Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Cedar Cabin on 5 Acres in Forest by Lake- 2 Cabins in 1

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Don't miss staying at this warm and inviting luxury cedar cabin in the forest that was remodeled in 2010 - it is also two separate but attached homes in one (you get both for the one quoted price).

Most cabins in Pollock Pines are on a steep hillside and close to the road - but not this cabin. It is set back on 5 tree-filled acres that are usable, walkable, and has play sets for kids and a year round fresh water stream right on the property - providing a romantic place to sit by the stream, a place for kids to explore, and beautiful sounds of water (most other cabins can only hear the water but this property has the stream running on the property).

Each floor of this cabin is set up as its own separate home but they are connected by interior stairs. This cabin has two master suites (each with its own bathroom), 3 full bathrooms - one with a Jacuzzi tub, two separate and full kitchens, two family rooms, two washers and dryers, a large dining room and a gameroom. There is a lot of privacy for a large group or just spread out and enjoy the space if you are a small group.

You will not be stuck in the cabin all day like in other cabins that have a steep property. Since the cabin is set back from the street, the forested property provides privacy and a feeling like you are camping in the forest but with all of the luxuries of home. Take a walk through the forest on this property and have a picnic at the picnic table by the private stream.

Even though you are tucked away in the trees, this cabin is in an established neighborhood and is close to all amenities - including the Lake and two private neighborhood swimming pools, tennis courts and a playground (including a swing set, horseshoes, pool table, and ping pong). The cabin also has its own horse shoes, pool table, ping pong table, games, and swing set - all within full sized warm cedar walls. You don't have to bend down to stand up or walk like in A-framed cabins.

If you really want to feel refreshed from a vacation then you have found the right place. You won't have neighbors watching your every move. You will have room to run and play and simply refresh your senses. This Luxury Cabin was updated in 2010 and has stainless steel appliances, granite tile counters, custom tile in both master bathrooms, Hi-Speed satellite internet, Premium TV channels - all within warm cedar lined walls. Only the best.

There is something magical about this cabin that keeps people coming back. Sit inside by the fire at night, lay on the large balcony under the trees during the day and sit by the private year round stream or go out on a different adventure everyday.

Close to boating, water and snow skiing, wine tasting, historic gold mining towns, Apple Hill, the new Red Hawk Casino, and so much more:

This luxury cabin is located near Jenkinson Lake in Pollock Pines. At the lake you can go boating (bring your own or there are canoes, pedal boats, row boats, and kayaks for rent). Visit the museum, go hiking along one of the many trails, go horseback riding (many equestrian trails), bicycle along one of the many trails, go on a picnic, or go fishing. You may catch trout, small mouth bass, or blue gill. The nearby rivers also offer great opportunities for White Water rafting. And don't forget the neighborhood also offers 2 pools, tennis courts and playgrounds (pool open in the summer from Memorial day to Labor day).

Other activities include panning for gold in the original location where gold was discovered resulting in the 1849 gold rush. Or head to Apple Hill where you can visit one of the many ranches along the Farm Trails offering sweet corn, vine ripe tomatoes, fresh green beans, chestnuts, pumpkins, and colorful bouquets and much more (type of harvest available depends on the season during your stay). Many farms have Bake shops, pony rides, and various other activities. Don’t miss stopping at the Fudge Factory!

Apple Hill also provides tasting rooms with award winning wines. Apple Hill is one of the two appellations within El Dorado County. The other is located south of Pollock pines in scenic Fair Play – all within 3 miles of each other. A map with the Farm trails and wineries will be provided.

If you are looking for a great game of golf you can play at a truly championship golf course offering breathtaking views of nature. Or take a visit to Historic Placerville for Antique shopping or boutique hopping. Many restaurants and shops can be enjoyed. You may want to take a day trip up to South Lake Tahoe. This drive is only about 45 miles and will provide for lots of entertainment and gambling opportunities.

In the winter months you will have plenty of opportunity for skiing at one of the local ski resorts. Sierra-at-Tahoe is only about 30 miles down Hwy 50 from this vacation home. Many others are located between Pollock Pines and South Lake Tahoe. You can also go sledding at Adventure Mountain. It is also about 30 minutes down HWY 50 and is only a parking fee and sled all you want for free!

Click on the calendar for availability which is always up to date. Feel free to e-mail or call today. Last minute reservations are welcome.

Keywords: Vacation, Cabin

More Details

Owner
Suzy Sparacio
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Suzy Sparacio

My husband and I purchased this cabin years ago and fell in love with it. It is so peaceful and romantic for us - while at the same time providing a great place for our kids to explore on the property's 5 acres in the forest. We have been renting out this cabin to guests for over a decade as a vacation rental so we are experienced and have worked out all of the kinks years ago. We have memories at this cabin to last a lifetime - and I'm sure you will too.

Suzy Sparacio purchased this cabin in 2005

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had such a blast--we went swimming, went to the lodge, went to the lake, went hiking, looked at the stars, had a BBQ, and sat under the big trees on the private 5 acres! I enjoyed the large layout of the cabin and the two kitchens--since we had a big group. Glad they provided little touches like shampoo, conditioner, and blow dryers. Enjoyed the clean cabin with updated appliances, granite, and warm cedar walls. We have been many times and can't wait to go back again!
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Pollock Pines Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Master Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , The twin trundle bed slides out from under the Queen bed.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , The twin trundle bed slides out from under the Queen bed.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 baby crib , 2 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper sofas in each of 2 living rooms (separate floors)
  • Crib is a pack-in-play type.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
5 Tree-Filled Acres with a year-round stream. Swing set, playground, pool table, ping pong table, and horse shoe set on the property. Membership included to the private neighborhood lodge with foosball, ping pong and pool table as well as tennis courts, two swimming pools, and a play ground (swimming pool is open in summer and tennis is closed during snow). Satellite TV with premium channels like HBO, radio music stations, Wireless Satellite Broadband, Neighborhood Hiking Trail and close to Jenkinson Lake in Sly Park Recreation Area. Smoking outside only.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Luxury Cedar Cabin on 5 Acres in Forest by Lake- 2 Cabins in 1
average rating of 4.785714 based on 30 reviews
5

Great weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Suzy was very responsive and accomodating. She answered my questions in a timely fashion and understanding of changes that came up. The cabin was warm, inviting and had all the essentials... and then some! Would love to stay there again if the chance ever arises.

Thank you again!

Sonia

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sonia--So glad you had a good time. I hope you can come back again! Suzy :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clovis, CA
5

This is our fourth time staying here and it is still our favorite place to go when we come to the a

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place as always It really suits our family. This has become a tradition for my family as this was our fourth time staying here. Always clean and homey. We always recommend this cabin to our friends who come to Apple Hill.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great cabin in the woods. would stay again.

  • 5 of 5

took a weekend trip to Apple Hill with 8 adults. spacious and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fall is such a wonderful time at Apple Hill! I'm glad you enjoyed the cabin during your stay. Keep in touch for future Apple Hill trips. Suzy :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Old, rustic cabin. Not "Luxury" as advertised. "High speed" internet doesn't work.

  • 1 of 5

I would not stay at this cabin again unless the owner started advertising this truthfully and charged less. This is an old rustic cabin, not a luxury cabin as advertised. Upon our arrival, the cabin was absolutely filthy. We found cob webs and dust bunnies everywhere. We found dirty socks under one of the beds. The floors, countertops and table were all dirty and sticky. Outside there was dog poop and trash around the immediate perimeter of the cabin.

The floors upstairs creaked so horribly that everyone in the house woke up when anyone moved around in the hallway or bedrooms during the night.

The door knob for the entry near the kitchen was loose (the owner told us about this prior to our arrival but for some reason didn't get it fixed) when we got there and it came off when we tried to exit the door to the deck. Until I fixed it everyone was forced, including my 67 year old mother and my sister who was 8 months pregnant to exit the house via the door out of the living room onto the deck that is 2" higher than the door threshold. Everybody tripped on that deck. Fortunately, no one got hurt other than some badly stubbed toes.

I was also perplexed as to why they would advertise that the cabin had high speed internet service. I couldn't send/receive something as simple as my email much less open a web page. There was nothing high speed about the service and I'd wager a bet that a person could devise a way to transfer data at a higher rate of speed using two cups and some string. Very frustrating when you have business that needs attending to and you're counting on the "high speed" internet as advertised.

We contacted the owner and asked for a fair price and a refund of our cleaning deposit. She has refused.

Don't stay here. Not sure how she got all her good reviews but beware.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Why this review is so drastically different from over 10 years of positive reviews: This guest contacted me right before their arrival and said they wanted to cancel and receive a full refund because they were pregnant and afraid they might go into labor during their stay and changed their minds. I had no idea they were pregnant and said it would be highly unlikely I could possibly get a replacement guest with almost no notice. I reminded them of the refund policy. They got mad and went to the cabin for only part of their reservation and left early because the guest in fact gave birth. They demanded a refund again. I again reminded them of the refund policy and that I held this reservation for them for a long time. They then said they would write a terrible review if I didn't give them a refund even though I provided them the utmost care I give all reservations: I had the cabin professionally cleaned and I provided satellite high speed service (and always disclose it is fast but not as quite as fast as cable--even though it is more expensive than cable but satellite is all that is offered in the forest--and I always send email, texts and things without a problem) and I always give out my personal cell number to all guests so they can call me if they have any problems during their stay and I always correct problems as fast as possible. These guests never called with any complaints of any cleaning or maintenance issues during their stay because they didn't have any problems. After they went home to give birth they again demanded a refund due to the birth interrupting their stay. I'm not sure why they made a reservation so close to their due date but I am sorry they decided it was my responsibility to pay for their shortened trip due to their timing a trip during their due date and that they decided to use a dishonest review as retaliation. They agreed to the refund policy when they made the reservation knowing it was near their due date (and that I didn't know). Luckily interested guests can read over 10 years of positive reviews to see that this is a wonderful cedar cabin in the forest and that I will treat your stay with the utmost care I always do and always have. Thanks, Suzy
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
petaluma, CA
5

Spacious, private, great front deck and front room area!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 12 really enjoyed our stay - the nearby Jenkinsin lake is beautiful (but get there by 9am on the weekends for a good day-use spot) the cabin was perfectly comfortable for all!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The cabin was very nice, private, and spacious.

  • 5 of 5

Loved how the owner had everything labeled so you know right where things go. Also a visiters center in the house with material on every activity going on around the cabin. She was very helpful. The drive to the lake was short and easy to get to. I would definately plan another trip here.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

White Water Rafting, Red Hawk Casino, Gold panning, Wine tasting, Harvest fruit on one of the many family run farms on the Farm trails - as featured in Sunset Magazine, Fudge Factory, Lake Jenkinson, and so more when you are up in the Sierras!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $275
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Please consider purchasing vacation renter's insurance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties