check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Winter/ Summer Paradise

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Bear Valley, California is a boutique high Sierra (7,000 ft elevation) mountain resort destination offering the best in both serenity and recreation. It is a little island of private property's surrounded by vast tracts of National Forest with an abundance of mountain lakes, streams and rivers.

There is no motor vehicle access in winter to this and all residential properties. Roads in our subdivision are packed and groomed in winter. Over the snow transportation is available to take you to your vacation Chalet. *(See below) The Chalet is a 15-18 minute walk down to the village center.

This spacious 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom Chalet with WI-FI, sleeps 10 people. Located next to the family friendly Bear Valley Ski Resort on State Route CA-4 fifty miles east of Angels Camp, CA. This large home with beautiful High Sierra vistas has enough room for 2 families to share their special vacation together.

The first level has a mini-kitchen, full bathroom, two bedrooms, one with twin beds and the other with a queen size bed. Additionally, this floor contains a family room with a gorgeous rock fireplace, 55' flat screen TV and a sofa bed that can sleep two additional people.

The second level main floor Great Room with it's airy and bright vaulted beam ceilings has a beautiful hearth to ceiling rock fire place, 55' flat screen Direct TV, dining area, a fully stocked kitchen and a separate laundry room. This room and it's deck affords a wonderful High Sierra vista that will long remain in your memories. Also located on this level are two additional bedrooms with Queen size beds and a full bathroom.

The upper level loft contains the master suite and has a queen size bed, walk in closet and a comfortable sitting area ideal for reading with natural light! The master bath has a jetted tub and a separate shower.

*Powder Bears Transportation

(415) 779-2093 (accepts text)

powderbears.com

*Alpine Snowmobile Rental

Phone (209) 753-2620

alpinesnowmobilecenter.com

*Bear Valley Snowmobile Rental

(209) 753-2323

bvsnowmobile.com

More Details

Owner
Larry Mulcaster
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Winter/ Summer Paradise
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
5

Delightful!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in the Mulcaster's Bear Valley chalet for the weekend, and we loved it! The cabin is spacious, beautiful, and incredibly comfortable. We were able to ski down to the Bear Valley bus stop and take the free shuttle to the slopes, which was very convenient. The kitchen/living room area is huge, the bedrooms are plentiful and comfortable, and the view from the porch is breathtaking. Larry was very communicative and provided several helpful tips to make for a pleasant stay. Arranging our snowmobile transport was painless as well, and Phil (Powder Bears Transportation) was extremely reliable all weekend long. We highly recommend this vacation chalet and would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome place for a family getaway

  • 5 of 5

Larry was great to work with, the house was awesome, neighborhood was a lot of fun to cruise around on snowmobiles. Great trip overall! Please note that the DVD player upstairs is inoperable (actually wrecked 2 of our kids movies) and the fireplace on the main level doesn't have a screen. Great trip though! Will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family home!

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely and comfortable stay with 2 adults and 2 kids but we could have easily had another family with us. There is plenty of room with 2 living areas and there is a door to the downstairs if you prefer privacy between the levels. We were a little concerned about cooking after reading some of the reviews but we found the kitchen well stocked in terms of supplies. The kids had a blast playing in the snow around the house and we were able to walk up the street and find good spots for sledding.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice place with a beautiful view!

  • 4 of 5

The house was nice for a large family getting together! Larry (the owner) was very helpful. Our grandson loves the house; all five bedrooms are roomy and comfy. Fantastic views from everywhere. Bear Valley ski resort is near by; plenty winter sport activities. We did cross country hike and loved it. We would definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

house is very big and very well suited to 2 (or even 3) families. we'll come back for sure.

Larry was very helpful with all the questions.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Will not stay again...

  • 2 of 5

Pros: The house is big and nicely appointed- it has three levels and there was plenty of room for all our guests. Nice decks and views.

Cons:

The road to the house is VERY steep- only 4-weel drive vehicles were able to get there... One of our vehicles got stuck on the narrow and steep driveway, and we had to call AAA...

The master suite is an open loft and does not have any privacy

The BBQ and the stove were not working properly- BBQ is so old, it was hard to use it... stove was very slow to cook- even simple dishes required long time to prepare.

Lots of stairs to climb- we had one person with health issues, it was very hard for her to even get into the house

Not enough oil or even salt despite the claim they would be there... we had to run to the store to get salt ... bring your own

We had a MAJOR disturbance with very loud fire alarms turning on at 2:30 AM every night and waking everyone in the house... contacted the owner, no actions... we had to climbed to the high sailings ourselves and disable them.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Access to our property is via a flat paved driveway after a short rise from the road. These guests entered via adjacent private property to the west that has a dirt driveway. This property is posted "Private Property No Trespassing". They probably did not did not see this sign as they may have arrived after dark. The BBQ is not new however it is operable. How or why the smoke/fire alarms activated is unknown. It has not occurred before to best of our knowledge and should only activate with a detection. The complaint about the stove as "slow cooking" is likely due to folks not being accustomed to cooking at high elevation. (7,450 ft at this location)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
105 Miles
Sacramento, CA
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Grizzley
Nearest Ferry
NA
Nearest Golf
28 Miles
Sequoia Woods CC
Nearest Train
75 Miles
Stockton
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
State Hwy 4
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
Bear Valley Village
Nearest Ski
0.8 Miles
Bear Valley Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
195 Miles
Santa Cruz/Montery
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bear Valley Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bear Valley Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties