Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Downtown Monthly Rental

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,585 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath Sleeps 8!

Warm and cozy family friendly home in Downtown Petoskey! Whether you ski, swim, fish or sail, this walkable Petoskey home with take you away from it all! Make dinner at home or walk to town for a meal or a cocktail. Don't forget to catch the gorgeous sunsets every night at the end of our street, bring your camera! Take a bike ride or a run on the 28 mile path along Lake Michigan! The Tunnel of Trees ride makes a great get away from town! Boyne Highlands is ten miles away if you ski/snowboard or golf!

Terri & John OBrien
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 7, 2018

About Terri & John OBrien

We love everything about Michigan!

Terri & John OBrien purchased this house in 2014

Why Terri & John OBrien chose Petoskey

We have been coming to Petoskey for years and just love the downtown, the incredible views of Little Traverse Bay and the variety of outdoor things to do in the area.

What makes this house unique

We loved our home the moment we walked through! The rooms are very spacious and cozy. The family room seats 11-12 people so it is a great spot to relax and play games with the family after a day on the slopes or a day at the beach.


Petoskey House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1585 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen sleeper sofa in living room and large sectional in family room sleeps 2!
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
20% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Downtown Monthly Rental
average rating of 4.724138 based on 29 reviews

Lovely home, great location

  • 5 of 5

Such a lovely place to stay - cozy and warmly decorated. Very clean and has everything you will need for your stay. Even nicer and more spacious than it appears in photos. The owners are prompt responders and very helpful. We hope to stay again this summer as the location is perfect. The view from the front yard is gorgeous and there are so many great restaurants and shops within a 5-10 minute walk from the property. Excellent rental experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Carol. You and your family were the perfect guest! We would love to have you come back in the summer. Let me know what weeks work for you and we will make it work. Thanks again for selecting Petoskey Hilltop for your family getaway! Terri & John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Detroit, MI

Wonderful location with an updated kitchen and huge couches

  • 4 of 5

Great property, has a wonderfully updated kitchen and a TV room with plenty of comfortable couches for everyone to stay at. Only reason it's not 5 stars is the owners have to get their documentation a little more uniform, there are 5 different checkout instructions from the app to the emailed contract to the documents sitting on the dryer, kitchen counter and near the front door. But loved staying within walking distance of downtown Petosky on a ski trip, and had plenty of room for laying out equipment to dry.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Kyle! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. You are absolutely correct, we need to update all of our instructions and will take care of that this week. Thanks for being such great guests! Hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Ski Trip

  • 3 of 5

My family rented this home for 4 nights after Christmas 2017. Upon getting to the house the sidewalk was barley shoveled and the porch area was not at all shoveled. This made it hard for the four of us to bring in all our travel items. My husband tried to find a shovel yet there was not one for us to use. This home is on a large down hill slope into town. Due to all the snow and slicker conditions we were not able to walk to town. But it's a really simple drive.

When we got into the home it was really cold and drafty. I understand this is an older home yet it was almost uncomfortable. The upstairs bedroom area was roomy and nice. My kids really enjoyed the kids room. Yet it was really warm up there! There is a nice Nest thermostat that controls the upstairs. Yet with several attempts to turn the temperature down we found it too hot to sleep comfortably.

The kitchen is large yet is was very disappointing due to the lack of pots and pans. It also seemed like I was in college again with the random utensils provided. I would suggest that the owners look over the items provided and maybe update some things.

The main bathroom was very drafty which made it an unpleasant experience to get out of the shower.

We really liked the large family room and table. It was nice to come back after a day of skiing and relax. This home has a lot of space so our kids were able to watch TV and we could go into the front room and read. What was weird to me is that the home said no pets allowed yet there were dog bones in the laundry area which means other guests or the owners have pets. My daughter has a allergy to pets so it would have been nice to know that animals have been in the home. Thankfully we were able to purchase some allergy medication for her.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I am disappointed you didn't call us to discuss some of the things you noted in your review while you were there. We would have been more than happy to help you with the snow, shovel and heat control. It is an older home but this is the first time we have had anyone complain about the temperature being too warm. The kitchen has plenty of pots and pans, usually in the stove draw. Unfortunately during the holiday season we are back to back with bookings so our cleaning woman has only four hours to get in there before the next guests arrive. She doesn't always have time to put all the utensils and pots/pans back in the same spot or organization of them for our next guests. You did ask for check in on the same day someone was checking out so it was a tight turn around. We do not allow pets in our home. We personally have a dog but he passed away last year and we haven't had the heart to remove his stuff yet. He was up there maybe twice in the last three years. I will note on our listing that we have had a dog in the home, my concern with that is guests will think it will be okay to bring their pet since we are dog owners. I wish you would have had a better time at our place. Is there something you are looking for?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing property! Clean, spacious, and great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay! This cute property is located close to down town, making it convenient to visit local shops down the main strip. The inside is very spacious with a great layout. Everything was clean and well organized. We appreciated the opportunity to stay here - we hope to return on our next trip!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful review! You were the best guests, please come and visit us again! The summers are breathtaking! Happy New Year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay!!

  • 5 of 5

There were eight of us sisters for "Sister's Weekend". We so enjoyed staying at this home for the weekend. So fun to all be together and have lots of room to move around. So convenient to the sites, church, shopping and casino! Lots of love and laughter shared this weekend. Thank you for sharing your home!


  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ginny for the wonderful review! I am so glad you girls had a great time at our place. Terri & John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clarkston, MI

Great location and perfect size for our family.

  • 5 of 5

Nice updated home in a great location. Very clean and comfortable. Also, thank you for accommodating us on on delayed departure.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mary for your stay and review. You were the perfect guests! Hope to see you again soon! Terri & John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
City Park Grill, Palette Bistro, Twisted Olive
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Boyne Highlands & Nubs Nob
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Lake Michigan
Car: recommended




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.