check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Mountain Vacation Home

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom with porch, patio and small grass yard

Welcome to the mountains! This 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house sleeps 6 with the option of making room to fold out the convertible sofa. All amenities included: sheets, towels and all you need in the kitchen. Nestled in a cove and surrounded by trees you will be less than 10 minutes from Black Mountain and 20 minutes from Asheville with easy access to interstate 40. Highlights include a huge porch complete with rocking chairs, picnic table and grill, a grassy yard ideal for badminton or sunning, laundry room and ample parking. On the top floor you will find the master bedroom, king size bed, bathroom, a second bedroom with a double size bed and lots of closet space. The middle floor plan provides an open kitchen, living and dining space complete with fireplace, recliners, access to the yard and porch. The dining table easily seats 6 and additional chairs and a card table are stored in the downstairs closet. The ground level entrance opens to the first floor bedroom/den. There is a laundry room, full bath and storage on this level. This charming house was used as a summer vacation home for over 20 years.


Owner
Marianne Redmond
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2016

About Marianne Redmond

I moved from Northern California after the earthquake in 1989 and have happily resided in Buncombe county since. I have enjoyed watching the Asheville scene change and love the people, geography and 'North Carolina state of mind'. Recently my children have left the house which allows me to travel and spend more time in my garden. The listed house to both Black Mountain and Asheville.

Why Marianne Redmond chose Blue Ridge Mountains

This property is surrounded by trees in a quiet cove close to Black Mountain and Asheville. I have lived in a house with the same design and floor plan close by since 2006. Earlier this year I purchased the rental house from a retired couple who had enjoyed it as a vacation home for 23 years. I love living in the trees!

What makes this house unique

This house is furnished for comfort and relaxation. The large deck provides an extra living space complete with porch swing, rocking chairs, picnic table and grill. The rough beamed living room beautifully reflects lots of natural light and is furnished with comfortable recliners, couch and woodstove with a blower.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Mountain Vacation Home
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews
1

Outdated, no temperature control, and lots of bugs: Do not stay here

  • 1 of 5

The decor is ancient first of all, being both uncomfortable and unclean. The heaters barely work when they do and make for an uncomfortable stay. The internet is extremely slow and outdated as well. The worst part was the bugs, spiders, roaches, and more. We found several alive and countless dead pushed under beds and hidden. The owner was rude and inconsiderate, also failing to return communication. All in all, there are countless better places to stay in the area and closer to Asheville. Please, stay elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always unfortunate when a guest is not satisfied with their choice. Please familiarize yourself with the description of the house and ask any questions before committing to a stay. I will be happy to correspond with you and address any concerns or requests you might have before, during or after your visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5

Our crew (three high school buddies getting together after 20+ years) had a great stay for the 2016 Christmas Jam weekend. The house had everything we needed, including enough space in the living room for our own jam sessions! The wood stove kept us warm and the location was great for getting back and forth to Asheville.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Justin and his friends were great guests...even agreed to sign for a package previous guests had ordered. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful spot

  • 5 of 5

Our crew of 6 adults comfortably stayed for a month in Oct-Nov 2016. This property has a very convenient location to both Black Mnt and Asheville Downtown. The home is a quick drive from the main road yet very quiet and secluded. Beds were nice and comfy and the beautiful deck and fireplace was spot on for chilly fall nights with beautiful days. Zero complaints, will be back. (house layout 2 bedrooms upstairs with a bath, middle level is kitchen dining and living room, bottom level is very large open room (1 bed & 1 pull out sofa) with bath.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gina and her fun friends were a joy to host.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We got what we expected!

  • 5 of 5

We were pleased with our mountain rental. The house was clean and comfortable for 6 people and Marianne was very responsive to our questions. We were there during a very warm August weekend, so fans were a necessity! Black Mountain was fun for shopping and ice cream. Montreat was full of great memories for us and awesome rock hopping in the streams. Overall visit was wonderful!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very nice

  • 4 of 5

This home met our needs & expectations so we were happy with our choice.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great charming house

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this home. It worked well for our weekend retreat for 6 young adults. The only problems we had were with our GPS locating the house and we had a rather large vehicle that was difficult to back out of the driveway, and there was not much room for us to turn the vehicle around. We made it work though and were very cozy. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Asheville Regional
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Pisgah Brewery
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Black Mountian Golf Club
Nearest Ski
44 Miles
Wolf Laurel
Car: necessary

This vacation home is tucked away in the quiet Valley of Swannanoa between Black Mountain and Asheville. There are many opportunities to experience the sites, attractions and beauty of Western North Carolina.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Swannanoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$120
$700
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Tax Rate 11.0%

$100 cleaning fee not included in price per stay. May be increased depending on length of stay and number of guests. Pets discouraged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Swannanoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , standard bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , standard bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Closets, dressers, comfortable mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Comfortable mattress, dresser, closet space in the hall
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties