Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Award Winning Garden Country Estate

Bedrooms 2
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Estate, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Aloha, and welcome to Ho'onanea, a Hawaiian-style estate, situated on just over an acre of award-winning botanical gardens on the western edge of the Big Island of Hawaii, perfectly poised to offer an unbelievably beautiful panoramic view of more that 40 miles of pristine coastline, including Kealakekua Bay, the Captain Cook Monument to the north, and the City of Refuge to the south. This private estate offers visitors unequaled tranquility and aesthetics, giving guests a chance to to experience Hawaii as few tourists ever can. The upper apartment has one bedroom with two double beds. The lower apartment has two sleeping areas--a bedroom with a queen-size bed, and a punee (queen-size Hawaiian-style built in bed) in the living area.

Keywords: Estate

More Details


Captain Cook Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) A futon is available but will take up floor space.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Unique Koa Art Furniture, Private Telephone, Ceiling Fans, Private Lanai, Works of Art from Hawaii's Famous Artists, Award winning gardens


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Award Winning Garden Country Estate
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA


  • 5 of 5

Susan was very accommodating and description of the apartment was accurate. The area, view, accommodations, pool, spa were wonderful. When we needed anything, Susan was more than happy to assist. We prepared most of our meals in house but did frequent the “Loco Wraps” next to Choice mart 3 times. Great wraps, Acai bowls, and smoothies. We did an adventure every day. We

Had a great time... Thanks Susan!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your stay and kind words. Look forward to your return to Ho’onanea. Aloha.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gorgeous property

  • 4 of 5

We loved the garden and the lanai, and overall felt the property had everything we needed with the exception of laundry services (but we knew that going into it). We recommend it!

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corvallis OR USA

Wonderful garden, stunning view

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is comprised of a spacious bedroom, bathroom and a combination living room-kitchenette. The kitchen is furnished adequately for light, vacation cooking. Dining is out on the beautiful lanai, which overlooks the garden, and down the mountainside to the ocean. There is no air conditioning, but the fans and cool mountain breezes make it unnecessary. Entry is down a very steep driveway and through a locked gate. Best to be prepared for that; arrive in the daytime if possible and read the arrival instructions before setting out. The best feature of the place is the incredible garden. The owner (and her gardening staff) have lovingly nurtured a stunning array of flowering and fruiting plants; she kindly gave us a tour. There is a lovely pool with the same amazing view down toward Honaunau Bay. Apart from birdsong, the place is utterly quiet and peaceful. We hope to return someday.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego CA

Garden Magic

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place! The gardens are exquisite, leaving one breathless no matter what direction you look. This is a very peaceful place to stay with sights and sounds of a lush tropical jungle. The birds are bountiful. Wonderful pool, balcony, artwork, woodwork - I highly recommend a stay with Susan.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui for your kind thoughts.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

We had the most comfortable and pleasant stay at this quiet garden country estate! The unit was clean, beautifully laid out, and had alot of deck space to sit out and watch the birds and the ocean. If you like quiet and lots of beautiful gardens, you'll love this place. The owner is very friendly but honors privacy. She was very helpful at providing local information. I can't say enough about how much we loved our stay there!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind words. It was lovely meeting you both, and I really appreciate Dennis' handyman skills. Door closer holding up well.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Austin, TX

Hawaiian vacation

  • 3 of 5

Five family members rented the upper and lower apartments in this estate. Without question, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous. There are small villages near this estate and the owner makes great recommendations as to where to eat and local activities. Three of us stayed in the lower apartment and quite frankly had some concerns about the unit. The kitchen is quite small, but adequate, no dishwasher. There is no interior dining area, all meals have to be eaten outside. There is a grill, but you will need to buy charcoal. The pillows in the bedroom with the punee (built in queen bed) were terrible, the white pillow cases were very yellow and stained. The carpet could definitely use a cleaning, it was quite soiled in certain areas. The hot tub is wonderful, we used it every day. We were told the pool water was warm enough to swim in, it was not, very disappointing. There is no washer and dryer, if you are making visits to some of the local beaches, the number towels available is not adequate. In the lower apartment where we stayed, the bathroom is between the kitchen and the bedroom with the punee. The doors on the bathroom and the kitchen are louvered, therefore privacy is minimal.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the accommodations. On the website, washer, dryer, and dishwasher are not listed as amenities. Additionally eating outside on the lanai is Hawaiian style. Over a dozen beach towels for five guests, should be plenty for your week. There is no excuse for yellowed linens. That will be attended to. Due to the high humidity in Hawaii, charcoal is stored in airtight bins. If you had only asked, it was available. Your concerns could have been attended to if you had chosen to make mention of. Perhaps a clearer reading of the website and schematics on your part, would have ameliorated your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1


Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 5, 2018


National Parks: Pu'uhonua o Honaunau, Volcano National Park, Kaloko National Park


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 14.45%

The rate of $130 dollars a night applies to a party of two in the upper unit; for a party of two in the lower unit, the rate is $135 a night.

On stays of 8 nights or more, one night at no charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties