Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Coffee at Sunrise, Cocktails at Sunset, and Plenty to Do In Between

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,978 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

Three Bedrm, 2 Bath Condo. Two Balconies; Sunrise & Sunset Views. Beach 200 Yds.

Have your coffee on the balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean. Relax with a cocktail as you watch the sunset on a second balcony overlooking the mangrove preserve. And there is plenty to do in between; avail yourself to myriad activities or just relax with the sunny breezes.

This desirable end unit is your perfect home away from home. Huge leather sectional in the living room with a big flat screen tv. The huge gourmet kitchen has a spacious counter-top with stools for casual dining and comes fully-stocked including two sets of dishes; an everyday set and beautiful stoneware for fine entertaining. There is also an electric barbecue grill on the front balcony. New warm wood and wrought-iron dining room, striking master bedroom suite with a king bed and his and her recliners; adjoining bathroom has his and her sinks, a spa tub, and a walk-in shower. You'll find a beautifully decorated queen size bed in the second bedroom, and two twin beds in the third bedroom. The second bathroom completes a 'mini-apartment' with a separating sliding door. Flat screen tvs in every bedroom and wi-fi throughout; land-line telephone with service throughout the US and Canada. Full-size washer & dryer in apartment's utility room; plenty of towels and linens. The apartment is huge nearly 1,800 sf; nearly 2,000 sf including balconies.

Oceanwalk is a gated community with secured garage-covered parking for 1 car, two clubhouse complexes complete with saunas, exercise rooms, heated pools and spas, and barbecue areas. The unit is centrally located, not 100 yards from either clubhouse. There is also a mini putting green, lighted tennis and basketball court, shuffleboard courts, bocce ball court and a nature preserve with a walking trail and many other items too numerous to mention. The unit is only steps away from the crosswalk across A1a to the gorgeous no-traffic beach. The complex also provides beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, tennis and sports equipment, and kayaks for your use. Savvy vacationers know that direct access to Oceanwalk has everything you need to stretch your entertainment dollar.

Oceanwalk condominiums, well-regarded for the finest amenities in new smyrna, are located on the south beach area of new smyrna beach. The complex is located across the street from the beach and faces the atlantic ocean. The southern location provides the best of both worlds, away from the hustle and bustle but minutes from dining and entertainment to the north and from canaveral national seashore to the south.

There are three golf courses within 15 minutes and six within a half-hour's drive. Deep sea, pier, and flats fishing are also available. New smyrna beach has been named one of the best 100 small art towns in america. The town truly has something for everyone, and Oceanwalk is among its very nicest communities.

More Details

Owner
Rich Scott
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Rich Scott

I'm Rich Scott. Annie and I have been together 44 years pretty much since the day we met. We've celebrated 38 years of marriage this April. Rounding out the family are two perfectly imperfect adult children, Richie IV, 33, and Sarah 29 and Annie's sister Robi, 44, who now lives in a group residence for developmentally disabled adults.

Annie is a Physical Therapist and is Director of Rehabilitation at Dr. Susan Smith McKinney Nursing and Rehab Center in Brooklyn. I'm a financial analyst and work for a financial technology boutique in SoHo, Manhattan. Annie and I are empty nesters living in the same home where we raised our kids. We settled here in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, four blocks from where Annie grew up, after living in several far-flung areas of Brooklyn with a stint in Cleveland. Funny how that works.

Rich Scott purchased this condo in 2014

Why Rich Scott chose Florida Central East

Annie and I found Ocean Walk and New Smyrna Beach when we were looking at potential places to retire. Annie's brother and sister-in-law have a unit right across the street in the same community; and her sister and brother-in-law live in Jacksonville, less than 2 hours away. So it is an ideal location. We like central Florida because while the weather is usually pleasant, there a more variety and less oppressive heat than further south. Friends and family are very important to us and with three bedrooms we cannot wait to share our home with visitors. While we move toward retirement, we spend as much time as we can in our new home away from home.

What makes this condo unique

Nsb has a lot to offer: great beaches, wonderful flora and fauna, funk, and a vibrant nightlife. And ocean walk is ideally located to enjoy all of it.

One of the things we like best is that it is a tourist destination without the tourist town, honky-tonk feel. It's the anti daytona beach but close enough to take advantage of the finer elements of daytona and the surrounding area.

Another thing that annie and i have noticed is that everyone seems pretty happy; this runs across the richest to the poorer. I guess when you have fair weather and great surroundings, you don't need a whole lot for it to be enough.

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Daytona Beach DAB, Sanford SFB, Orlando MCO
Nearest Barpub
1.2 Miles
Mi Mexico
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
NSB Municipal
Nearest Motorway
10.8 Miles
US 95
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Flagler Avenue / Canal Street
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
New Smyrna No Traffic Beach
Car: necessary

Nsb is a small town with tons going on. Go for a nice lunch or dinner on flagler ave. Or canal st. And stroll among the quaint and quirky shops enjoying the chill earthy vibe. Nsb has been voted on of the us's 100 best art towns.

Some of our other favorites:

Mi mexico - some of the best mexican food ever - 2 minutes

C's waffles - off the hook breakfasts, great service, incredibly inexpensive (i feel guilty walking out of the place) - 3 minutes

Touch of italy - good homestyle cooking - 3 minutes

Chase's on the beach - laid back pub grub - 4 minutes

NSB Seashack - seafood and more; lively joint with music and a large open air deck - 8 minutes.

Norwoods - everything from burgers to surf&turf. best gumbo ever. and an amazing treehouse deck.

Amenities

New Smyrna Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1978 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , bidet , His & her sinks; private to MBR; huge walk-in closet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet , In middle of two BR's sliding door creates 'mini-apartment'
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen - 2 queen , Large full wall closet; large bureau; flat screen t.v.
    Master - 1 king , His and her recliners; large flat screen t.v.; opens to bath
    Twins - 2 twin/ single , Armoire; large closet; flat screen t.v.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
23% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Coffee at Sunrise, Cocktails at Sunset, and Plenty to Do In Between
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
Dacula, GA
3

Ok

  • 3 of 5

Water all over the floor when we got in the unit. Leaking freezer. Standing water on the stove top. No dource found. We were promised the freezer would be fixed on Tuesday at the earliest because Monday was a holiday. They never came and fixed it. We had to evacuate because of the hurricane. We asked for a refund for time lost. We were told it was not mandatory evacuation so probably not. However, it became mandatory about 12 hours after we left. Could not open and shut one of the patio doors. Missing TV remotes for one of the bedrooms so unable to use the TV. The unit itself was very nice. Very well decorated and clean. Kitchen was well stocked.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I cannot explain the water on the stove top; that is inexcusable and I can only apologize. Regarding the fridge, we were at the condo up until a day before you and had the same problem. Bob came and cleared an ice dam and we had no more leakage so we thought it was fixed. Sorry if it wasn’t. Bob told me that he came to the door with a replacement and was told by your guests that “everything is fine.” The patio doors were sticky. Like I said we were there right until you arrived so there was no time for repairs. The locks, rollers, and tracks on all three doors have been replaced along with new screens. I’m disappointed with your characterization of your request for a refund. First you did in fact receive a refund. Second the managers could not agree to a refund without consulting me. I would never deny such a request: Last year we had the same situation and I compensated our guest for lost time without question. You and I had several fruitful direct conversations as you were booking the place. Don’t you think the fair thing would have been to call me directly before penalizing us?
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Orlando, Florida
5

If you love the BEACH, this is THE place for YOU!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Rich and Annie's "slice of paradise" September 10 through October 8th, and loved it. We live just 60 miles away in Orlando but have "gone to the beach" at NSB for many, many years. It is a very relaxed, kicked back beach town, the locals and visitors we found very friendly and no shortage of restaurants with exceptional food. The condo itself was really great, the 3 bedrooms gave us plenty of room as we had several guests for a few days at a time to share the experience. There is a pocket door that closes off the 2nd and 3rd bedroom and guest bathroom giving it a real "suite" feel for the guests. Everything we could want or need was in the well equipped kitchen, we enjoyed using it for several gourmet dinners. The condo location was in between the two pools, so the water aerobics was at one and we had our afternoon swim in the other! There are many amenities that we just did not get to use but we did use one of the 4 gas grills! The Oceanwalk staff were very helpful and answered all of our many questions promptly and offered a number of great suggestions on restaurants and "things to do" nearby. This was our first time renting a condo anywhere and are already planning on when to go back and of course it will be at Rich and Annie's "slice of paradise"

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Patrick for the kind words. We love it when we can share the place with nice people. Really glad you enjoyed it. You are welcome any time. Rich (& Annie)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable, relaxing, beautiful condo in a great complex with easy beach access

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Rich and Annie's during the last week of June. Our plan was to have a relaxing vacation and check out some of what NSB has to offer, as it was our first time visiting. We got what we came for and then some! The unit is clean, homey, and has everything you could need or ask for - a full kitchen, master suite with Jacuzzi tub, and access to the building recreation centers. The rec centers each have a gym, a pool, and one has a theater that can be booked for private parties. It was honestly hard to leave such a comfortable space some days. When we did, however, we experienced much of Florida's natural beauty. The beach across the street (free chair and umbrella rentals at the rec center!) was perfect. Down the road is Canaveral National Seashore, which features awesome ocean views and fun trails for low key hiking. At JB's Fish Camp (a short drive away), we rented a kayak and spent an hour floating in a cove with nearly a dozen manatees! It was an incredible experience to be so close to them, and they were surprisingly friendly!

With the fully functional kitchen, we did a lot of cooking at home. When we did go out, we were not disappointed. C's Waffles and Bagel World were our favorite breakfast spots. For dinner there were no shortage of choices, but we personally loved the pizza at Touch of Italy and the ocean front seating at Chases on the Beach.

We came to New Smyrna Beach unsure of what to expect. There is so much more to see and do than we bargained for. Staying at Rich and Annie's condo made the whole experience perfect. We can't wait to visit NSB again!

Ali & Sarah

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you ladies; Annie and I are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. And thanks for the kind words. You are welcome any time. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Another Great Vacation At Oceanwalk

  • 4 of 5

We love Oceanwalk and have vacationed there the last six summers. Rich and Annie's condo was in a great location, was very clean, well equipped and they were so easy to work with. We will definitely rent from them again if it is available.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa. We enjoyed having you and your family and you are welcome any time. Best, Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Pete and Kathy

  • 5 of 5

We are thinking about a vacation again and will definitely go back to this Condo. It is clean and the amenities are beyond any we expected. As a matter of fact we are thinking about the next stage in our life which is retirement in the next few years and have decided that Ocean Walk is at the top of our list. I know this is late in coming, but, Annie And Rich, we thank you for a wonderful and memorable vacation. You guys are the best!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pete and Kathy. Glad you enjoyed our home. We'd love to have you in the neighborhood! Annie & Rich Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing unit! Another memorable vacation

  • 5 of 5

This unit is beautifully maintained. Walking in the first thing you notice is how clean and fresh it is. This is the setting for the perfect vacation as the unit provides everything you could need and the community offers all of your recreational needs just steps away. The easy access to the beach walkover makes this unit conveniently located. This is our second stay in this unit and it never disappoints. Thank you Rich and Annie. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. You are welcome any time. Richie & Annie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115 + Tax
Admin Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.5%

Check out @ 10:30 AM; Check in @ 3:00 PM. Five-day minimum for any booking including Saturday or Sunday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties