Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cowbell Cottage, 2 BR, Downtown, Close to Campus, Walk to Campus

Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 BR/ 1 Bath less than a mile from MSU campus and Downtown Starkville

Charming 1950's Cottage featuring 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeper Sofa located in the heart of Starkville in sought-after charming Oktibbeha Garden area. Whether you are visiting for football, soccer, baseball, basketball, softball, art festivals, Campus events, Panhellenic Family Events, Graduations, Orientations, business or just to see your kids - you will find that our cottage is a true retreat with lots of amenities. A fully stocked Kitchen includes oven, refrigerator, gas stove, and dishwasher. Beautiful Hardwood floors throughout, fenced backyard, front porch with swing for early morning coffee.

Bedroom 1 - King Bed

Bedroom 2 - Queen Bed

Living Room Full Sleeper Sofa

Beds for 6

Washer and Dryer

1 Twin Aero-bed Blow Up Mattresses

Full Bathroom with Claw Foot Shower

Fenced Back Yard

Coffee Maker

Beautiful Original Hardwood Floors

Full Kitchen: Stove, Dishwater, Full Refrigerator, Sink

Cable TV and Internet

2 Parking Spaces

**No Pets Allowed**

Easy walk to Main Street. Davis Wade Stadium: 1.7 miles. University Dr./ Downtown: 1 Mile. Dudy Noble: 1 mile

PAYMENT: 50% Payment is due at the time of reservation, 50% is due 15 days before check in date

CHECK-IN TIME: Check-in time is after 3 p.m. unless other arrangements are made.

CHECKOUT TIME: All guests must be checked out by 12 p.m. Keys are to be left in lockbox

SECURITY DEPOSITS: A security damage deposit of $150.00 will be placed on the credit card on file. In the event of damage, theft or the need for excessive cleaning, this security deposit will be used. Charges could exceed the security deposit. Damages, etc. that occur during your stay will be charged to you. Your security deposit is not to be considered part of your rent. This is simply security for the unit to repair any damages, replace missing contents or to reimburse owner or agent for expenses resulting from agreement violations. The security deposit will be fully refunded up to 72 hours after your departure.


More Details

Lauren Fairburn
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2018

About Lauren Fairburn

My husband and I both graduated from MSU and had always dreamed of having a place in our 'favorite small town'. We have 3 girls who love our MSU and the Cowbell Cottage:)

Lauren Fairburn purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Lauren Fairburn chose Starkville

We knew we wanted a small cottage that had charm and easy access to the university and downtown. I fell in love with the beautiful hard wood floors, claw foot tub, front porch and shaded back yard....We knew it was the one!!

What makes this cottage unique

We love to walk to games or even walk to the shuttle if we are looking for a shorter walk. We bring our own groceries, cook out and feel like we are still living the Bulldog experience even when we are at the cottage. We have 3 kids, so we love how we can spread out and they can run around in the back yard playing games!! It's quaint, close to campus and very charming....the kind of place I would love to stay when I visit Starkvegas!!


Starkville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Sink
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cowbell Cottage, 2 BR, Downtown, Close to Campus, Walk to Campus
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews

Mellow Atmosphere!

  • 5 of 5

I enjoyed this spot for a weekend event in Starkville, MS. It was quiet, cozy and the location is close to campus and downtown. The owner is very nice and accessible! Book your next stay here!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was homey and comfortable. There was a Keurig coffee maker so bring your own pods! Clean and welcoming. Loved the front porch that we could leave our muddy boots outside and also a good place to hang out and say hi to neighbors walking their dogs.

We did not use the back yard but noticed a BBQ, garden furniture and a woodfire out there. Two spots for off road parking was very convenient. Shower nice and hot after a long day of fieldwork. Kitchen adequate for our needs as we only needed to throw together breakfast and make packed lunches. Dinners were typically eat out or order in. The inside of the oven could do with a good clean but that really didn't 'take away' from our enjoyment of the cottage as we did not use it anyway. The delivered food from the Indian Restaurant was superb. Food at the Veranda was very good but I was not impressed with Thai Siam. Our party was a professor and 2 students visiting to conduct fieldwork in John Starr Forest plus we had a couple of meetings at the cottage with MSU personnel. There was enough comfortable seating for all - the cottage was perfect for our needs. Thank you Lauren for letting us stay at your cottage it really was a home from home experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I love this little home away from home! Always makes my visit to Mississippi State so much easier!

  • 5 of 5

Love Lauren! So easy to work with. Recommend this place highly!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

2nd time we've stayed here! We love it! Decor is gorgeous, super close to MSU

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay!!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice house...but needs to be cleaned-Unsanitary

  • 3 of 5

The house is very cute and decorated well. However, the place was very dirty. The ceiling fan had a thick layer of dust/dirt on it. The home appeared to have clean sheets only. It felt as if the cleaning service, if there was one, provided a walkthrough and nothing else. I spent the 1st hour cleaning after driving to a local Dollar General to get the cleaning supplies. The claw foot tub with the shower was also very difficult to use as the shower curtain touches your body while showering.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Channie, I am so sorry that your stay was less than spectacular. We strive to make our cottage very enjoyable for our guests and apologize your experience was not perfect! I wish you had called me upon arrival and I would have made sure you were taken care of that day. We do use a regular cleaning service, and I will promptly let them know to deep clean the home. We are also in the process of changing out the tub to a shower. I appreciate your feedback, even if it is not what I hoped it would be. Sincerely, Lauren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Great stay. Hope to book again

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Skip the HOTEL and Enjoy being so close to campus you can hear the cowbell's ring! Football Games, Baseball & Basketball Games, Graduation, Orientation, Soccer, Softball, Art Festivals, Music Festivals, Sorority and Fraternity Parent Events....




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.