguntas text or call (956) 206 6540. Use shower outside first to take excess sand off. Protect the coral! don't touch or step on it. Have fun!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties