check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Winter/ Summer Paradise

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Bear Valley Chalet Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Bear Valley, California is a boutique high Sierra (7,000 ft elev) mountain village offering the best in both serenity and recreation. It is a little island of private property's surrounded by vast tracts of National Forest with an abundance of mountain lakes,streams and rivers.

This spacious 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom Chalet with WI-FI, sleeps 10 people. Located next to the family friendly Bear Valley Ski Resort on State Route CA-4 fifty miles east of Angels Camp, CA. This large home with beautiful High Sierra vistas has enough room for 2 families to share their special vacation together.

The first level has a mini-kitchen, full bathroom, two bedrooms, one with twin beds and the other with a queen size bed. Additionally, this floor contains a family room with a gorgeous rock fireplace, 55' flat screen TV and a sofa bed that can sleep two additional people.

The second level main floor Great Room with it's airy and bright vaulted beam ceilings has a beautiful hearth to ceiling rock fire place, 55' flat screen Direct TV, dining area, a fully stocked kitchen and a separate laundry room. This room and it's deck affords a wonderful High Sierra vista that will long remain in your memories. Also located on this level are two additional bedrooms with Queen size beds and a full bathroom.

The upper level loft contains the master suite and has a queen size bed, walk in closet and a comfortable sitting area ideal for reading with natural light! The master bath has a jetted tub and a separate shower.

There is no car access in winter. Bear Valley roads in our subdivision are packed and groomed in winter. Over the snow transportation is available to take you to your vacation Chalet. (See below)

Transportation is not included in your rental. This Chalet is a 15-18 minute walk from the village center.

Powder Bears Transportation

(415) 779-2093 (accepts text)

powderbears.com

Alpine Snowmobile

Phone (209) 753-2620

alpinesnowmobilecenter.com

Bear valley Snowmobile

(209) 753-2323

bvsnowmobile.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Larry Mulcaster
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Winter/ Summer Paradise
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

house is very big and very well suited to 2 (or even 3) families. we'll come back for sure.

Larry was very helpful with all the questions.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Will not stay again...

  • 2 of 5

Pros: The house is big and nicely appointed- it has three levels and there was plenty of room for all our guests. Nice decks and views.

Cons:

The road to the house is VERY steep- only 4-weel drive vehicles were able to get there... One of our vehicles got stuck on the narrow and steep driveway, and we had to call AAA...

The master suite is an open loft and does not have any privacy

The BBQ and the stove were not working properly- BBQ is so old, it was hard to use it... stove was very slow to cook- even simple dishes required long time to prepare.

Lots of stairs to climb- we had one person with health issues, it was very hard for her to even get into the house

Not enough oil or even salt despite the claim they would be there... we had to run to the store to get salt ... bring your own

We had a MAJOR disturbance with very loud fire alarms turning on at 2:30 AM every night and waking everyone in the house... contacted the owner, no actions... we had to climbed to the high sailings ourselves and disable them.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Access to our property is via a flat paved driveway after a short rise from the road. These guests entered via adjacent private property to the west that has a dirt driveway. This property is posted "Private Property No Trespassing". They probably did not did not see this sign as they may have arrived after dark. The BBQ is not new however it is operable. How or why the smoke/fire alarms activated is unknown. It has not occurred before to best of our knowledge and should only activate with a detection. The complaint about the stove as "slow cooking" is likely due to folks not being accustomed to cooking at high elevation. (7,450 ft at this location)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful host

  • 5 of 5

This is a great, huge cabin with lots of room and amenities. There was a tough situation with a broken pipe that Larry was able to bring under control and clean up before we arrived. Freak accident which happens and, in my opinion, what counted most was his reaction - go it fixed, cleaned up, and ready to go just before we arrived. Then was very apologetic and accommodating even though everything was a-ok! Great cabin, great host.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Cruz
4

Great Home Very Comfotable For Multiple Families

  • 4 of 5

Very nice beautiful home, lots of space, rooms and very comfortable. Kitchen was loaded with whatever you needed to cook, we made two dinners...bring your spices, oils, ect. Great location for Bear Valley skiing, best if main roads are fully snowed..was not the case when we were there. Owner was very friendly and helpful with information.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
105 Miles
Sacramento, CA
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Grizzley
Nearest Ferry
NA
Nearest Golf
28 Miles
Sequoia Woods CC
Nearest Train
75 Miles
Stockton
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
State Hwy 4
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
Bear Valley Village
Nearest Ski
0.8 Miles
Bear Valley Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
195 Miles
Santa Cruz/Montery
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bear Valley Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bear Valley Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers