Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cowbell Cottage, 2 BR, Downtown, Close to Campus, Walk to Campus

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 BR/ 1 Bath less than a mile from MSU campus and Downtown Starkville

Charming 1950's Cottage featuring 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeper Sofa located in the heart of Starkville in sought-after charming Oktibbeha Garden area. Whether you are visiting for football, soccer, baseball, basketball, softball, art festivals, Campus events, Panhellenic Family Events, Graduations, Orientations, business or just to see your kids - you will find that our cottage is a true retreat with lots of amenities. A fully stocked Kitchen includes oven, refrigerator, gas stove, and dishwasher. Beautiful Hardwood floors throughout, fenced backyard, front porch with swing for early morning coffee.

Bedroom 1 - King Bed

Bedroom 2 - Queen Bed

Living Room Full Sleeper Sofa

Beds for 6

Washer and Dryer

1 Twin Aero-bed Blow Up Mattresses

Full Bathroom with Claw Foot Shower

Fenced Back Yard

Coffee Maker

Beautiful Original Hardwood Floors

Full Kitchen: Stove, Dishwater, Full Refrigerator, Sink

Cable TV and Internet

2 Parking Spaces

**No Pets Allowed**

Easy walk to Main Street. Davis Wade Stadium: 1.7 miles. University Dr./ Downtown: 1 Mile. Dudy Noble: 1 mile

PAYMENT: 50% Payment is due at the time of reservation, 50% is due 15 days before check in date

CHECK-IN TIME: Check-in time is after 3 p.m. unless other arrangements are made.

CHECKOUT TIME: All guests must be checked out by 12 p.m. Keys are to be left in lockbox

SECURITY DEPOSITS: A security damage deposit of $150.00 will be placed on the credit card on file. In the event of damage, theft or the need for excessive cleaning, this security deposit will be used. Charges could exceed the security deposit. Damages, etc. that occur during your stay will be charged to you. Your security deposit is not to be considered part of your rent. This is simply security for the unit to repair any damages, replace missing contents or to reimburse owner or agent for expenses resulting from agreement violations. The security deposit will be fully refunded up to 72 hours after your departure.

ALL RENTALS ARE TWO NIGHT MINIMUMS.

More Details

Owner
Lauren Fairburn
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About Lauren Fairburn

My husband and I both graduated from MSU and had always dreamed of having a place in our 'favorite small town'. We have 3 girls who love our MSU and the Cowbell Cottage:)

Lauren Fairburn purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Lauren Fairburn chose Mississippi

We knew we wanted a small cottage that had charm and easy access to the university and downtown. I fell in love with the beautiful hard wood floors, claw foot tub, front porch and shaded back yard....We knew it was the one!!

What makes this cottage unique

We love to walk to games or even walk to the shuttle if we are looking for a shorter walk. We bring our own groceries, cook out and feel like we are still living the Bulldog experience even when we are at the cottage. We have 3 kids, so we love how we can spread out and they can run around in the back yard playing games!! It's quaint, close to campus and very charming....the kind of place I would love to stay when I visit Starkvegas!!

Amenities

Starkville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Sink
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cowbell Cottage, 2 BR, Downtown, Close to Campus, Walk to Campus
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
5

I love this little home away from home! Always makes my visit to Mississippi State so much easier!

  • 5 of 5

Love Lauren! So easy to work with. Recommend this place highly!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

2nd time we've stayed here! We love it! Decor is gorgeous, super close to MSU

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay!!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice house...but needs to be cleaned-Unsanitary

  • 3 of 5

The house is very cute and decorated well. However, the place was very dirty. The ceiling fan had a thick layer of dust/dirt on it. The home appeared to have clean sheets only. It felt as if the cleaning service, if there was one, provided a walkthrough and nothing else. I spent the 1st hour cleaning after driving to a local Dollar General to get the cleaning supplies. The claw foot tub with the shower was also very difficult to use as the shower curtain touches your body while showering.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Channie, I am so sorry that your stay was less than spectacular. We strive to make our cottage very enjoyable for our guests and apologize your experience was not perfect! I wish you had called me upon arrival and I would have made sure you were taken care of that day. We do use a regular cleaning service, and I will promptly let them know to deep clean the home. We are also in the process of changing out the tub to a shower. I appreciate your feedback, even if it is not what I hoped it would be. Sincerely, Lauren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Great stay. Hope to book again

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ann Arbor, MI
4

Almost perfect.

  • 4 of 5

Indeed, this is a charming place and very convenient to everything. Lauren was extremely responsive and easy to work with. Overall my two-week stay met my expectations and then some. A severe cold spell prevented me from using the backyard and fireplace, which I know I would have enjoyed. I have only two suggestions to take the Cottage from "almost" to "perfect". First, for an extended stay like mine, I would have appreciated drawers or shelves for my clothes. There were none in either bedroom so I laid them out on the second bed. The other thing is that the bathroom could use a makeover, particularly the poster tub with no place to put amenities and tightly surrounded by a cold shower curtain which made for a pretty UN-enjoyable shower. But, again, it is a charming place and I will stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just like home

  • 5 of 5

Love this place. Will continue to stay here when I'm in the area

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Skip the HOTEL and Enjoy being so close to campus you can hear the cowbell's ring! Football Games, Baseball & Basketball Games, Graduation, Orientation, Soccer, Softball, Art Festivals, Music Festivals, Sorority and Fraternity Parent Events....

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.