Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Glamping aboard a Hatteras Sportfishing Yacht

Bedrooms 2
Property type yacht
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

52 Ft Hatteras Sportfishing Yacht

Who needs a hotel or a tent when you can enjoy the experience of staying aboard a beautiful 52 foot Hatteras Sportfish Yacht. We can customize your trip to fulfill your dreams of living on a yacht.

Unrivaled location on the Fort Pierce Inlet from the Atlantic Ocean that affords a view of spectacular sunsets over the Indian River Lagoon. Of course, the desirable inlet location. Within walking distance there are many superb restaurants, a farmer's market, live theater and much more!

Relax aboard while enjoying many amenities. Salon aka living area features a custom made leather section with a magic bed (sleeps 2), 2 leather barrel chairs, wet bar with ice maker, 46 inch Sony Google TV, Wifi, Netflix, and DVD player. Fishing poles available for fishing from the back deck or dock. Master stateroom hosts an over-sized queen bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and a private bathroom with stand up shower and lush towels. Guest stateroom has twin bunks and access to 2nd bathroom with stand up shower. All linens of are the highest quality and beach towels are provided as well. Kitchen aka Galley has Keurig coffee maker, a full sized refrigerator freezer, 3 burner electric stove with compact oven, convection microwave oven, blender and everything needed to prepare meals just bring your groceries!

Propane grill is provided.

We are not a barefoot charter. Per our insurance only our USCG licensed Captain drives the vessel.

More Details

Ginger Howard
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2018

About Ginger Howard

We love the salt water and just getting away from it all. We have decided to share our love of boating with others.

Ginger Howard purchased this yacht in 2011

Why Ginger Howard chose Fort Pierce

We fell in love with Fort Pierce 10 years ago. It still has the old Florida feel and the fishing is amazing. Great restaurants and many wonderful things to do within walking distance of the boat.

What makes this yacht unique

We will tailor your trip to fit your needs and share fishing tips. Where else can you enjoy a slight rocking of the boat to put you to sleep or wake up early enjoying your coffee while watching the dolphin or manatee play. This is not a barefoot charter.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had the pleasure of joining the owners on a Bahamas vacation and had the best time! They run a top notch experience. We fished, snorkeled, explored uninhabited islands and enjoyed the outer islands of the Abacos. Truly a magical time and I will never consider Nassau after seeing the real Bahamas. The owner's wife should be a gourmet chef with the amazing meals she prepared on board for us.

Although this trip is not for every one, it is definitely worth every penny!
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 1


Fort Pierce Yacht Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • yacht
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Private bathroom with stand up shower in master stateroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Shared bathroom with access from hall or guest stateroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Oversized queen with private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , twin bunk beds
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Often called the 'Sunrise City,' Fort Pierce is part of the Treasure Coast, a stretch of land from St. Lucie Inlet to Sebastian Inlet along Florida's Atlantic coast. Natural and artificial reefs make for good fishing and diving. The Indian River Lagoon Estuary provides a haven for more than 4,000 plant and animal species. Visit the revitalized waterfront downtown area, which has retained its old Florida charm and scale. It offers contemporary shopping, dining, great fishing and a range of entertainment and activities such as the Farmers' Market, Bike Night, Friday Fest, Jazz Market and the city-owned and -operated 1,200-seat Sunrise Theatre for the Performing Arts.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Glamping aboard a Hatteras Sportfishing Yacht
average rating of 4.625 based on 17 reviews
Greenville, South Carolina

Another great stay

  • 5 of 5

Our second stay on the Island Son was even better than the first. The boat is bigger than it looks. Roomy salon with a sectional couch and big flat screen tv. Good internet connection for streaming DirectTV now and movies to the TV and connected devices. Well stocked kitchen. Comfortable beds. Kayaks for paddling around the river. The location is good with several restaurants within walking distance and much more within a 2-3 mile drive. We have already booked another stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting again!! Tod enjoyed getting to know you guys as well! You're always welcome aboard!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Island Son is a great get-a-way on the water!!

  • 5 of 5

Island Son was beautiful. Very nice amenities, family room area, WiFi and everything in the kitchen you would need to make all of your meals. The marina was excellent. We felt safe and secure! Our boat "neighbors" were very friendly and helpful. The view was incredible! Very peaceful and when we left the boat, there were plenty of things to do in the area as well and that was important to us. The owners of Island Son were great to work with in scheduling our reservation. Definitely coming back!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We look forward to your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A monumental and catastophic mistake

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I were very disappointed with our "stay" on the Island Son. When we unlocked the door to the main cabin we were hit with a vial and toxic odor that I can only liken to the noxious odor of a chemical laden public restroom times twenty. We opened all the windows, left the door open and kept our jackets on in the hope that the odor would dissipate. IT DID NOT. A few hours later, Blake (employed by the owner, Ginger, to introduce us to the workings of the boat) arrived and I questioned the noxious odor. He had no answer. Fort Pierce was experiencing unusually cool weather so we bundled up, closed the windows but DID NOT turn on the heat since Blake had told us we might have an additional odor emanating from the heaters since they had not been used recently. During the night, my wife rose to use the bathroom being careful to place the toilet paper in a plastic bag (marine toilets are VERY delicate). When she flushed, the peddle stuck, sending water over the floor and onto the rug before I could stop it. We decided to vacate the premises at first light AND WE DID! We spent only 17 hours on that boat. My wife awoke with a sore throat and burning lungs. She is now under a doctor's care. I had a sore throat and a dull headache. Not what we expected from a vacation. I called Ginger that very day to tell her why we left but was forced to leave a voice message. After seven days I still have not heard from her. I believe we are owed a refund. It was a monumental and catastrophic mistake renting the Island Son.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest that checked in a just a few days after you were scheduled to leave left this review "Had a great time. Very welcoming and comfortable. Ginger went above and beyond. I will definitely be back." The guest that left just before you arrived "Another great visit. Blake and Virginia are always so helpful. Can't wait to come back" I personally spoke with you on arrival and no complaint of any smells. When Blake arrived you did complain of a "cleaning chemical smell" which Blake said he couldn't even smell that's why he had no answer for you. I came myself after receiving your voicemail and I found no smells but damage to my yacht. The toilet didn't just overflow a little bit it flooded the entire downstairs! You didn't even try to clean any of it up! I have since spent $400 on carpet cleaning and water extraction and have wallpaper starting to peel at the bottom! I am waiting to see what the mahogany wood looks like after it dries out, praying there is no additional damage there. I tried to call you back but didn't leave voicemail as I was so angry at the condition of the boat who knows what I might have said......
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Granville, Ohio

Better than I thought

  • 5 of 5

Coming from the land yacht world and Having not stayed on a boat before I was unsure of what to expect, however I was extremely pleased. The boat is awesome, much bigger than the pictures make you think. The fishing was fun also. There is plenty to do in the area. Ginger had some great recommendations on some places to eat, and they too were excellent. It's a very relaxing and different kind of place to stay and I feel lucky we found it on this site, I can't imagine that I won't go back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

We spent 25K for 4 1/2 mos. to be at the Marriott Marina on Hutchinson Island Fla. due to the amenities that are offered on site: dining, swimming pools, hot tub, tennis courts, and the golf course. The last two weeks of our stay were spent at the Fort Pierce City Marina without any of the amenities offered at the Marriott Marina. I'm confused, concerned and disappointed that there was no response to the e-mail I sent on March 15th. I requested that our security deposit and a differential compensation for the last two weeks be forwarded. Two weeks have past without any response. The above aside and excluding trips to doctors and the Miami Transplant Center we did enjoy our stay. Regards Adriane & Tony

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly your stay actually was 5 stars given all of our past communications. I did reply to your email the day after it was received and just forwarded to you. We moved the yacht to the marina of your choice but unfortunately neither of us were informed that we "might" have to move for a festival they were hosting the last 2 weeks of your stay. I had many conversations with the Dock master asking to not relocate but it was required. As you are aware moving the boat is a great expense and Adrienne enjoyed the "free" boat ride as well. If you had expressed, at any point during your stay, disappointment in the marina I would've happily suggested that you vacate early and then I would've given money back but not a month after departure. With regards to your security deposit, unfortunately you are the first guest we have ever had to keep even one penny from but I have emailed you a list of the significant damages. I wish you and Adrienne the best in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenville, South Carolina

I want to give it 6 stars!!!

  • 5 of 5

I can not say enough great things about our stay on the Ocean Son. We had a wonderful and relaxing time. The yacht was very comfortable, very nicely stocked, and bigger than it appears from outside. The location was amazing with restaurants just a short walk away. There was live music nearly everyday we were there and a great farm market event on Saturday. We also made breakfasts and cooked out a couple of nights on board and it was great!!! We caught dinner from the bow of the boat one day. The folks in the harbor are friendly and welcoming. Parking was convenient. The harbor has laundry facility, grill, bike storage and restrooms and showers (in addition to those on board). We brought kayaks and it was easy to tie them up next to the boat and paddle the river and around the harbor. Lastly, Ginger was great to deal with. I can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such kind words!! We look forward to your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Farmer's Market at the Fort Pierce City Marina
Archie's Seabreeze
National Navy UDT-Seal Museum
Smithsonian Marine Ecosystems Exhibit
"Great for all ages and there is a nice playground too!"
Jaycee Park
12A Buoy
Ft Pierce Inlet State Park
Publix Super Market at Taylor Creek Commons
Surfside Park
Lisa's Kayaks Inc
Sailfish Brewing Company
Dave's Diner
Jetty Lounge
Chuck's Restaurant
On The Edge Bar & Grill
Ft Pierce Inlet State Park
Bluewater Beach Grill
Krazy Fish
Nearest Airport
5.5 Miles
St Lucie International
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Florida turnpike or I-95
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Just a short walk
Car: recommended




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rate is based on double occupancy, additional fee of $25 per day per person. Maximum of 6 people allowed. You can choose the $99 damage insurance or the $500 refundable security deposit. Please let me know at time of booking your preference. All parties of 6 both apply. Cancellation policy 90 days for full refund, 60 days lose deposit, 30 days lose full amount

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties