Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bay View at the Point; beautiful renovated 4-season home, steps from bay & beach

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,627 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bdrm, 2 bath bay view home close to beach, major renovations, great amenities

Bay View at the Point is a spacious 4-season, 4 bedroom, 2 bath vacation home which has recently been extensively renovated.

Located in the heart of Sodus Point this home offers easy access to everything you love about vacationing here; Sodus Bay, marinas, parks, playgrounds, ice cream stands, restaurants, Lake Ontario, the beach, fishing pier and lighthouses are just steps from the home.

The home sleeps 13 people in beds in the bedrooms (plus you have the option of 2 more guests sleeping on the large sectional sofa in the living room).

2 bedrooms have queen pillow top beds and the other 2 bedrooms are set up with a variety of bunk beds and double beds. Renovations have included a custom kitchen with high-end cabinets & appliances, 2 beautiful full bathrooms, all new carpets, new living room furniture, dining tables/chairs for 16, huge windows across the entire front of home for viewing the bay and much more.

The home has 2 decks - front with bay views and back with extra seating and gas grill. You will find a fire ring in the side yard for enjoying a nice fire with s’mores, cocktails and time with good friends and family after a day of beach bumming, hiking, boating, golf, etc. Across the street is a town park where there is plenty of room for lawn games, Frisbee, softball, and the like and within view from the kitchen window is a beautiful playground and skate park just beyond that.

NO SMOKING / NO PETS.

If you like winter fun, snow mobile trails abound in the area and the bay is highly regarded for ice fishing, or go snowshoeing along the beach/bay or in the nearby parks.

Some of the home's amenities include: flat screen TV/DVD player in living room with extra TV/DVD units in 2 of the bedrooms, basic cable, WiFi, central air-conditioning (from June 1 to September 30), natural gas furnace/heat, games/puzzles, stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, 2 coffee makers, microwave oven, blender, air popcorn popper, laundry washer and dryer, well-stocked with dishes and utensils and so much more.

Traveler(s) is/are required to provide their own bed sheets, pillow cases, towels, paper & soap products, and any other items to complete their vacation stay as well as departure cleaning unless otherwise arranged prior.

CHECK OUT THE MID WEEK DISCOUNTS DURING SPRING AND FALL.

The Village of Sodus Point includes 2 lighthouses, museum (free summer Sunday concerts on the lawn), fishing pier, several marinas, charter fishing boats, 2 playgrounds, skate park, ball field, public beach and an adorable toddler beach (both with lifeguards), restaurants, ice cream stands, gift shop, church, and convenience market.

Nearby amenities include the beautiful Sodus Bay Heights Golf Course, wineries, Chimney Bluffs State Park (a must see if you've never been there before), farm stands and so much more.

NEED MORE SPACE? Ask about our adjacent 2 bedroom cottage known as Bayside Getaway that sleeps 5 guests; rent both houses and you'll be able to accommodate 18-20 guests with 6 bedrooms and 3 baths.

PLEASE, NO HOUSE PARTIES, PROM PARTIES, WEDDINGS, TENTS OR CAMPING TRAILERS/VEHICLES PERMITTED ON THE COTTAGE PROPERTY.

More Details

Owner
Ted Welter
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Ted Welter

My wife Jackie and I own this home and the adjacent cottage and love spending time here.

Ted Welter purchased this house in 2014

Why Ted Welter chose Sodus Bay

It's right in the middle of the very walkable Sodus Point Village with water views, easy access to everything and the wall of window in front sold us.

Amenities

Sodus Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1627 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15 ...
  • Max. adults: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Traveler(s) to provide their own bed sheets, pillow cases, towels, paper & soap products.
  • Traveler(s) to self-clean home prior to departure unless otherwise arranged. Optional cleaning service available for $135.
  • No tents or campers permitted on the cottage property.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1st Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower , Remodeled full bath with shower (no tub)
    2nd Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Remodeled with 2 sinks, full tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • 1st Floor Rear - 1 queen , Wall fan, TV with built-in DVD player
    2nd Floor Rear - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , sleeps 4, ceiling fan
    Living Room - Large sectional sofa can accomodate 2 guests at your option
    2nd Floor South - Waterview - 1 queen , Ceiling fan, TV with built-in DVD player
    2nd Floor North - Waterview - 2 double , 1 twin/ single , 2 double beds and 1 twin bunk above - sleeps 5 , ceiling fan
  • For planning purposes, please notice there are beds within the 4 bedrooms that can sleep 13 guests, plus 2 additional guests at your option on the sectional sofa in the living room. Please keep in mind that there are no blinds planned for that large wall of windows so whoever sleeps in the living room may need to be early risers :) Bed Size Numbers for Sheets: Queen (2), Full/Double (3), Twin (3) plus the sectional sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Bay View at the Point; beautiful renovated 4-season home, steps from bay & beach
average rating of 4.7586207 based on 29 reviews
4

Nice house and yard

  • 4 of 5

The house and yard were very nice; we enjoyed being able to spend time outside and use the fire pit. The owner was helpful and kept me updated with area information and things to do in the area. The issues we had are that the air conditioning does not work. We visited on a very warm weekend in June and the house was hot. Nighttime was terrible because there was very little airflow and no AC. Fortunately we brought window fans with us so that was helpful. We found that the DVD player on the living room TV would only play one DVD and there were very limited cable options for the kids (there were 6 kids 4 and under).

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Elizabeth, we saw your online review of your last weekend’s stay and we feel very badly about the air conditioning and DVD player problems. We wish you had called the maintenance phone number provided as we would have helped rectify those problems right away. Coincidently this weekend’s guests told us about the air conditioning issue yesterday and we had it resolved within just a couple hours from their initial text. The AC unit is only a few years old and in perfect working order. Unfortunately however, when it was turned on at the beginning of the season a safety switch on the outside unit was mistakenly left in the off position. The technician had it running moments after arrival and we wish we could have done that for you so you weren’t inconvenienced. Given how new the AC unit is, this one caught by surprise as we’ve never had a problem during the cooling season, particularly since we have all those ceiling/wall fans throughout the house. As for the living room DVD player, hopefully you were able to entertain the kids with the 2 other TV/DVD. Nonetheless, we’ll have that living room DVD player checked and/or replaced as necessary for future guests. On the issue of the 20 TV channels we’ve considered upgrading the package but with the 3 DVD players, large selection of DVDs, games and other things to do while in Sodus Point we’ve kept the basic package while being careful to advertise it with basic cable so that guests know what to expect. We are very sorry for your troubles and hope you will consider returning again some time. Ted & Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Weekend Getaway Ever

  • 5 of 5

We had an absolute blast at the house. So much to do in the yard (baseball, kickball, games, and campfire) and great proximity to lighthouse and playground. Unfortunately, couldn't go boating because Lake Ontario is flooded, but it didn't matter. I would highly recommend the house and Ted was awesome to work with. We'll be doing this again for sure. There was 15 of us, 8 of which were kids under age 10. Thank you, Ted and Jackie, for an amazing experience!!!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The house was great, no complaints at all.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice and clean house in a great location.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to hear you liked the home and we hope the fishing was successful too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, updated, comfortable. A wonderful get away!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome! Great layout with a wonderful kitchen, dining area, spacious living room and excellent space to spread out and play games. The floor plan worked beautifully for our group. The sleeping areas accommodated our large number and there was no need to use air mattresses! Plenty of parking too! I would highly recommend this spot to anyone!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bear Creek Township Pennsylvania
5

Above average for this area.

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year staying at Bay View at the Point.

The property is very accurately listed, no surprises.

Ted is easy and professional to deal with.

I believe he is a realtor by trade in the nearby Rochester area which helps explain the attention to great detail and an understanding of the local market.

Sodus Point is a great little town with a few beautifully maintained public areas, parks, playgrounds etc.

Being a geographically unique feature on one of the great lakes can make this a popular destination in the summer.However, it still has a very backwoods, off the beaten path charm to it.

As for tips while in the area?

Convenient mart/gas station which also sells beer borders the property.Some people may read this and imagine it as a negative but believe me, it does not interfere in any way.No noise, no aesthetic issue(surrounded by an attractive wooden fence), and a net positive to this house.

The nearby Chimney Bluffs state park is a must in season and the Sodus Point lighthouse and museum is about 2 blocks away.

In the winter the dining options are limited.

We like the Franklin House Tavern, Captain Jacks is ok and within walking distance(more of a fun bar to watch the Syracuse basketball games than a foodie stop), and a ride to the Pultnyville Deli for lunch (about 15 minutes away down a scenic stretch of the lake)is our norm.

We will always try to return to this property or any others Ted has when visiting this area.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you and your family continue to enjoy the home and the area. Please come back anytime. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Home was nicely appointed and comfortable except for the snow and ice on the front steps.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely but not really suitable for a short term rental. It was too much to have to lug linens, towels, paper products, etc for just a 3 day stay and then have to scrub toilets, showers, and floors on top of it to avoid paying a huge cleaning fee. It left us feeling like servants instead of guests. The requirements might have been appropriate for a two week or month's rental but not 3 days.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry about the snow issue Karen. I wish you had mentioned it when you spoke with Jackie as she would have dispatched the snow contractor. As for cleaning, we can provide exit cleaning for an additional cost. Most of the guests however, prefer to save that cost and clean on their way out so we don't push the extra service (sorry). If you ever decide to return to the area we'd be happy to hear from you and make sure to resolve these issues for you. Thanks again for renting with us and taking such great care of our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
47 Miles
Greater Rochester International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Golf
2.1 Miles
Sodus Bay Heights Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Beach
0.08 Miles
Sodus Point Beach
Car: recommended

If you want to bring your boat there are slip rentals within 100 yards from the cottage that offer daily or weekly slip rental, as well as a place to put your boat in daily if preferred. You can also rent boats, kayaks, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sodus Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$290
Fri,Sat
$1,595
 
 
July 4th Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,525
 
 
Summer
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,025
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,595
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$180
From
$265
Fri,Sat
$1,225
 
 
Columbus Day Weekend
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$265
From
$265
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,225
 
 
Fall
Oct 9 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$975
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$975
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$975
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$195
Fri,Sat
$875
 
 
Christmas & New Year
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,125
 
 
Winter - Late
Jan 2 2018 - Apr 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$875
 
 
Early Spring
Apr 16 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$230
Fri,Sat
$995
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 25 2018 - May 27 2018
3 night minimum stay
$280
From
$280
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,150
 
 
Late Spring
May 28 2018 - Jun 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
$185
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties