Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

STUNNING LOCATION – CHARMING STAY – OCEAN AIR

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Private guest loft overlooking Melmerby Beach Provincial Park

Looking for a stress free time away from the everyday. Debating between the comfort of a chic hotel and the trill of more authentic accommodations? You’ll get the best of both with this cozy studio apartment.

Located on the inner harbor of one of Nova Scotia’s finest beaches comes a fully furnished suite with a queen –sized bed, luxury bed linens and towels, a kitchenette with dining table, sofa and chairs, tv with Netflix, air conditioning and a private bathroom. It’s the perfect size for two people. This hidden gem is packed with character from its sloped ceilings & sky lights to it’s window bench overlooking the ocean.

When your ready to venture out, King’s Head is located 12 minutes from the charming town of New Glasgow, 1.5 hours from Halifax International Airport, 30 minutes to the P.E.I ferry terminal & 2 hours from Cape Breton's famous Cabot Trail.

Melmerby Beach is one of the best and most popular beaches in Nova Scotia, with some of the warmest waters around.

Known as “The Merb” for short, boardwalks lead from the parking area, over the dunes to a 2km strip of sand. In the summer there are lifeguards on hand plus changing rooms, toilets and showers. Everything is free to enjoy.

There are actually two sides to Melmerby Beach, the main outer beach with the best sand and swimming, and a smaller inner beach which is more sheltered from the ocean but with incredibly warm water. That’s where we are located.

Nestled down a long wooded lane over looking Melmerby Beach and the rock bluffs of Roy's Island we often see deer, eagles, rabbits, and sometimes seals in the harbor. There is lots of room to ride bikes, take walks, kayak, wind-sail or just skip rocks.

The book shelf is stalked with books, puzzles, legos & games to help you relax.

You’ll find the locals are really welcoming and we’d be happy to help out with any questions about local activities and bookings.

More Details

Owner
Amy
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Amy

Hi! This is a picture of our little family. We play, work, love and live in our little community and are very happy to be able to share it with you.

Amy purchased this studio in 2014

Map

Nearest Airport
92 Miles
Halifax Stanfield Internation Airport
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Dock - new glasogow
Nearest Ferry
26 Miles
Ferry to PEI
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Glen Lovat Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Trans Canada Highway
Nearest Restaurant
8.9 Miles
The Bistro
Nearest Ski
76 Miles
Wentworth
Nearest Beach
3.4 Miles
Melmerby Beach Provincial Park
Car: necessary

Amenities

New Glasgow Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is small & cozy finished with natural pine and has a skylight. It's fully stocked with towels, face clothes, blow dryer & toilet paper.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • The loft is an open room similar to a hotel suit. There is a queen bed with side tables, lamps and a closet of hang your clothes. The living area has two cozy chairs and a love seat, coffee table & large tv. The kitchen area has cooktop, microwave, toaster, tassimo coffee maker and a small fridge with tiny freezer as well as a dining table for 4. The bathroom is a separate with standup shower, sink, and toilet.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
STUNNING LOCATION – CHARMING STAY – OCEAN AIR
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
London, Ontario
5

A lovely site. Great accommodation and very friendly hosts.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The loft had everything we needed & was very comfortable. Amy & Kevin were very welcoming & friendly and it was a great place to either come home to at the end of a day of touring or just to hunker down and relax if we were too tired to travel. Amazing sunsets that I don't think I could ever tire of right from our window.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so please that you enjoyed your stay and it was pleasure to meet you both. Happy Travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful beachfront property

  • 4 of 5

My daughter and I stayed at Amy & Kevin's place for two nights - July 5-7, 2016. It was our first VRBO experience - so we were apprehensive/ unsure what to expect.

In anticipation of our arrival, Amy touched base with us, providing their home security details and instructions for the AC unit.

The bachelor style loft overlooked the beach with breathtaking views of the evening's sunsets. The unit is fully equipped - with everything a couple needs - whether it's for a few days or longer. The queen size bed was incredibly comfy, the bathroom looks as though it was recently remodelled/ renovated, and the unit is perfectly situated - 2 minutes from "The Merbs" and a 10 minute drive to New Glasgow or 20 minutes to Pictou - both small towns offer an impressive selection of dining experiences.

The only reason I am not giving our stay a 5* is because 1) upon arrival we noticed the unit was very dusty - likely a result of having been uninhabited for upwards of a week. My daughter has severe allergies (to dust) which meant that we had to spend the initial 30 minutes wiping down the flat surfaces; 2) the unit is bright and airy - a function of multiple floor-to-ceiling windows and skylights. Unfortunately, we are light sleepers and in the absence of room darkening shades - we woke up at 6am every day and 3) the unit does NOT have wifi or satellite TV - which on a rainy day (with a child/ teenager in tow) makes it "boring". That being said, it's a slice of heaven and the perfect remote escape from an industrialized city's hustle and bustle.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review. I am sorry that you found the loft dusty, it was cleaned from top to bottom 4 days prior to your arrival. Unfortunately we don't have cable tv however we do have Netflix. Also, we do have Wifi, I am sorry you miss out on it. Defiantly a lack of communication on my behalf. I won't forget to let our next guests know!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ottawa, Ontario
5

Worth Every Bit of the 5 Star Ratings

  • 5 of 5

After spending the days working at a relative's property, it was so nice to return to Amy and Kevin's loft at the end of each day. The setting is gorgeous and the loft had everything needed for a quiet and relaxing stay. It was all made even better by the thoughtfulness of our hosts who made my husband, young grandson and me feel at home from the moment of our arrival. I would strongly recommend this location. The loft is a beautiful open concept which is perfect for singles, couples or small families. Hope to get back on a real holiday to enjoy everything the area has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We try hard to make sure everyone has a great stay and we are so happy to hear you did! Talk soon, A&K
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thoughtful touches made good, great!

  • 5 of 5

We had a really wonderful stay in this lovely studio apartment. I really appreciated all the toys for our son. Amy and Kevin were amazing hosts who made us feel like old friends very quickly. Their house is within beautiful grounds, and this is a gorgeous time of year to explore with leaves at the height of fall colour, and empty beaches. If I was in the area again I would make a point of staying with them.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5

Really lovely accommodations, gorgeous scenery and the most hospitable people on earth! Spent 3 days there and the place had everything needed to make us feel at home (mini fridge, dishes, cooktop). Would absolutely stay again.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

oceanic getaway

  • 4 of 5

lovely view with quiet surroundings. the accomadations clean and well stocked. it is on second level and July is a bit warm without air conditioning.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties