Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

STUNNING LOCATION – CHARMING STAY – OCEAN AIR

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq ft
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Private guest loft overlooking Melmerby Beach Provincial Park

Looking for a stress free time away from the everyday. Debating between the comfort of a chic hotel and the trill of more authentic accommodations? You’ll get the best of both with this cozy studio apartment.

Located on the inner harbor of one of Nova Scotia’s finest beaches comes a fully furnished suite with a queen –sized bed, luxury bed linens and towels, a kitchenette with dining table, sofa and chairs, tv with Netflix, air conditioning and a private bathroom. It’s the perfect size for two people. This hidden gem is packed with character from its sloped ceilings & sky lights to it’s window bench overlooking the ocean.

When your ready to venture out, King’s Head is located 12 minutes from the charming town of New Glasgow, 1.5 hours from Halifax International Airport, 30 minutes to the P.E.I ferry terminal & 2 hours from Cape Breton's famous Cabot Trail.

Melmerby Beach is one of the best and most popular beaches in Nova Scotia, with some of the warmest waters around.

Known as “The Merb” for short, boardwalks lead from the parking area, over the dunes to a 2km strip of sand. In the summer there are lifeguards on hand plus changing rooms, toilets and showers. Everything is free to enjoy.

There are actually two sides to Melmerby Beach, the main outer beach with the best sand and swimming, and a smaller inner beach which is more sheltered from the ocean but with incredibly warm water. That’s where we are located.

Nestled down a long wooded lane over looking Melmerby Beach and the rock bluffs of Roy's Island we often see deer, eagles, rabbits, and sometimes seals in the harbor. There is lots of room to ride bikes, take walks, kayak, wind-sail or just skip rocks.

The book shelf is stalked with books, puzzles, legos & games to help you relax.

You’ll find the locals are really welcoming and we’d be happy to help out with any questions about local activities and bookings.

More Details

Owner
Amy
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2018

About Amy

Hi! This is a picture of our little family. We play, work, love and live in our little community and are very happy to be able to share it with you.

Amy purchased this studio in 2014

Amenities

New Glasgow Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is small & cozy finished with natural pine and has a skylight. It's fully stocked with towels, face clothes, blow dryer & toilet paper.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • The loft is an open room similar to a hotel suit. There is a queen bed with side tables, lamps and a closet of hang your clothes. The living area has two cozy chairs and a love seat, coffee table & large tv. The kitchen area has cooktop, microwave, toaster, tassimo coffee maker and a small fridge with tiny freezer as well as a dining table for 4. The bathroom is a separate with standup shower, sink, and toilet.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
38% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
STUNNING LOCATION – CHARMING STAY – OCEAN AIR
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
West Vancouver, BC
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed my stay in here. The accommodations consist of a self contained loft, separate from the main house, above the garage - very private. Up the stairs, the room its self was spacious and had a lovely seating area set around the large picture window framing a most spectacular view of the bay, where I spent hours in a big chair looking out the window. I was mesmerized by the sunset on my last day.

It's nicely decorated in a thoughtful way, making one feel very much welcome and at home. The tiny kitchen is equipped with a very efficient hot plate, fridge and stocked with dishes and such - and I was able to make due quite well for one. The bed was extremely comfy and I enjoyed great long peaceful sleeps, which I was hoping for. Around the front of the building there is hammock for two and a big deck to enjoy the outdoors.

The grounds the loft is located on are quite stunning. I couldn't help but envy the set up. Their home is down a very long driveway which meanders through the trees for almost a kilometre and then opens into a big grassy area right on the waterfront. I woke up to 3 deer grazing on the lawn in the morning. There is not a sound at night other than those of nature, not a car, not a siren, just lovely and peaceful. I discovered the most amazing park with a huge long sandy beach and trails to explore through a wooded island. I'd love to be there for long days in the summer just hanging out.

Amy was a perfect host, made herself available should I need anything at all, but let me be in the solitude I was seeking. I can highly recommend this special spot to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay in a very beautiful part of the world!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful location, relaxing, very personable hosts, would go again in a heartbeat. Only next time for longer

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

location was great. easy to get to Peggy's cove,Lunenburg and Halifax

  • 4 of 5

the property was stunning The most beautiful sunsets, beaches. cosy loft with just what you need to be self sustained.

thank you Amy and Kevin

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both. A&K
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely view lovely spot

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the privacy, lovely views of the water, and comfortable surroundings.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
London, Ontario
5

A lovely site. Great accommodation and very friendly hosts.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The loft had everything we needed & was very comfortable. Amy & Kevin were very welcoming & friendly and it was a great place to either come home to at the end of a day of touring or just to hunker down and relax if we were too tired to travel. Amazing sunsets that I don't think I could ever tire of right from our window.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so please that you enjoyed your stay and it was pleasure to meet you both. Happy Travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Peaceful beachfront property

  • 4 of 5

My daughter and I stayed at Amy & Kevin's place for two nights - July 5-7, 2016. It was our first VRBO experience - so we were apprehensive/ unsure what to expect.

In anticipation of our arrival, Amy touched base with us, providing their home security details and instructions for the AC unit.

The bachelor style loft overlooked the beach with breathtaking views of the evening's sunsets. The unit is fully equipped - with everything a couple needs - whether it's for a few days or longer. The queen size bed was incredibly comfy, the bathroom looks as though it was recently remodelled/ renovated, and the unit is perfectly situated - 2 minutes from "The Merbs" and a 10 minute drive to New Glasgow or 20 minutes to Pictou - both small towns offer an impressive selection of dining experiences.

The only reason I am not giving our stay a 5* is because 1) upon arrival we noticed the unit was very dusty - likely a result of having been uninhabited for upwards of a week. My daughter has severe allergies (to dust) which meant that we had to spend the initial 30 minutes wiping down the flat surfaces; 2) the unit is bright and airy - a function of multiple floor-to-ceiling windows and skylights. Unfortunately, we are light sleepers and in the absence of room darkening shades - we woke up at 6am every day and 3) the unit does NOT have wifi or satellite TV - which on a rainy day (with a child/ teenager in tow) makes it "boring". That being said, it's a slice of heaven and the perfect remote escape from an industrialized city's hustle and bustle.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review. I am sorry that you found the loft dusty, it was cleaned from top to bottom 4 days prior to your arrival. Unfortunately we don't have cable tv however we do have Netflix. Also, we do have Wifi, I am sorry you miss out on it. Defiantly a lack of communication on my behalf. I won't forget to let our next guests know!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
92 Miles
Halifax Stanfield Internation Airport
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Dock - new glasogow
Nearest Ferry
26 Miles
Ferry to PEI
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Glen Lovat Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Trans Canada Highway
Nearest Restaurant
8.9 Miles
The Bistro
Nearest Ski
76 Miles
Wentworth
Nearest Beach
3.4 Miles
Melmerby Beach Provincial Park
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties