Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

COASTAL COTTAGE: NEW RENO SUMMER SPECIAL $750wk/$1900 month

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bed/1 bath is for families and fido to enjoy!

This cottage is perfect for families and friends to retreat at the beach. Pets and kids will enjoy the large yard and comforts of home. There are 3 bedrooms & sleeps 6 and a futon for 7. New tile and trim throughout main living and bath area. Located on the Indian River, just 1.25 miles from the Melbourne Causeway and 2.0 miles from the Eau Gallie Causeway. This is a paddle board, surfing, biking, active, artistic community. It's a short 5 min. drive to the beach. Pet friendly fenced in back yard. Local and international top surfing beach.

You will find the comforts of home while enjoying the relaxation and beauty in this tropical vacation home!

More Details

Owner
Bryon Secrest
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 4, 2017

About Bryon Secrest

This house is our favorite place to be! We thoroughly love unplugging our electronics and spending the days on the beach and the nights with friends dining out or walking around at festivals, markets and art district in downtown Melbourne or EauGallie..Vintage antique shops surround the area as well as a ton of amazing seafood dining spots and live music venues. Just a 15 mile drive to Cocoa Beach for nightly entertainment or dining. There are dozens of state parks to enjoy.

Bryon Secrest purchased this house in 2012

Why Bryon Secrest chose Melbourne

This property is in a quiet neighborhood on the Indian River. We can walk to Dunkin Donuts or ride bikes to Starbucks. It is a mile from the house to the bridge to fish or shrimp, put in the kayaks and paddle boards. Pier access 2.5 miles away is free to fish.

It is a must experience for every family!

What makes this house unique

We offer a fenced in backyard for dogs. We are just 5 minutes to the best surfing beach in Florida. Check out local surf contests, art shows, weekend running races or 50 miles away. Cape Canaveral is 30 minutes to tour our NASA station or Cocoa Beach 15 miles away for awesome surf and sun.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My friends and I had an awesome girls week in your home. We enjoyed the art district and downtown Melbourne. Riding bikes across the causeway was fun and paddleboarding with Paddleboard House was the best!
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Tradewinds Homes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 09:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Smoking is prohibited on the premises or inside the home. You will forfeit your security deposit if smoking takes place.
  • damage from pets will be deducted from the security deposit. The pet deposit is a fee per pet per stay for boarding the pet.
  • Please park your vehicles to the left of the driveway in front of the fence and on the driveway area. Additional vehicles must park on the street.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Outdoor shower located in back yard
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower
  • shower, jet tub and wash area
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 queen and 1 full size beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
For monthly renters housekeeping is available $100 per cleaning additional fee to come at your request to launder linens towels and clean floors and bathroom.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
21% Complete
COASTAL COTTAGE: NEW RENO SUMMER SPECIAL $750wk/$1900 month
average rating of 4.0526314 based on 23 reviews
5

Great place for a great price!

  • 5 of 5

Great place for a great price and pet friendly! Melbourne has great beaches! If you are up for the drive 30 minutes away is the Sebastian inlet state park you have to pay to get in but it is not expensive and the beaches are absolutely beautiful!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guest. You have discovered one of the things that we love about this place. Please come back! It was a pleasure having you and your family for your vacation. Bryon and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable beach House

  • 5 of 5

This is a super cozy and clean cottage type home. We almost bypassed it, when looking at the pictures of the outside (we have high standards). I am thankful we did not, because upon opening the front door, you walk into this sweet adorable very clean home and the decor is just enough, as well. My family and I definitely cook in the kitchens, as we eat local and fresh organic food. Having said this, the kitchen was well stocked, and accommodated big breakfast lunch and dinners, for our family. The living room offers two sofas, and even better a television with direct tv and Netflix, which was our favorite gathering space in the home, and theres barstools looking into the kitchen, and the open design allowed for us all to be together. The bathroom was spacious and very clean towels, for our use. The home offers two queen bedrooms one one end of the home, one with a tv and direct tv, as well. On the other end of the home offers the 3rd bedroom, with a futon ( our daughter and her 3 children, all slept in there and was super happy with the privacy). Outside this bedroom, is the laundry area with a very good working washer and dryer. The home offers a fenced in back yard, as well. The owners of the home, quickly responded to all my emails prior to our arrival, and was so very accommodating to us, as well. My family and I traveled down for a wedding and extended our trip to spend time in the sun. The neighborhood is very quiet and safe. There's a sweet little guest book, and I actually found myself reading through the past guest's comments ( I do read, as I am a doctor) but to take the time to sit and read the book, was special and I found one of my granddaughters made an entry. Truly, by reading my review, it's easy to see how much we enjoyed our stay here. Thank you Bryan and Melissa well done!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Home misrepresented, owner unreasonable

  • 1 of 5

Property l​ist photo is of Cocoa Beach (45 minutes away), not Melbourne. Home is listed as "on the river;" river is across busy US-1 in a warehouse docking area. When told where I was staying, locals were surprised by a vacation home in this part of town. The area is industrial, run down, poorly lit, home not clearly marked, no amenities nearby (no groceries, drug stores, restaurants​,​ gas stations within miles). ​The decor is beachy, but home was musty and smelled of mildew– I suffered allergies my entire stay. Pretty wood tile flooring throughout. Kitchen is modern and cute, but no seating for kitchen table, only 3 bar stools.The leather couch is uncomfortable; second couch was blanket-covered to hide stains. TV is tiny with no ESPN available (important during bowl season). Front bedroom is large and bright, smelled strongly of pet odor and smoke. Second bedroom was very dark but cozy, rear bedroom is a remodeled garage. It was the coolest room in the house with a window A/C; the owner ​required ​home A/C not above 73 degrees (very warm for FL).​ Only 4 bath towels offered, although home states it accommodates 6. No beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, or any beach amenities for reported "beach cottage."​

Wear shoes at all times! The yard is covered in sand spurs; my dog was​ afraid to go outside, having multiple spurs in her feet on re-entry. Painful spurs through the house. Backyard is private, but an empty lot with a table and chairs, no trees or landscaping.

With fees & deposits, this home was over double the listed nightly rate. I ​was charged​ two non-refundable pet fees, a security deposit, and a cleaning fee - nearly the cost of a five night stay. On the rental agreement, I did not notice “no smoking,” as it was hidden underneath the pet rules. I did smoke a few times outside the home, but I cleaned all smoking debris. I forgot my lighter and​ reportedly​ missed a pile of pet waste (after paying the pet fee); ​​the owner refused to return my security deposit. At the price I was charged, I could have stayed in a much nicer hotel than this home

I ​​own vacation homes in FL & NC and have rented numerous homes worldwide ​(Central America, Europe, Caribbean, etc.) ​- this was the worst rental experience I have had. The home is not pet-friendly, is misrepresented, and the property manager is both unreasonable and unwilling to compromise. Look elsewhere for a "beach" home in Central Florida.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms. Brendle It is our goal that every guest enjoy their time in our home and ensure comfort and cleanliness of the property inside and out. For 3 years we have enjoyed families , retired couples , and pet owners vacationing through VRBO and several other websites that we are hosts with. The 3 reviews that we have had scoring low are due to renters like you who smoked or let pets run rampant to destroy the property and consequently did not get their security deposit returned. I'm sorry you didn't communicate with us during your stay that you were unhappy or that you needed anything. It is so important to communicate ahead of time, during or after your stay. It's also important to read the signed rental agreement. Im sorry you did not read the no smoking policy when you booked the property and again when you signed your rental agreement. Because you allowed your pets to urinate on the carpet and futon, to lay on the furniture soiling the couch, left nearly a dozen piles of pet waste in the yard and discarded cigarette waste in the yard, your refund was forfeited by Vrbo and myself. Unfortunately you left a smoking odor that lingers long after you put it out that our guests do not want . In the future make sure your needs are provided for by booking a property that allows smoking. We take pride in the cleanliness and care of this property and want to maintain the relaxing environment for our future guests. Bryon Secrest
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Very cozy clean home when we arrived.

  • 5 of 5

The location was just right for our experience in Melbourne. Just a short drive to town or the beach. Thank you for the opening you home to us.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Property was well maintained. No problems with the location or neighborhood. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a place that allows pets.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Adam, thank you for your kind words. We are glad you had a great week and hope you'll come back again. Bryon and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great little house in Melbourne FL

  • 4 of 5

We had a blast staying at the Byron Seacrest house in Melbourne, FL. The house was everything VRBO said it was. Clean, well Maintained. Though small it had the feeling of a summer cottage. The house is close to all the attractions in Melbourne and Not too far from Orlando. Some of the attractions close are the soft ice cream shop down the street (US 1) and Mustards Last Stand for lunch. While some of the family did the Orlando thing, some went fishing the house was a great place to kick off your shoes at the end of the day. We arrived early on our start and met both Bryon and Melissa. Both of you are good people and made us welcome. All of our family had a great vacation!! Thank You Thank You

Douglas Hungerford

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Doug It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Thank you for staying and for your kind words. We hope you'll come back again. Bryon and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Melbourne International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Squid Lips
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
dunkin donuts, starbucks,mustards last stand bagel
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Indialantic Beach
Car: recommended

Orlando and Disney 70 m away, Cape Canaveral 30 m distance, Sebastian Inlet 25m, Cocoa Beach 15 miles Melbourne Mall 8 m,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tradewinds Homes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$107
$805
$2,415
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $225
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 11.0%

Damage Deposit, Cleaning fee and Pet fee are due upon booking a reservation. The damage deposit will be refunded after check out within 7 days. All payments must be made through the Homeaway website. Rental agreement must be returned and signed by the owner to ensure reservation is valid.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable