Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Excellent Walkability * Trendy Central Location * Beautiful * Easy Access *

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Walk To Parks, Shops, Dining, Entertainment And More

DENVER STR LICENSE #: 2017-BFN-0001949

The Blue Bear

We named this great home after one of our favorite public art pieces, the blue bear at the convention center. The piece encapsulates what we love about this city and our neighborhood. It’s whimsical but still traditional, full of surprises, and you never get bored with it.

Interior

The house has been recently updated and renovated to provide a comfortable and enjoyable home away from home. It hosts a total of 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with an additional non-conforming bedroom in the basement for overflow. The home features hardwood floors, coved ceilings, and updated kitchen and bathrooms. There are 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom on the main floor and an additional bathroom, game room, and non-conforming bedroom in the basement. There are 2 living rooms on the main floor (one is accessed through the third bedroom) as well as a formal dining room and sun room. The third bedroom can be used as a large master with en-suite living room or as bedroom with access to the second main floor living room. There is a patio with a table, chairs, and a grill at the back of the house. Large fenced backyard with tree house!

Amenities

On site laundry, fully equipped kitchen, gas grill, and family friendly amenities such as a pack and play, high chair, changing table, and board games.

Location

Excellent location! Walk to a trendy spots or just a short drive to everything wonderful denver has to offer. Just 2 miles from downtown denver and 4 blocks from the popular highlands square which is a pedestrian friendly hub with restaurants, shops, spas, salons, a b-cycle stand, and more. Easy access to major freeways such as i-70 and i-25. Close to both biking and hiking trails. Less than 2 hours from the ski and casino resorts. Safeway grocery is less than 1 mile away. Just a few minutes to incredible local attractions such as the performing arts complex, museums, the denver zoo, sports facilities, parks, aquarium, zoo, the 16th street mall, lower downtown (lodo), first rate shopping (cherry creek), outlet malls (colorado mills)

Distance to nearby amenities:

Highlands square (restaurants, shops, etc) - 4 blocks

Park - 4 blocks away

Grocery store - 10 blocks away

B-cycle stand - 4 blocks away

Lohi - 2 min

Downtown denver- 5 min

Cherry creek bike trail - 5 min

Performing arts center- 6 min

Convention center - 7 min

Invesco field (broncos) - 5 min

Pepsi center- 7 min

Coors field- 7 min

Cherry creek- 15 min

Colorado mills outlet mall - 20 min

Red rocks park- 25 min

Golden - 25 min

Boulder- 30 min

Colorado springs (broadmoor hotel)- 1 hr 45 min

Winter park- 1 hr 25 min

Vail- 1 hr 40 min

Aspen- 3 hr 45 min

Breckenridge- 1hr 30 min

Loveland ski resort-1 hr

Rmn park (estes park)- 1 hr 40 min

More Details

Owner
Mike
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Afrikaans
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 10, 2017

About Mike

Located within in the same neighborhood I'm always close by if you need anything.

Mike purchased this house in 2005

Why Mike chose Denver

We fell in love with this property almost 10 years ago due to its incredible location and the great amenities it has to offer. At the time the Highlands area was undergoing it's amazing transformation into the hot spot it is today.

What makes this house unique

The walkability factor here is unparalleled. Just a few short blocks to top rated Denver restaurants, shops, dining, and entertainment. Access to everything Denver and the surroundings has to offer is at your fingertips. There is something for everyone here; foodies, outdoor lovers, sports enthusiasts, art lovers, history lovers, you name it and it's within a few minutes away. Great place to hang out and enjoy this fantastic neighborhood and downtown Denver or to use as a base for skiing, outdoor adventure, Golden, Boulder, etc.

Amenities

Northwest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Basement Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Main Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2- Upstairs - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , *Full size Futon. There is no egress window in this bedroom
    Bedroom 3- Upstairs - 1 queen , **2nd main floor living area accessed through this room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
23% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Excellent Walkability * Trendy Central Location * Beautiful * Easy Access *
average rating of 4.5882354 based on 34 reviews
San Antonio, TX
5

Comfortable home in central Denver location

  • 5 of 5

This home served my family and I perfectly! We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to walk to a variety of restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. Grocery store close by as well. Easy access to all highways, yet still a very quiet neighborhood. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, and a fully stocked kitchen made the stay worry -free. Private outside area was a bonus. I have absolutely no complaints about this stay! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very quaint and homey

  • 5 of 5

Home was very comfortable and owners are easy to work with

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good Choice

  • 5 of 5

The Blue Bear House worked very well for our family stay in Denver. The house accommodated our family group very well. My wife and I had one bedroom, our daughter and her husband had the second bedroom, our other daughter and her husband had the third bedroom where their 20 month old daughter could use the 'pack and play' in the adjoining family room as a bedroom and playroom. The arrangement of the added family room in the back was unusual, but it worked well for us. Our son used the non-conforming bedroom in the basement.

The home was very clean and well-stocked with appliances, cookware and dishes. The bathrooms were well stocked with towels, toilet paper and other necessities.

The home is in a nice neighborhood with adequate street parking for our group. We found the location to be convenient to where we wanted or needed to go.

The home has a washer and dryer in the basement, which is very handy. The washer control knob does not function as originally intended. The knob should engage with the outer setting ring when depressed. Instead, one has to move the outer ring separately to the desired setting. It took two hands to do this, and the indicator mark is hard to see. Once one understands this, the hand-written instructions on the wall make sense. In light of the good condition of the rest of the home, it seems that repairing this would be an easily justified upkeep item.

Based on our experience, I would recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Denver home

  • 5 of 5

We had a very comfortable stay where the home was conveniently located.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Antonio,TX
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Property was clean, rooms were nice and beds were comfortable. The living room area was nice. Newly renovated bathroom in basement was convenient. Downtown nightlife was a $6.00 uber ride away. Close to many restraunts. Overall we had a great stay and will consider this property for future vacations!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location but dirty home.

  • 3 of 5

The location was fabulous!

We attempted to make coffee and the grounds had been left in the coffee maker for so long that there was mold growing inside the coffee maker. The basement was scary and dark. The carpet in the living room was very dirty (full of sand). The walkway to the garage was blocked by a fallen door. We were afraid to use anything in the kitchen after the coffee incident so we purchased disposable plates. Also, bug and/or rodent food all over the home which was not ok with us considering the home was listed as safe for children; our youngest is three.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you weren't satisfied with the home during your stay. We strive to ensure that every guest has a pleasant stay in the home. A bit of an explanation- We do have the home professionally cleaned between guests. In this case, we had a crew over to install a new sliding patio door from the living room to the back yard before your stay. They did complete the install prior to your arrival but unfortunately left the door leaning against the garage and clearly did not sufficiently clean up the work area. Additionally, we had a crew from Orkin over to do their annual springtime bug treatment. I believe what you saw were bug traps not bug food. The coffee maker was an oversight that shouldn't have been missed. For what it's worth we have replaced it with a keurig. The basement is a bit dark. Again, we apologize that the home did not live up to expectations. We have tried to address your concerns. I hope you will consider our home if you plan to travel to Denver again. Sincerely, Mike and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Meade Street Station
Nearest Golf
2.3 Miles
Willis Case Golf Course
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Union Station
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
I-25
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
32nd & Lowell
Nearest Ski
57 Miles
Loveland Ski Resort

Ideal Central location- a short 4 block walk to shops and restaurants at Highlands Square (32nd & Lowell). A short bike ride to downtown Denver/LODO (2.5 miles) & LOHI (1.5 miles). Right in the heart of all that Denver has to offer: performing arts complex, museums, botanic gardens, sports complexes, outdoor parks, fine dining, amusement parks, shopping and more!

45 Minutes to the mountains and 1.5 hours to ski resorts.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Northwest House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$249
$1,495
$5,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,200
$2,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable