Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Placid Downtown Mainstream Luxury Getaway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Pictures do not do this spacious apartment rental justice

Location, location, location! A stone's throw away from Main Street and Mirror Lake, this spacious and very private rental offers all the amenities that an ideally situated downtown location can offer without the hustle and bustle of Main Street. July's fireworks celebration and show almost in your lap, access to restaurants, shopping and free shuttle service to must-see destinations including the Olympic Arena, the Convention Center, the ice skating rink, our local movie theater and the public beach all within immediate walking distance to this, your rental.

The Ironman competition and participation couldn't be any more convenient. Just one hundred feet from your door to Main Street, catch the free Mountain Valley Shuttle Service for skiers and riders to Whiteface Mountain and ski resort.

Newly built and tastefully decorated with cathedral ceilings, cherry hardwood floors, ample closet and storage space, a spacious open living and dining room, a fully equipped kitchen with cherry cabinets and maple butcher block counter tops, a tiled shower and bathroom with a washer and dryer and furnished with oriental rugs and antique furniture, this comfortably fitted apartment with all its amenities also offers convenient off street parking.

Come visit in this unique situation and quaint setting in the heart of downtown Lake Placid, a great getaway for 2 to 4 guests, newly built for your comfort, convenience and enjoyment.

More Details

Owner
Madeleine Killeen
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Madeleine Killeen

We are both antiques dealers and interior decorators and the renovation of the main house, formerly Shore Crest Inn, and the addition of the newly constructed apartment gave us the opportunity to practice our decorating skills.

Madeleine Killeen purchased this apartment in 2011

Why Madeleine Killeen chose Lake Placid

Lake Placid has always been a go to destination for us. Every visit over the years, particularly when we saw the sign that said we were entering the Adirondack Park, made us feel that we were truly on holiday leaving our troubles behind. Purchasing a property was a no brainer.

What makes this apartment unique

We were very fortunate to be able to purchase this property once the home to Olympic participants.

Amenities

Lake Placid Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Large tiled bathroom with tile shower. sink, lavatory and new washer/dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size bed, dresser, side tables with lamps. Sleeps 2. Futon sofa in living room sleeps 2.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Placid Downtown Mainstream Luxury Getaway
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
5

Shortest walk to Downtown. Unforgettable Visit

  • 5 of 5

Exceptional!

We booked this apartment for family members for a local event, and we were not disappointed. This spacious apartment could easily be lived in year round. It presents much larger, conveniently located and comfortable than the photos show. It was as clean as a whistle and beautifully decorated. We can't thank the hosts enough for ensuring that our relatives were happy campers. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your beautiful apartment. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fabulous...as always!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the property for the second year in a row and once again were THRILLED with our decision! The owners are incredibly accommodating and understanding. The home is spotless from top to bottom! The kitchen is fully equipped with room for several chefs to work preparing a meal while the rest of the gang can relax by the stone fireplace, sit on the porch and enjoy the view of Mirror Lake or curl up and read a book on the window bench. It is SO comfortable while being so convenient to downtown. The bedrooms are spacious and each have a private bath which was wonderful as we had several families staying with us. I consider myself extremely particular when it comes to quality, cleanliness and comfort...this is a 5 star home, you will not be disappointed! The weather was warm so we were able to walk around Mirror Lake and enjoy evening cocktails on the porch. We never once drove the car as downtown Lake Placid offers a variety of options for eating out, shopping or attending an event. Secretly, we hate to let everyone know how awesome this home is as we love staying here and know you will too!!!! We will be back next year!!!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay in both the main house and the apartment. And, you not only left both in such good order, you apologized for not doing the laundry! You were the ultimate guests who appreciate the atmosphere we attempted to create in order to make your stay as comfortable as you describe. And thank you for such a positive review. You get five stars too!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Holland Patent, NY
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment my sister and I walked in, we felt like we were at home. Charming, spotless, great location. Full kitchen, large living area, separate bedroom and bath. Location was perfect, because we were there to shop for Christmas and never had to move the car. We walked everywhere and apartment was located just off Main Street. We got our daily exercise in walking up the hill with bags. Definitely planning to book this again.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Agréable week end

  • 5 of 5

Appartement propre et chaleureux. Propriétaire très gentille. Nous y retournerons!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bristol, NY, USA
5

Lovely, Comfortable, Convenient!!!

  • 5 of 5

It makes me smile to write this review! This was our 3rd (or was it our 4th?!) stay at this wonderful spot for our wedding anniversary! This apartment has everything that we could have wanted! CLEAN, WOW!! Sparkling!! Comfortable and quiet.. absolutely!! Modern amenities!! Right in town.. so convenient that the only time we took the car out was for a day trip to Whiteface and a quick trip to the grocery store... This spot is close to everything.. you can literally walk to shopping, restaurants, the lake, the library, the arena.. everywhere! I must also share that Madeleine is a joy to work with.. quick to respond and we felt very welcome. You're wonderful! We'll be back again!!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location and Clean!

  • 5 of 5

Loved Madeleine and David's little apartment. Parked our car and walked everywhere in town. Kayak on Mirror lake, small hikes in walking distance. Great shopping and food on Main Street. The Apartment was clean and well equipped with enough essentials ( salt, pepper, toilet paper, laundry soap) to get through the week. Madeleine was very helpful. We ended our week with thoughts of coming back next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Within walking distance
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Several World class
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Withing Walking distance
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Whiteface Mountain Ski Center
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Within walking distance

This village hideaway in its unique situation and quaint setting in the heart of downtown allows one access to restaurants, shopping, and free shuttle service to must-see destinations. The Olympic Arena, the Convention Center, the ice skating rink and the public beach are withing walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $85
Refundable damage deposit $275
Tax Rate 3.0%

Year round rate: $175-$325/night for two adults depending on event, season or holiday.
Rates are based on two guests. Additional fee, $50. per night per additional guest for total of four guests.
Year round weekly rate is figured at a lesser rate per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.