Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful Mountain Retreat with Views

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 bedroom, 2 bath with hot tub and views of Twin Lakes (The Alps of Colorado)

This home sits above Twin Lakes, Colorado at the end of dead end drive, hence no through traffic! The property adjoins Forest Service land and Arkansas River Valley hunting, fishing, rafting, kayaking, backpacking, skiing, snowboarding. See the stars at night and lake in the day. Kayaks, and hot tub available and fishing, skiing, snowboarding, and hiking all within minutes. 10 year old log home on .5 acres. Available for 3 days to 1 month.

Chad Malear
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 3, 2018

Why Chad Malear chose Twin Lakes

I attended school here in Lake County at CMC starting 1996 and have lived and performed land surveying and mapping for the county since 2000. I finally purchased what I consider to be my dream home here. This county has proved to be my home and will continue to be home base forever. When working or traveling, mostly in the summer, I love sharing the unique mountain atmosphere with others and hope others get to enjoy it as much as I still do.

What makes this house unique

The views, craftsmanship of the home, spiral staircase, and proximity to everything Colorado has to offer are why I decided to own this particular .5 acres of heaven.


Twin Lakes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Lake View ...
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
24% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Peaceful Mountain Retreat with Views
average rating of 4.44 based on 25 reviews
Johns Island, SC

Beautiful, clean, well equipped mountain home in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

A truly beautiful home, well kept and very comfortable. Great wifi and direct TV if you want it, beautiful lake and mountain views and steps away from outstanding trails. Perfectly positioned for hikers, minutes away from several trail heads, perfect for those looking to summit Mt Elbert, Mt Massive or any of the several routes and peaks on Hwy 82 or want to drive over the incredible Independence Pass for a visit to Aspen. Convenient to both the historic towns of Leadville and Buena Vista. And an easy drive to golf at Mt Massive Golf Course at 10k+. Chad's home has everything you need and more and he is very responsive to any requests or questions and very friendly. We will be back and recommend this lovely home to anyone that wants to experience the best of Colorado!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Bad , very very dirty house

  • 1 of 5

We stayed there for a week! The house was dirty, not clean , not prepared for rentals ! Would not recommend at all

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These renters complained about the inside of the washer door not being clean and dust on the blades of an oscillating fan. They broke the washer door shortly thereafter and I refunded them $200 for not being able to wash clothes for the week. I would not rent to them again. Some people cannot be pleased. The home was very, very clean.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wheaton, Illinois

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

In the week before our stay, I still couldn't get a response from the owner, despite multiple attempts and the fact that we had paid in full. I became so desperate that I actually began a search for new accommodations! I finally reached him, though, and he was very nice and apologized. When we arrived, the refrigerator was full of old leftovers, rotting produce, expired dairy products, crusty condiment bottles and fishing worms! I spent the first two hours of our stay cleaning the refrigerator so I could use it for the food we brought for our vacation! Cabinets also were filled with food, so we stored all our food on the countertops (which left little room for food prep) and a bookshelf. The teflon coating on most pots and pans was shredded, so most were unusable. (Who wants teflon shreds flaking off into their food?!) When I went outside to throw away the garbage, one can had maggots all over the bottom. And a tarp-covered trailer in the front of the house was filled with very smelly garbage that needed to be hauled away. We loved the location and the view and the layout of the house. But we didn't feel like our stay was a priority in any way to this owner. We would never return.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would not recommend renting to this group for these reasons: 1) 1 week before stay, Kimberly M. calls bawling on the phone. She claims she has been trying to reach me for weeks and has no idea where the house is, what to expect, etc. Every renter receives a hospitality email that contains all of the information you could ever need to know about the property. It seemed that Kimberly M. was unable to use the internet or website. 2) In her defense, there are certain things about the home which should be more clearly stated. The closest landfill to the home is about 35 minutes away and there is no trash service in the neighborhood. There are 3-50 gallon trash cans behind the home where trash can be stored. There are 4 containers on the porch for recycling (recommended to reduce the amount of actual trash to landfill). Most food waste should go down the garbage disposal. There is also a small covered trailer in the driveway where trash can be placed if trash cans in the back get full. My professional cleaning service that maintains the interior of the home cannot be expected to haul trash to the landfill (maintained by owner between renters). The refrigerator is cleaned between renters and leftovers/expired items are discarded but items that are not expired are tucked into a corner of the refrigerator/freezer for use by the next tenants if desired. If any tenant would like to remove items they are welcome to do so but in general people leave things that are still usable. The same goes for the cabinets. I explained these things to Kimberly M. and she retorted that her entire family was vegan and that none of the items were usable. I stated that she was welcome remove any items that she did not want but to please leave the $150 worth of condiments in the door as most were unopened. She agreed, but then discarded everything. Much to my chagrin, there was a Styrofoam can with plastic lid containing worms for fishing that should have been discarded before arrival. 3) Teflon pots and pans have been replaced as I normally do once a year. Evidently, many guests still use metal spoons and forks to stir items in Teflon pots and pans. In summary, all guest stays at my home are a priority. Remote living/vacationing does, on occasion, require an extra effort (ex. recycling trash, taking trash from inside to outside storage units, snow shoveling, spreading ice melt, etc). I strive to make sure my guests always have a wonderful experience. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


  • 5 of 5

It was a great time staying in the cabin. There were a few hiccups, but Chad took care of them immediately. It was a great place to stay. Everything was right at hand and easy to use. Chad was very hospitable. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. Such a peaceful place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Denver, Colorado

Perfect mountain getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this cabin! Great town, close to hikes, short drive to Aspen - it was the perfect retreat from the city!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful and inviting.

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed the beautiful scenery and wonderful cabin.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Lake and Eagle County Airports, DIA
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Twin Lakes Inn
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Mount Massive Golf Course (Americas Highest)
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Leadville Scenic Railway
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 24 and 91
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Twin Lakes Inn
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Vail, Copper Mountain, Ski Cooper, Monarch
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Damage Insurance $99

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties