Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Cabin - Located Minutes From Glenwood Springs, Aspen & Vail

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

1200 Square Foot Log Cabin. 1 Bedroom plus loft - 1 bathroom

Caribou cabin is a very cozy cottage in a pristine mountain setting. It has a master bedroom with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. The loft features 2 twin beds. Electricity is solar power. There is a propane refrigerator and propane 2 burner set in cook top. This quaint little gem sleeps 6. If someone wants to bunk on the couch it can sleep 7.

There is access to hiking trail and many onsite activities right from the cabin. Bair ranch offers onsite horseback riding, atv adventures, chuckwagon dinners, trap shooting, hunting and wildlife and livestock viewing. We are the closest lodging to the magnificent hanging lake. The ranch entrance accesses the glenwood canyon bike trail. If you can do it in the colorado outdoors in the summer, we have access to it; breathtaking, beautiful, private peaceful exciting and entertaining. Come experience the glenwood canyon and surrounding areas.

More Details

Jim Bair
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

About Jim Bair

We are the Bair Family. I am James C. Bair II. My great grand parents purchased the home I now live in in the early 1920s. We have been ranching in the area since the early 1900s.

Bair Ranch is one of the oldest family owned and operated working ranches in Colorado. We are a working sheep ranch running approximately 10,000 mother ewes and their lambs. We are located 12 miles east of Glenwood Springs just minutes from Aspen and Vail. We offer our guests a stay at 5,500 acres of private gated open space in the beautiful Glenwood Canyon.

Jim Bair purchased this cabin in 1924

Why Jim Bair chose Glenwood Springs

This is our family home and it has been for 5 generations. We have made our lives here. This land is both rugged and beautiful. It can be a harsh land at times and a lush land at other times. It sustains wildlife and livestock. It has been and is a great place to raise children. The Glenwood Springs area offers so many activities. It is a family oriented small town with big opportunities for recreation and entertainment. We are located 12 miles east of town so for us it is nice to leave town and come home.

What makes this cabin unique

You are not just coming to a rental property but an entire ranch property. Not only will you love your lodging accommodations but you our on site activities include horseback riding, ATV adventures, jeep tours, fishing, camping, cabins, hiking, biking, chuck wagon cookouts and BBQ. We can arrange rafting on the Colorado river as well. Even the Glenwood Springs hot springs pool is a short drive and minutes from the ranch.

Our cabins are private, cozy and exclusive. At the ranch you will get an authentic experience, not a commercial campground experience. You will have a private experience, not a public experience. You have room to enjoy the outdoors and share time with other members of your group.

Because we are a private, gated ranch you have all these benefits while still having the opportunity of being near the resort towns of Glenwood Springs, aspen and Vail. You can go into town and then return to the privacy of your own cabin and grounds area.


Glenwood Springs Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Building Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Catering available
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Loft
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Colorado Summer weather is typically warm and dry. The access road to Caribou cabin is a well maintained DIRT road that can be accessed by almost any vehicle. In the event of heavy rain, access to the Cabin can be limited.


2.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
42% Complete
Private Cabin - Located Minutes From Glenwood Springs, Aspen & Vail
average rating of 2.857143 based on 7 reviews

Can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing scenery, awesome cabin and friendly service. The cabin itself was clean and cozy. Lots of privacy which is a plus! We are so grateful to have the opportunity to share in the beauty of Bair Ranch. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We arrived at the Caribou cabin on August 2nd to find a beautiful cabin with the most fantastic views you could ask for. The hospitality was fantastic, the folks at the ranch made it a perfect stay, the cabin was clean with a kitchen and a refrigerator and the beds were supplied with clean linens and very comfortable. We would like to extend our gratitude to our hosts as they were very polite and would do anything we asked to make our stay very comfortable. And believe me you don't need to ask for much once you arrive.

DTH August 2016

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful area, lovely cabin however......

  • 1 of 5

This was a lovely cabin off the beating path the road to get to the cabin was treacherous which we were expecting based on previous reviews. It is doable in a truck a car though could easily be another story. The cabin was rustic but nice, the shower would either be scolding hot or ice cold there was no in between despite much time spent in there trying to find a tolerable temp. The second day we returned back to the cabin to find the power had went out called the owner to let them know and have them fix it someone came up and "reset" the power however it never came back on the remainder of our stay. We did not have flashlights or candles and they never followed up to check on the status of the power nor did they offer flashlights or candles. I felt we were inconveniencing them if and when we asked about a few things including the power. We had food we had to keep cool and the fridge did not work well enough to cool so we had to keep our food in the coolers packed with ice. We initially rented this place because we emailed and asked them if they were ATV friendly and we could ride our ATV's there the response was yes they are ATV friendly. This was not the case we were told when we got there that we were not able to ride our ATV's because they do tours . I feel we paid to much for this place the only reason we paid so much is because we wanted to be able to ride where we stayed and that was not the case. The other thing is we had to do all the clean up when we left the cabin otherwise we would have been assessed a cleaning fee. Honestly I would not stay here again they were less than accommodating and not friendly the customer service leaves alot to be desired. We would have been better off staying in a hotel with more amenities and better customer service and a better price.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect stay in a perfect place

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented this cabin for a weekend getaway to Glenwood Springs. We wanted a cross between camping and Hotel and this cabin was the perfect choice. The cabin was clean had all the supplies we needed. The staff was super friendly and insured that we were comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. If you want a place to stay with beautiful scenery, and to wake up in the morning with the deer outside your door, this is the place. Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Evergreen, Colorado


  • 2 of 5

Great cabin in a great location, away from everything and rustic! However, WE only stayed about 12 hours as the mice were everywhere inside, making clawing and chewing noises and getting caught in traps in the early hours of the morning. We didn't sleep at all and left first thing in the morning instead of staying our duration! Owners were sorry and only gave us a $100. refund. Chuck wagon meal was terrific however!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Horrendous Customer Service

  • 1 of 5

After arriving, I found out the the driveway to the ranch was under 4 feet of water with no communication of this from the establishment. I was in a situation in which I may have needed to get off the mountain ASAP, so to not know about the flooded road was a very nerve racking experience. They kept saying that I could call and they would come get me. I emailed them about 2 weeks earlier and they informed me there is no cell service at the ranch. How did they plan to communicate with me should I need to leave urgently? On June 21st, two days after my stay, they updated their description of the Cabin to say that after heavy rains there may be "limited access." This should have been made known to me prior to my arrival. When we got to our Cabin the refrigerator was not working and smelled awful. I brought this to the managers attention shortly after arriving. After telling her about the broken refrigerator she asked if the hot water was working (she said that if the refrigerator wasn't working usually the hot water heater doesn't either). I informed her I was not in cabin long enough to know (I was on the property for a wedding). Jim, the owner, was notified of the issue and while standing in front of me and the manager he said to the manager "I'm not going to check on that now," which was approximately 8:30pm. He did not check on either issue during our stay, therefore, we did not have hot water or a functioning refrigerator. So after a full day of 95 degree heat, bug spray, and sun tan lotion, my party (including 3 adults and a 2-year-old) couldn't shower. We were also not able to store food brought in for the young child. The following day when I spoke to Autumn (wife of Jim, the owner) she agreed to refund the second night (we did not stay under these conditions) and also said she would refund 50% of the first night. After leaving the property, I was informed that she would not refund our money as we agreed and I was accused of lying to the staff about our stay. I would highly recommend you do not stay at this property. The customer service was horrible, accusatory, neglectful, and unaccommodating.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This difficult gentlemen wrote the previous review as well if you would like to read our response. Sadly he continues to write false information. We did have unexpected flooding, but it wasn't enough where he couldn't drive back and forth to his cabin in his own vehicle. He knew about the phone service, we even offered to let him use our phones if necessary. The hot water heater did go out during his stay and nearly all his money was refunded for just that. He did choose to stay the first night so we did charge him SOME for the first night only. All other nights were fully refunded. The fridge is fine and always has been. I just don't know with this poor gentlemen. He continues to defile our name inappropriately and disrespectfully in which we are fully aware (we have respectfully with held his name). During his stay and now he has mistreated and personally sought out to mistreat staff. He has gone out of his way to lie and behave in a fashion that is NEVER accepted by staff. Sometimes things don't run perfectly smoothly. We felt badly the hot water heater didn't work and felt like a very generous refund was acceptable in allowing this gentlemen to leave early (which is what he wanted). Many have stayed in this cabin since and had an enjoyable experience and we have enjoyed having them out on the ranch. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Eagle/Vail Regional Airport
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Gypsum Creek
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Denver Rio Grande Rail Road with access to AMTRACK
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Interstate 70
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Glenwood Springs
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Sunlight Mountain
Car: recommended

Come for a vacation, stay for the lifestyle! For more than a century, visitors have realized that Glenwood Springs, Colorado was not only a perfect place to visit, but also a perfect place to call home. With a temperate climate, healthy lifestyle, vibrant arts scene, good schools, a local college, world class medical facilities, excellent shopping and attractions as big as the great outdoors, Glenwood Springs is an ideal place for a vacation or extended stay.

Glenwood Springs, Colorado is home to both exciting and relaxing options for residents and visitors, including the Glenwood Hot Springs, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Sunlight Mountain Resort, Yampah Spa and Vapor Caves Glenwood Adventure Company, Bair Ranch and Hanging Lake. Talk about a a perfect Colorado vacation! Glenwood Springs has tons of activities of the entire family including horseback riding, ATV riding, hiking, biking, rafting, camping, paragliding and fishing. Glenwood Springs has a trail system that runs alongside our beautiful rivers. There are also trails in Glenwood Canyon, just east of Glenwood Springs including the very popular and scenic trail to Hanging Lake or you can choose to hike up Grizzly or No Name Creeks. If you’d rather bike than hike these trails, there are several bike rental shops from which to choose.

There are endless opportunities for families to experience great outdoor experiences in a beautiful mountain setting.

In the winter, Glenwood Springs is a hub for snow related activities and is located just 45 minutes from Aspen, Colorado and an hour from Vail, Colorado. You can ski Aspen Mountain, Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk (home of the Winter X-Games) and Snowmass. If you choose to head east of Glenwood Springs, you can ski Beaver Creek or Vail. Glenwood Springs’ local ski area, Sunlight Mountain Resort is perfect for families and those looking for a budget oriented ski vacation.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 9.0%

The 9% tax includes all local and state taxes as well as all use fees. If you do choose to stay only one night there will be an additional cleaning fee of $150. You will be responsible for all damaged, destroyed, or stolen property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.