Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to the Village and Lake, 5 minutes to the Slopes

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lake View, 4 bedroom and 4 bath

With an uncompromising attention to detail, Ironwood Chalet combines comfort, elegance and master craftsmanship to make your Big Bear Lake stay unforgettable. The estate is perfect for large families or groups traveling together, and comfortably accommodates up to 13 guests. Ironwood Chalet features over 3,800 square feet of luxurious living space, four bedrooms, and four baths which include 3 Master Suites equipped with King beds, Fireplaces and private decks.

This estate is one of the finest and is located on the quiet south side of the lake right above the Village with stunning views of both the Lake and Mountains. Vaulted ceilings with carved wood beams, a gourmet kitchen that opens to the living and dining areas for ease of entertaining and wire-brushed white oak hardwood floors are only some of the highlights in this amazing retreat. All the master suites offer incredible lake views, and the bathrooms are all richly appointed with slate stone.

With ample entertaining space throughout the chalet and seven person hot tub, this amazing mountain ski retreat is the perfect choice for a luxurious and relaxing experience.

More Details

Owner
Kristie Hensley
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2017

Amenities

Ironwood Estates Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Dual head slate stone shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master Suite 2 - 1 king
    Master Suite 3 - 1 king
    Guest Room - 2 twin/ single
    Master Suite 1 - 1 king , This 700 sf suite also has a queen sofa sleeper
  • Master Suites 1-King bed ,Fireplace ,Deck, Lake view, Slate stone bathroom with shower/Tub The Great Room has a Queen Sofa Sleeper The Game Room has a futon and Twin sofa sleeper that is great for kids
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Special care has been taken to bring the beauty of the surrounding land inside. Custom details, natural materials and large windows create a cozy, welcoming and harmonious space for guests to enjoy. Shopping, restaurants, nightclubs and festival activities are all at your fingertips from this amazing Ironwood Chalet, and with its sophisticated ambience, it is ideally suited for discerning groups of friends or families who want to experience the very best of Big Bear Lake.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Walk to the Village and Lake, 5 minutes to the Slopes
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 24 reviews
5

Beautiful, clean and spacious.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time at Ironwood Chalet. We will definitely be staying again!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stacie I am so glad you and your family had a great time!!! Kristie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay at the Ironwood Chalet was amazing! We enjoyed the well kept and beautiful Chalet.

  • 5 of 5

Our family including my parents stayed at The ironwood Chalet... We loved every minute.. It was gorgeously decorated and very clean.. We had everything we needed and the house is very close to the village.Not to mention great hiking near by. It was spacious and cozy with fireplaces on every floor. I would love to come back to this perfect getaway in big bear!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place for families with kids!

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house with 2 other families; 6 adults and 6 kids. However the layout of the home is very well spread out and there was plenty of room. The homeowners were very thoughtful for having lots of DVDs, games a high chair, a walker, playpen, stroller and lots of other handy items for smaller kids to enjoy. The spa was great and offered a great view. We never used the fireplaces but that would have been fantastic as well.

If you plan to walk please note house sits at the top of the hill so plan on coming back with enough energy to carry kids or bring the stroller!

The kitchen is very large but we found the oven bakes things very quickly and we burned a few items before we got the hang of it. The stove burners were a little funky as well we could only get one of them to work. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, glasses, pots and pans.

The location is great for the views but we found walking down to the lake was disappointing because there is not much to do once you are there (we went in March so maybe that was the problem).

The house was clean but it could have been cleaner with dust in a few areas, but hey we have kids so that was not a problem for us!

Overall we had a fantastic time in Big Bear and at the house. We would surely rent it again.

Thanks to the homeowners for offering this great property. The layout is so great for large groups.

Pino

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice cabin home

  • 4 of 5

This is a great house with good location being close to the lake, slopes, and the village. Check-in was easy and seamless. There is plenty of room and love that 3 of the bedrooms are master bedrooms. Would definitely love to stay at this home again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5

Long time VRBO clients. We were looking for a good location for a family reunion. Always love Big Bear and found the Ironwood Chalet. Truly a large and beautiful home, close to the Village and wonderful view of the lake. All the amenities to walk right in and enjoy the getaway. The owner Kristie was great. She accommodated our needs and quickly responded all our questions before and during our stay. We even enjoyed 3" of new snow our last night. This is a awesome home, one to which we could easily return.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gary I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to host you again. Kristie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

not clean and no warning for broken bedroom door that locked our kids in a room and scared them

  • 1 of 5

This house was beautiful from the pictures and pretty on the outside and the owner seemed okay to deal with beforehand but there was a lack of cleanliness on the inside of this house. There were cobwebs in every room on the ceilings and hanging from almost every sconce and light fixture in the dining areas and kitchen. Also the exhaust grill above the refrigerator is covered in grease and dirt as there is no exhaust fan above the stove. The microwave is half broken and doesn't light up and doesn't swivel. Also, we were told to do a load of dishes and laundry before we left but we were left with zero soap. Also there was a lot of snow and all they had in their garage was a plastic shovel to help us. We ended up getting snowed in and had to pay someone $300 to get us out. Also the owners should alert winter visitors that when it is snowing, there is no street parking or you will get towed and you can't park in the driveway either as our cars got stuck. There were not enough towels for everyone and most of the pots, pans and baking sheets were in horrible condition and we were unable to use them. Also several light bulbs were burned out and made the house very dark. The worst two things was that the upstairs bedroom door is broken and if you shut the door you can't open again an our kids got stuck in there and it was very scary. Finally, the guest book by the door is FULL of guest complaints much like ours. I suggest the owners actually read the complaints and take care of the items and then remove the entries from this book as they are mostly all negative. We have stayed through VRBO for the last 3 years and never had a problem. For the amount of money we paid to stay somewhere nice, this wasn't even close. We feel we were overcharged. I wrote to VRBO to complain and they said the owner needs to respond and as of today, we have not heard back. I even sent them several photos of the dirt and cobwebs. Based on the owners lack of response, I would not recommend others stay here.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Shanna, I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at the Ironwood Chalet and feel I was not helpful with your needs. I am surprised by this because when I spoke to you on the phone after you checked out, you made no mention of being unhappy. I looked back at your message board and it shows that I responded to your message within 15 minutes about the one plant having a spider web and that you couldn't figure out how to turn on a light fixture. That is the only complaint I received from you and thought it was addressed. We have a company that comes in once a month specifically to clean the cobwebs and replace lightbulbs. There must have been a very busy spider right before you checked in :-). I also responded to VRBO within an hour of you making a complaint to them with a summary but perhaps they didn't relay that to you since it was a week after your checkout. Prior to your stay I sent you a very detailed information sheet stating that there is absolutely no street parking and that we can accommodate 4 cars(2 in garage and 2 in driveway). I also let you know in this sheet (and its noted before you make a reservation) that we offer a snow removal service with 72 hour notice. Maybe you didn't read the sheet or just forgot about it....This is the first I have heard of the lock not working in the Master bedroom. Thank you for letting me know. I have already contacted maintenance to address this issue. The rest of your complaints baffle me. Since we received excellent reviews from the guest that stayed before you and the guest that stayed after you, Im going to chalk it up as you just can't please some people. I hope you were able to enjoy some of your trip with your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
We are 3 blocks from the Village
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
9 hole golf course 5 minutes away
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Snow Summit is within 5 minutes

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ironwood Estates Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Apr 18 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$5,000
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$499
Fri,Sat
$1,700
$6,600
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$399
From
$499
Fri,Sat
$1,800
$6,900
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$295
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$1,700
$5,000
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Winter
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$2,500
$10,000
 
 
Holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Winter Rates
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 9 2018
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$750
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 10.5%

Weekend rates apply to Friday/Saturday. 3 night min. on most holidays. Prices/Rates are subject to change without notice. 50% Down Payment NON REFUNDABLE. NO REFUNDS IF CANCELLED WITHIN 14 DAYS OF STAY

First payment is 50%

We do offer a snow removal service for $100 each service. This must be set up a minimum of 72 hours prior. If you wish to forgo this service, there is a snow shovel in the garage.

There are 3 decks at Chalet. We have a table for 8 on main deck as well as chairs and tables and a hammock on the other decks. Furniture is brought in during the snowy months.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties